DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment filed 6/30/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-12 and 14-20 are pending. Claim 13 is cancelled. Claims 16-20 are new. Claims 1, 2 and 4-11 are amended. No new matter is added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Zhou describes a coating paper with expanded graphite particles, not an aerosol-forming substrate comprising expanded graphite particles, where the aerosol-forming substrate is circumscribed by a wrapper, as is now required.
Amended claim 1 does not specify that the substrate or the wrapper contains the expanded graphite. Thus, either could contain the expanded graphite. Zhou discloses an expanded graphite within the article (Paragraphs [0008]-[0014], [0018]). Even thought it is contained within a coating on the wrapper, this is not precluded by claim 1. Specifically, the claim language is structured that it isn’t clear if the aerosol-generating article, the substrate, or the wrapper comprises the expanded graphite.
If either the article or the wrapper comprises the wrapper comprise the expanded graphite, then Zhou still meets the limitations of the claims. If the substrate itself comprises the expanded graphite, then Zhou would not meet the claim limitations. Regardless, because it isn’t clear with the current claim construction which component comprises the expanded graphite, the claim limitations are still met by Zhou.
Double Patenting
__________________________________________________________
Claims 1, 3-9, 11, 13 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 10, 13-15 and 17 of copending Application No. 18/576,790 (reference application) in view of MUA et al. (US 2021/0195938). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
With respect to claims 1 and 4, copending Application No. 18/576,790 claims An aerosol-forming substrate comprising, on a dry weight basis: between 70 and 90 wt % carbon particles; between 7 and 26 wt % of an aerosol former; between 2 and 20 wt % of fibres; and between 2 and 10 wt % of a binder, wherein each of the carbon particles consists of one or more of graphite, expanded graphite, graphene, carbon nanotubes, charcoal, and diamond (Claim 1). An aerosol-generating system comprising an aerosol-generating article according to claim 16 and an electrical aerosol-generating device for heating the combined aerosol-forming substrate of the aerosol-generating article (Claim 17). The claimed ranges overlap with the ranges for each material of copending Application No. 18/576,790. MPEP 2144.05, I.
Amended claim 1 does not specify that the substrate or the wrapper contains the expanded graphite. Thus, claim 1 is still rejected as having an aerosol-generating article comprising the claimed expanded graphite.
copending Application No. 18/576,790 does not explicitly disclose a the aerosol forming substrate is circumscribed within a wrapper. MUA et al. discloses a filter at one end of the cigarette, a substrate (the filter and coated substrate represent a plurality of elements) coated with the aerosol forming material are circumscribed in a wrapper (Paragraph [0056]-[0060]). It would have been obvious to provide the components of MUA et al. along with the aerosol forming substrate of copending Application No. 18/576,790so as to produce a cigarette that can be used in an electrical aerosol generating device for heating the aerosol forming substrate
With respect to claims 3 and 5, copending Application No. 18/576,790 claims that the carbon particles are expanded graphite and are in an amount 70 to 90 wt% (Claim 1).
With respect to claims 6 and 7, copending Application No. 18/576,790 claims a particle size distribution having a volume D10 particle size between 1 and 20 microns and a particle size distribution having a volume D90 particle size between 50 and 300 microns (Claims 2 and 3).
With respect to claim 8, copending Application No. 18/576,790 claims the carbon particles are substantially homogeneously distributed throughout the aerosol-forming substrate (Claim 9) and the carbon particles are the expanded graphite (Claim 1).
With respect to claim 9, copending Application No. 18/576,790 claims the aerosol-forming substrate is a tobacco-free aerosol-forming substrate (Claim 10).
With respect to claim 11, copending Application No. 18/576,790 claims A method of forming an aerosol-forming substrate according to claim 1 or a combined aerosol-forming substrate according to claim 12,the method comprising: forming a slurry comprising the carbon particles, the aerosol former, the fibres, and the binder; and casting and drying the slurry to form the aerosol-forming substrate or a precursor for forming into the aerosol-forming substrate (Claim 15).
Claim 13 is rejected by claim 13 of copending Application No. 18/576,790.
Clam 15 is rejected by claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/576,790.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
_________________________________________________________________
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 11, 13 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16, 17, 22, 27, 29, 30 of copending Application No. 18/575,989 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
With respect to claim 1, copending Application No. 18/575,989 claims An aerosol-forming substrate for a heatable aerosol-generating article, the aerosol-forming substrate comprising: an aerosol-forming material and between 0.1 and 15 weight percent carbon particles, wherein the carbon particles have a volume mean particle size of greater than 10 microns, wherein the carbon particles have a particle size distribution having a D10 particle size and a D90 particle size, and wherein the D90 particle size is less than 20 times the D10 particle size (Claim 16), wherein the carbon particles consist of one or more of: graphite particles, expanded graphite particles, and graphene particles (Claim 17).
With respect to claim 2, copending Application No. 18/575,989 claims the aerosol- forming substrate has a thermal conductivity of greater than 0.06 W/mK (Claim 22). Greater than 0.06 W/mK includes values greater than 0.06 W/mK and including the claimed value. See, MPEP 2144.05, I.
With respect to claims 3 and 5, copending Application No. 18/575,989 claims 0.1 to 15 wt% expanded graphite particles (Claims 16 and 17).
With respect to claim 8, copending Application No. 18/575,989 claims homogenizing the slurry comprising the particles (Claim 27).
With respect to claim 11, copending Application No. 18/575,989 claims A method of forming an aerosol-forming substrate according to claim 16, the method comprising: forming a slurry comprising an organic material and carbon particles having a volume mean particle size of greater than 10 microns and a particle size distribution having a D10 particle size and a D90 particle size, wherein the D90 particle size is less than 20 times the D10 particle size; homogenizing the slurry; and casting and drying the slurry to form the aerosol-forming substrate (Claim 27).
With respect to claim 13, copending Application No. 18/575,989 claims An aerosol-generating article comprising an aerosol-forming substrate (Claim 29).
With respect to claim 15, copending Application No. 18/575,989 claims An aerosol-generating system comprising an aerosol-generating article according to claim 29 and an electrical aerosol-generating device configured to heat the aerosol-generating article so as to generate an aerosol. (Claim 30).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
______________________________________________________________________
Claims 1-5 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 9, 14 and 15 of copending Application No. 18/576,782 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
With respect to claim 1, copending Application No. 18/576,782 claims an aerosol forming substrate comprising a second material (Claim 1) comprising expanded graphite particles (Claim 8).
With respect to claim 2, copending Application No. 18/576,782 a thermal conductivity of greater than .22 W/mK (Claim 9).
With respect to claims 3 and 5, copending Application No. 18/576,782 claims that the second material is 10 to 90 wt% of the substrate (Claim 14).
With respect to claim 4, copending Application No. 18/576,782 claims overlapping ranges for the carbon material (e.g., expanded graphite; claim 8), aerosol former , fibers, and binder (Claim 14).
With respect to claim 13, copending Application No. 18/576,782 claims an aerosol generating article comprising the substrate of claim 1 (Claim 15).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8, 10-13, 15-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU et al. (CN 109763378 A, machine translation) in view of MUA et al. (US 2021/0195938).
With respect to claim 1, ZHOU et al. discloses an aerosol-forming substrate for use in a heat-not-burn article (Abstract; Paragraphs [0001]-[0006]). The aerosol-forming substrate comprises expanded graphite particles (Paragraphs [0008]-[0014], [0018]).
ZHOU et al. does not explicitly disclose that the substrate is circumscribed by the wrapper. MUA et al. discloses a filter at one end of the cigarette, a substrate (the filter and coated substrate represent a plurality of elements) coated with the aerosol forming material are circumscribed in a wrapper (Paragraph [0056]-[0060]). It would have been obvious to provide the components of MUA et al. along with the aerosol forming substrate of ZHOU et al. so as to produce a cigarette that can be used in an electrical aerosol generating device for heating the aerosol forming substrate
Amended claim 1 does not specify that the substrate or the wrapper contains the expanded graphite. Thus, either could contain the expanded graphite. Zhou discloses an expanded graphite within the article (Paragraphs [0008]-[0014], [0018]). Even thought it is contained within a coating on the wrapper, this is not precluded by claim 1.
With respect to claims 3 and 5, ZHOU et al. discloses that the coating fluid is 50-90 parts tobacco extracts, 10-50 parts expanded graphite particles, 0.5-1.5 parts dispersing agent, 0.1-0.5 parts aromatics in a solution (Paragraphs [0018]-[0022]). At 60 parts extracts, 10 parts expanded graphite, 0.5 parts dispersing agent and 0.1 parts aromatics, the expanded graphite is present in the aerosol forming substrate in an amount of about 14 wt%.
With respect to claim 4, ZHOU et al. discloses ZHOU et al. discloses that the coating fluid is dried is 50-90 parts tobacco extracts (e.g., aerosol former), 10-50 parts expanded graphite particles, 0.5-1.5 parts dispersing agent, 0.1-0.5 parts aromatics in a solution (Paragraphs [0018]-[0022]). At 50 parts extracts, 50 parts expanded graphite, 0.5 parts dispersing agent and 0.1 parts aromatics, the expanded graphite is present in the aerosol forming substrate in an amount of about 49.7 wt%, and the aerosol former is present in an amount of 49.7 wt%. Without the dispersing agents (e.g., dried) the expanded graphite and aerosol former are roughly 50 wt% each.
ZHOU et al. does not explicitly disclose the claimed fibers and biner, per se. MUA et al. discloses an aerosol generating component including an aerosol forming material (Abstract). The substrate may include tobacco fibers and binders (Paragraphs [0014] and [0015]). The fibers are present in an amount of 5-55 wt% (Paragraph [0017]) and the binders are present in an amount of about 5 wt% (Paragraph [0073]). This allows a slurry to be formed of the aerosol forming material that can then be cast (Paragraph [0087]), and the resulting material to form visible mainstream aerosol that resembles the appearance of tobacco smoke (Paragraph [0112]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide tobacco fibers between the claimed 2 and 20 wt% and a binder in an amount of 5 wt% in the aerosol-forming substrate of ZHOU et al., as taught by MUA et al., so that the slurry can be formed and cast onto the paper of ZHOU et al. and visible mainstream aerosol that resembles the appearance of tobacco smoke can be formed.
Adding additional components to the dry graphite and aerosol former of ZHOU et al. would necessarily change the total wt% for each in the mixture. Assuming 50 grams for each of the expanded graphite and aerosol former, 10 grams of fiber and 6 grams of binder, the wt% for the graphite is about 43.1 wt%, aerosol former is about 43.1 wt%, fiber is about 8.6 wt% and the binder is about 5 wt%, of the dried aerosol forming substrate.
With respect to claim 8, ZHOU et al. discloses that the components of the aerosol-forming substrate are uniformly mixed (Paragraph [0019]).
With respect to claim 10, ZHOU et al. does not explicitly disclose that the aerosol forming tobacco material comprises tobacco particles. MUA et al. discloses an aerosol generating component including an aerosol forming material (Abstract). The substrate may include tobacco and binders (Paragraphs [0014] and [0015]). The tobacco being in powder form (Paragraph [0152]). This forms aerosol forming material that be cast and can then form visible mainstream aerosol that resembles the appearance of tobacco smoke (Paragraph [0112]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide tobacco powder in the aerosol forming substrate of ZHOU et al., as taught by MUA et al. so that visible mainstream aerosol that resembles the appearance of tobacco smoke can be made.
With respect to claim 11, ZHOU et al. discloses an aerosol-forming substrate for use in a heat-not-burn article (Abstract; Paragraphs [0001]-[0006]). The aerosol-forming substrate comprises expanded graphite particles (Paragraphs [0008]-[0014], [0018]). The aerosol-forming substrate is formed by forming a fluid by combining all of the aforesaid ingredients and uniform mixing the ingredients in the dispersant. Then the fluid is coated onto cigarette paper and dried to form the aerosol forming substrate (Paragraphs [0010]-[0022])
ZHOU et al. does not explicitly disclose forming a slurry that also includes fibers and a binder, and then casting the slurry to form the substrate.
MUA et al. discloses an aerosol generating component including an aerosol forming material (Abstract). The substrate may include tobacco fibers and binders (Paragraphs [0014] and [0015]). The fibers are present in an amount of 5-55 wt% (Paragraph [0017]) and the binders are present in an amount of about 5 wt% (Paragraph [0073]). This allows a slurry to be formed of the aerosol forming material that can then be cast (Paragraph [0087]), and the resulting material to form visible mainstream aerosol that resembles the appearance of tobacco smoke (Paragraph [0112]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide tobacco fibers between the claimed 2 and 20 wt% and a binder in an amount of 5 wt% in the aerosol-forming substrate of ZHOU et al., as taught by MUA et al., so that the slurry can be formed and cast onto the paper of ZHOU et al. and visible mainstream aerosol that resembles the appearance of tobacco smoke can be formed.
With respect to claim 12, ZHOU et al. discloses mixing all of the ingredients to form a combined mixture (e.g., aerosol former, fibers, expanded graphite powder, binder; see rejection of claim 11) in water (Paragraphs [0010]-[0022]).
Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04, IV, C. Thus, forming a first mixture comprising the aerosol former, fibers and water, then forming a second mixture comprising the expanded graphite powder and binder, and then mixing the two mixtures together is prima facie obvious absent new or unexpected results.
With respect to claims 14 and 15, ZHOU et al. does not explicitly disclose a plurality of elements, including the aerosol forming substrate, assembled within a wrapper. MUA et al. discloses a filter at one end of the cigarette, a substrate (the filter and coated substrate represent a plurality of elements) coated with the aerosol forming material are wrapped in a wrapper (Paragraph [0056]-[0060]). It would have been obvious to provide the components of MUA et al. along with the aerosol forming substrate of ZHOU et al. so as to produce a cigarette that can be used in an electrical aerosol generating device for heating the aerosol forming substrate
With respect to claim 13¸ ZHOU et al. discloses a tobacco product cigarette paper (aerosol-generating article) comprising the coating liquid (of claim 1; see rejection of claim 1) (Abstract; Title).
With respect to claim 16, MUA et al. discloses that the article is cylindrical in shape (Paragraph [0013], [0047]).
With respect to claim 17¸ MUA et al. discloses that the article is in the form of a cylindrical rod (Paragraphs [0013], [0047], [0085]).
With respect to claim 20¸ MUA et al. discloses that the wrapper is paper (Paragraph [0057]).
______________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU et al. (CN 109763378 A, machine translation) in view of MUA et al. (US 2021/0195938) as applied to claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-13, 15-17 and 20 above, and further in view of DOTY (US 2022/0151285) having an earliest effective filing date of 8/8/2019.
With respect to claim 2, ZHOU et al. does not explicitly disclose the thermal conductivity of the aerosol-forming substrate. GARCIA-DOTY disclose a vaporizable material (Abstract). The vaporizable material is provided with thermally conductive powders in order to provide the vaporizable material with a thermal conductivity between 0.2 and 0.6 W/mK (Paragraph [0014]) in order to overcome heating difficulties of lower thermally conductive vaporizing materials (Paragraph [0009]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the aerosol generating substrate of ZHOU et al. with thermally conductive powders as taught by GARCIA-DOTY, so that the thermal conductivity is increased to 0.2 to 0.6 W/mK thereby overcoming heating difficulties.
_____________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU et al. (CN 109763378 A, machine translation) in view of MUA et al. (US 2021/0195938) as applied to claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-13, 15-17 and 20 above, and further in view of CASHMORE et al. (US 2009/0038632)
With respect to claims 6 and 7, ZHOU et al. discloses that the expanded graphite particles have a particle diameter of 15 microns (Paragraph [0018]). ZHOU et al. does not explicitly disclose that the D10 particle size is between 1 and 20 microns. CASHMORE et al. discloses smoking articles , such as cigarettes that comprise porous carbon materials (Abstract; Title) in order to reduce certain harmful chemicals (Paragraphs [0002]) in heat-not-burn applications (Paragraph [0046]). The carbon material is provided with a particle size distribution that prevents interference with manufacturing (Paragraphs [0041]-[0043]). The D10 is greater than 10 microns and the D90/D10 particle size distribution is at least 10 (Paragraphs [0043]-[0045]). Thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the 15 micron expanded graphite particles of ZHOU et al. as the D10 and provide a D90 of 150 microns, as taught by CASHMORE et al. so that interference with manufacturing can be prevented.
______________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU et al. (CN 109763378 A, machine translation) in view of MUA et al. (US 2021/0195938) as applied to claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-13, 15-17 and 20 above, and further in view of ROUSSEAU et al. (US 2020/0275688)
With respect to claim 9, ZHOU et al. does not explicitly disclose that the aerosol generating material is tobacco free. ROUSSEAU et al. discloses an aerosol generating material that is tobacco free is provides a very mild and natural taste without any harsh components (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a cocoa bean husk as the aerosol generating material of ZHOU et al. so that the user is provided with a very mild taste without any harsh components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 18, the art does not explicitly disclose the claimed plugs in the claimed order, along with the expanded graphite, per se.
With respect to claim 19, the art does not explicitly disclose carbon layer with elements or compounds intercalated into spaces between the carbon layers, per se.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745