DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are indicated in the table below, along with corresponding structure and/or lack thereof:
Claim limitation
Claim Numbers
Structure (PGPUB citation)
Control device
2-4
A processor with memory and inputs/outputs [0019]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by King et al. US PGPUB 2010/0097031.
Regarding claim 1, King discloses a DC vehicle charging circuit [figs. 5 & 7] having an input [fig. 5 & 7, charging circuit 212 has input 128/129; pars. 42-44], a converter circuit in the form of a boost converter [fig. 5 & 7, boost converters 158, 160; par. 43], and an output [fig. 5 & 7, node at tops and bottoms of 158, 160 and 162], wherein a first input potential of the input is connected to a first output potential of the output via the converter circuit [fig. 5 & 7, 128 is connected to the positive output node via the converters 158/160/162], and the converter circuit is connected to a second output potential of the output via a connection point [fig. 5 & 7, negative terminal of the battery is connected to the negative converter node], wherein a second input potential of the input is connected to the connection point without any semiconductor switches, apart from a transistor [fig. 5 & 7; 129 is connected to the negative node of the converters/battery through a transformer (in fig. 7, in fig. 5 directly), a contactor 220 and one transistor 180, thus without any semiconductor switches apart from the transistor 180], and wherein the transistor has an inverse diode [fig. 5 & 7, 184], the forward direction of which points in the direction of the charging current that flows in the HV-minus path when energy is transferred from the input to the output [figs. 2 & 7; par. 31 & 46; the diodes (184, 182, 176, 174) are inverse diodes (like 112 in fig. 2) in boost mode, with the forward direction aligned to receive and pass current from the negative node].
Regarding claim 5, King discloses wherein the converter circuit is designed bidirectionally [par. 44].
Regarding claim 6, King discloses wherein the converter circuit has a series circuit of two working transistors [fig. 5; 178 and 180], the connecting node of which is connected to the first input potential via a working inductance of the converter circuit, either directly or via a fusible link or pyrofuse [fig. 5; 166 connects converter 160 to 128].
Regarding claim 9, King discloses wherein the working inductance, via which the converter circuit is connected to the input, is provided by a serial inductance of an inductive input filter which is connected downstream of the input [figs. 5 & 7; inductances 164, 166 and 168; pars. 33-34 & 36-37].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King et al. US PGPUB 2010/0097031 in view of Smolenaers US PGPUB 2020/0164755.
Regarding claim 7, King does not explicitly disclose wherein the transistor is connected to the second input potential directly or via a fusible link or pyrofuse .
However, Smolenaers disclose an on-board charger for an EV, wherein the transistor is connected to the second input potential directly or via a fusible link or pyrofuse [fig. 7; par. 276; transistors of the converter in fig. 7 are connected to an input circuit 4 with fuses].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify King to further include wherein the transistor is connected to the second input potential directly or via a fusible link or pyrofuse for the purpose of protecting the circuitry downstream of the fuse, as taught by Smolenaers (par. 276).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 2, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “a control device which is configured to determine whether the condition is met that at the input a voltage limiting element is connected between one of the input potentials and a ground potential, the threshold voltage of which is below a nominal voltage of the output, and wherein the control device is connected so as to drive the transistor and is configured to hold the transistor in the open state if it is determined that the condition is met” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 2.
Claims 3-4, being dependent on claim 2, would be allowable for the same reasons as claim 2.
With respect to claim 8, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “wherein the converter circuit is accommodated in a first housing, and the transistor is accommodated in a second housing which is interposed between the input and the first housing” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Smolenaers US PGPUB 2020/0062138 (Smolenaers II) discloses an onboard charging with a boost converter and blocking diodes.
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859