DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/06/23, 05/06/24, 07/11/25, 09/08/25 and 01/13/26 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because
Claim 16 recites the limitations of “A protocol data unit, PDU, session establishment request for transmission to a session management system in a telecommunications network, wherein the PDU session establishment request contains a field containing a dual-layer session type indication for triggering a dual-layer session in the telecommunications network.” which appears to be directed towards information alone that do not have a physical or tangible form and as such is not directed to any of the statutory categories as is indicated by MPEP 2106.03 reciting “Non-limiting examples of claims that are not directed to any of the statutory categories include: • Products that do not have a physical or tangible form, such as information (often referred to as "data per se") or a computer program per se (often referred to as "software per se") when claimed as a product without any structural recitations;”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 recites the limitations of “The session management system according to claim 2, wherein the one or more first forwarding rules include at least one of: at least one Ethernet-based forwarding rule; a rule for forwarding an address assignment request to the session management system or to the second entity; and/or the one or more second forwarding rules include at least one of: at least one Internet Protocol (IP)-based forwarding rule; a rule for forwarding an address assignment request to the session management system.” which recites “at least one of” and then specifies two conditions but fails to specify the conjunction of either “and” or “or” in between the different conditions (i.e. “at least one Ethernet-based forwarding rule; a rule for forwarding …” and “at least one Internet Protocol (IP)-based forwarding rule; a rule for forwarding …”) and as such renders the claims indefinite as it is unclear to the examiner whether both conditions need to be present or only one of the conditions needs to be present as is directed by the Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 69 USPQ2d 1865 (Fed. Cir. 2004) decision establishing that the plain meaning of limitations reciting “at least one of x, y and z” is directed towards “at least one of x and at least one of y and at least one of z”.
A review of similarly worded claim 11 shows that the conditions utilize the conjunction “and” and as such, for the purpose of the examination herein, the examiner will interpret the claims to include the conjunction “and” indicating that both conditions would need to be present (i.e. “The session management system according to claim 2, wherein the one or more first forwarding rules include at least one of: at least one Ethernet-based forwarding rule; and a rule for forwarding an address assignment request to the session management system or to the second entity; and/or the one or more second forwarding rules include at least one of: at least one Internet Protocol (IP)-based forwarding rule; and a rule for forwarding an address assignment request to the session management system.” ).
Claim 7 and Claim 13 recites, inter alia, the similar limitations of “wherein the one or more first forwarding rules and the one or more second forwarding rules comprise at least one of: a forwarding rule for an entity having both the first communication layer and the second communication layer, the forwarding rule requiring analyzing a first header of a PDU of the first communication protocol and a second header of a PDU of second communication protocol and, after analyzing the first and second headers, forwarding the PDU dependent on an analyzing result; forwarding rules comprising a first forwarding rule requiring analyzing a header of a PDU of the first communication protocol and, after analyzing the header, forwarding the PDU, dependent on a first analyzing result, for execution of a second forwarding rule requiring analyzing a header of a PDU of the second communication protocol and forwarding the PDU, dependent on a second analyzing result.” which recites “at least one of” and then specifies two conditions but fails to specify the conjunction of either “and” or “or” in between the different conditions (i.e. “a forwarding rule… analyzing result; forwarding rules …”) and as such renders the claims indefinite as it is unclear to the examiner whether both conditions need to be present or only one of the conditions needs to be present as is directed by the Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 69 USPQ2d 1865 (Fed. Cir. 2004) decision establishing that the plain meaning of limitations reciting “at least one of x, y and z” is directed towards “at least one of x and at least one of y and at least one of z”.
For the purpose of the examination herein, the examiner will interpret the claims to include the conjunction “and” indicating that both conditions would need to be present (i.e. “wherein the one or more first forwarding rules and the one or more second forwarding rules comprise at least one of: a forwarding rule for an entity having both the first communication layer and the second communication layer, the forwarding rule requiring analyzing a first header of a PDU of the first communication protocol and a second header of a PDU of second communication protocol and, after analyzing the first and second headers, forwarding the PDU dependent on an analyzing result; and forwarding rules comprising a first forwarding rule requiring analyzing a header of a PDU of the first communication protocol and, after analyzing the header, forwarding the PDU, dependent on a first analyzing result, for execution of a second forwarding rule requiring analyzing a header of a PDU of the second communication protocol and forwarding the PDU, dependent on a second analyzing result.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In addition, Claims 4, 7 and 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action in accordance to the interpretation of utilizing the conjunction “and” as indicated above and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The dependent claims 3, 4, 7, 11 and 13 are objected as allowable because the closest prior art found fails to disclose, teach or suggest either alone or render obvious in a combined teachings of the prior art, the uniquely distinct features in the specific order, structure and combination of limitations together as a whole of the limitations recited in the dependent claims in combination with all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims in between.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8, 12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0287116 herein after referenced as Kim) in view of NPL Document “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on the Wireless and Wireline Convergence for 5G system architecture (Release 16)” (3GPP TR 23.716 V16.0.0 (2018-12) herein after referenced as 3GPP).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses:
A session management system for use in a telecommunications network, wherein the telecommunications network comprises a user plane system (Kim, Fig. 1 & [0054]-[0055] discloses FIG. 1 is a structural diagram of a next-generation mobile communication network (i.e. reads on for use in a telecommunications network wherein the telecommunications network comprises) and discloses 5GC 5G Core may include various components, part of which are shown in FIG. 1, including an access and mobility management function AMF 410, a session management function SMF 420 (i.e. reads on session management system), a policy control function PCF 430, a User Plane Function UPF 440 (i.e. reads on a user plane system), an application function AF 450, a unified data management UDM data network 460, and a non-3GPP interworking function N3IWF 490).
for forwarding data for a PDU session, (Kim, [0269] discloses For a PDU session (i.e. reads on for a PDU session) of the Ethernet PDU session type, the SMF may notify the UPF to add or remove an Ethernet Packet Filter Set and a forwarding rule(s) (i.e. reads on for forwarding data); Kim, [0061] discloses The UPF 440 operates as a boundary point between a next generation radio access network NG-RAN and the core network and maintains a data path between the gNB 200 and the SMF 420. The UPF 440 may perform a function of handling a PDU. For mobility within the NG-RAN which is defined after 3GPP Release-15, the UPF 440 may route packets. The UPF 440 may correspond to a termination point of a data interface toward the data network).
the user plane system having a protocol stack with a first communication layer for a first communication protocol and a second communication layer for a second communication protocol, wherein the first communication layer exists below the second communication layer in the protocol stack, (Kim, Fig. 10 shows the UPF (i.e. reads on the user plane system) having L1, L2 (i.e. reads on a protocol stack with a first communication layer for a first communication protocol), UPD/IP (i.e. reads on a second communication layer for a second communication protocol), GTP-U and PDU layers wherein layers L1 and L2 are below the UDP/IP layer (i.e. reads on wherein the first communication layer exists below the second communication layer in the protocol stack); Kim, Fig. 10 & [0341] discloses The protocol stack (i.e. reads on a protocol stack) of FIG. 10 may be a protocol stack for Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay. The UE-to-Network Relay and the Remote UE may perform communication based on the protocol stack as illustrated in FIG. 10. For example, the UE-to-Network Relay may relay unicast traffic UL and DL traffic between the Remote UE and the network based on the protocol stack as illustrated in the example of FIG. 10; Kim, [0381] discloses The PDU session type information may be information indicating the type of the PDU session that UE-2 intends to use. The PDU session type information may be one of IPv4, IPv6, IPv4v6, Unstructured or non-IP, and Ethernet. Applicant’s Claim 4 recites “… wherein the one or more first forwarding rules include at least one of: at least one Ethernet-based forwarding rule … the one or more second forwarding rules include at least one of: at least one Internet Protocol (IP)-based forwarding rule; …”).
wherein the session management system is configured for: receiving a protocol data unit, PDU, session establishment request, from a user device, (Kim, [0407] discloses the PDU session establishment request message transmitted (i.e. reads on receiving) by UE-1 (i.e. reads on from a user device) may further include information indicating that the PDU session establishment request message is for a Remote UE and/or information indicating that it is related to a relay UE operation. Information indicating that it is for a Remote UE and/or information indicating that it is related to a Relay UE operation may be included in a PDU session establishment request message (i.e. reads on a PDU session establishment request) that is a Session Management SM NAS message that SMF (i.e. reads on wherein the session management system is configured for) can interpret; Kim, [0051] discloses a user equipment UE is illustrated by way of example, but the illustrated UE may also be referred to in terms of UE 100 terminal, mobile equipment ME, and the like. In addition, the UE may be a portable device such as a notebook computer, a mobile phone, a PDA, a smartphone, or a multimedia device or may be a non-portable device such as a PC or vehicle-mounted device).
(Kim, [0381] discloses The PDU session type information (i.e. reads on session type indication) may be information indicating the type of the PDU session that UE-2 intends to use. The PDU session type information may be one of IPv4, IPv6, IPv4v6, Unstructured or non-IP, and Ethernet).
initiating establishing the PDU session (Kim, [0201] discloses The SMF transmits an N4 Session Establishment/Modification request message (i.e. reads on initiating establishing the PDU session and reads on wherein establishing the PDU session) to the UPF (i.e. reads on for the user plane system). And, the SMF may provide packet discovery, execution, and reporting rules of packets that are to be installed in the UPF for the PDU session).
the session management system providing at least one of one or more first forwarding rules for the first communication layer to the user plane system; (Kim, [0269] discloses For a PDU session of the Ethernet PDU session type, the SMF (i.e. reads on the session management system) may notify (i.e. reads on providing) the UPF (i.e. reads on to the user plane system) to add or remove an Ethernet (i.e. reads on for the first communication layer) Packet Filter Set and a forwarding rule(s) (i.e. reads on at least one of one or more first forwarding rules). Applicant’s Claim 4 recites “… wherein the one or more first forwarding rules include at least one of: at least one Ethernet-based forwarding rule …”).
and one or more second forwarding rules for the second communication layer to the user plane system (Kim, [0357] discloses The method described in the disclosure of this specification may be applied to all types of PDU sessions eg, IP type PDU session (i.e. reads on for the second communication layer), Unstructured type PDU session, Ethernet type PDU session; Kim, [0269] discloses For a PDU session of the Ethernet PDU session type, the SMF may notify the UPF (i.e. reads on to the user plane system) to add or remove an Ethernet Packet Filter Set and a forwarding rule(s) (i.e. reads on at least one of one or more second forwarding rules). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the SMF notifying the UPF to add a forwarding rule for the PDU session may be implemented for both the Ethernet type PDU session as well as the IP type PDU session. Applicant’s Claim 4 recites “… the one or more second forwarding rules include at least one of: at least one Internet Protocol (IP)-based forwarding rule; …”).
Kim discloses a UE transmitting a PDU session establishment request and establishing a PDU session Ethernet type PDU session or an IP type PDU session and furthermore, Kim, [0346] discloses In 5GS, a method of introducing one or both of Layer 2 Relay (ie, Layer-2 UE-to-Network Relay) and Layer 3 Relay (ie, Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay) is being discussed but fails to explicitly recite the PDU session being established for both ethernet and IP where the UE transmits a PDU session establishment request for a combination of both ethernet and IP PDU session and therefore fails to disclose “the PDU session establishment request containing a dual-layer session type indication; initiating establishing the PDU session in response to receiving the dual-layer session type indication,”.
In a related field of endeavor, 3GPP discloses:
the PDU session establishment request containing a dual-layer session type indication; initiating establishing the PDU session in response to receiving the dual-layer session type indication, (3GPP, Page 74, Fig. 6.10.2-1 & Lines 1-6 & Page 75, Lines 1-11 discloses Step 1: The UE 5G RG or in case of FN RG the AGF may be configured e.g. URSP to request a PDU Session of the Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type (i.e. reads on the PDU session establishment request containing a dual-layer session type indication). Other parameters of the PDU Session may be the same than in IP PDU Session Type E.g. the PDU Session establishment request may contain PCO asking for a P-CSCF address, ACS address, etc. and discloses The SMF may indicate to the PCF that the PDU Session is of Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type. Per PDU Session policies sent by the PCF may contain a control on the Maximum Number of IP address to allocate as part of the PDU Session to devices in the customer premises MNIP. Step 10a. The N4 session between the SMF and an UPF acting as PSA for the PDU Session (i.e. reads on initiating establishing the PDU session) may be associated by the SMF with a Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type (i.e. reads on in response to receiving the dual-layer session type indication); the SMF controls the UPF to report MAC addresses detected in UL traffic of the PDU Session. If the SMF requests the UPF to forward DHCP/RS Router Solicitation traffic from devices using the PDU Session, the SMF may request the UPF to report the "access side layer 2 header" on which the DHCP/RS has been received; 3GPP, Page 75, Lines 23-38 discloses For Combo PDU Session Type, the SMF requests the UPF to forward DHCP / RS signalling over N4; the reporting from UPF shall contain the MAC address of the device. When during the life time of a PDU Session, an IP address is allocated to a device supported by a PDU Session established with the Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type, the following applies: 1) In band UE IP allocation procedure RS/RA, DHCPv4, DHCPv6. The SMF / UPF uses policies received in step 7 of Figure 6.10.2-1 IP index, max number of IP addresses for the PDU Session to determine whether to grant an IP address to the device and if yes to determine the IP pool / allocation method to use. NOTE : The usage of DHCPV4 signalling to allocate IP address to devices behind the UE does not require sending dedicated NAS signalling with a request of deferred IP address allocation. ; it is possible that the IP address allocated to the RG itself is provided via NAS to the RG while in band IP address allocation applies for the devices behind the RG. 2) if this corresponds to a PCRT Policy Control Request Trigger received previously from the PCF, the SMF initiates the SM Policy Association Modification procedure described in TS 23.502 [3] clause 4.16.5.1. The reception of new policies from the PCF in step 2 may trigger the network initiated PDU Session modification procedure per TS 23.502 [3] clause 4.3.3 which may include a corresponding N4 session modification procedure to create or update the corresponding PDR/FAR/QER/URR on the UPF; 3GPP, Page 71, Lines 9-19 & Lines 40-44 discloses A dedicated PDU Session Type called "Combo Ethernet + IP" is used for that purpose. It basically supports an access Router in the PSA while an Ethernet PDU Session supports a bridge in the PSA; In case of "combo Ethernet + IP" PDU Session Type: 1. Ethernet frames are exchanged between the UE RG and the UPF acting as PSA. 2. Ethernet frames exchanged between the UE RG and the UPF acting as PSA carry IP traffic and IP auxiliary protocols: ARP, ND. 3. An IP service is delivered at N6 where for example IP addresses are allocated to individual devices behind the UE RG devices in the Customer Premises. Any User Plane address delivery mechanism may be used to deliver an IP address to the devices behind the RG i.e. SLACC, DHCPV4 or DHCPV6. The SMF related subscription data associated with the RG apply to a whole PDU Session regardless of whether multiple IP addresses are allocated on this PDU Session and discloses For a Combo Ethernet and IP PDU session type the UE exchanges with the 5GC IP packets each carried within an Ethernet frame. The 5GC delivers an IP service to the RG and to devices locally connected to the RG while it is able to identify traffic of these devices by the MAC address they are using. NOTE 6: No new traffic filters PDR or PCC rule or N1 SM QoS related signalling need to be defined as traffic filters from the Ethernet PDU Session Type are reused; 3GPP, Page 72, Fig. 6.10.1-1 discloses protocol stack for the combo PDU session type that shows the UPF having Ethernet L2 and IP layers; 3GPP, Page 169, Lines 1-10 discloses Finally, the N4 session with the UPF is updated too, in order to provide to UPF the TWIF address and port tunnel information which downlink traffic should be forwarded to. 18. This completes the establishment of the delegated PDU Session. After this point, all data user-plane traffic sent by the UE is forwarded by the trusted WLAN AP to the TWIF via the L2 connection, and from the TWIF is forwarded to the UPF via the established N3 tunnel. This N3 tunnel was established during the delegated PDU Session setup and may be configured based on the received QoS Rules with one or more QoS flows. In Fig. 7.4.3.2-1 an example is shown with two QoS flows. In the uplink direction, the TWIF applies the provisioned QoS Rules and determines to which QoS flow to forward an uplink data packet. In the downlink direction, the UPF applies the provisioned Packet Detection Rules and determines to which QoS flow to forward a downlink data packet; 3GPP, Page 97, Lines 11-15 discloses Session, Packet Detection Rules may contain Frame Route information. NOTE 3: both UL and DL Packet Detection Rules may contain Frame Route information. UL Packet Detection Rules may contain Frame Route information to ensure proper charging or specific forwarding of the corresponding traffic).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kim to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilize a combo ethernet and IP service and corresponding PDU establishment and forwarding procedures by conforming to the teachings of a widely known and utilized standard and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of establishing a PDU session according to a PDU session type as taught by Kim) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of establishing a PDU session according to a PDU session type, wherein the PDU session type includes a combo ethernet + IP as taught by 3GPP) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of establishing a PDU session according to a PDU session type (i.e. as taught by both Kim & 3GPP) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of 3GPP discloses:
The session management system according to claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the session management system is configured to send, in response to receiving the dual-layer session type indication, a request for policy control rules to a policy control system in the telecommunications network and to derive both the one or more first forwarding rules and one or more second forwarding rules for the user plane system from the received policy control rules, wherein, optionally, the request to the policy control system contains the dual-layer session type indication (3GPP, Page 74, Fig. 6.10.2-1 & Lines 1-6 & Page 75, Lines 1-11 discloses Step 1: The UE 5G RG or in case of FN RG the AGF may be configured e.g. URSP to request a PDU Session of the Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type. Other parameters of the PDU Session may be the same than in IP PDU Session Type E.g. the PDU Session establishment request may contain PCO asking for a P-CSCF address, ACS address, etc. and discloses The SMF may indicate to the PCF that the PDU Session is of Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type. Per PDU Session policies sent by the PCF may contain a control on the Maximum Number of IP address to allocate as part of the PDU Session to devices in the customer premises MNIP. Step 10a. The N4 session between the SMF and an UPF acting as PSA for the PDU Session may be associated by the SMF with a Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type; the SMF controls the UPF to report MAC addresses detected in UL traffic of the PDU Session. If the SMF requests the UPF to forward DHCP/RS Router Solicitation traffic from devices using the PDU Session, the SMF may request the UPF to report the "access side layer 2 header" on which the DHCP/RS has been received; 3GPP, Page 75, Lines 23-38 discloses For Combo PDU Session Type, the SMF requests the UPF to forward DHCP / RS signalling over N4; the reporting from UPF shall contain the MAC address of the device. When during the life time of a PDU Session, an IP address is allocated to a device supported by a PDU Session established with the Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type, the following applies: 1) In band UE IP allocation procedure RS/RA, DHCPv4, DHCPv6. The SMF / UPF uses policies received in step 7 of Figure 6.10.2-1 IP index, max number of IP addresses for the PDU Session to determine whether to grant an IP address to the device and if yes to determine the IP pool / allocation method to use. NOTE : The usage of DHCPV4 signalling to allocate IP address to devices behind the UE does not require sending dedicated NAS signalling with a request of deferred IP address allocation. ; it is possible that the IP address allocated to the RG itself is provided via NAS to the RG while in band IP address allocation applies for the devices behind the RG. 2) if this corresponds to a PCRT Policy Control Request Trigger received previously from the PCF, the SMF initiates the SM Policy Association Modification procedure described in TS 23.502 [3] clause 4.16.5.1. The reception of new policies from the PCF in step 2 may trigger the network initiated PDU Session modification procedure per TS 23.502 [3] clause 4.3.3 which may include a corresponding N4 session modification procedure to create or update the corresponding PDR/FAR/QER/URR on the UPF).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of 3GPP discloses:
The session management system according to claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the session management system is configured for providing both the one or more first forwarding rules and the one or more second forwarding rules and/or a combination of the first forwarding rules and second forwarding rules to an entity having both the first communication layer and the second communication layer (Kim, Fig. 10 & [0269] discloses For a PDU session of the Ethernet PDU session type, the SMF may notify the UPF to add or remove an Ethernet Packet Filter Set and a forwarding rule(s) and Fig. 10 shows the UPF having L1, L2, UPD/IP, GTP-U and PDU layers wherein layers L1 and L2 are below the UDP/IP layer; Kim, [0357] discloses The method described in the disclosure of this specification may be applied to all types of PDU sessions eg, IP type PDU session, Unstructured type PDU session, Ethernet type PDU session; 3GPP, Page 72, Fig. 6.10.1-1 discloses protocol stack for the combo PDU session type that shows the UPF having Ethernet L2 and IP layers. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the SMF notifying the UPF to add a forwarding rule for the PDU session may be implemented for both the Ethernet type PDU session as well as the IP type PDU session. Applicant’s Claim 4 recites “… wherein the one or more first forwarding rules include at least one of: at least one Ethernet-based forwarding rule … the one or more second forwarding rules include at least one of: at least one Internet Protocol (IP)-based forwarding rule; …”).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses:
A user plane system for use in a telecommunications network (Kim, Fig. 1 & [0054]-[0055] discloses FIG. 1 is a structural diagram of a next-generation mobile communication network (i.e. reads on for use in a telecommunications network) and discloses 5GC 5G Core may include various components, part of which are shown in FIG. 1, including an access and mobility management function AMF 410, a session management function SMF 420, a policy control function PCF 430, a User Plane Function UPF 440 (i.e. reads on a user plane system), an application function AF 450, a unified data management UDM data network 460, and a non-3GPP interworking function N3IWF 490).
for forwarding data for a protocol data unit, PDU, session (Kim, [0269] discloses For a PDU session (i.e. reads on for a PDU session) of the Ethernet PDU session type, the SMF may notify the UPF to add or remove an Ethernet Packet Filter Set and a forwarding rule(s) (i.e. reads on for forwarding data); Kim, [0061] discloses The UPF 440 operates as a boundary point between a next generation radio access network NG-RAN and the core network and maintains a data path between the gNB 200 and the SMF 420. The UPF 440 may perform a function of handling a PDU. For mobility within the NG-RAN which is defined after 3GPP Release-15, the UPF 440 may route packets. The UPF 440 may correspond to a termination point of a data interface toward the data network).
having a protocol stack with a first communication layer for a first communication protocol and a second communication layer for a second communication wherein the first communication layer exists below the second communication layer in the protocol stack (Kim, Fig. 10 shows the UPF (i.e. reads on the user plane system) having L1, L2 (i.e. reads on a protocol stack with a first communication layer for a first communication protocol), UPD/IP (i.e. reads on a second communication layer for a second communication protocol), GTP-U and PDU layers wherein layers L1 and L2 are below the UDP/IP layer (i.e. reads on wherein the first communication layer exists below the second communication layer in the protocol stack); Kim, Fig. 10 & [0341] discloses The protocol stack (i.e. reads on a protocol stack) of FIG. 10 may be a protocol stack for Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay. The UE-to-Network Relay and the Remote UE may perform communication based on the protocol stack as illustrated in FIG. 10. For example, the UE-to-Network Relay may relay unicast traffic UL and DL traffic between the Remote UE and the network based on the protocol stack as illustrated in the example of FIG. 10; Kim, [0381] discloses The PDU session type information may be information indicating the type of the PDU session that UE-2 intends to use. The PDU session type information may be one of IPv4, IPv6, IPv4v6, Unstructured or non-IP, and Ethernet. Applicant’s Claim 11 recites “… wherein the one or more first forwarding rules include at least one of: at least one Ethernet-based forwarding rule … the one or more second forwarding rules include at least one of: at least one Internet Protocol (IP)-based forwarding rule; …”).
and wherein the user plane system is configured to receive from a session management system: one or more first forwarding rules for the first communication layer; (Kim, [0269] discloses For a PDU session of the Ethernet PDU session type, the SMF (i.e. reads on the a management system) may notify (i.e. reads on receive from) the UPF (i.e. reads on to the user plane system) to add or remove an Ethernet (i.e. reads on for the first communication layer) Packet Filter Set and a forwarding rule(s) (i.e. reads on at least one of one or more first forwarding rules). Applicant’s Claim 11 recites “… wherein the one or more first forwarding rules include at least one of: at least one Ethernet-based forwarding rule …”).
and one or more second forwarding rules for second communication layer, (Kim, [0357] discloses The method described in the disclosure of this specification may be applied to all types of PDU sessions eg, IP type PDU session (i.e. reads on for the second communication layer), Unstructured type PDU session, Ethernet type PDU session; Kim, [0269] discloses For a PDU session of the Ethernet PDU session type, the SMF may notify the UPF (i.e. reads on to the user plane system) to add or remove an Ethernet Packet Filter Set and a forwarding rule(s) (i.e. reads on at least one of one or more second forwarding rules). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the SMF notifying the UPF to add a forwarding rule for the PDU session may be implemented for both the Ethernet type PDU session as well as the IP type PDU session. Applicant’s Claim 4 recites “… the one or more second forwarding rules include at least one of: at least one Internet Protocol (IP)-based forwarding rule; …”).
Kim discloses a transmitting forwarding rules from an SMF to a UPF and furthermore, Kim, [0346] discloses In 5GS, a method of introducing one or both of Layer 2 Relay (ie, Layer-2 UE-to-Network Relay) and Layer 3 Relay (ie, Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay) is being discussed but fails to explicitly recite the forwarding rules are applied by the UPF and therefore fails to disclose “wherein the user plane system is configured to apply the one or more first forwarding rules and one or more second forwarding rules for the PDU session.”
In a related field of endeavor, 3GPP discloses:
wherein the user plane system is configured to apply the one or more first forwarding rules and one or more second forwarding rules for the PDU session (3GPP, Page 169, Lines 1-10 discloses Finally, the N4 session with the UPF is updated too, in order to provide to UPF the TWIF address and port tunnel information which downlink traffic should be forwarded to. 18. This completes the establishment of the delegated PDU Session. After this point, all data user-plane traffic sent by the UE is forwarded by the trusted WLAN AP to the TWIF via the L2 connection, and from the TWIF is forwarded to the UPF via the established N3 tunnel. This N3 tunnel was established during the delegated PDU Session setup and may be configured based on the received QoS Rules with one or more QoS flows. In Fig. 7.4.3.2-1 an example is shown with two QoS flows. In the uplink direction, the TWIF applies the provisioned QoS Rules and determines to which QoS flow to forward an uplink data packet. In the downlink direction, the UPF (i.e. reads on wherein the user plane system is configured to) applies the provisioned Packet Detection Rules (i.e. reads on apply the one or more first forwarding rules and one or more second forwarding rules for the PDU session) and determines to which QoS flow to forward a downlink data packet; 3GPP, Page 97, Lines 11-15 discloses Session, Packet Detection Rules may contain Frame Route information. NOTE 3: both UL and DL Packet Detection Rules may contain Frame Route information. UL Packet Detection Rules may contain Frame Route information to ensure proper charging or specific forwarding of the corresponding traffic; 3GPP, Page 74, Fig. 6.10.2-1 & Lines 1-6 & Page 75, Lines 1-11 discloses Step 1: The UE 5G RG or in case of FN RG the AGF may be configured e.g. URSP to request a PDU Session of the Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type. Other parameters of the PDU Session may be the same than in IP PDU Session Type E.g. the PDU Session establishment request may contain PCO asking for a P-CSCF address, ACS address, etc. and discloses The SMF may indicate to the PCF that the PDU Session is of Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type. Per PDU Session policies sent by the PCF may contain a control on the Maximum Number of IP address to allocate as part of the PDU Session to devices in the customer premises MNIP. Step 10a. The N4 session between the SMF and an UPF acting as PSA for the PDU Session may be associated by the SMF with a Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type; the SMF controls the UPF to report MAC addresses detected in UL traffic of the PDU Session. If the SMF requests the UPF to forward DHCP/RS Router Solicitation traffic from devices using the PDU Session, the SMF may request the UPF to report the "access side layer 2 header" on which the DHCP/RS has been received; 3GPP, Page 75, Lines 23-38 discloses For Combo PDU Session Type, the SMF requests the UPF to forward DHCP / RS signalling over N4; the reporting from UPF shall contain the MAC address of the device. When during the life time of a PDU Session, an IP address is allocated to a device supported by a PDU Session established with the Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type, the following applies: 1) In band UE IP allocation procedure RS/RA, DHCPv4, DHCPv6. The SMF / UPF uses policies received in step 7 of Figure 6.10.2-1 IP index, max number of IP addresses for the PDU Session to determine whether to grant an IP address to the device and if yes to determine the IP pool / allocation method to use. NOTE : The usage of DHCPV4 signalling to allocate IP address to devices behind the UE does not require sending dedicated NAS signalling with a request of deferred IP address allocation. ; it is possible that the IP address allocated to the RG itself is provided via NAS to the RG while in band IP address allocation applies for the devices behind the RG. 2) if this corresponds to a PCRT Policy Control Request Trigger received previously from the PCF, the SMF initiates the SM Policy Association Modification procedure described in TS 23.502 [3] clause 4.16.5.1. The reception of new policies from the PCF in step 2 may trigger the network initiated PDU Session modification procedure per TS 23.502 [3] clause 4.3.3 which may include a corresponding N4 session modification procedure to create or update the corresponding PDR/FAR/QER/URR on the UPF; 3GPP, Page 71, Lines 9-19 & Lines 40-44 discloses A dedicated PDU Session Type called "Combo Ethernet + IP" is used for that purpose. It basically supports an access Router in the PSA while an Ethernet PDU Session supports a bridge in the PSA; In case of "combo Ethernet + IP" PDU Session Type: 1. Ethernet frames are exchanged between the UE RG and the UPF acting as PSA. 2. Ethernet frames exchanged between the UE RG and the UPF acting as PSA carry IP traffic and IP auxiliary protocols: ARP, ND. 3. An IP service is delivered at N6 where for example IP addresses are allocated to individual devices behind the UE RG devices in the Customer Premises. Any User Plane address delivery mechanism may be used to deliver an IP address to the devices behind the RG i.e. SLACC, DHCPV4 or DHCPV6. The SMF related subscription data associated with the RG apply to a whole PDU Session regardless of whether multiple IP addresses are allocated on this PDU Session and discloses For a Combo Ethernet and IP PDU session type the UE exchanges with the 5GC IP packets each carried within an Ethernet frame. The 5GC delivers an IP service to the RG and to devices locally connected to the RG while it is able to identify traffic of these devices by the MAC address they are using. NOTE 6: No new traffic filters PDR or PCC rule or N1 SM QoS related signalling need to be defined as traffic filters from the Ethernet PDU Session Type are reused; 3GPP, Page 72, Fig. 6.10.1-1 discloses protocol stack for the combo PDU session type that shows the UPF having Ethernet L2 and IP layers).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kim to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilize a combo ethernet and IP service and corresponding PDU establishment and forwarding procedures by conforming to the teachings of a widely known and utilized standard and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of establishing a PDU session according to a PDU session type as taught by Kim) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of establishing a PDU session according to a PDU session type, wherein the PDU session type includes a combo ethernet + IP as taught by 3GPP) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of establishing a PDU session according to a PDU session type (i.e. as taught by both Kim & 3GPP) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of 3GPP discloses:
The user plane system according to claim 8, comprising (see claim 8).
an entity having both the first communication layer and the second communication layer, wherein the entity is configured to receive and apply both the one or more first forwarding rules and the one or more second forwarding rules and/or a combination of the first forwarding rules and second forwarding rules (Kim, Fig. 10 & [0269] discloses For a PDU session of the Ethernet PDU session type, the SMF may notify the UPF to add or remove an Ethernet Packet Filter Set and a forwarding rule(s) and Fig. 10 shows the UPF having L1, L2, UPD/IP, GTP-U and PDU layers wherein layers L1 and L2 are below the UDP/IP layer; Kim, [0357] discloses The method described in the disclosure of this specification may be applied to all types of PDU sessions eg, IP type PDU session, Unstructured type PDU session, Ethernet type PDU session; 3GPP, Page 72, Fig. 6.10.1-1 discloses protocol stack for the combo PDU session type that shows the UPF having Ethernet L2 and IP layers. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the SMF notifying the UPF to add a forwarding rule for the PDU session may be implemented for both the Ethernet type PDU session as well as the IP type PDU session. Applicant’s Claim 11 recites “… wherein the one or more first forwarding rules include at least one of: at least one Ethernet-based forwarding rule … the one or more second forwarding rules include at least one of: at least one Internet Protocol (IP)-based forwarding rule; …”).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses:
A user device configured to establish a protocol data unit, PDU, session (Kim, [0407] discloses the PDU session establishment request (i.e. reads on establish a PDU session) message transmitted by UE-1 (i.e. reads on from a user device) may further include information indicating that the PDU session establishment request message is for a Remote UE and/or information indicating that it is related to a relay UE operation. Information indicating that it is for a Remote UE and/or information indicating that it is related to a Relay UE operation may be included in a PDU session establishment request message that is a Session Management SM NAS message that SMF can interpret; Kim, [0051] discloses a user equipment UE is illustrated by way of example, but the illustrated UE may also be referred to in terms of UE 100 terminal, mobile equipment ME, and the like. In addition, the UE may be a portable device such as a notebook computer, a mobile phone, a PDA, a smartphone, or a multimedia device or may be a non-portable device such as a PC or vehicle-mounted device).
with a telecommunications network comprising a session management system and a user plane system (Kim, Fig. 1 & [0054]-[0055] discloses FIG. 1 is a structural diagram of a next-generation mobile communication network (i.e. reads on with a telecommunications network comprising) and discloses 5GC 5G Core may include various components, part of which are shown in FIG. 1, including an access and mobility management function AMF 410, a session management function SMF 420 (i.e. reads on session management system), a policy control function PCF 430, a User Plane Function UPF 440 (i.e. reads on a user plane system), an application function AF 450, a unified data management UDM data network 460, and a non-3GPP interworking function N3IWF 490).
for forwarding data for the PDU session, (Kim, [0269] discloses For a PDU session (i.e. reads on for a PDU session) of the Ethernet PDU session type, the SMF may notify the UPF to add or remove an Ethernet Packet Filter Set and a forwarding rule(s) (i.e. reads on for forwarding data); Kim, [0061] discloses The UPF 440 operates as a boundary point between a next generation radio access network NG-RAN and the core network and maintains a data path between the gNB 200 and the SMF 420. The UPF 440 may perform a function of handling a PDU. For mobility within the NG-RAN which is defined after 3GPP Release-15, the UPF 440 may route packets. The UPF 440 may correspond to a termination point of a data interface toward the data network).
the user plane system having a protocol stack with a first communication layer for a first communication protocol and a second communication layer for a second communication protocol, wherein the first communication layer exists below the second communication layer in the protocol stack, (Kim, Fig. 10 shows the UPF (i.e. reads on the user plane system) having L1, L2 (i.e. reads on a protocol stack with a first communication layer for a first communication protocol), UPD/IP (i.e. reads on a second communication layer for a second communication protocol), GTP-U and PDU layers wherein layers L1 and L2 are below the UDP/IP layer (i.e. reads on wherein the first communication layer exists below the second communication layer in the protocol stack); Kim, Fig. 10 & [0341] discloses The protocol stack (i.e. reads on a protocol stack) of FIG. 10 may be a protocol stack for Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay. The UE-to-Network Relay and the Remote UE may perform communication based on the protocol stack as illustrated in FIG. 10. For example, the UE-to-Network Relay may relay unicast traffic UL and DL traffic between the Remote UE and the network based on the protocol stack as illustrated in the example of FIG. 10; Kim, [0381] discloses The PDU session type information may be information indicating the type of the PDU session that UE-2 intends to use. The PDU session type information may be one of IPv4, IPv6, IPv4v6, Unstructured or non-IP, and Ethernet. Applicant’s Claim 4 recites “… wherein the one or more first forwarding rules include at least one of: at least one Ethernet-based forwarding rule … the one or more second forwarding rules include at least one of: at least one Internet Protocol (IP)-based forwarding rule; …”).
wherein the user device is configured to transmit a PDU session establishment request (Kim, [0407] discloses the PDU session establishment request message transmitted (i.e. reads on transmit) by UE-1 (i.e. reads on user device is configured to) may further include information indicating that the PDU session establishment request message is for a Remote UE and/or information indicating that it is related to a relay UE operation. Information indicating that it is for a Remote UE and/or information indicating that it is related to a Relay UE operation may be included in a PDU session establishment request message (i.e. reads on a PDU session establishment request) that is a Session Management SM NAS message that SMF (i.e. reads on to the session management system) can interpret; Kim, [0051] discloses a user equipment UE is illustrated by way of example, but the illustrated UE may also be referred to in terms of UE 100 terminal, mobile equipment ME, and the like. In addition, the UE may be a portable device such as a notebook computer, a mobile phone, a PDA, a smartphone, or a multimedia device or may be a non-portable device such as a PC or vehicle-mounted device).
to trigger the session management system to establish a (Kim, [0201] discloses The SMF (i.e. reads on to trigger the session management system to) transmits an N4 Session Establishment/Modification request message (i.e. reads on establish a PDU session) to the UPF (i.e. reads on in the user plane system). And, the SMF may provide packet discovery, execution, and reporting rules of packets that are to be installed in the UPF for the PDU session).
Kim discloses a UE transmitting a PDU session establishment request and establishing a PDU session Ethernet type PDU session or an IP type PDU session and furthermore, Kim, [0346] discloses In 5GS, a method of introducing one or both of Layer 2 Relay (ie, Layer-2 UE-to-Network Relay) and Layer 3 Relay (ie, Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay) is being discussed but fails to explicitly recite the PDU session being established for both ethernet and IP where the UE transmits a PDU session establishment request for a combination of both ethernet and IP PDU session and therefore fails to disclose “wherein the user device is configured to transmit a PDU session establishment request containing a dual-layer session type indication to the session management system to trigger the session management system to establish a dual layer PDU session in the user plane system.”
In a related field of endeavor, 3GPP discloses:
wherein the user device is configured to transmit a PDU session establishment request containing a dual-layer session type indication to the session management system to trigger the session management system to establish a dual layer PDU session in the user plane system (3GPP, Page 74, Fig. 6.10.2-1 & Lines 1-6 & Page 75, Lines 1-11 discloses Step 1: The UE 5G RG (i.e. reads on wherein the user device is configured to) or in case of FN RG the AGF may be configured e.g. URSP to request a PDU Session of the Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type (i.e. reads on transmit a PDU session establishment request containing a dual-layer session type indication). Other parameters of the PDU Session may be the same than in IP PDU Session Type E.g. the PDU Session establishment request may contain PCO asking for a P-CSCF address, ACS address, etc. and discloses The SMF (i.e. reads on to the session management system to trigger the session management system to) may indicate to the PCF that the PDU Session is of Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type. Per PDU Session policies sent by the PCF may contain a control on the Maximum Number of IP address to allocate as part of the PDU Session to devices in the customer premises MNIP. Step 10a. The N4 session between the SMF and an UPF (i.e. reads on in the user plane system) acting as PSA for the PDU Session may be associated by the SMF with a Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type (i.e. reads on establish a dual layer PDU session); the SMF controls the UPF to report MAC addresses detected in UL traffic of the PDU Session. If the SMF requests the UPF to forward DHCP/RS Router Solicitation traffic from devices using the PDU Session, the SMF may request the UPF to report the "access side layer 2 header" on which the DHCP/RS has been received; 3GPP, Page 75, Lines 23-38 discloses For Combo PDU Session Type, the SMF requests the UPF to forward DHCP / RS signalling over N4; the reporting from UPF shall contain the MAC address of the device. When during the life time of a PDU Session, an IP address is allocated to a device supported by a PDU Session established with the Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type, the following applies: 1) In band UE IP allocation procedure RS/RA, DHCPv4, DHCPv6. The SMF / UPF uses policies received in step 7 of Figure 6.10.2-1 IP index, max number of IP addresses for the PDU Session to determine whether to grant an IP address to the device and if yes to determine the IP pool / allocation method to use. NOTE : The usage of DHCPV4 signalling to allocate IP address to devices behind the UE does not require sending dedicated NAS signalling with a request of deferred IP address allocation. ; it is possible that the IP address allocated to the RG itself is provided via NAS to the RG while in band IP address allocation applies for the devices behind the RG. 2) if this corresponds to a PCRT Policy Control Request Trigger received previously from the PCF, the SMF initiates the SM Policy Association Modification procedure described in TS 23.502 [3] clause 4.16.5.1. The reception of new policies from the PCF in step 2 may trigger the network initiated PDU Session modification procedure per TS 23.502 [3] clause 4.3.3 which may include a corresponding N4 session modification procedure to create or update the corresponding PDR/FAR/QER/URR on the UPF; 3GPP, Page 71, Lines 9-19 & Lines 40-44 discloses A dedicated PDU Session Type called "Combo Ethernet + IP" is used for that purpose. It basically supports an access Router in the PSA while an Ethernet PDU Session supports a bridge in the PSA; In case of "combo Ethernet + IP" PDU Session Type: 1. Ethernet frames are exchanged between the UE RG and the UPF acting as PSA. 2. Ethernet frames exchanged between the UE RG and the UPF acting as PSA carry IP traffic and IP auxiliary protocols: ARP, ND. 3. An IP service is delivered at N6 where for example IP addresses are allocated to individual devices behind the UE RG devices in the Customer Premises. Any User Plane address delivery mechanism may be used to deliver an IP address to the devices behind the RG i.e. SLACC, DHCPV4 or DHCPV6. The SMF related subscription data associated with the RG apply to a whole PDU Session regardless of whether multiple IP addresses are allocated on this PDU Session and discloses For a Combo Ethernet and IP PDU session type the UE exchanges with the 5GC IP packets each carried within an Ethernet frame. The 5GC delivers an IP service to the RG and to devices locally connected to the RG while it is able to identify traffic of these devices by the MAC address they are using. NOTE 6: No new traffic filters PDR or PCC rule or N1 SM QoS related signalling need to be defined as traffic filters from the Ethernet PDU Session Type are reused; 3GPP, Page 72, Fig. 6.10.1-1 discloses protocol stack for the combo PDU session type that shows the UPF having Ethernet L2 and IP layers; 3GPP, Page 169, Lines 1-10 discloses Finally, the N4 session with the UPF is updated too, in order to provide to UPF the TWIF address and port tunnel information which downlink traffic should be forwarded to. 18. This completes the establishment of the delegated PDU Session. After this point, all data user-plane traffic sent by the UE is forwarded by the trusted WLAN AP to the TWIF via the L2 connection, and from the TWIF is forwarded to the UPF via the established N3 tunnel. This N3 tunnel was established during the delegated PDU Session setup and may be configured based on the received QoS Rules with one or more QoS flows. In Fig. 7.4.3.2-1 an example is shown with two QoS flows. In the uplink direction, the TWIF applies the provisioned QoS Rules and determines to which QoS flow to forward an uplink data packet. In the downlink direction, the UPF applies the provisioned Packet Detection Rules and determines to which QoS flow to forward a downlink data packet; 3GPP, Page 97, Lines 11-15 discloses Session, Packet Detection Rules may contain Frame Route information. NOTE 3: both UL and DL Packet Detection Rules may contain Frame Route information. UL Packet Detection Rules may contain Frame Route information to ensure proper charging or specific forwarding of the corresponding traffic).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kim to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilize a combo ethernet and IP service and corresponding PDU establishment and forwarding procedures by conforming to the teachings of a widely known and utilized standard and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of establishing a PDU session according to a PDU session type as taught by Kim) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of establishing a PDU session according to a PDU session type, wherein the PDU session type includes a combo ethernet + IP as taught by 3GPP) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of establishing a PDU session according to a PDU session type (i.e. as taught by both Kim & 3GPP) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of 3GPP discloses:
The user device according to claim 14, (see claim 14).
wherein the user device has a protocol stack up to the first communication layer for communicating with the user plane system, (Kim, Fig. 10 & [0341] discloses The protocol stack of FIG. 10 may be a protocol stack for Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay. The UE-to-Network Relay and the Remote UE may perform communication based on the protocol stack as illustrated in FIG. 10. For example, the UE-to-Network Relay may relay unicast traffic UL and DL traffic between the Remote UE and the network based on the protocol stack as illustrated in the example of FIG. 10 and Fig. 10 shows the UE having multiple layers corresponding to L1, MAC, RLC, etc. communicating with the UPF having L1, L2, UPD/IP, GTP-U and PDU layers wherein layers L1 and L2 are below the UDP/IP layer. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in a contingent limitation format by reciting the conditional term “optionally” and as such are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “wherein, optionally the user device is a bridged residential gateway configured to communicate with a virtual gateway executable in the user plane system”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03, Section C that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses:
A protocol data unit, PDU, session establishment request for transmission to a session management system (Kim, [0407] discloses the PDU session establishment request (i.e. reads on PDU session establishment request) message transmitted (i.e. reads on for transmission) by UE-1 may further include information indicating that the PDU session establishment request message is for a Remote UE and/or information indicating that it is related to a relay UE operation. Information indicating that it is for a Remote UE and/or information indicating that it is related to a Relay UE operation may be included in a PDU session establishment request message that is a Session Management SM NAS message that SMF (i.e. reads on to a session management system) can interpret; Kim, [0051] discloses a user equipment UE is illustrated by way of example, but the illustrated UE may also be referred to in terms of UE 100 terminal, mobile equipment ME, and the like. In addition, the UE may be a portable device such as a notebook computer, a mobile phone, a PDA, a smartphone, or a multimedia device or may be a non-portable device such as a PC or vehicle-mounted device).
in a telecommunications network, (Kim, Fig. 1 & [0054]-[0055] discloses FIG. 1 is a structural diagram of a next-generation mobile communication network (i.e. reads on in a telecommunications network) and discloses 5GC 5G Core may include various components, part of which are shown in FIG. 1, including an access and mobility management function AMF 410, a session management function SMF 420, a policy control function PCF 430, a User Plane Function UPF 440, an application function AF 450, a unified data management UDM data network 460, and a non-3GPP interworking function N3IWF 490).
(Kim, [0381] discloses The PDU session type information (i.e. reads on session type indication) may be information indicating the type of the PDU session that UE-2 intends to use. The PDU session type information may be one of IPv4, IPv6, IPv4v6, Unstructured or non-IP, and Ethernet).
for triggering a (Kim, [0201] discloses The SMF transmits an N4 Session Establishment/Modification request message (i.e. reads on for triggering a session in the telecommunications network) to the UPF. And, the SMF may provide packet discovery, execution, and reporting rules of packets that are to be installed in the UPF for the PDU session).
Kim discloses a UE transmitting a PDU session establishment request and establishing a PDU session Ethernet type PDU session or an IP type PDU session and furthermore, Kim, [0346] discloses In 5GS, a method of introducing one or both of Layer 2 Relay (ie, Layer-2 UE-to-Network Relay) and Layer 3 Relay (ie, Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay) is being discussed but fails to explicitly recite the PDU session being established for both ethernet and IP where the UE transmits a PDU session establishment request for a combination of both ethernet and IP PDU session and therefore fails to disclose “wherein the PDU session establishment request contains a field containing a dual-layer session type indication for triggering a dual-layer session in the telecommunications network.”
In a related field of endeavor, 3GPP discloses:
wherein the PDU session establishment request contains a field containing a dual-layer session type indication for triggering a dual-layer session in the telecommunications network (3GPP, Page 74, Fig. 6.10.2-1 & Lines 1-6 & Page 75, Lines 1-11 discloses Step 1: The UE 5G RG or in case of FN RG the AGF may be configured e.g. URSP to request a PDU Session of the Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type (i.e. reads on wherein the PDU session establishment request contains a field containing a dual-layer session type indication). Other parameters of the PDU Session may be the same than in IP PDU Session Type E.g. the PDU Session establishment request may contain PCO asking for a P-CSCF address, ACS address, etc. and discloses The SMF may indicate to the PCF that the PDU Session is of Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type. Per PDU Session policies sent by the PCF may contain a control on the Maximum Number of IP address to allocate as part of the PDU Session to devices in the customer premises MNIP. Step 10a. The N4 session between the SMF and an UPF acting as PSA for the PDU Session may be associated by the SMF with a Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type (i.e. reads on for triggering a dual-layer session in the telecommunications network); the SMF controls the UPF to report MAC addresses detected in UL traffic of the PDU Session. If the SMF requests the UPF to forward DHCP/RS Router Solicitation traffic from devices using the PDU Session, the SMF may request the UPF to report the "access side layer 2 header" on which the DHCP/RS has been received; 3GPP, Page 75, Lines 23-38 discloses For Combo PDU Session Type, the SMF requests the UPF to forward DHCP / RS signalling over N4; the reporting from UPF shall contain the MAC address of the device. When during the life time of a PDU Session, an IP address is allocated to a device supported by a PDU Session established with the Combo IP + Ethernet PDU Session Type, the following applies: 1) In band UE IP allocation procedure RS/RA, DHCPv4, DHCPv6. The SMF / UPF uses policies received in step 7 of Figure 6.10.2-1 IP index, max number of IP addresses for the PDU Session to determine whether to grant an IP address to the device and if yes to determine the IP pool / allocation method to use. NOTE : The usage of DHCPV4 signalling to allocate IP address to devices behind the UE does not require sending dedicated NAS signalling with a request of deferred IP address allocation. ; it is possible that the IP address allocated to the RG itself is provided via NAS to the RG while in band IP address allocation applies for the devices behind the RG. 2) if this corresponds to a PCRT Policy Control Request Trigger received previously from the PCF, the SMF initiates the SM Policy Association Modification procedure described in TS 23.502 [3] clause 4.16.5.1. The reception of new policies from the PCF in step 2 may trigger the network initiated PDU Session modification procedure per TS 23.502 [3] clause 4.3.3 which may include a corresponding N4 session modification procedure to create or update the corresponding PDR/FAR/QER/URR on the UPF; 3GPP, Page 71, Lines 9-19 & Lines 40-44 discloses A dedicated PDU Session Type called "Combo Ethernet + IP" is used for that purpose. It basically supports an access Router in the PSA while an Ethernet PDU Session supports a bridge in the PSA; In case of "combo Ethernet + IP" PDU Session Type: 1. Ethernet frames are exchanged between the UE RG and the UPF acting as PSA. 2. Ethernet frames exchanged between the UE RG and the UPF acting as PSA carry IP traffic and IP auxiliary protocols: ARP, ND. 3. An IP service is delivered at N6 where for example IP addresses are allocated to individual devices behind the UE RG devices in the Customer Premises. Any User Plane address delivery mechanism may be used to deliver an IP address to the devices behind the RG i.e. SLACC, DHCPV4 or DHCPV6. The SMF related subscription data associated with the RG apply to a whole PDU Session regardless of whether multiple IP addresses are allocated on this PDU Session and discloses For a Combo Ethernet and IP PDU session type the UE exchanges with the 5GC IP packets each carried within an Ethernet frame. The 5GC delivers an IP service to the RG and to devices locally connected to the RG while it is able to identify traffic of these devices by the MAC address they are using. NOTE 6: No new traffic filters PDR or PCC rule or N1 SM QoS related signalling need to be defined as traffic filters from the Ethernet PDU Session Type are reused; 3GPP, Page 72, Fig. 6.10.1-1 discloses protocol stack for the combo PDU session type that shows the UPF having Ethernet L2 and IP layers; 3GPP, Page 169, Lines 1-10 discloses Finally, the N4 session with the UPF is updated too, in order to provide to UPF the TWIF address and port tunnel information which downlink traffic should be forwarded to. 18. This completes the establishment of the delegated PDU Session. After this point, all data user-plane traffic sent by the UE is forwarded by the trusted WLAN AP to the TWIF via the L2 connection, and from the TWIF is forwarded to the UPF via the established N3 tunnel. This N3 tunnel was established during the delegated PDU Session setup and may be configured based on the received QoS Rules with one or more QoS flows. In Fig. 7.4.3.2-1 an example is shown with two QoS flows. In the uplink direction, the TWIF applies the provisioned QoS Rules and determines to which QoS flow to forward an uplink data packet. In the downlink direction, the UPF applies the provisioned Packet Detection Rules and determines to which QoS flow to forward a downlink data packet; 3GPP, Page 97, Lines 11-15 discloses Session, Packet Detection Rules may contain Frame Route information. NOTE 3: both UL and DL Packet Detection Rules may contain Frame Route information. UL Packet Detection Rules may contain Frame Route information to ensure proper charging or specific forwarding of the corresponding traffic).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kim to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilize a combo ethernet and IP service and corresponding PDU establishment and forwarding procedures by conforming to the teachings of a widely known and utilized standard and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of establishing a PDU session according to a PDU session type as taught by Kim) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of establishing a PDU session according to a PDU session type, wherein the PDU session type includes a combo ethernet + IP as taught by 3GPP) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of establishing a PDU session according to a PDU session type (i.e. as taught by both Kim & 3GPP) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0287116 herein after referenced as Kim) in view of NPL Document “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on the Wireless and Wireline Convergence for 5G system architecture (Release 16)” (3GPP TR 23.716 V16.0.0 (2018-12) herein after referenced as 3GPP) and further in view of JEONG et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0321481 herein after referenced as Jeong).
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of 3GPP discloses:
The session management system according to claim 1, (see claim 1).
Kim in view of 3GPP discloses a UPF performing various PDU forwarding according to the corresponding type but fails to explicitly recite that said UPF comprises various entities performing the forwarding operation and therefore fails to disclose “wherein the user plane system comprises: a first entity configured for executing a first user plane function for PDU forwarding based on one or more PDU fields associated with the first communication protocol; a second entity configured for executing a second user plane function for PDU forwarding based on one or more PDU fields associated with the second communication protocol; wherein the session management system is configured to: provide the one or more first forwarding rules to the first entity to apply the one or more first forwarding rules when performing the first user plane function; and provide the one or more second forwarding rules to the second entity to apply the one or more second forwarding rules when performing the second user plane function.”
In a related field of endeavor, Jeong discloses:
wherein the user plane system comprises: a first entity configured for executing a first user plane function for PDU forwarding based on one or more PDU fields associated with the first communication protocol; a second entity configured for executing a second user plane function for PDU forwarding based on one or more PDU fields associated with the second communication protocol; wherein the session management system is configured to: provide the one or more first forwarding rules to the first entity to apply the one or more first forwarding rules when performing the first user plane function; and provide the one or more second forwarding rules to the second entity to apply the one or more second forwarding rules when performing the second user plane function (Jeong, Fig. 3 & [0059] discloses the UPF may be divided into the plurality of the entities. FIG. 3 illustrates that the UPF is divided based on the packet processing function or service. However, according to another embodiment, the UPF may be divided based on a different criterion; Jeong, [0054] discloses specific UPF operations such as a type of the packet processing performed by the UPF services 330a through 330e and a path for forwarding the processed packet may be controlled by a rule forwarded by the SMF 130b; Jeong, [0083]-[0084] discloses an SMF device 130b may perform an operation for selecting UPFs to process traffic for a specific service and discloses the SMF device 130b transmits an N4 session establishment message to the UPF device #1 130c-1. In other words, the SMF device 130b forwards an N4 PFCP rule for specifically controlling the packet processing operation to be performed by the UPF device #1 130c-1. The N4 rule forwarding operation may be performed as part of a PDU session establishment process for a specific UE and a specific service DNN. In this embodiment, it is assumed that the UPF device #1 130c-1 detects a packet and forwards the matched flow information to another UPF device, and accordingly the rule forwarded by the SMF device 130b includes a packet detection rule PDR. The PDR includes one or more packet detection information PDI to be used for the packet detection, and may further include information for identifying the flow to which the matched packet belongs. The flow identification information may include a flow identifier to be included in the header or tunnel information to which the packet belongs; Jeong, [0041] & Table 1 discloses Packet detection A function of UPF to classify packets to process the packets. Determining whether a specific packet is included in which flow using application information eg, application identifier, or information such as source/destination address and port included in the IP internet protocol header of the packet; Jeong, [0068] discloses if the IP is used, the flow information may be forwarded to a next UPF by being inserted into an IP header or a layer 2 L2 header. If using the IP header, the flow information may be forwarded through a DSCP field, a traffic class or a flow label field. If using the L2 header, the flow information may be forwarded through a tag field or an etherType field. For doing so, while the UPF device #1 530c-1 and the UPF device #2 530c-2 generate a PDU session, information of how to forward the flow information and flow identifier information may be exchanged; Jeong, [0008]-[0009] discloses To achieve a data throughput required by the 5G communication system, it is required to improve a processing speed of a core network as well as the wireless section. Accordingly, various structures for effectively processing data in the core network are under discussion and discloses Based on the discussions described above, the present disclosure provides an apparatus and a method for processing user traffic in a wireless communication system).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kim in view of 3GPP to incorporate the teachings of Jeong for the purpose of providing the system with a means to effectively process data (Jeong, [0008]-[0009]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of an SMF transmitting forwarding rules to a UPF as taught by Kim) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of an SMF transmitting forwarding rules to a UPF, wherein the UPF comprises a plurality of UPF entities performing different types of packet processing functions selected by the SMF as taught by Jeong) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of an SMF transmitting forwarding rules to a UPF (i.e. as taught by both Kim & Jeong) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of 3GPP discloses:
The user plane system according to claim 8, comprising: (see claim 8).
Kim in view of 3GPP discloses a UPF performing various PDU forwarding according to the corresponding type but fails to explicitly recite that said UPF comprises various entities performing the forwarding operation and therefore fails to disclose “a first entity configured for executing a first user plane function for PDU forwarding based on one or more PDU fields associated with the first communication protocol; a second entity configured for executing a second user plane function for PDU forwarding based on one or more PDU fields associated with the second communication protocol; wherein the first entity is configured to receive and apply the one or more first forwarding rules when executing the first user plane function and the second entity is configured to receive and apply the one or more second forwarding rules when executing the second user plane function for the PDU session.”
In a related field of endeavor, Jeong discloses:
a first entity configured for executing a first user plane function for PDU forwarding based on one or more PDU fields associated with the first communication protocol; a second entity configured for executing a second user plane function for PDU forwarding based on one or more PDU fields associated with the second communication protocol; wherein the first entity is configured to receive and apply the one or more first forwarding rules when executing the first user plane function and the second entity is configured to receive and apply the one or more second forwarding rules when executing the second user plane function for the PDU session (Jeong, Fig. 3 & [0059] discloses the UPF may be divided into the plurality of the entities. FIG. 3 illustrates that the UPF is divided based on the packet processing function or service. However, according to another embodiment, the UPF may be divided based on a different criterion; Jeong, [0054] discloses specific UPF operations such as a type of the packet processing performed by the UPF services 330a through 330e and a path for forwarding the processed packet may be controlled by a rule forwarded by the SMF 130b; Jeong, [0083]-[0084] discloses an SMF device 130b may perform an operation for selecting UPFs to process traffic for a specific service and discloses the SMF device 130b transmits an N4 session establishment message to the UPF device #1 130c-1. In other words, the SMF device 130b forwards an N4 PFCP rule for specifically controlling the packet processing operation to be performed by the UPF device #1 130c-1. The N4 rule forwarding operation may be performed as part of a PDU session establishment process for a specific UE and a specific service DNN. In this embodiment, it is assumed that the UPF device #1 130c-1 detects a packet and forwards the matched flow information to another UPF device, and accordingly the rule forwarded by the SMF device 130b includes a packet detection rule PDR. The PDR includes one or more packet detection information PDI to be used for the packet detection, and may further include information for identifying the flow to which the matched packet belongs. The flow identification information may include a flow identifier to be included in the header or tunnel information to which the packet belongs; Jeong, [0041] & Table 1 discloses Packet detection A function of UPF to classify packets to process the packets. Determining whether a specific packet is included in which flow using application information eg, application identifier, or information such as source/destination address and port included in the IP internet protocol header of the packet; Jeong, [0068] discloses if the IP is used, the flow information may be forwarded to a next UPF by being inserted into an IP header or a layer 2 L2 header. If using the IP header, the flow information may be forwarded through a DSCP field, a traffic class or a flow label field. If using the L2 header, the flow information may be forwarded through a tag field or an etherType field. For doing so, while the UPF device #1 530c-1 and the UPF device #2 530c-2 generate a PDU session, information of how to forward the flow information and flow identifier information may be exchanged; Jeong, [0008]-[0009] discloses To achieve a data throughput required by the 5G communication system, it is required to improve a processing speed of a core network as well as the wireless section. Accordingly, various structures for effectively processing data in the core network are under discussion and discloses Based on the discussions described above, the present disclosure provides an apparatus and a method for processing user traffic in a wireless communication system).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kim in view of 3GPP to incorporate the teachings of Jeong for the purpose of providing the system with a means to effectively process data (Jeong, [0008]-[0009]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of an SMF selecting a UPF and transmitting forwarding rules to the selected UPF as taught by Kim) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of an SMF selecting a UPF and transmitting forwarding rules to the selected UPF, wherein the UPF comprises a plurality of UPF entities performing different types of packet processing functions selected by the SMF as taught by Jeong) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of an SMF selecting a UPF and transmitting forwarding rules to the selected UPF (i.e. as taught by both Kim & Jeong) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0287116 herein after referenced as Kim) in view of NPL Document “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on the Wireless and Wireline Convergence for 5G system architecture (Release 16)” (3GPP TR 23.716 V16.0.0 (2018-12) herein after referenced as 3GPP) in view of JEONG et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0321481 herein after referenced as Jeong) and further in view of Zhu et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0169871 herein after referenced as Zhu).
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of 3GPP and further in view of Jeong discloses:
The user plane system according to claim 9, (see claim 9).
wherein at least one of the following applies: the first entity in the telecommunications network is configured to provide access to services reachable using the first communication protocol for the user device and/or the second entity in the telecommunications network is configured to provide access to services accessible using the second communication protocol for the user device; (Kim, [0381] discloses The PDU session type information may be information indicating the type of the PDU session that UE-2 intends to use. The PDU session type information may be one of IPv4, IPv6, IPv4v6, Unstructured or non-IP, and Ethernet; Kim, [0357] discloses The method described in the disclosure of this specification may be applied to all types of PDU sessions eg, IP type PDU session, Unstructured type PDU session, Ethernet type PDU session; Jeong, Fig. 3 & [0059] discloses the UPF may be divided into the plurality of the entities. FIG. 3 illustrates that the UPF is divided based on the packet processing function or service. However, according to another embodiment, the UPF may be divided based on a different criterion; Jeong, [0054] discloses specific UPF operations such as a type of the packet processing performed by the UPF services 330a through 330e and a path for forwarding the processed packet may be controlled by a rule forwarded by the SMF 130b; Jeong, [0068] discloses if the IP is used, the flow information may be forwarded to a next UPF by being inserted into an IP header or a layer 2 L2 header. If using the IP header, the flow information may be forwarded through a DSCP field, a traffic class or a flow label field. If using the L2 header, the flow information may be forwarded through a tag field or an etherType field. For doing so, while the UPF device #1 530c-1 and the UPF device #2 530c-2 generate a PDU session, information of how to forward the flow information and flow identifier information may be exchanged).
Kim in view of 3GPP and further in view of Jeong discloses an SMF selecting a UPF entity but fails to explicitly recite the selection is based on the distance and therefore fails to disclose “the first entity is located geographically closer to the user device than the second entity.”
In a related field of endeavor, Zhu discloses:
the first entity is located geographically closer to the user device than the second entity (Zhu, [0160] discloses the second UPF may be selected by the SMF and the SMF specifically based on the load of the UPF, a network load or a distance from the terminal to the UPF, may preferably select a second UPF among the plurality of UPFs).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kim in view of 3GPP and further in view of Jeong to incorporate the teachings of Zhu for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilize various different criteria in selecting UPF (Zhu, [0160]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of an SMF selecting a UPF and transmitting forwarding rules to the selected UPF as taught by Kim) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of an SMF selecting a UPF and transmitting forwarding rules to the selected UPF, wherein the UPF is selected according to various criteria including distance as taught by Zhu) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of an SMF selecting a UPF and transmitting forwarding rules to the selected UPF (i.e. as taught by both Kim & Zhu) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645