DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The specification recites [PGPub 0063]: Here, the configuration ‘bent to surround A’ also includes a case in which a separator facing A is bent and folded back at a position spaced apart from A by a prescribed distance according to a manufacturing process, so that the separator before bending and the separator after bending come into contact with and overlap each other with A interposed therebetween. In other words, the configuration may include a region where the separator before bending and the separator after bending directly contact and overlap each other without interposing A, and a region where the separator before bending and the separator after bending overlap each other with A interposed therebetween. At this time, obviously, a case in which the bent portion of the separator facing A is adjacent to A and the bent portion of the separator is in direct contact with A is also included.”
The only reference to “A” in the specification is the line A-A’ as shown in Fig. 1, which does not seem to be related to “A” as described in [PGPub 0063]. Thus, it appears that the reference to “A” is a typographical error and instead “A” in the paragraph is referencing the electrode that is surrounded by the bent and overlapping separator portions.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 requires that the first separator and the second separator are arranged to be overlapped with three or more folds. The Examiner has interpreted this limitation that the folds are folds in/of the separator. Further, per Merriam Webster online dictionary, a fold (noun) is a part doubled or laid over another part. Thus, the Examiner has considered a fold to be where a separator portion overlaps another separator portion, and, in reference to the instant application, the Examiner has interpreted the drawings of Figs. 3-9 as follows:
Figs. 3-5, each embodiment shows four total folds in the separators 20 and 40 (two folds in each separator)
Fig. 6, embodiment shows two total folds in the separators 20 and 40 (one fold in each separator)
Figs. 7-8 show four total folds in the separators 20 and 40 (two folds in each separator)
Fig. 9 shows two total folds in the separators 20 and 40 (one fold in each separator)
Therefore, the embodiments where the number of folds are less than three (as described above) are not included in the scope of the claims, such as Figs. 6 and 9.
The limitation “bent” is recited in claims 3-10. Per Merriam-Webster online dictionary, bent (adjective) is changed by bending out of an originally straight or even conditions. Thus, the Examiner has considered portions of an electrode assembly that are wound to be bent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the first surface and the second surface of the positive electrode current collector" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, making the claim indefinite. For purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has considered the limitation as “a first surface of the positive electrode current collector and a second surface of the positive electrode current collector”. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mun US20150037937A1, as provided on the IDS dated 012/6/2023.
Regarding Claim 1, Mun discloses a jelly-roll type electrode assembly [Mun throughout, Figs. 1-2, electrode assembly 10] comprising
a negative electrode [Mun 0028 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, negative electrode 11],
a first separator [Mun 0047 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, first separator 121],
a positive electrode [Mun 0028 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, positive electrode 13], and
a second separator that are sequentially laminated and wound [Mun 0047 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, second separator 122, the negative electrode, first separator, positive electrode, and second separator are considered sequentially laminated and wound into electrode 10],
wherein the positive electrode has a first surface toward a winding axis of the jelly-roll type electrode assembly [Mun Figs. 1-2, surface of 13 nearest center pin 14], and a second surface opposite to the first surface [Mun Figs. 1-2, opposite surface of 13 nearest center pin 14],
wherein the jelly-roll type electrode assembly comprises a first separator overlapping portion and a second separator overlapping portion provided on the first surface of the positive electrode and the second surface of the positive electrode, respectively, [Mun Fig. 2a, See Fig. 2a below, where the first and second separators overlap and form first and second separator overlapping portions as shown. In the first separator overlapping portion (shown below), the first separator overlaps the first separator and the second separator overlaps the second separators due to the fold at P1, and the first and second separators overlap one another. While the first overlapping portion (shown below) is not in direct contact with the first surface, the broadest reasonable interpretation of Fig. 2a is the first overlapping portion as shown is provided on the first surface of positive electrode 13. In the second separator overlapping portion, shown below, the first and second separators overlap one another.] at one end portion [Mun 0047 and throughout, Fig. 2a, end portion 13a], in a longitudinal direction [Mun Figs. 1-5, Mun ‘s overlapping portions would be considered to be at the end portion of the positive electrode in the electrode assembly in the longitudinal direction prior to winding. ] , of the positive electrode located at a core of the electrode assembly [Mun Fig. 2a, end portion 13a of positive electrode 13 at the core 14 of the electrode assembly 10], and
wherein in the first separator overlapping portion and the second separator overlapping portion, the first separator and the second separator are arranged to be overlapped with three or more folds [Mun Fig. 2a, see interpretation of the term “folds” above and see below, four folds of the first and second separators, as claimed are shown near the core 14].
Overlapping portions
Folds
Regarding Claim 2, Mun discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 1, wherein the first separator overlapping portion and the second separator overlapping portion are defined by the first separator and the second separator extending from the one end portion of the positive electrode and overlapping each other [Mun 0047 and throughout, Fig. 2a].
Regarding Claim 3, Mun discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 2, wherein a longitudinal end portion of the first separator [Mun Fig. 2a, longitudinal end portion (prior to winding) is from the free end of 121 to the portion surrounding the core 14 as shown in Fig. 2a] is bent to surround the one end portion of the positive electrode [Mun Fig. 2a, the end of the first separator is considered bent to provide the folds (see claim 1 above) between the free end of 121 and the core 14; thus, multiple bends are shown such that the first separator 121 and the second separator 122 surrounds portions of positive electrode 13 on both the first and second surface] and is located on a side of the positive electrode having the second surface [Mun Fig. 2a as described above], and
wherein a longitudinal end portion of the second separator [Mun Fig. 2a, longitudinal end portion is from the free end of 122 to region of 122 proximate to the core 14 as shown in Fig. 2a, which is longitudinal prior to winding] is bent to surround the longitudinal end portion of the first separator [Mun Fig. 2a, longitudinal end portion of 122 as defined above bends around and surrounds a portion of 121 from the end of 121 to the region of 121 proximate to the core 14. As Fig. 2a shows, the first and second separators would be considered to surround each other in portions of the longitudinal end portions of each. ] and is located on a side of the positive electrode having the first surface [Mun Fig. 2a, see below].
Regarding Claim 4, Mun discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 2, wherein a longitudinal end portion of the second separator [Mun Fig. 2a, longitudinal end portion (prior to winding) is from the free end of 122 to the region of 122 proximate to the core 14 as shown in Fig. 2a] is bent to surround the one end portion of the positive electrode [Mun Fig. 2a, the end of the second separator is considered bent to provide the claimed folds between the free end of 122 and the core 14; thus, multiple bends are shown such that the first separator 121 and the second separator 122 surrounds positive electrode 13 on both the first and second surfaces] and is located on a side of the positive electrode having the first surface [Mun Fig. 2a, as described above], and
wherein a longitudinal end portion of the first separator is bent to surround the longitudinal end portion of the second separator [Mun Fig. 2a, Mun shows multiple bends to provide the claimed folds and, as Fig. 2a shows, the first and second separators would be considered to surround each other in portions of the longitudinal end portions of each.] and is located on a side of the positive electrode having the second surface [Mun Fig. 2a, see below].
Regarding Claim 5, Mun discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 1, wherein the first separator overlapping portion is defined by the first separator [Mun Fig. 2a, both the first and second separators occupy the first separator overlapping portion as provided in claim 1 above and thus Mun meets the limitation.], and the second separator bent to surround the one end portion of the positive electrode and located on the first surface of the positive electrode and overlapping each other [Mun Fig. 2a, Mun, as provided for claim 1 above, shows this configuration for first separator 121 and second separator 122 and positive electrode 13, with the first surface as shown, each separator with multiple bends associated with the claimed folds and the overlapping portions as shown in Figs. 2a in claim 1].
Regarding Claim 6, Mun discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 5, wherein a longitudinal end portion of the second separator is bent and additionally overlapped in a direction facing the positive electrode on the first surface of the positive electrode [Mun Fig. 2a, where the longitudinal end portion of second separator 122 is from the free end of 122 to the portion of 122 proximate to core 14, which is bent in a direction facing the positive electrode 13 up to P1 to form the curvature of the separator, and further overlaps the positive electrode 13 on the first surface. See below for clarity.].
Regarding Claim 7, Mun discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 5, wherein a longitudinal end portion of the second separator is bent and additionally overlapped in a direction opposite to a direction facing the positive electrode on the first surface of the positive electrode [Mun Fig. 2a, where the longitudinal end portion of second separator 122 is from the free end of 122 to the portion of 122 proximate to the core, which is bent in an opposite direction to the direction facing positive electrode 13 beginning at P1 to form the curvature of the wound portion near core 13. See below for clarity.].
Regarding Claim 8, Mun discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 1, wherein the second separator overlapping portion is defined by the second separator [Mun Fig. 2a, both the first and second separators occupy the first separator overlapping portion as provided in claim 1 above and thus Mun meets the limitation.], and the first separator bent to surround the one end portion of the positive electrode and located on the second surface of the positive electrode overlap and overlapping each other [Mun Fig. 2a, Mun, as provided for claim 1 above, shows this configuration for first separator 121 and second separator 122 and positive electrode 13, with the second surface as shown, each separator with multiple bends associated with the claimed folds and the overlapping portions as shown in Figs. 2a in claim 1].
Regarding Claim 9, Mun discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 8, wherein a longitudinal end portion of the first separator is bent and additionally overlapped in a direction facing the positive electrode on the second surface of the positive electrode [Mun Figs. 2A, the longitudinal end portion of the first separators is the portion of 121 from the free end of 121 to the portion of 121 proximate to the core, The portion of the first separator bending (toward P1) in a direction facing the positive electrode on the second surface is shown below for clarity.]
Regarding Claim 13, Mun discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 1, wherein the positive electrode comprises:
a positive electrode current collector [Mun 0032 and throughout, Fig. 2A, collector 131]; and
a positive electrode active material layer provided on at least one surface of a first surface and a second surface of the positive electrode current collector [Mun 0032, both sides are coated with active material], and
wherein an end of the one end portion is at a same position as an end of the positive electrode current collector [Mun Fig. 2a, end of 131 at 13a].
Regarding Claim 14, Mun discloses a secondary battery comprising: the jelly-roll type electrode assembly according to claim 1 [Mun 0027 and throughout, Fig. 1]; and
a battery case configured to accommodate the electrode assembly [Mun 0027, Fig. 1 case 20].
Regarding Claim 15, Mun discloses the secondary battery of claim 14, wherein the battery case has a cylindrical shape [Mun 0029].
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woo et al. US20190198851A1, hereinafter Woo.
Regarding Claim 1, Woo discloses a jelly-roll type electrode assembly [Woo 0037 and throughout] comprising
a negative electrode [Woo 0037 and throughout, Figs. 3-6 , first electrode 11 or second electrode 12 reads on the negative electrode, The Examiner will interpret as the negative electrode is first electrode 11.]
a first separator [Woo 0037, Figs. 3-6, separator 13 between the first electrode 11 and second electrode 12]
a positive electrode [Woo 0037, Figs. 3-6, first electrode 11 or second electrode 12 reads on the positive electrode, The Examiner will interpret as the positive electrode is 12.], and
a second separator that are sequentially laminated and wound [Woo 0037 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, the separator 13 closest to electrode 12 as stacked as the second separator],
wherein the positive electrode has a first surface toward a winding axis of the jelly-roll type electrode assembly [Woo Figs. 3-6, see below for clarity], and a second surface opposite to the first surface [Woo Figs. 3-6, see below for clarity],
wherein the jelly-roll type electrode assembly comprises a first separator overlapping portion and a second separator overlapping portion provided on the first surface of the positive electrode and the second surface of the positive electrode, respectively [Woo 0037 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, where the first and second separators overlap one another on either side of electrode 12, see below for clarity], at one end portion, in a longitudinal direction [Woo 0037 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, Fig. 4 shows flat laminated electrode assembly before winding where the end portion of electrodes 11 and 12 is the left side], of the positive electrode located at a core of the electrode assembly [Woo 0037 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, winding center as the core] and
wherein in the first separator overlapping portion and the second separator overlapping portion, the first separator and the second separator are arranged to be overlapped with three or more folds [Woo 0037 and throughout, Figs. 3-6 show three or more folds, see Fig. 3 below with numbered folds and the separators associated with them for clarity].
Figure 3 folds
Regarding Claim 2, Woo discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 1, wherein the first separator overlapping portion and the second separator overlapping portion are defined by the first separator and the second separator extending from the one end portion of the positive electrode and overlapping each other [Woo Figs. 3-6 show this configuration where the first and second separators 13 extend beyond the end portion of the positive electrode].
Regarding Claim 3, Woo discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 2, wherein a longitudinal end portion of the first separator is bent to surround the one end portion of the positive electrode [Woo 0037 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, see where arrow 3 points in Fig. 3] and is located on a side of the positive electrode having the second surface [Woo 0037 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, first separator is on the second side as shown in Fig. 3], and
wherein a longitudinal end portion of the second separator is bent to surround the longitudinal end portion of the first separator and is located on a side of the positive electrode having the first surface [Woo 0037 and throughout, Figs. 3 where fold 4 positions the second separator to surround the end portion of the first separator in the center of the core on the first surface of 12].
Regarding Claim 4, Woo discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 2, wherein a longitudinal end portion of the second separator is bent to surround the one end portion of the positive electrode and is located on a side of the positive electrode having the first surface [Woo 0037 and throughout, Fig. 3 below where the second separator is bent at 4 and surrounds the end of electrode 12 such that a portion of the second separator is on the first surface, and
wherein a longitudinal end portion of the first separator is bent to surround the longitudinal end portion of the second separator [Woo 0037 and throughout, Fig. 3 below, where the longitudinal end portion of the first separator is from the end shown below to the end portion of electrode 11 and is bent at 2 and 3 such that the end portion of the second separator is surrounded by the first separator] and is located on a side of the positive electrode having the second surface [Woo 0037 and throughout, Fig. 3 below, a portion of the first separator that is between the bend 3 and the end of the electrode 11 would be considered to be on a side of 12 having the second surface].
Regarding Claim 5, Woo discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 1, wherein the first separator overlapping portion is defined by the first separator, and the second separator bent to surround the one end portion of the positive electrode and located on the first surface of the positive electrode and overlapping each other [Woo 0037 and throughout, as shown in Fig. 3 in claim 1 above].
Regarding Claim 6, Woo discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 5, wherein a longitudinal end portion of the second separator is bent and additionally overlapped in a direction facing the positive electrode on the first surface of the positive electrode [Woo 0037 and throughout, see Fig. 3 below where the longitudinal end portion of the second separator is from the end shown below to the end of electrode 11, is bent at 4, and overlaps the first surface].
Regarding Claim 8, Woo discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 1, wherein the second separator overlapping portion is defined by the second separator [See Woo Fig. 3 below with the second separator overlapping portion including portions of the second separator], and the first separator bent to surround the one end portion of the positive electrode and located on the second surface of the positive electrode overlap and overlapping each other [Woo 0037 and throughout, Fig. 3 the first separator is bent at 3 such that it surrounds the electrode end portion of 12 and a portion of the first separator is on the second surface and the first separator is bend such that portions of the first separator overlap each other and overlap the positive electrode].
Regarding Claim 9, Woo discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 8, wherein a longitudinal end portion of the first separator is bent and additionally overlapped in a direction facing the positive electrode on the second surface of the positive electrode [Woo Fig. 3 above in claim 8 shows this configuration where the first separator is bent around the positive electrode to face/overlap the positive electrode on the second surface] .
Regarding Claim 11, Woo discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first separator overlapping portion or the second separator overlapping portion comprises a piece separator [Woo 0040 and throughout, Fig. 3, First and second insulating tapes 41/42 are separate separator units, which are not integral with Woo’s first and second separators, and read on the claimed piece separator since insulating tapes 41/42 provides additional separation of the electrodes. As shown in Fig. 3 in claim 1 above, Woo’s piece separator 41/42 is in the second separator overlapping portion between the electrode 11 and the separator, and thus meets the limitation].
Regarding Claim 12, Woo discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first separator overlapping portion or the second separator overlapping portion further comprises a fixing member provided on one side [Woo 0040 and throughout, Fig. 3, first and second insulating tapes 41/42 would be considered in the second separator overlapping portion, as shown in Fig. 3 in claim 1 above, between the electrode 11 and the separator and thus read on the limitation] .
Regarding Claim 13, Woo discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 1, wherein the positive electrode comprises:
a positive electrode current collector [Woo 0034 and throughout, electrode plate 12 ; and
a positive electrode active material layer provided on at least one surface of a first surface and a second surface of the positive electrode current collector [Woo 0035 and throughout, teaches both surfaces can be coated with active material], and
wherein an end of the one end portion is at a same position as an end of the positive electrode current collector [Woo Fig 3 and as taught throughout].
Regarding Claim 14, Woo discloses a secondary battery comprising: the jelly-roll type electrode assembly according to claim 1 [Woo 0025 and throughout, Figs. 1-2]; and
a battery case configured to accommodate the electrode assembly [Woo 0026 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, case 30].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo, as provided for claims 1 and 5 (claim 7) and 1 and 8 (claim 10) above.
Regarding Claim 7, Woo discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 5, wherein a longitudinal end portion of the second separator is bent [Woo Fig. 3 see below, second separator is bent at 4 and on the left side of the electrode opposite to bend 4] and additionally overlapped [Woo Fig. 3 below shows the second separator overlaps itself, the first separator, the positive electrode, the negative electrode, etc. ]. Woo’s electrode assembly is shaped such that the second separator is bent and overlapped in a direction facing the first surface of the positive electrode [Woo Fig. 3]; thus, Woo does not teach the second separator is bent and overlapped in a direction opposite to a direction facing the positive electrode on the first surface of the positive electrode. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Woo’s jelly-roll type electrode assembly such that the end of the second separator is bent and overlapped in a direction opposite to the direction facing the positive electrode on the first surface of the positive electrode since such modification merely requires a change in shape and the separator would still perform the same function regardless of the shape. Changes in shape are obvious per MPEP 2144.04 IV, B. Further, such modification in shape would be considered a design choice per MPEP 2144.04 I, depending on the design requirement and or to facilitate the manufacturing process for the electrode assemble.
Regarding Claim 10, Woo discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 8, wherein a longitudinal end portion of the first separator is bent and additionally overlapped in a direction facing the positive electrode on the second surface of the positive electrode [Woo Fig. 3 above in claim 8 shows this configuration where the first separator is bent around the positive electrode to face/overlap the positive electrode on the second surface]; thus, Woo does not teach bending and overlapping in a direction opposite the direction facing the positive electrode. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Woo’s jelly-roll type electrode assembly such that the end of the first separator is bent and additionally overlapped in a direction facing the positive electrode on the second surface of the positive electrode since such modification merely requires a change in shape and the separator would still perform the same function regardless of the shape. Changes in shape are obvious per MPEP 2144.04 IV, B. Further, such modification in shape would be considered a design choice per MPEP 2144.04 I, depending on the design requirement and or to facilitate the manufacturing process for the electrode assemble.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun US20150037937A1, as provided on the IDS dated 12/6/2023, as provided for claim 1 above, in view of Woo et al. US20190198851A1, hereinafter Woo.
Regarding Claim 11, Mun discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 1 but is silent to a piece separator. Woo teaches wherein at least one of the first separator overlapping portion or the second separator overlapping portion comprises a piece separator [Woo 0040 and throughout, Fig. 3, First and second insulating tapes 41/42 are separate separator units, which are not integral with Woo’s first and second separators, and read on the claimed piece separator since insulating tapes 41/42 provides additional separation of the electrodes. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Woo’s fixing member with Mun’s jelly-roll type electrode assembly by applying a piece separator 41/42 between Mun’s electrode 11 and the first/second separators 121/122 in the second overlapped separator portion between electrode 11 and the core 14 for the benefit of preventing movement of the electrode [Woo 0040]. Alternatively, it would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Woo’s piece separator 41/42 in Mun’s jelly-roll type electrode assembly by applying it between Mun’s electrode 13 and the beginning end of separators 121/122 in the first overlapped separator portion for the benefit of preventing movement of the electrode [Woo 0040]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Mun and Woo as described above for the predictable result of an electrode assembly secured to reduce movement of the electrode to reduce shorting [Woo 0040], which would be expected to improve the safety of the electrode and performance.
Regarding Claim 12, Mun discloses the jelly-roll type electrode assembly of claim 1 but is silent to wherein at least one of the first separator overlapping portion or the second separator overlapping portion further comprises a fixing member provided on one side. Woo teaches a fixing member 41/42 provided between the separator 13 and the electrode 11 [Woo 0040 and throughout, Fig. 3, first and second insulating tapes 41/42 between the electrode 11 and the separator 13]. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Woo’s fixing member with Mun’s jelly-roll type electrode assembly by applying a fixing member 41/42 between Mun’s electrode 11 and the first/second separators 121/122 in the second overlapped separator portion between electrode 11 and the core 14 for the benefit of preventing movement of the electrode [Woo 0040]. Alternatively, it would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Woo’s fixing member in Mun’s jelly-roll type electrode assembly by applying a fixing member 41/42 between Mun’s electrode 13 and the beginning end of separators 121/122 in the first overlapped separator portion for the benefit of preventing movement of the electrode [Woo 0040]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Mun and Woo as described above for the predictable result of an electrode assembly secured to reduce movement of the electrode to reduce shorting [Woo 0040], which would be expected to improve the safety of the electrode and performance.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo, as provided for claims 1 and 14, in view of Mun US20150037937A1, as provided on the IDS dated 04/3/2025.
Regarding Claim 15, Woo discloses the secondary battery of claim 14 but does not explicitly teach wherein the battery case has a cylindrical shape. Mun teaches a jelly-roll electrode assembly 10 wherein the battery case has a cylindrical shape [Mun 0027-0029, Fig. 1, case 20]. Mun’s cylindrical battery shape case would be considered an art recognized shape for a battery case per MPEP 2144.07. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to modify Woo’s jelly-roll electrode assembly such that it can be used in a cylindrical shaped battery case, and such shape changes are obvious per MPEP 2144.04 IV, B. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Mun and Woo as described above for the predicted result of a cylindrical shaped battery [Mun 0027-0029] for applications where a cylindrical shape is preferred.
Contact Information
/M. T. LEONARD/ Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724