DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Remaining issue on prioritization of positioning assistance data [R1] or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over R1 in view of Jain et al (US 2017/0280280)[R2].
For claim 1, R1 discloses obtaining positioning reference signal configuration information (section 2, Section 3 Fig 1-4) ; obtaining preferred measurement reporting window information (Section 2, Section 3 Fig 1-4): priority values for a plurality of positioning reference signals, wherein each priority value for a respective positioning reference signal is based at least in part on the positioning reference signal configuration information and the preferred measurement reporting window information Section 2, Section 3, Fig 1-4); and reporting measurement values for one or more of the plurality of positioning reference signals based on the priority value (Section 2, Section 3, Fig 1-4). Or, in the alternative, R2 discloses reporting measurement values for one or more of the plurality of positioning reference signals based on priority values (paragraph 30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use reporting measurement values for one or more of the plurality of positioning reference signals based on the priority value taught by R2. The rationale to combine would be to allow the invention to perform required functions and to increase efficiency of transmissions.
For claims 2 and 23, R1 does not explicitly state the preferred measurement reporting window information includes a time value and a delta time value, wherein a preferred measurement reporting window is a period of time equal to the time value minus the delta time value to the time value plus the delta time value. However, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of the preferred measurement reporting window information includes a time value and a delta time value, wherein a preferred measurement reporting window is a period of time equal to the time value minus the delta time value to the time value plus the delta time value was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use a the preferred measurement reporting window information includes a time value and a delta time value, wherein a preferred measurement reporting window is a period of time equal to the time value minus the delta time value to the time value plus the delta time value. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use a commonly used method of determining a time interval, to allow enough time for transmission of data, and design choice.
For claims 3 and 24, R1 discloses determining a first set of positioning reference signals to be measured inside of the preferred measurement reporting window and a second set of positioning reference signals to be measured outside of the preferred measurement reporting window, wherein each positioning reference signal in the first set of positioning reference signals will have a higher priority than any positioning reference signal in the second set of positioning reference signals. Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of determining a first set of positioning reference signals to be measured inside of the preferred measurement reporting window and a second set of positioning reference signals to be measured outside of the preferred measurement reporting window, wherein each positioning reference signal in the first set of positioning reference signals will have a higher priority than any positioning reference signal in the second set of positioning reference signals. was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use determining a first set of positioning reference signals to be measured inside of the preferred measurement reporting window and a second set of positioning reference signals to be measured outside of the preferred measurement reporting window, wherein each positioning reference signal in the first set of positioning reference signals will have a higher priority than any positioning reference signal in the second set of positioning reference signals.. The technical reasoning to combine would be to increase transmission efficiency.
For claims 4 and 25, R1 discloses the first set of positioning reference signals and the second set of positioning reference signals are respectively sorted based on the measurement values for each of the positioning reference signals (Section 2, Section 3 Fig 1-4). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the first set of positioning reference signals and the second set of positioning reference signals are respectively sorted based on the measurement values for each of the positioning reference signals was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use the first set of positioning reference signals and the second set of positioning reference signals are respectively sorted based on the measurement values for each of the positioning reference signals. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use a commonly used method of determining values, increased speed, and design choice.
For claim 5, R1 discloses the second set of positioning reference signals is limited to one or more positioning reference signals received to the left of the preferred measurement reporting window (section 2, Section 3 Fig 1-4). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the second set of positioning reference signals is limited to one or more positioning reference signals received to the left of the preferred measurement reporting window was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use the second set of positioning reference signals is limited to one or more positioning reference signals received to the left of the preferred measurement reporting window. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use a commonly used method of determining values, increased speed, and design choice.
For claim 6, R1 discloses the second set of positioning reference signals is limited to one or more positioning reference signals received to the right of the preferred measurement reporting window (section 2, Section 3 Fig 1-4). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the second set of positioning reference signals is limited to one or more positioning reference signals received to the right of the preferred measurement reporting window was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use the second set of positioning reference signals is limited to one or more positioning reference signals received to the right of the preferred measurement reporting window. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use a commonly used method of determining values, increased speed, and design choice.
For claims 7 and 26, R1 discloses first set of positioning reference signals and the second set of positioning reference signals are respectively sorted based on distance values measured from the time value for each of the positioning reference signals (section 2, Section 3 Fig 1-4). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the first set of positioning reference signals and the second set of positioning reference signals are respectively sorted based on distance values measured from the time value for each of the positioning reference signals was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use the first set of positioning reference signals and the second set of positioning reference signals are respectively sorted based on distance values measured from the time value for each of the positioning reference signals. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use a commonly used method of determining values, increased speed, and design choice.
For claim 8, R1 discloses the second set of positioning reference signals is limited to one or more positioning reference signals received to the left of the preferred measurement reporting window (section 2, Section 3 Fig 1-4). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the second set of positioning reference signals is limited to one or more positioning reference signals received to the left of the preferred measurement reporting window was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use the second set of positioning reference signals is limited to one or more positioning reference signals received to the left of the preferred measurement reporting window. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use a commonly used method of determining values, increased speed, and design choice.
For claim 9, R1 discloses the second set of positioning reference signals is limited to one or more positioning reference signals received to the right of the preferred measurement reporting window (section 2, Section 3 Fig 1-4). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the second set of positioning reference signals is limited to one or more positioning reference signals received to the right of the preferred measurement reporting window was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use the second set of positioning reference signals is limited to one or more positioning reference signals received to the right of the preferred measurement reporting window. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use a commonly used method of determining values, increased speed, and design choice.
For claim 10, R1 discloses obtaining measurements for the one or more of the plurality of positioning reference signals based on the priority value (section 2, Section 3 Fig 1-4).
For claims 11 and 27, R1 discloses the positioning reference signal configuration information includes priority values for one or more positioning reference signals, and the first set of positioning reference signals and the second set of positioning reference signals are respectively sorted based at least in part on the priority values for the one or more positioning reference signals (section 2, Section 3 Fig 1-4). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the priority values are legacy values was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use legacy values. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use a commonly used method of determining values, increased speed, and design choice.
For claim 12, R1 discloses obtaining measurements for the one or more of the plurality of positioning reference signals based on the legacy priority values (section 2, Section 3 Fig 1-4). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the priority values are legacy values was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use legacy values. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use a commonly used method of determining values, increased speed, and design choice.
For claim 13, R1 discloses at least one of the plurality of positioning reference signals is a downlink positioning reference signal, a sidelink positioning reference signal or a sounding reference signal for positioning (section 2, Section 3 Fig 1-4).
For claim 14, R1 discloses the preferred measurement reporting window information is associated with a scheduled in advance measurement window (section 2, Section 3 Fig 1-4).
Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the preferred measurement reporting window information is associated with a scheduled in advance measurement window was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use the preferred measurement reporting window information is associated with a scheduled in advance measurement window. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use a commonly used method of determining values, increased speed, and design choice.
For claim 22, R1 discloses a memory; at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver and configured to perform (Sections 2-3, Fig 1-4): obtain positioning reference signal configuration information (section 2, Section 3 Fig 1-4): obtain preferred measurement reporting window information (section 2, Section 3 Fig 1-4); determine priority values for a plurality of positioning reference signals, wherein each priority value for a respective positioning reference signal is based at least in part on the positioning reference signal configuration information and the preferred measurement reporting window information (section 2, Section 3 Fig 1-4); and report measurement values for one or more of the plurality of positioning reference signals based on the priority value (section 2, Section 3 Fig 1-4). Or, in the alternative, R2 discloses a memory (paragraphs 38-44, 76, 86-89); at least one transceiver (paragraphs 38-44, 76, 86-89); at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver and configured to perform steps (paragraphs 38-44, 76, 86-89). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use a memory; at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver and configured to perform the steps taught by R2. The rationale to combine would be to increase marketability and save costs. Or, in the alternative, R2 discloses reporting measurement values for one or more of the plurality of positioning reference signals based on priority values (paragraph 30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use reporting measurement values for one or more of the plurality of positioning reference signals based on the priority value taught by R2. The rationale to combine would be to allow the invention to perform required functions and to increase efficiency of transmissions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Sasaki (US 2014/0161014) discloses position reference signaling.
/CHRISTOPHER R CROMPTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463