DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of recently patented copending Application No. 18/254,543 (App. No. 18/254,543).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because App. No. 18/254,543 teaches each and every component and reads upon the claims in an anticipatory manner.
Regarding claims 1-20, App. No. 18/254,543 teaches a polyimide-based resin film comprising a polyimide containing a repeating unit of chemical formula 1 and a repeating unit of formula 2, wherein Y2 is formula (3-1), (claim 1), the polyimide film having a residual stress of 46 MPa or less in an inorganic substrate at a thickness of 10 microns (claim 2), a retardation value of 300 nm or less at a thickness of 10 microns (claim 3), a refractive index of 1.71 or more in a thickness direction at a wavelength of 532 nm based on a thickness of 10 microns (claim 4), a haze value of less than 1.0% at a thickness of 10 microns, a Bow value of 48 microns or less at a thickness of 10 microns (claim 6), a yellow index of 25 or less at a thickness of 10 microns, (claim 7), wherein X2 of formula (2) is formula (4-1) (claims 12-15), and a substrate and optical device comprising the polyimide film of claim 1. (claims 19-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2022/091813 A1 to Abiko et al. (hereinafter Abiko).
Regarding claims 1-20, Abiko teaches a polyimide resin and a polyimide film (See abstract), wherein the polyimide film can have a thickness of 1-80 microns, preferably 10-80 microns (para 61), and specifically, a polyimide film having a thickness of about 10 microns
(See Table 1), wherein the polyimide contains repeating units Norbornan-2-spiro-α-cyclopentanone-α'-spiro-2''-norbornane-5,5'',6,6''-tetracarboxylic acid dianhydride (CpODA), and/or 3,3',4,4' - Biphenyltetracarboxylic acid dianhydride (BPDA), with 1,3-phenylenediamine (MPD) and 9,9-bis(4-aminophenyl)fluorene (BAFL) (See examples 1-4 and specifically example 4), which meets the claimed repeating units of formula 1 and 2 cited in claims 1, 10, 15-18. The above is used asl films for optical and display devices. (para 92), which meets claims 19-20.
In regard to the properties such as residual stress, Rth, haze value, and Bow value, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the polyimide film of Abiko to have the claimed properties of the claimed invention because Abiko teaches a substantially identical polyimide film to the claimed invention such as a polyimide film with repeating units of BPDA, MPD and BAFL, with the MPD and BAFL in about the same molar ratios as those used by the Applicant in their examples, and the Applicant further teaches that the m-PDA units and FDA units directly affects the transmittance and retardation properties (para 63-64 and 76-77 of US publication), and the molar ratios directly affects the warpage properties. (para 88 of US publication). See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766