DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is suggested to amend the limitation “the lower die located on an inner side” to read as “the lower die is located on an inner side”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“liquid supply portion for depositing” in claim 2 [corresponding structure is jetting nozzles; see paragraph 0063];
“biasing member configured to press” in claim 19 [corresponding structure is compression coil type spring; see paragraph 0173 & 0182].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1, the claim states “a hot press device configured such that…”, this renders the claim indefinite since it is not clear what the transitional phrase is for the claim. A transitional phrase defines the scope of the claim in terms of what unrecited elements or method step, if any, are excluded from the scope of the claim, as well as clearly separating the preamble from the body of the claim. Accordingly, the lack of a transitional phrase renders the claim indefinite because the scope of the claim is not clearly defined [see MPEP 2111.03]. It is further noted that the “wherein” phrase appears to server the same purpose as the transitional phrase to further limit the structure of the apparatus, however wherein clauses are used to further define elements that have been positively recited previously within the claim, thus the wherein clause cannot be considered to be the transitional phrase of the claim. For purposes of examination the claim is being interpreted as having “comprising” as the transitional phrase.
The claim states “press device configured such that a primary formed product that is obtained in a forming area”, it is unclear what structural element the forming area is associated with, the press device or the primary formed product.
The claim states “press device configured such that primary formed product…is held under pressure and cooled on respective pressure holding surfaces of an upper die and a lower die in a cooling die set to thereby obtain a hardened final formed product”, it is unclear if the upper die and lower die in a cooling die set is intended as structure of the hot press device or if this is a separate structural die set. It is noted that given that the claim lacks a transitional phrase this limitation appears as part of the preamble of the claim and therefore the claim fails to positively recite any structure to the hot press device. For examination purposes the claim is being interpreted as a hot press device comprising a cooling die set including an upper die and a lower die, wherein the lower die includes a liquid reservoir for retaining liquid coolant.
With regards to claim 3, the claim states “the liquid supply portion includes a jetting nozzle disposed in the first liquid reservoir”, this renders the claim indefinite since claim 2, from which claim 3 depends, sets forth “at least one of the upper die and the lower die includes a liquid supply portion”, the “at least one” option of claim 2 allows for the options of the upper die, the lower die or both the upper and lower die therefore it is unclear how it is possible for the liquid supply portion to be disposed in the first liquid reservoir if the liquid supply portion is included in the upper die and the liquid reservoir is in the lower die. Clarification and/or correction is required. For examination purposes the claim is being interpreted as reciting the liquid supply portion is within the lower die.
With regards to claim 4, the claim states “the liquid supply portion is capable of supplying the liquid cooling to the cooling recess”, this renders the claim indefinite since claim 2, from which claim 4 depends, sets forth “at least one of the upper die and the lower die includes a liquid supply portion”, the “at least one” option of claim 2 allows for the options of the upper die, the lower die or both the upper and lower die therefore it is unclear how it is possible for the liquid supply portion to supply liquid to the cooling recess which is in the upper die if the liquid supply portion is included in the lower die. Clarification and/or correction is required. For examination purposes the claim is being interpreted as reciting the liquid supply portion is within the upper die.
With regards to claim 8, the claim states “wherein a second liquid reservoir is provided in an outer region of the first liquid reservoir of the lower die as the liquid reservoir”, it is unclear how the second liquid reservoir is now to be the liquid reservoir when claim 2 has previously recited that the first liquid reservoir is the liquid reservoir. Specifically, is the claim intending to recite that the first and the second reservoirs are to be single reservoir? Clarification and/or correction is required.
With regards to claim 12, the claim states “a recess that is open upward is provided in the pressure-holding surface of the lower die as the liquid reservoir”, this renders the claim indefinite since claim 9, from which claim 12 depends, previously recites the third liquid reservoir is the liquid reservoir, therefore it is unclear if the limitation is intending to recite both the third liquid reservoir and the recess are to be the liquid reservoir or if the recess alone is the liquid reservoir. Clarification and/or correction is required.
With regards to claim 14, the claim states “the lower die includes a lower recess as the liquid reservoir” and also states “a first reservoir chamber is provided in the first cylinder chamber as the liquid reservoir”, it is unclear how the lower recess and the first reservoir chamber are both to be a liquid reservoir when they are two separate structural elements. Clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Irie et al (US 2021/0078063).
In reference to claim 1, Irie et al discloses a hot press device configured such that a primary formed product that is obtained in a forming area and is in a high temperature state is held under pressure and cooled on respective pressure holding surfaces (15, 16) of an upper die (11) and a lower die (12) in a cooling die set to thereby obtain a hardened final formed product, wherein the lower die (12) includes a liquid reservoir for retaining liquid coolant (cavity within 16b) [see figures 1 & 3; paragraph 0044].
In reference to claim 2, the lower die (12) includes a liquid supply portion (18) for depositing the liquid coolant on the primary formed product held under pressure, and a first liquid reservoir (16b) is provided in the lower die as the liquid reservoir, the first liquid reservoir configured to collect and retain the liquid coolant deposited from the liquid supply portion (18) on the primary formed product [see paragraph 0044].
In reference to claim 4, Irie et al further discloses the upper die (11) includes a cooling recess (cavity within 15b) that is open at the press holding surface (15) of the upper die for the primary formed product, and a liquid supply portion (17) is capable of supplying the liquid coolant to the cooling recess.
In reference to claim 5, the cooling recess (15b) is provided at a location corresponding to the pressure holding surface of the lower die [see figure 3], and the first liquid reservoir (16b) is provided at a location corresponding to the pressure holding surface of the upper die [see figure 3].
In reference to claim 6, Irie et al further discloses a plurality of upper cooling grooves (15b) are formed in the pressure holding surface of the upper die, the upper cooling grooves each having an end portion that is open to the cooling recess, as seen in figure 2.
In reference to claim 7, Irie et al further discloses a plurality of lower cooling grooves (16b) are formed in the press holding surface of the lower die, the lower cooling grooves each having an end portion that is open to the first liquid reservoir, as seen in figure 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irie et al.
In reference to claim 3, Irie et al further discloses the first liquid reservoir includes a cooling opening (opening at passage 18) that is open at the press holding surface of the lower die for the primary formed product [see figure 3].
Irie et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein a jetting nozzle is provided for spraying the cooling onto the primary formed product.
However, it is well known in the art to provide jetting nozzles for the purpose of providing spray control of the liquid being applied to the product.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid supply portion of Irie et al to include jetting nozzles within the reservoir at the cooling openings in order to improve control of the application of the cooling being applied onto the product.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art neither alone nor in combination, anticipates nor renders obvious a second liquid reservoir surrounding the first liquid reservoir and configured to retain the liquid coolant as it flows from the first liquid reservoir through the cooling grooves and into the second liquid reservoir as required by claim 8, a volume varying wall of a third liquid reservoir that is configured to move in a horizontal direction to vary a retaining volume of the third liquid reservoir as required by claim 9, and the structural element as required by claim 14.
Conclusion
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725