DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to the amendment dated 6/23/2026, for which the amendment and corresponding arguments filed on the same date have been entered. Claims 1, 3-11, 13-21, 23-27, 29-34 are currently pending in this application, with claims 1, 11, 21, 27, 31-34 being independent. Claims 1, 3-11, 13-21, 27 have been amended. Claims 2, 12, 22, 28 have been cancelled. Claims 31-34 have been added. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/23/2026 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
On page 14 of the response, applicant argues that Farag does not teach “the MAC-CE comprising a set of bits, each bit of the set of bits indicating whether a respective codepoint of the set of codepoints indicates a single TCI state or a pair of TCI states”.
The reasons by the applicant for making this argument, as stated on pg. 15 of the arguments, are that Farag makes no mention of fields within a MAC CE indicating whether a codepoint corresponds to a single TCI state or a pair of TCI states.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As indicated in [0167], MAC CE activated TCI state code points indicating a code point with DL or UL TCI state (single TCI state) or a code point with a pair of TCI states that include a DL TCI state and UL TCI state, meaning the MAC CE indicates whether the codepoints indicate a single TCI state or a pair of TCI states. In addition, the MAC CE includes a bit map (set/sequence of bits) of configured TCI states, with each bit corresponding to its TCI state and its corresponding code point. As an example, a bit set to 1 indicates that its corresponding code point 0 indicates first TCI state, the first TCI state being a single TCI state. This is indicated in [0202] and illustrated in Table 1, which have now been included in the Office Action, for clarification purposes only.
Therefore, Farag teaches this limitation.
On page 17 of the arguments, the applicant argues that Bagheri does not teach “the MAC-CE comprising a first bitmap associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states, and a second bitmap associated with the second subset of the set of TCI states”.
The reasons by the applicant for making this argument, as stated on pg. 17 of the arguments, are that:
“the two bitmaps, as discussed in Bagheri, are organized by DCI format association, where the first bitmap maps TCI states to a first set of DCI formats, and the second bitmap represents a subset of those TCI states corresponding to the same first set of DCI formats. See id. 11 [0148] and [0152].”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As indicated in [0148], the MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states, and, as indicated in [0152], the number of bits in the first bitmap is equal to the number of TCI states in the set of TCI states, where the number of bits in the first bitmap may be less than the number of TCI states of the set of TCI states. Since there may be less than the number of TCI states of the set of TCI states, this means there may be a subset of the set of TCI states, and, since the number of TCI states is equal to the number of bits of the first bitmap, the number of bits in the first bitmap may be equal to the number of TCI states in the subset of the set of TCI states. Consequently, the first bitmap may be associated with a first subset of the set of TCI states. In this manner, the MAC-CE taught by Bagheri comprises a first bitmap associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states. Similarly, as indicated in [0152], the TCI states in the second bitmap may be a subset of the activated TCI states in the first bitmap. Consequently, the second bitmap may be associated with a second subset of the set of TCI states. In this manner, the MAC-CE taught by Bagheri comprises a second bitmap associated with the second subset of the set of TCI states. The two bitmaps being organized by DCI format association, where the first bitmap maps TCI states to a first set of DCI formats, and the second bitmap represents a subset of those TCI states corresponding to the same first set of DCI formats do not preclude the aforementioned association between the bitmaps and the subset of the TCI states from occurring. Therefore, Bagheri teaches this limitation.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 12/6/2023 and 8/7/2026 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 9-11, 13-15, 19-21, 23, 27, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Farag, et al (US PG Publication 2022/0061056), hereafter Farag.
Regarding claim 1, Farag teaches
a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications comprising
([0063] UE 116):
one or more memories that store processor-executable code
([0078] The UE 116 also includes a processor 340); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to, in association with executing the code
([0078] The UE 116 also includes a processor 340 and a memory 360),
cause the UE to:
receive, from a network entity, control signaling identifying a set of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, each TCI state of the set of TCI states associated with a TCI state type
(Fig. 11, Step 1101
[0154] As illustrated, in step 1101, a gNB provides a UE a configuration of: [0155] Joint TCI states
[0158] At the time of TCI state indication and/or TCI state activation, a type can indicate whether the TCI state is a joint TCI state, a DL TCI state or an UL TCI state);
receive, from the network entity, a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) message comprising a set of codepoints, each codepoint of the set of codepoints activating one or more TCI states of the set of TCI states and indicating the TCI state type for the one or more TCI states
(Fig. 11, Step 1103
[0165] In step 1103: the gNB activates M TCI states code points (sent to UE -see Fig. 11). A TCI state code point can include one or more TCI states. In one example, a value M can be configured by RRC signaling. The TCI state code point activated in the MAC CE
[0167] The MAC CE activated TCI state code points include one or more code point of type: code point with DL TCI state, code point with UL TCI state, or code point with a pair of DL TCI state and UL TCI state),
the MAC-CE comprising a set of bits, each bit of the set of bits indicating whether a respective codepoint of the set of codepoints indicates a single TCI state or a pair of TCI states
(Fig. 11, Step 1103
[0167] The MAC CE activated TCI state code points include one or more code point of type: code point with DL TCI state, code point with UL TCI state, or code point with a pair of DL TCI state and UL TCI state
[0202] TABLE 1 The MAC CE includes a bit map of the N RRC-configured TCI states as illustrated in FIG. 15, with a bit corresponding to each RRC-configured TCI state, a bit is set to 1 when its corresponding TCI state is active, otherwise the bit is set 0. The first TCI state with its corresponding bit set to 1, corresponds to code point 0. The second TCI state with its corresponding bit set to 1, corresponds to code point 1, and so on
(MAC CE includes a bitmap (set/sequence of bits), each bit of the bitmap indicating whether a corresponding codepoint indicates a TCI state, for example, a bit set to 1 indicates that its corresponding code point 0 indicates first TCI state, the first TCI state being a single TCI state));
receive, from the network entity, a downlink control information (DCI) message comprising a grant of resources for communicating with at least a first transmission reception point (TRP) associated with the network entity and an indication of at least one TCI state of the one or more TCI states
([0220] In another example 2.3, a cell-part MAC CE signaling can be used to indicate a subset of M TCI states and associate with the code points of the DCI for TCI state update. For example, a part of a cell can be covered by one or more TRPs
[0229] The DCI carrying the TCI state can be an uplink related DCI with an UL grant
[0235] In the aforementioned examples, the multiple TCI states can correspond to TRPs); and
transmit at least one message to the at least the first TRP according to the at least one TCI state
([0235] The multiple TCI states can correspond to different entities, e.g., UL/DL directions and TRPs
[0418] TRP1 and TRP2 are two transmit-receive points (TRPs) the UE receives DL reception (PDCCH or/and PDSCH) from or/and transmits UL transmission (PUCCH or/and PUSCH or/and PRACH) to).
Regarding claim 3, Farag teaches the UE of claim 1,
wherein the one or more processors, in association with executing the code, further cause the UE to:
receive the control signaling comprising an indication of a first subset of the set of TCI states associated with the TCI state type comprising uplink
([0174] The N TCI states include UL TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11)), and
an indication of a second subset of the set of TCI states associated with the TCI state type comprising downlink
([0174] The N TCI states include DL TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11)).
Regarding claim 4, Farag teaches the UE of claim 3,
wherein the one or more processors, in association with executing the code, further cause the UE to:
receive, in a first codepoint of the set of codepoints, a first indicator that the codepoint identifies a single TCI state
([0165] A TCI state code point can include one or more TCI states); and
receive, in the first codepoint of the set of codepoints based at least in part on receiving the first bit of each codepoint, a second indicator identifying whether the single TCI state is associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states or the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0174] The N TCI states include Joint TCI states and/or DL TCI states and/or UL TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11), wherein each TCI state is associated with a code point of the DCI field used for indication of the TCI state, wherein the DCI includes a TCI State field e.g., with m bits (such that M≤2.sup.m), the TCI state corresponds to a code point signaled by MAC CE).
Regarding claim 5, Farag teaches the UE of claim 3,
wherein the one or more processors, in association with executing the code, further cause the UE to:
receive, in a first codepoint of the set of codepoints, a first indicator that the first codepoint identifies a first TCI state and a second TCI state
([0165] A TCI state code point can include one or more TCI states
[0174] The N TCI states include Joint TCI states. The DCI includes a TCI State field e.g., with m bits (such that M≤2.sup.m), the TCI state corresponds to a code point);
receive, in the first codepoint of the set of codepoints, a second indicator identifying whether the first TCI state is associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states or the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0174] The N TCI states include Joint TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11), wherein each TCI state is associated with a code point of the DCI field used for indication of the TCI state, wherein the DCI includes a TCI State field e.g., with m bits (such that M≤2.sup.m), the TCI state corresponds to a code point signaled by MAC CE
(DCI field indicator)); and
receive, in the first codepoint of the set of codepoints, a third indicator identifying whether the second TCI state is associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states or the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0174] The N TCI states include Joint TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11), wherein each TCI state is associated with a code point of the DCI field used for indication of the TCI state, wherein the DCI includes a TCI State field e.g., with m bits (such that M≤2.sup.m), the TCI state corresponds to a code point signaled by MAC CE
(bits indicator)).
Regarding claim 9, Farag teaches the UE of claim 1,
wherein the DCI message comprises the grant of resources for communicating with a single transmission reception point, the single transmission reception point comprising the first transmission reception point
([0220] A cell-part MAC CE signaling can be used to associate with the DCI for TCI state update. For example, a part of a cell can be covered by one or more TRPs
[0229] The DCI carrying the TCI state can be an uplink related DCI, i.e., a DCI for PUSCH scheduling with an UL grant).
Regarding claim 10, Farag teaches the UE of claim 1,
wherein the DCI message comprises the grant of resources for communicating with multiple transmission reception points, the multiple transmission reception points comprising the first transmission reception point and a second transmission reception point
([0220] A cell-part MAC CE signaling can be used to associate with the DCI for TCI state update. For example, a part of a cell can be covered by one or more TRPs
[0229] The DCI carrying the TCI state can be an uplink related DCI, i.e., a DCI for PUSCH scheduling with an UL grant).
Regarding claim 11, Farag teaches
a network entity for wireless communications
(gNB -see Fig. 11),
comprising:
one or more memories that store processor-executable code
([0069] The gNB 102 also includes a processor 225); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to, in association with executing the code
([0069] The gNB 102 also includes a processor 225, a memory 230),
cause the network entity to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), control signaling identifying a set of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, each TCI state of the set of TCI states associated with a TCI state type, the TCI state type
(Fig. 11, Step 1101
[0154] As illustrated, in step 1101, a gNB provides a UE a configuration of: [0155] Joint TCI states
[0158] At the time of TCI state indication and/or TCI state activation, a type can indicate whether the TCI state is a joint TCI state, a DL TCI state or an UL TCI state);
transmit, to the UE, a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) message comprising a set of codepoints, each codepoint of the set of codepoints activating one or more TCI states of the set of TCI states and indicating the TCI state type for the one or more TCI states
(Fig. 11, Step 1103
[0165] In step 1103: the gNB activates M TCI states code points (sent to UE -see Fig. 11). A TCI state code point can include one or more TCI states. In one example, a value M can be configured by RRC signaling. The TCI state code point activated in the MAC CE
[0167] The MAC CE activated TCI state code points include one or more code point of type: code point with DL TCI state, code point with UL TCI state, or code point with a pair of DL TCI state and UL TCI state),
the MAC-CE comprising a set of bits, each bit of the set of bits indicating whether a respective codepoint of the set of codepoints indicates a single TCI state or a pair of TCI states
(Fig. 11, Step 1103
[0167] The MAC CE activated TCI state code points include one or more code point of type: code point with DL TCI state, code point with UL TCI state, or code point with a pair of DL TCI state and UL TCI state
[0202] TABLE 1 The MAC CE includes a bit map of the N RRC-configured TCI states as illustrated in FIG. 15, with a bit corresponding to each RRC-configured TCI state, a bit is set to 1 when its corresponding TCI state is active, otherwise the bit is set 0. The first TCI state with its corresponding bit set to 1, corresponds to code point 0. The second TCI state with its corresponding bit set to 1, corresponds to code point 1, and so on
(MAC CE includes a bitmap (set/sequence of bits), each bit of the bitmap indicating whether a corresponding codepoint indicates a TCI state, for example, a bit set to 1 indicates that its corresponding code point 0 indicates first TCI state, the first TCI state being a single TCI state)); and
transmit, to the UE, a DCI message comprising a grant of resources for communicating with at least a first transmission reception point associated with the network entity and an indication of at least one TCI state of the one or more TCI states
([0220] In another example 2.3, a cell-part MAC CE signaling can be used to indicate a subset of M TCI states and associate with the code points of the DCI for TCI state update. For example, a part of a cell can be covered by one or more TRPs
[0229] The DCI carrying the TCI state can be an uplink related DCI with an UL grant
[0235] In the aforementioned examples, the multiple TCI states can correspond to TRPs).
Regarding claim 13, Farag teaches the network entity of claim 11,
wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to:
transmit the control signaling comprising an indication of a first subset of the set of TCI states associated with the TCI state type comprising uplink
([0174] The N TCI states include UL TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11)), and
an indication of a second subset of the set of TCI states associated with the TCI state type comprising downlink
([0174] The N TCI states include DL TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11)).
Regarding claim 14, Farag teaches the network entity of claim 13,
wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to:
transmit, in a first codepoint of the set of codepoints, a first bit indicator identifying that the codepoint indicates a single TCI state
([0165] A TCI state code point can include one or more TCI states); and
transmit, in the first codepoint of the set of codepoints based at least in part on transmitting the first bit of each codepoint, a second indicator identifying whether the single TCI state is associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states or the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0174] The N TCI states include Joint TCI states and/or DL TCI states and/or UL TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11), wherein each TCI state is associated with a code point of the DCI field used for indication of the TCI state, wherein the DCI includes a TCI State field e.g., with m bits (such that M≤2.sup.m), the TCI state corresponds to a code point signaled by MAC CE).
Regarding claim 15, Farag teaches the network entity of claim 13,
wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to:
transmit, in a first codepoint of the set of codepoints, a first bit indicator that the first codepoint identifies a first TCI state and a second TCI state
([0165] A TCI state code point can include one or more TCI states
[0174] The N TCI states include Joint TCI states. The DCI includes a TCI State field e.g., with m bits (such that M≤2.sup.m), the TCI state corresponds to a code point);
transmit, in the first codepoint of the set of codepoints, a second indicator identifying whether the first TCI state is associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states or the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0174] The N TCI states include Joint TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11), wherein each TCI state is associated with a code point of the DCI field used for indication of the TCI state, wherein the DCI includes a TCI State field e.g., with m bits (such that M≤2.sup.m), the TCI state corresponds to a code point signaled by MAC CE
(DCI field indicator)); and
transmit, in the first codepoint of the set of codepoints, a third indicator identifying whether the second TCI state is associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states or the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0174] The N TCI states include Joint TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11), wherein each TCI state is associated with a code point of the DCI field used for indication of the TCI state, wherein the DCI includes a TCI State field e.g., with m bits (such that M≤2.sup.m), the TCI state corresponds to a code point signaled by MAC CE
(bits indicator)).
Regarding claim 19, Farag teaches the network entity of claim 11,
wherein the DCI message comprises the grant of resources for communicating with a single transmission reception point, the single transmission reception point comprising the first transmission reception point
([0220] A cell-part MAC CE signaling can be used to associate with the DCI for TCI state update. For example, a part of a cell can be covered by one or more TRPs
[0229] The DCI carrying the TCI state can be an uplink related DCI, i.e., a DCI for PUSCH scheduling with an UL grant).
Regarding claim 20, Farag teaches network entity of claim 11,
wherein the DCI message comprises the grant of resources for communicating with multiple transmission reception points, the multiple transmission reception points comprising the first transmission reception point and a second transmission reception point
([0220] A cell-part MAC CE signaling can be used to associate with the DCI for TCI state update. For example, a part of a cell can be covered by one or more TRPs
[0229] The DCI carrying the TCI state can be an uplink related DCI, i.e., a DCI for PUSCH scheduling with an UL grant).
Regarding claim 21, Farag teaches
a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, control signaling identifying a set of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, each TCI state of the set of TCI states associated with a TCI state type
(Fig. 11, Step 1101
[0154] As illustrated, in step 1101, a gNB provides a UE a configuration of: [0155] Joint TCI states
[0158] At the time of TCI state indication and/or TCI state activation, a type can indicate whether the TCI state is a joint TCI state, a DL TCI state or an UL TCI state);
receiving, from the network entity, a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) message comprising a set of codepoints, each codepoint of the set of codepoints activating one or more TCI states of the set of TCI states and indicating the TCI state type for the one or more TCI states
(Fig. 11, Step 1103
[0165] In step 1103: the gNB activates M TCI states code points (sent to UE -see Fig. 11). A TCI state code point can include one or more TCI states. In one example, a value M can be configured by RRC signaling. The TCI state code point activated in the MAC CE
[0167] The MAC CE activated TCI state code points include one or more code point of type: code point with DL TCI state, code point with UL TCI state, or code point with a pair of DL TCI state and UL TCI state),
the MAC-CE comprising a set of bits, each bit of the set of bits indicating whether a respective codepoint of the set of codepoints indicates a single TCI state or a pair of TCI states
(Fig. 11, Step 1103
[0167] The MAC CE activated TCI state code points include one or more code point of type: code point with DL TCI state, code point with UL TCI state, or code point with a pair of DL TCI state and UL TCI state
[0202] TABLE 1 The MAC CE includes a bit map of the N RRC-configured TCI states as illustrated in FIG. 15, with a bit corresponding to each RRC-configured TCI state, a bit is set to 1 when its corresponding TCI state is active, otherwise the bit is set 0. The first TCI state with its corresponding bit set to 1, corresponds to code point 0. The second TCI state with its corresponding bit set to 1, corresponds to code point 1, and so on
(MAC CE includes a bitmap (set/sequence of bits), each bit of the bitmap indicating whether a corresponding codepoint indicates a TCI state, for example, a bit set to 1 indicates that its corresponding code point 0 indicates first TCI state, the first TCI state being a single TCI state));
receiving, from the network entity, a downlink control information (DCI) message comprising a grant of resources for communicating with at least a first transmission reception point (TRP) associated with the network entity and an indication of at least one TCI state of the one or more TCI states
([0220] In another example 2.3, a cell-part MAC CE signaling can be used to indicate a subset of M TCI states and associate with the code points of the DCI for TCI state update. For example, a part of a cell can be covered by one or more TRPs
[0229] The DCI carrying the TCI state can be an uplink related DCI with an UL grant
[0235] In the aforementioned examples, the multiple TCI states can correspond to TRPs); and
communicating with the at least the first TRP according to the at least one TCI state
([0235] The multiple TCI states can correspond to different entities, e.g., UL/DL directions and TRPs
[0418] TRP1 and TRP2 are two transmit-receive points (TRPs) the UE receives DL reception (PDCCH or/and PDSCH) from or/and transmits UL transmission (PUCCH or/and PUSCH or/and PRACH) to).
Regarding claim 23, Farag teaches the method of claim 21,
wherein receiving the control signaling identifying the set of TCI states comprises:
receiving the control signaling comprising an indication of a first subset of the set of TCI states associated with the TCI state type comprising uplink
([0174] The N TCI states include UL TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11)), and
an indication of a second subset of the set of TCI states associated with the TCI state type comprising downlink
([0174] The N TCI states include DL TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11)).
Regarding claim 27, Farag teaches
a method for wireless communications, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), control signaling identifying a set of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, each TCI state of the set of TCI states associated with a TCI state type, the TCI state type
(Fig. 11, Step 1101
[0154] As illustrated, in step 1101, a gNB provides a UE a configuration of: [0155] Joint TCI states
[0158] At the time of TCI state indication and/or TCI state activation, a type can indicate whether the TCI state is a joint TCI state, a DL TCI state or an UL TCI state);
transmitting, to the UE, a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) message comprising a set of codepoints, each codepoint of the set of codepoints activating one or more TCI states of the set of TCI states and indicating the TCI state type for the one or more TCI states
(Fig. 11, Step 1103
[0165] In step 1103: the gNB activates M TCI states code points (sent to UE -see Fig. 11). A TCI state code point can include one or more TCI states. In one example, a value M can be configured by RRC signaling. The TCI state code point activated in the MAC CE
[0167] The MAC CE activated TCI state code points include one or more code point of type: code point with DL TCI state, code point with UL TCI state, or code point with a pair of DL TCI state and UL TCI state),
the MAC-CE comprising a set of bits, each bit of the set of bits indicating whether a respective codepoint of the set of codepoints indicates a single TCI state or a pair of TCI states
(Fig. 11, Step 1103
[0167] The MAC CE activated TCI state code points include one or more code point of type: code point with DL TCI state, code point with UL TCI state, or code point with a pair of DL TCI state and UL TCI state
[0202] TABLE 1 The MAC CE includes a bit map of the N RRC-configured TCI states as illustrated in FIG. 15, with a bit corresponding to each RRC-configured TCI state, a bit is set to 1 when its corresponding TCI state is active, otherwise the bit is set 0. The first TCI state with its corresponding bit set to 1, corresponds to code point 0. The second TCI state with its corresponding bit set to 1, corresponds to code point 1, and so on
(MAC CE includes a bitmap (set/sequence of bits), each bit of the bitmap indicating whether a corresponding codepoint indicates a TCI state, for example, a bit set to 1 indicates that its corresponding code point 0 indicates first TCI state, the first TCI state being a single TCI state)); and
transmitting, to the UE, a downlink control information (DCI) message comprising a grant of resources for communicating with at least a first transmission reception point associated with the network entity and an indication of at least one TCI state of the one or more TCI states
([0220] In another example 2.3, a cell-part MAC CE signaling can be used to indicate a subset of M TCI states and associate with the code points of the DCI for TCI state update. For example, a part of a cell can be covered by one or more TRPs
[0229] The DCI carrying the TCI state can be an uplink related DCI with an UL grant
[0235] In the aforementioned examples, the multiple TCI states can correspond to TRPs).
Regarding claim 29, Farag teaches the method of claim 27,
wherein transmitting the control signaling identifying the set of TCI states comprises:
transmitting the control signaling comprising an indication of a first subset of the set of TCI states associated with the TCI state type comprising uplink
([0174] The N TCI states include UL TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11)), and
an indication of a second subset of the set of TCI states associated with the TCI state type comprising downlink
([0174] The N TCI states include DL TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, 16-18, 24-26, 30, 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farag, in view of Bagheri, et al (US PG Publication 2022/0338235), hereafter Bagheri.
Regarding claim 6, Farag teaches the UE of claim 3.
Farag does not teach
wherein the one or more processors, in association with executing the code, further cause the UE to:
receive, in the MAC-CE, a first bitmap associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states; and
receive, in the MAC-CE, a second bitmap associated with the second subset of the set of TCI states.
In the same field of endeavor, Bagheri teaches
wherein the one or more processors, in association with executing the code, further cause the UE to:
obtain, in the MAC-CE, a first bitmap associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states
([0148] The MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states can be mapped to codepoint of a DCI format
[0152] In one example, the UE is configured with a set of TCI states. In one example, the number of bits in the first bitmap is equal to the number of TCI states in the set of TCI states. The number of bits in the first bitmap may be less than the number of TCI states of the set of TCI states); and
obtain, in the MAC-CE, a second bitmap associated with the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0148] The MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states can be mapped to codepoint of a DCI format
[0152] The activated TCI states in the second bitmap may be a subset of the activated TCI states in the first bitmap corresponding to the first set of DCI formats).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Farag, which includes determining TCI states that correspond to bit information, to include Bagheri’s teaching of determining TCI states that correspond to bit information that includes bitmaps, for the benefit of managing multiple sets of transmission configuration indicator states, including the selection between multiple possible indicator states and the identification or determination of associated transmission parameters (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 7, Farag, in view of Bagheri, teaches UE of claim 6.
Bagheri further teaches
wherein the one or more processors, in association with executing the code, further cause the UE to:
receive a first codepoint of the set of codepoints, the first codepoint corresponding to a bit of the first bitmap and a bit of the second bitmap, and the first codepoint comprising an indication of a first TCI state of the first subset of the set of TCI states and a second TCI state of the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0148] The MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states can be mapped to codepoint of a DCI format
[0152] In one example, the UE is configured with a set of TCI states. In one example, the number of bits in the first bitmap is equal to the number of TCI states in the set of TCI states. The number of bits in the first bitmap may be less than the number of TCI states of the set of TCI states. The activated TCI states in the second bitmap may be a subset of the activated TCI states in the first bitmap corresponding to the first set of DCI formats).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Farag, in view of Bagheri, which includes determining TCI states that correspond to bit information, to include Bagheri’s teaching of determining TCI states that correspond to bit information that includes bitmaps, for the benefit of managing multiple sets of transmission configuration indicator states, including the selection between multiple possible indicator states and the identification or determination of associated transmission parameters (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 8, Farag, in view of Bagheri, teaches UE of claim 6.
Bagheri further teaches
wherein the one or more processors, in association with executing the code, further cause the UE to:
obtain a first codepoint of the set of codepoints, the first codepoint corresponding to a single bit from one of the first bitmap or the second bitmap, and the first codepoint comprising an indication of a single TCI state of a respective one of the first subset of the set of TCI states or the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0153] A bit field Ti in the bitmap is set to 1 to indicate that the TCI state with TCI-StateId i shall be activated and mapped to the codepoint of the DCI Transmission Configuration Indication field of the associated set of DCI formats. The T.sub.i field is set to 0 to indicate that the TCI state with TCI-StateId i shall be deactivated and is not mapped to the codepoint of the DCI Transmission Configuration Indication field of the associated set of DCI formats).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Farag, in view of Bagheri, which includes determining TCI states that correspond to bit information, to include Bagheri’s teaching of determining TCI states that correspond to bit information that includes bitmaps, for the benefit of managing multiple sets of transmission configuration indicator states, including the selection between multiple possible indicator states and the identification or determination of associated transmission parameters (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 16, Farag teaches the network entity of claim 13.
Farag does not teach
wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to:
output, in the MAC-CE, a first bitmap associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states; and
output, in the MAC-CE, a second bitmap associated with the second subset of the set of TCI states.
In the same field of endeavor, Bagheri teaches
wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to:
output, in the MAC-CE, a first bitmap associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states
([0148] The MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states can be mapped to codepoint of a DCI format
[0152] In one example, the UE is configured with a set of TCI states. In one example, the number of bits in the first bitmap is equal to the number of TCI states in the set of TCI states. The number of bits in the first bitmap may be less than the number of TCI states of the set of TCI states); and
output, in the MAC-CE, a second bitmap associated with the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0148] The MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states can be mapped to codepoint of a DCI format
[0152] The activated TCI states in the second bitmap may be a subset of the activated TCI states in the first bitmap corresponding to the first set of DCI formats).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Farag, which includes determining TCI states that correspond to bit information, to include Bagheri’s teaching of determining TCI states that correspond to bit information that includes bitmaps, for the benefit of managing multiple sets of transmission configuration indicator states, including the selection between multiple possible indicator states and the identification or determination of associated transmission parameters (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 17, Farag, in view of Bagheri, teaches the apparatus of claim 16.
Bagheri further teaches
wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to:
output a first codepoint of the set of codepoints, the first codepoint corresponding to a bit of the first bitmap and a bit of the second bitmap, and the first codepoint comprising an indication of a first TCI state of the first subset of the set of TCI states and a second TCI state of the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0148] The MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states can be mapped to codepoint of a DCI format
[0152] In one example, the UE is configured with a set of TCI states. In one example, the number of bits in the first bitmap is equal to the number of TCI states in the set of TCI states. The number of bits in the first bitmap may be less than the number of TCI states of the set of TCI states. The activated TCI states in the second bitmap may be a subset of the activated TCI states in the first bitmap corresponding to the first set of DCI formats).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Farag, in view of Bagheri, which includes determining TCI states that correspond to bit information, to include Bagheri’s teaching of determining TCI states that correspond to bit information that includes bitmaps, for the benefit of managing multiple sets of transmission configuration indicator states, including the selection between multiple possible indicator states and the identification or determination of associated transmission parameters (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 18, Farag, in view of Bagheri, teaches apparatus of claim 16. Bagheri further teaches
wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to:
output a first codepoint of the set of codepoints, the first codepoint corresponding to a single bit from one of the first bitmap or the second bitmap, and the first codepoint comprising an indication of a single TCI state of a respective one of the first subset of the set of TCI states or the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0153] A bit field Ti in the bitmap is set to 1 to indicate that the TCI state with TCI-StateId i shall be activated and mapped to the codepoint of the DCI Transmission Configuration Indication field of the associated set of DCI formats. The T.sub.i field is set to 0 to indicate that the TCI state with TCI-StateId i shall be deactivated and is not mapped to the codepoint of the DCI Transmission Configuration Indication field of the associated set of DCI formats).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Farag, in view of Bagheri, which includes determining TCI states that correspond to bit information, to include Bagheri’s teaching of determining TCI states that correspond to bit information that includes bitmaps, for the benefit of managing multiple sets of transmission configuration indicator states, including the selection between multiple possible indicator states and the identification or determination of associated transmission parameters (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 24, Farag teaches the method of claim 23.
Farag does not teach
wherein receiving the MAC-CE comprises:
receiving, in the MAC-CE, a first bitmap associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states; and
receiving, in the MAC-CE, a second bitmap associated with the second subset of the set of TCI states.
In the same field of endeavor, Bagheri teaches
wherein receiving the MAC-CE comprises:
receiving, in the MAC-CE, a first bitmap associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states
([0148] The MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states can be mapped to codepoint of a DCI format
[0152] In one example, the UE is configured with a set of TCI states. In one example, the number of bits in the first bitmap is equal to the number of TCI states in the set of TCI states. The number of bits in the first bitmap may be less than the number of TCI states of the set of TCI states); and
receiving, in the MAC-CE, a second bitmap associated with the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0148] The MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states can be mapped to codepoint of a DCI format
[0152] The activated TCI states in the second bitmap may be a subset of the activated TCI states in the first bitmap corresponding to the first set of DCI formats).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Farag, which includes determining TCI states that correspond to bit information, to include Bagheri’s teaching of determining TCI states that correspond to bit information that includes bitmaps, for the benefit of managing multiple sets of transmission configuration indicator states, including the selection between multiple possible indicator states and the identification or determination of associated transmission parameters (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 25, Farag, in view of Bagheri, teaches the method of claim 24.
Bagheri further teaches
wherein the first interface is further configured to:
further comprising: receiving a first codepoint of the set of codepoints, the first codepoint corresponding to a bit of the first bitmap and a bit of the second bitmap, and the first codepoint comprising an indication of a first TCI state of the first subset of the set of TCI states and a second TCI state of the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0148] The MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states can be mapped to codepoint of a DCI format
[0152] In one example, the UE is configured with a set of TCI states. In one example, the number of bits in the first bitmap is equal to the number of TCI states in the set of TCI states. The number of bits in the first bitmap may be less than the number of TCI states of the set of TCI states. The activated TCI states in the second bitmap may be a subset of the activated TCI states in the first bitmap corresponding to the first set of DCI formats).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Farag, in view of Bagheri, which includes determining TCI states that correspond to bit information, to include Bagheri’s teaching of determining TCI states that correspond to bit information that includes bitmaps, for the benefit of managing multiple sets of transmission configuration indicator states, including the selection between multiple possible indicator states and the identification or determination of associated transmission parameters (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 26, Farag, in view of Bagheri, teaches the method of claim 24.
Bagheri further teaches
further comprising:
receiving a first codepoint of the set of codepoints, the first codepoint corresponding to a single bit from one of the first bitmap or the second bitmap, and the first codepoint comprising an indication of a single TCI state of a respective one of the first subset of the set of TCI states or the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0153] A bit field Ti in the bitmap is set to 1 to indicate that the TCI state with TCI-StateId i shall be activated and mapped to the codepoint of the DCI Transmission Configuration Indication field of the associated set of DCI formats. The T.sub.i field is set to 0 to indicate that the TCI state with TCI-StateId i shall be deactivated and is not mapped to the codepoint of the DCI Transmission Configuration Indication field of the associated set of DCI formats).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Farag, in view of Bagheri, which includes determining TCI states that correspond to bit information, to include Bagheri’s teaching of determining TCI states that correspond to bit information that includes bitmaps, for the benefit of managing multiple sets of transmission configuration indicator states, including the selection between multiple possible indicator states and the identification or determination of associated transmission parameters (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 30, Farag teaches the method of claim 29.
Farag does not teach
wherein transmitting the MAC-CE comprises:
transmitting, in the MAC-CE, a first bitmap associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states; and
transmitting, in the MAC-CE, a second bitmap associated with the second subset of the set of TCI states.
In the same field of endeavor, Bagheri teaches
wherein transmitting the MAC-CE comprises:
transmitting, in the MAC-CE, a first bitmap associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states
([0148] The MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states can be mapped to codepoint of a DCI format
[0152] In one example, the UE is configured with a set of TCI states. In one example, the number of bits in the first bitmap is equal to the number of TCI states in the set of TCI states. The number of bits in the first bitmap may be less than the number of TCI states of the set of TCI states); and
transmitting, in the MAC-CE, a second bitmap associated with the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0148] The MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states can be mapped to codepoint of a DCI format
[0152] The activated TCI states in the second bitmap may be a subset of the activated TCI states in the first bitmap corresponding to the first set of DCI formats).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Farag, which includes determining TCI states that correspond to bit information, to include Bagheri’s teaching of determining TCI states that correspond to bit information that includes bitmaps, for the benefit of managing multiple sets of transmission configuration indicator states, including the selection between multiple possible indicator states and the identification or determination of associated transmission parameters (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 31, Farag teaches
a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication
([0063] UE 116),
comprising:
one or more memories that store processor-executable code
([0078] The UE 116 also includes a processor 340); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to, in association with executing the code
([0078] The UE 116 also includes a processor 340 and a memory 360),
cause the UE to:
receive, from a network entity, control signaling identifying a set of
transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, each TCI state of the set of TCI states associated with a TCI state type
(Fig. 11, Step 1101
[0154] As illustrated, in step 1101, a gNB provides a UE a configuration of: [0155] Joint TCI states
[0158] At the time of TCI state indication and/or TCI state activation, a type can indicate whether the TCI state is a joint TCI state, a DL TCI state or an UL TCI state),
the control signaling comprising an indication of a first subset of the set of TCI states associated with the TCI state type comprising uplink
([0174] The N TCI states include UL TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11)), and
an indication of a second subset of the set of TCI states associated with the TCI state type comprising downlink
([0174] The N TCI states include DL TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11));
receive, from the network entity, a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) message comprising a set of codepoints, each codepoint of the set of codepoints activating one or more TCI states of the set of TCI states and indicating the TCI state type for the one or more TCI states
(Fig. 11, Step 1103
[0165] In step 1103: the gNB activates M TCI states code points (sent to UE -see Fig. 11). A TCI state code point can include one or more TCI states. In one example, a value M can be configured by RRC signaling. The TCI state code point activated in the MAC CE
[0167] The MAC CE activated TCI state code points include one or more code point of type: code point with DL TCI state, code point with UL TCI state, or code point with a pair of DL TCI state and UL TCI state);
receive, from the network entity, a downlink control information (DCI) message comprising a grant of resources for communicating with at least a first transmission reception point (TRP) associated with the network entity and an indication of at least one TCI state of the one or more TCI states
([0220] In another example 2.3, a cell-part MAC CE signaling can be used to indicate a subset of M TCI states and associate with the code points of the DCI for TCI state update. For example, a part of a cell can be covered by one or more TRPs
[0229] The DCI carrying the TCI state can be an uplink related DCI with an UL grant
[0235] In the aforementioned examples, the multiple TCI states can correspond to TRPs); and
transmit at least one message to the at least the first TRP according to the at least one TCI state
([0235] The multiple TCI states can correspond to different entities, e.g., UL/DL directions and TRPs
[0418] TRP1 and TRP2 are two transmit-receive points (TRPs) the UE receives DL reception (PDCCH or/and PDSCH) from or/and transmits UL transmission (PUCCH or/and PUSCH or/and PRACH) to).
Farag does not teach
the MAC-CE comprising a first bitmap associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states, and a second bitmap associated with the second subset of the set of TCI states.
In the same field of endeavor, Bagheri teaches
the MAC-CE comprising a first bitmap associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states
([0148] The MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states can be mapped to codepoint of a DCI format
[0152] In one example, the UE is configured with a set of TCI states. In one example, the number of bits in the first bitmap is equal to the number of TCI states in the set of TCI states. The number of bits in the first bitmap may be less than the number of TCI states of the set of TCI states), and
a second bitmap associated with the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0148] The MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states can be mapped to codepoint of a DCI format
[0152] The activated TCI states in the second bitmap may be a subset of the activated TCI states in the first bitmap corresponding to the first set of DCI formats).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Farag, which includes determining TCI states that correspond to bit information, to include Bagheri’s teaching of determining TCI states that correspond to bit information that includes bitmaps, for the benefit of managing multiple sets of transmission configuration indicator states, including the selection between multiple possible indicator states and the identification or determination of associated transmission parameters (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 32, Farag teaches
a network entity for wireless communications comprising
(gNB -see Fig. 11):
one or more memories that store processor-executable code
([0069] The gNB 102 also includes a processor 225); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to, in association with executing the code
([0069] The gNB 102 also includes a processor 225, a memory 230),
cause the network entity to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), control signaling identifying a set of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, each TCI state of the set of TCI states associated with a TCI state type
(Fig. 11, Step 1101
[0154] As illustrated, in step 1101, a gNB provides a UE a configuration of: [0155] Joint TCI states
[0158] At the time of TCI state indication and/or TCI state activation, a type can indicate whether the TCI state is a joint TCI state, a DL TCI state or an UL TCI state),
the control signaling comprising an indication of a first subset of the set of TCI states associated with the TCI state type comprising uplink
([0174] The N TCI states include UL TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11)), and
an indication of a second subset of the set of TCI states associated with the TCI state type comprising downlink
([0174] The N TCI states include DL TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11));
transmit, to the UE, a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) message comprising a set of codepoints, each codepoint of the set of codepoints activating one or more TCI states of the set of TCI states and indicating the TCI state type for the one or more TCI states
(Fig. 11, Step 1103
[0165] In step 1103: the gNB activates M TCI states code points (sent to UE -see Fig. 11). A TCI state code point can include one or more TCI states. In one example, a value M can be configured by RRC signaling. The TCI state code point activated in the MAC CE
[0167] The MAC CE activated TCI state code points include one or more code point of type: code point with DL TCI state, code point with UL TCI state, or code point with a pair of DL TCI state and UL TCI state); and
transmit, to the UE, a downlink control information (DCI) message comprising a grant of resources for communicating with at least a first transmission reception point (TRP) associated with the network entity and an indication of at least one TCI state of the one or more TCI states
([0220] In another example 2.3, a cell-part MAC CE signaling can be used to indicate a subset of M TCI states and associate with the code points of the DCI for TCI state update. For example, a part of a cell can be covered by one or more TRPs
[0229] The DCI carrying the TCI state can be an uplink related DCI with an UL grant
[0235] In the aforementioned examples, the multiple TCI states can correspond to TRPs).
Farag does not teach
the MAC-CE comprising a first bitmap associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states, and
a second bitmap associated with the second subset of the set of TCI states.
In the same field of endeavor, Bagheri teaches
the MAC-CE comprising a first bitmap associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states
([0148] The MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states can be mapped to codepoint of a DCI format
[0152] In one example, the UE is configured with a set of TCI states. In one example, the number of bits in the first bitmap is equal to the number of TCI states in the set of TCI states. The number of bits in the first bitmap may be less than the number of TCI states of the set of TCI states), and
a second bitmap associated with the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0148] The MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states can be mapped to codepoint of a DCI format
[0152] The activated TCI states in the second bitmap may be a subset of the activated TCI states in the first bitmap corresponding to the first set of DCI formats).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Farag, which includes determining TCI states that correspond to bit information, to include Bagheri’s teaching of determining TCI states that correspond to bit information that includes bitmaps, for the benefit of managing multiple sets of transmission configuration indicator states, including the selection between multiple possible indicator states and the identification or determination of associated transmission parameters (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 33, Farag teaches
a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE),
comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, control signaling identifying a set of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, each TCI state of the set of TCI states associated with a TCI state type
(Fig. 11, Step 1101
[0154] As illustrated, in step 1101, a gNB provides a UE a configuration of: [0155] Joint TCI states
[0158] At the time of TCI state indication and/or TCI state activation, a type can indicate whether the TCI state is a joint TCI state, a DL TCI state or an UL TCI state),
the control signaling comprising an indication of a first subset of the set of TCI states associated with the TCI state type comprising uplink
([0174] The N TCI states include UL TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11)), and
an indication of a second subset of the set of TCI states associated with the TCI state type comprising downlink
([0174] The N TCI states include DL TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11));
receiving, from the network entity, a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) message comprising a set of codepoints, each codepoint of the set of codepoints activating one or more TCI states of the set of TCI states and indicating the TCI state type for the one or more TCI states
(Fig. 11, Step 1103
[0165] In step 1103: the gNB activates M TCI states code points (sent to UE -see Fig. 11). A TCI state code point can include one or more TCI states. In one example, a value M can be configured by RRC signaling. The TCI state code point activated in the MAC CE
[0167] The MAC CE activated TCI state code points include one or more code point of type: code point with DL TCI state, code point with UL TCI state, or code point with a pair of DL TCI state and UL TCI state);
receiving, from the network entity, a downlink control information (DCI) message comprising a grant of resources for communicating with at least a first transmission reception point (TRP) associated with the network entity and an indication of at least one TCI state of the one or more TCI states
([0220] In another example 2.3, a cell-part MAC CE signaling can be used to indicate a subset of M TCI states and associate with the code points of the DCI for TCI state update. For example, a part of a cell can be covered by one or more TRPs
[0229] The DCI carrying the TCI state can be an uplink related DCI with an UL grant
[0235] In the aforementioned examples, the multiple TCI states can correspond to TRPs); and
communicating with the at least the first TRP according to the at least one TCI state
([0235] The multiple TCI states can correspond to different entities, e.g., UL/DL directions and TRPs
[0418] TRP1 and TRP2 are two transmit-receive points (TRPs) the UE receives DL reception (PDCCH or/and PDSCH) from or/and transmits UL transmission (PUCCH or/and PUSCH or/and PRACH) to).
Farag does not teach
the MAC-CE comprising a first bitmap associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states, and
a second bitmap associated with the second subset of the set of TCI states.
In the same field of endeavor, Bagheri teaches
the MAC-CE comprising a first bitmap associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states
([0148] The MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states can be mapped to codepoint of a DCI format
[0152] In one example, the UE is configured with a set of TCI states. In one example, the number of bits in the first bitmap is equal to the number of TCI states in the set of TCI states. The number of bits in the first bitmap may be less than the number of TCI states of the set of TCI states), and
a second bitmap associated with the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0148] The MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states can be mapped to codepoint of a DCI format
[0152] The activated TCI states in the second bitmap may be a subset of the activated TCI states in the first bitmap corresponding to the first set of DCI formats).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Farag, which includes determining TCI states that correspond to bit information, to include Bagheri’s teaching of determining TCI states that correspond to bit information that includes bitmaps, for the benefit of managing multiple sets of transmission configuration indicator states, including the selection between multiple possible indicator states and the identification or determination of associated transmission parameters (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 34, Farag teaches
a method for wireless communications, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), control signaling identifying a set of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, each TCI state of the set of TCI states associated with a TCI state type
(Fig. 11, Step 1101
[0154] As illustrated, in step 1101, a gNB provides a UE a configuration of: [0155] Joint TCI states
[0158] At the time of TCI state indication and/or TCI state activation, a type can indicate whether the TCI state is a joint TCI state, a DL TCI state or an UL TCI state),
the control signaling comprising an indication of a first subset of the set of TCI states associated with the TCI state type comprising uplink
([0174] The N TCI states include UL TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11)), and
an indication of a second subset of the set of TCI states associated with the TCI state type comprising downlink
([0174] The N TCI states include DL TCI states. MAC CE signaling includes a subset of M (M≤N) TCI states from the set of N TCI states (step 1103 of FIG. 11));
transmitting, to the UE, a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) message comprising a set of codepoints, each codepoint of the set of codepoints activating one or more TCI states of the set of TCI states and indicating the TCI state type for the one or more TCI states
(Fig. 11, Step 1103
[0165] In step 1103: the gNB activates M TCI states code points (sent to UE -see Fig. 11). A TCI state code point can include one or more TCI states. In one example, a value M can be configured by RRC signaling. The TCI state code point activated in the MAC CE
[0167] The MAC CE activated TCI state code points include one or more code point of type: code point with DL TCI state, code point with UL TCI state, or code point with a pair of DL TCI state and UL TCI state); and
transmitting, to the UE, a downlink control information (DCI) message comprising a grant of resources for communicating with at least a first transmission reception point (TRP) associated with the network entity and an indication of at least one TCI state of the one or more TCI states
([0220] In another example 2.3, a cell-part MAC CE signaling can be used to indicate a subset of M TCI states and associate with the code points of the DCI for TCI state update. For example, a part of a cell can be covered by one or more TRPs
[0229] The DCI carrying the TCI state can be an uplink related DCI with an UL grant
[0235] In the aforementioned examples, the multiple TCI states can correspond to TRPs).
Farag does not teach
the MAC-CE comprising a first bitmap associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states, and
a second bitmap associated with the second subset of the set of TCI states.
In the same field of endeavor, Bagheri teaches
the MAC-CE comprising a first bitmap associated with the first subset of the set of TCI states
([0148] The MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states can be mapped to codepoint of a DCI format
[0152] In one example, the UE is configured with a set of TCI states. In one example, the number of bits in the first bitmap is equal to the number of TCI states in the set of TCI states. The number of bits in the first bitmap may be less than the number of TCI states of the set of TCI states), and
a second bitmap associated with the second subset of the set of TCI states
([0148] The MAC-CE indicates two bitmaps, wherein each bitmap indicates which TCI states can be mapped to codepoint of a DCI format
[0152] The activated TCI states in the second bitmap may be a subset of the activated TCI states in the first bitmap corresponding to the first set of DCI formats).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Farag, which includes determining TCI states that correspond to bit information, to include Bagheri’s teaching of determining TCI states that correspond to bit information that includes bitmaps, for the benefit of managing multiple sets of transmission configuration indicator states, including the selection between multiple possible indicator states and the identification or determination of associated transmission parameters (see [0001]).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Noh, et al (US PG Publication 2023/0254939), hereafter Noh, teaches a MAC CE message indicates activation or deactivation of the plurality of TCI activation pairs by using TCI state ID (7 bits).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK E DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641