DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 38 and 43, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu (US 2023/038891).
Regarding Claims 1, 38, and 43, Wu teaches a data transmission method, comprising:
receiving, by first user equipment (UE), bearer configuration information sent by a serving node (¶ [0102], see specifically multiple configuration parmeters); and
performing, by the first UE, bearer configuration (¶ [0097], see specifically RACH procedure, and C-MN configuration.)
Regarding Claim 8, Wu teaches the serving node comprises any combination of the following nodes: a base station, a centralized unit (CU), a distributed unit (DU), an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, a distributed unit of an IAB node (IAB node DU), and a donor DU (¶ [0005], see specifically base station).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2023/0388891) in view of Nakarmi (US 2023/0362635)
Regarding Claim 2, Wu fails to explicitly teach the bearer configuration information comprises at least one of the following: Uu radio link control (RLC) channel configuration, a Uu RLC channel identifier, Uu logical channel configuration, a source UE identifier, a target UE identifier, a peer UE identifier, service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration corresponding to a sidelink radio bearer (SL RB), packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration corresponding to an SL RB, or mapping information between an SL RB and a Uu RLC channel.
Nakarmi from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the bearer configuration information comprises at least one of the following: Uu radio link control (RLC) channel configuration, a Uu RLC channel identifier (¶ [0177], see specifically channel identifiers), Uu logical channel configuration, a source UE identifier, a target UE identifier, a peer UE identifier, service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration corresponding to a sidelink radio bearer (SL RB), packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration corresponding to an SL RB, or mapping information between an SL RB and a Uu RLC channel.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to include identifiers for a channel within a configuration in the system of Wu as taught by Nakarmi.
The motivation is that the base reference of Wu teaches that multiple bearers can be configured for a UE, and that different identifiers are used per bearer as they can be used to distinguish the bearer as taught by Nakarami.
Claim(s) 3, 5, 7 and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2023/0388891) in view of Cheng (US 2024/0007922).
Regarding Claim 3, Wu fails to explicitly teach the bearer configuration information comprises at least one of the following: SDAP configuration corresponding to an SL RB, PDCP configuration corresponding to an SL RB, PC5 RLC channel configuration corresponding to an SL RB, PC5 logical channel configuration corresponding to an SL RB, a source UE identifier, a target UE identifier, or a peer UE identifier.
Cheng from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the bearer configuration information comprises at least one of the following: SDAP configuration corresponding to an SL RB, PDCP configuration corresponding to an SL RB (¶ [0107], see specifically below the PDCP), PC5 RLC channel configuration corresponding to an SL RB, PC5 logical channel configuration corresponding to an SL RB, a source UE identifier, a target UE identifier, or a peer UE identifier.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use the mapping in the bearer configuration for sidelink adaptation in the system of Wu as taught by Cheng.
The motivation is that using a Uu to PC5 mapping allows for simpler configuration as the PC5 connections will look like standard uplink connections in the system of Wu as taught by Cheng.
Regarding Claim 5, Wu fails to explicitly teach, after performing, by the first UE, the bearer configuration, further comprising: sending, by the first UE, data to second UE according to a configured bearer, wherein sending, by the first UE, the data to the second UE according to the configured bearer comprises: the first UE mapping SL RB data corresponding to the second UE to a Uu interface RLC channel and sending the SL RB data to the serving node; or the first UE delivering SL RB data corresponding to the second UE to a PC5 RLC channel and sending the SL RB data through a PC5 interface
Cheng from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches after performing, by the first UE, the bearer configuration, further comprising: sending, by the first UE, data to second UE according to a configured bearer, wherein sending, by the first UE, the data to the second UE according to the configured bearer comprises: the first UE mapping SL RB data corresponding to the second UE to a Uu interface RLC channel and sending the SL RB data to the serving node; or the first UE delivering SL RB data corresponding to the second UE to a PC5 RLC channel and sending the SL RB data through a PC5 interface (¶ [0107], see specifically mapping between PC5 and UU).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use a link adaptation in the system of Wu as taught by Cheng.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use the mapping in the bearer configuration for sidelink adaptation in the system of Wu as taught by Cheng.
Regarding Claim 7, Wu fails to explicitly teach after receiving, by the first UE, the bearer configuration information sent by the serving node, further comprising:
sending, by the first UE, at least one of the following information to the serving node:
a request or indication for the serving node forwarding SL data or signaling, a source UE identifier, a target UE identifier, a serving node identifier of source UE, a serving node identifier of target UE, a serving cell identifier of source UE, a serving cell identifier of target UE, or quality of service (QoS) flow information, wherein the QoS flow information comprises at least one of the following: a PC5 quality of service flow identifier (PFI) or a QoS parameter.
Cheng from the same or similar field of endeavor after receiving, by the first UE, the bearer configuration information sent by the serving node, further comprising:
sending, by the first UE, at least one of the following information to the serving node:
a request or indication for the serving node forwarding SL data or signaling, a source UE identifier, a target UE identifier, a serving node identifier of source UE, a serving node identifier of target UE, a serving cell identifier of source UE, a serving cell identifier of target UE (¶ [0140], see specifically cell ID), or quality of service (QoS) flow information, wherein the QoS flow information comprises at least one of the following: a PC5 quality of service flow identifier (PFI) or a QoS parameter.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use the mapping in the bearer configuration for sidelink adaptation in the system of Wu as taught by Cheng.
The motivation is that using a Uu to PC5 mapping allows for simpler configuration as the PC5 connections will look like standard uplink connections in the system of Wu as taught by Cheng.
Regarding Claim 45, Wu teaches the serving node comprises any combination of the following nodes: a base station, a centralized unit (CU), a distributed unit (DU), an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, a distributed unit of an IAB node (IAB node DU), and a donor DU (¶ [0005], see specifically base station).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2023/0388891) in view of Nakarmi (US 2023/0362635) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Cheng (US 2024/0007922).
Regarding Claim 4, Wu fails to explicitly teach wherein the mapping information between the SL RB and the Uu RLC channel comprises at least one of the following:
mapping of at least one of an SL RB identifier, the source UE identifier, or the target UE identifier to the Uu RLC channel identifier or a Uu logical channel identifier, or mapping of a PC5 quality of service flow identifier (PFI) to the Uu RLC channel identifier or a Uu logical channel identifier
Cheng from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the mapping information between the SL RB and the Uu RLC channel (¶ [0107], see specifically mapping between PC5 and UU).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use a link adaptation in the system of Wu as taught by Cheng.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use the mapping in the bearer configuration for sidelink adaptation in the system of Wu as taught by Cheng.
The motivation is that using a Uu to PC5 mapping allows for simpler configuration as the PC5 connections will look like standard uplink connections in the system of Wu as taught by Cheng.
Nakarmi from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches mapping of at least one of an SL RB identifier, the source UE identifier, or the target UE identifier to the Uu RLC channel identifier or a Uu logical channel identifier (¶ [0177], see specifically channel identifiers), or mapping of a PC5 quality of service flow identifier (PFI) to the Uu RLC channel identifier or a Uu logical channel identifier
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to include identifiers for a channel within a configuration in the system of Wu as taught by Nakarmi.
The motivation is that the base reference of Wu teaches that multiple bearers can be configured for a UE, and that different identifiers are used per bearer as they can be used to distinguish the bearer as taught by Nakarami.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2023/0388891) in view of Paladugu (US 2022/0418015)
Regarding Claim 6, Wu fails to explicitly teach wherein SL RB data sent by the first UE to the serving node encapsulates an adaptation layer subheader, and the adaptation layer subheader comprises any combination of the following: a source UE identifier, a target UE identifier, and an SL RB ID;
and at least one of the source UE identifier or the target UE identifier comprised in the adaptation layer subheader comprises any one of the following identifiers: a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), a system architecture evolution temporary mobile station identifier (S-TMSI), a layer 2 destination identifier (L2 destination ID), a UE identifier assigned by the serving node to UE, or an identifier assigned by a core network to UE.
Paladugu from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein SL RB data sent by the first UE to the serving node encapsulates an adaptation layer subheader, and the adaptation layer subheader comprises any combination of the following: a source UE identifier, a target UE identifier, and an SL RB ID (¶ [0008], see specifically bearer identifier, remote UE identifier and ¶ [0163], see specifically adaptation layer header);
and at least one of the source UE identifier or the target UE identifier comprised in the adaptation layer subheader comprises any one of the following identifiers: a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), a system architecture evolution temporary mobile station identifier (S-TMSI), a layer 2 destination identifier (L2 destination ID), a UE identifier assigned by the serving node to UE, or an identifier assigned by a core network to UE (¶ [0148], see specifically remote UE identifier).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use an adaptation layer, and a header for that layer in the system of Wu as taught by Paladugu.
The motivation is that adaptation layers handle the mapping of flows to facilitate sidelinek and relay services as discussed in ¶ [0131], and using such a header would improve the invention of Wu in the same way as Paladugu.
Conclusion
/ROBERT M MORLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409
ROBERT M. MORLAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409