DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. The amendment filed February 17, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16, and 19-22 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed February 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
5. Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach “reducing, based on a first reduction coefficient, a pixel value … wherein the pixel value corresponds to red, green, and blue (RGB) values”.
Examiner replies Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Instead, Zhou et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. 104575571 A) is used to teach the claim limitation of “reducing, based on a first reduction coefficient, a pixel value … wherein the pixel value corresponds to red, green, and blue (RGB) values” as rejected below.
6. Applicant argues that of Unity (“Unity User Manual (2020.1)” - https://docs.unity3d.com/2020.1/Documentation/Manual/UnityManual.html) only controls how the speed of particles is reduced over their lifetime and the output remains a modification of particle speed. However, the Applicant asserts that the "amplifying speed" claimed in amended claim 1 is not a particle velocity. The Applicant asserts instead that the "amplifying speed" is a control parameter used to regulate the rate of change of the amplifying factor.
Examiner replies that in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., "the amplifying speed" is "a control parameter that is input into a first function to regulate the rate of change of an amplifying factor") are not recited in the rejected claim(s).
Claim 1 only claims the amplifying speed is input into a first function to increase the amplifying factor, not a rate of change. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Furthermore, the Examiner replies that the particle velocity disclosed by Unity discloses an "amplifying speed" because the particle velocity is an input to the function "Limit Velocity Over Lifetime Module". The function then outputs and increases a drag coefficient, which is the amplifying factor, when the "Multiply by Velocity" parameter is set. This satisfies the claim limitation as written in claim 1. Thus, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1, Unity teaches the amplifying speed input into a first function to obtain and increase an amplifying factor.
In addition, Dong. al. ("Firework Simulation Based on Particle System in Virtual Scene"), hereinafter referred to as Dong, discloses that the speed of the particles affects their distance between the particles in Section II Subsections C and D. Thus, Dong in view of Unity teaches the limitation that the distance is increased by the velocity, or amplifying speed, and an amplifying factor, or drag coefficient in Unity, obtained from a first function.
7. Applicant argues that Unity does not disclose the claimed "first function" which "takes amplifying speed as an input and outputs an amplifying factor, wherein the amplifying factor increases at different increasing rates as the amplifying speed gradually decreases."
Examiner replies that in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., "first function" which "takes amplifying speed as an input and outputs an amplifying factor, wherein the amplifying factor increases at different increasing rates as the amplifying speed gradually decreases." ) are not recited in the rejected claim(s).
Claim 1 broadly claims "increas[ing] the amplifying factor based on different increasing speeds as the amplifying speed gradually decreases" and not increasing the amplifying factor at different increasing rates. This can be interpreted as increasing the amplifying factor based on different increasing velocities of the particles which later leads to the velocity of the particle decreasing.
Furthermore, Unity discloses this first function where the first function is the "Limit Velocity Over Lifetime Module." The function takes in velocity as an input and outputs and increases a drag coefficient, which is the amplifying factor, when the "Multiply by Velocity" parameter is set. Thus, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1, Unity teaches the amplifying speed input into a first function to obtain and increase an amplifying factor based on increased velocity speeds which eventually also reduces the velocity of the particle.
Conclusion: Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16, and 19-22 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-8, 11-13, 16, 19, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. ("Firework Simulation Based on Particle System in Virtual Scene"), hereinafter referred to as Dong, in view of Zhang (“Fireworks Simulation Based on Particle System”), Zhou et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. 104574471 A), hereinafter referred to as Zhou, and Unity (“Unity User Manual (2020.1)” - https://docs.unity3d.com/2020.1/Documentation/Manual/UnityManual.html).
11. Regarding claim 1, Dong teaches a method of simulating an object motion by particles, comprising: generating a first number of particles, each of the particles comprising one or more pixel points (Section II, Subsection B teaches a first number of particles represented by a polliwog shape particle as seen in Figure 1. It consists of 30 particles which take up a coordinate (x,y) or pixel on the screen. Thus, each particle comprises of at least one pixel),
a motion process of the first number of particles forming animation effects (Section II, Subsection C teaches through equations 1 and 2 the motion process while the particles move up. Equations 3 and 4 show the motion process as the particles explode and move away from each other),
the animation effects being configured to simulate motion effects of the object in a real environment (Section I, Paragraph 1 teaches making a firework simulation, which is an animation effect, more realistic. The definition for realistic includes representing things in a way that is accurate or true to life which can be considered simulating the animation motion in a real environment; Section II, Subsection A teaches using multiple attributes to describe the irregular and dynamic natural scenery in a particle system. The natural scenery can be considered simulating the motion of the particles for this animation effect in a real environment);
updating a location of the particles based on a motion control parameter during the motion process, the motion control parameter being a parameter that affects a motion of the particles (Section II, Subsection C shows Equations 1-4 that update the position of the particle based on the motion control parameter ‘a’. The motion control parameter ‘a’ affects the motion Vx, Vy, and Vz of the particles which then also updates and affects the location Px, Py, and Pz of the particles over time);
and displaying the particles based on the updated location of the particles (Section II, Subsection C shows the updating of the particle positions over time. Subsection E teaches that the particles are being rendering when exploding. Thus, the updated positions are being displayed; Section III teaches the experiments which show images of the firework simulation results in Figure 3 with particles rendered with their updated locations at a time after exploding),
comprising obtaining a first image displayed at a previous time point, the first image including the particles (Section II, Subsection C teaches rendering frames at each time point t with the particles following the equations in either 1 and 2 when going up to the exploding point or 3 and 4 when exploding from the exploding point. Thus, a first image displayed at a previous time point t can be obtained);
increasing a distance between two adjacent ones of the particles in the event that an attribute of the particles meets a first condition, (Section II, Subsection B teaches that when the particles are moving up from the igniting point and reach the exploding point, all other particles are generated finally. This teaches meeting the first condition that comprises of particles moving to a first location which is the exploding point), wherein increasing the distance between the two adjacent ones of the particles comprises: (Section II, Subsection C teaches that when a particle explodes from the exploding point, the particles follows equations 3 and 4 which increases the distance between two adjacent particles that were moving up together to the exploding point. Subsection D also teaches the speed and direction the particles move in are affected by the desired shape which can cause them to move away from each other as seen in the final results in Figure 3. The speed is also affected by the amplifying factor ‘a’ in equation 3 which moves the particles along their path apart from each other).
However, Dong is not relied upon for the below claim language: reducing, based on a first reduction coefficient, a pixel value of each pixel point included in the particles in the first image to obtain an updated first image, wherein the pixel value corresponds to red, green, and blue (RGB) values; generating a second image based on the updated first image and the updated location of the particles; and displaying the second image, the second image including pixel points of which pixel values are reduced and pixel points of which location is updated; and wherein increasing the distance between the two adjacent ones of the particles comprises: generating a gradually decreasing amplifying speed; inputting the amplifying speed to a first function to obtain an amplifying factor, the first function being configured to increase the amplifying factor based on different increasing speeds as the amplifying speed gradually decreases.
Zhang teaches generating a second image based on the updated first image and the updated location of the particles; and displaying the second image, the second image including pixel points of which pixel values are reduced and pixel points of which location is updated (Section III, Subsection E-F teaches the color or RGB value of the particle dims as time passes until it reaches the end of its life cycle. The RGB value can be considered a pixel value of each pixel point in the particle. The next frame after the updated first image can have a reduced RGB value as time is passing and the RGB value dims. Thus, the next frame can be considered the second image. Subsection D teaches the frames are rendered, thus the second image is displayed to the user; Section III, Subsection C and G teach the particles also move, thus the location of the particles are also updated and will reflect in a second frame or subsequent frames).
Dong and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of particle simulation. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of simulating an animation with particles taught by Dong with the reducing a pixel value taught by Zhang in order to mimic the real life practice of the particles fading over time in fireworks (Zhang Section III, Subsection F Paragraph 2).
However, Dong and Zhang fail to teach reducing, based on a first reduction coefficient, a pixel value of each pixel point included in the particles in the first image to obtain an updated first image, wherein the pixel value corresponds to red, green, and blue (RGB) values; and wherein increasing the distance between the two adjacent ones of the particles comprises: generating a gradually decreasing amplifying speed; inputting the amplifying speed to a first function to obtain an amplifying factor, the first function being configured to increase the amplifying factor based on different increasing speeds as the amplifying speed gradually decreases.
Zhou teaches reducing, based on a first reduction coefficient, a pixel value of each pixel point included in the particles in the first image to obtain an updated first image, wherein the pixel value corresponds to red, green, and blue (RGB) values (Paragraph 50-51 teaches “the particle generation to final disappears, the color of the colored sheet colour should be gradually changed from initial position of black, formula is as follows: FORMULA, wherein RGB represents the initial color vector, t represents particle generation time, lifeTime representation of particle life cycle” . Paragraph 51 in the original Chinese publication teaches this formula:
This formula teaches reducing the pixel value, or RGB value, of the pixel the color of the particle, over time which results in an updated first image at the next time step t. The (1 – t/lifetime) multiplier teaches the first reduction coefficient. Paragraph 52-54 teaches a “real-time drawing” and “real-time performance” of the tail flame which consists of particles. This teaches creating updated frames for a real-time drawing and thus an updated first image).
Dong, Zhang, and Zhou are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of particle simulation. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of simulating an animation with particles taught by Dong in view of Zhang with the first reduction coefficient taught by Zhou in order to create a realistic tail flame particle animation (Zhou Abstract).
However, Dong, Zhang, and Zhou are not relied upon for the below claim language: generating a gradually decreasing amplifying speed; inputting the amplifying speed to a first function to obtain an amplifying factor, the first function being configured to increase the amplifying factor based on different increasing speeds as the amplifying speed gradually decreases.
Unity teaches generating a gradually decreasing amplifying speed (‘Limit Velocity over Lifetime module’ section teaches using the ‘Limit Velocity over Lifetime’ module to input a curve into the ‘Speed’ property which causes the speed of particles to decrease over a particle’s lifetime. This curve can be considered the gradually decreasing amplifying speed);
inputting the amplifying speed to a first function to obtain an amplifying factor (‘Limit Velocity over Lifetime module’ section teaches the ‘Speed’ property, which the user creates a curve for, can be considered an input to the limit velocity over lifetime module which is the first function. The multiple by velocity parameter in the first function also helps obtain an amplifying factor on the particle by have the drag coefficient affect the particle more if their speed is considered fast. The amplifying factor can be considered the value output by the limit velocity over lifetime module that makes the speed of the particle slower),
the first function being configured to increase the amplifying factor based on different increasing speeds as the amplifying speed gradually decreases (‘Limit Velocity over Lifetime module’ section teaches a ‘Multiple by Velocity’ property in the first function which enables a drag coefficient to affect a particle more when the particle’s speed is faster. Thus, the output from the ‘Limit Velocity over Lifetime’ module can be considered an amplifying factor which makes the speed of particles slower).
Dong, Zhang, Zhou, and Unity are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of particle simulation. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of simulating an animation effect through particles taught by Dong in view of Zhang and Zhou with the amplifying factor and first function taught by Unity in order to simulate slowing the particle as it passes through air (Unity ‘Limit Velocity Over Lifetime Module’ Section, Details Subsection).
12. Regarding claim 3, Dong in view of Zhang, Zhou, and Unity teaches the limitations of claim 1. Dong further teaches the method wherein updating the location of the particles based on the motion control parameter comprises: determining an acceleration of the particles based on the motion control parameter; and updating the location of the particles based on the acceleration (Section II, subsection C teaches particles moving from the exploding point follow equations 3 and 4. The speed of the particle is updated and is based on the motion control parameter ‘a’ which represents a component of acceleration. Thus, the acceleration of the particles is determined by the motion control parameter ‘a’. The location of the particle Px, Py, and Pz is also updated based on the ‘a’ motion control parameter, representing acceleration).
13. Regarding claim 4, Dong in view of Zhang, Zhou, and Unity teaches the limitations of claim 1. Dong further teaches the method wherein the first condition comprises at least one of: a speed of the particles reaching a first speed, or the particles moving to a first location (Section II, Subsection B teaches that when the particles are moving up from the igniting point and reach the exploding point, all other particles are generated finally. This teaches meeting the first condition that comprises of particles moving to a first location which is the exploding point. The Applicant uses ‘or’ so only one of the conditions is required to be taught);
and the method further comprises displaying the particles based on the increased distance (Section II, Subsection C teaches that when a particle explodes from the exploding point, the particles follow equations 3 and 4 which increases the distance between two adjacent particles that were moving up together to the exploding point; Section II, Subsection D also teaches the speed and direction the particles move in are affected by the desired shape which can cause them to move away from each other as seen in the final results in Figure 3).
14. Regarding claim 7, Dong in view of Zhang, Zhou, and Unity teaches the limitations of claim 1. Dong further teaches the method further comprising: (Section II, Subsection C teaches that when a particle explodes from the exploding point, it follows equations 3 and 4 which increases the distance between two adjacent particles that were moving up together to the exploding point. Subsection D also teaches the speed and direction the particles move in are affected by the desired shape which can cause them to move away from each other as seen in the final results in Figure 3. The speed is also affected by the amplifying factor ‘a’ in equation 3 which moves the particles along their path apart from each other).
However, Dong, Zhang, and Zhou are not relied upon for the below claim language: method further comprising: reducing a transparency of the particles based on the amplifying speed; and wherein displaying the particles based on the increased distance comprises: the reduced transparency of the particles.
Unity teaches the method further comprising: reducing a transparency of the particles based on the amplifying speed (‘Color by Speed module’ Section teaches changing the color of the particle based on the speed; ‘Color over Lifetime module’ section teaches that the color of the particle can also be considered the transparency);
and wherein displaying the particles based on the increased distance comprising: the reduced transparency of the particles (‘Color by Speed module’ Section teaches that the system will display the particle according to the settings. The Details subsection exemplifies that particles can appear white or red depending on the speed).
Dong, Zhang, Zhou, and Unity are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of particle simulation. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of simulating an animation effect through particles taught by Dong in view of Zhang and Zhou with the amplifying factor and first function taught by Unity in order to simulate how particles in real life change color when moving through the air and when approaching the end of their lifetime (Unity ‘Color by Speed module’ Section, Details subsection, Unity ‘Color over Lifetime module’ Section, Details subsection).
15. Regarding claim 8, Dong in view of Zhang, Zhou, and Unity teaches the limitations of claim 7. However, Dong, Zhang, and Zhou are not relied upon for the below claim language: method wherein reducing the transparency of the particles based on the amplifying speed comprises: inputting the amplifying speed to a second function to obtain the transparency of the particles, the second function configured to output a reduced transparency as the amplifying speed gradually decreases.
Unity teaches the method wherein reducing the transparency of the particles based on the amplifying speed comprises: inputting the amplifying speed to a second function to obtain the transparency of the particles, the second function configured to output a reduced transparency as the amplifying speed gradually decreases. (‘Color by Speed module’ Section teaches that the particle’s speed will be taken into account by the ‘Color by Speed’ module which teaches a second function. It will then output the transparency or color of the particles based on the speed. The user can set it to reduce the transparency when the speed decreases; ‘Color over Lifetime module’ teaches that the color of the particle can also be considered the transparency).
Dong, Zhang, Zhou, and Unity are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of particle simulation. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of simulating an animation effect through particles taught by Dong in view of Zhang and Zhou with the amplifying factor and first function taught by Unity in order to simulate how particles in real life change color when moving through the air and when approaching the end of their lifetime (Unity ‘Color by Speed module’ Section, Details subsection, Unity ‘Color over Lifetime module’ Section, Details subsection).
16. Regarding claim 11, Dong in view of Zhang, Zhou, and Unity teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Dong, Zhang, and Unity are not relied upon for the below claim language: the method wherein reducing, based on the first reduction coefficient, the pixel value of each pixel point included in the particles in the first image to obtain the updated first image comprises: for each pixel point included in each particle in the first image, determining a product of the first reduction coefficient and a pixel value of the pixel point as a pixel value of the pixel point in the updated first image, the first reduction coefficient being less than 1.
Zhou teaches the method wherein reducing, based on the first reduction coefficient, the pixel value of each pixel point included in the particles in the first image to obtain the updated first image comprises: for each pixel point included in each particle in the first image, determining a product of the first reduction coefficient and a pixel value of the pixel point as a pixel value of the pixel point in the updated first image, the first reduction coefficient being less than 1. (Paragraph 51 in the original Chinese publication teaches this formula:
This formula teaches determining a product of the pixel value of the pixel point, RGB, and the first reduction coefficient (1 – t/lifetime). The RGB teaches the pixel value of the pixel points in the particles of the first image. The first reduction coefficient (1 – t/lifetime) is less than 1 since t/lifetime subtracts from 1. The product, color, teaches the resulting color of each pixel point in the particles in the updated first image. Paragraph 52-54 teaches a “real-time drawing” and “real-time performance” of the tail flame which consists of particles. This teaches creating updated frames for a real-time drawing and thus an updated first image).
Dong, Zhang, Zhou, and Unity are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of particle simulation. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of simulating an animation with particles taught by Dong in view of Zhang and Unity with the first reduction coefficient taught by Zhou in order to create a realistic tail flame particle animation (Zhou Abstract).
17. Regarding claim 12, Dong in view of Zhang, Zhou, and Unity teaches the limitations of claim 1. Dong further teaches the method further comprising: setting at least one of attributes of the first number of particles in an initial state: a shape formed by the first number of particles, a size of the shape, a color of the particles, the location of the particles, and a speed of the particles (Section II, Subsection B teaches setting 30 particles, a first number of particles, in an initial state which includes a polliwog shape formed by 30 particles, which can be considered the initial size, seen in Figure 1. The initial location of the particles is set by the igniting point and programme code in subsection B. Subsection C also teaches in equation 1 and 2 the speed of the particles in the initial state which is when they are going up from the igniting point. Thus, the shape, size, location, and speed of the first number of particles are taught to be set in an initial state. The claim only requires “at least one of attributes” need to be set in an initial state which is taught by Dong).
18. Regarding claim 13, Dong in view of Zhang, Zhou, and Unity teaches the limitations of claim 1. Dong further teaches the method wherein after displaying the particles based on the updated location of the particles, the method further comprises: playing a first image sequence in the event that the attribute of the particles meets a second condition (Section II, Subsection C-E teach when the particle reaches the exploding point, a simulated firework is created which teaches a first image sequence. The simulated firework teaches a first image sequence since the particle movements are all preset determined by the code for generated a specific shape of firework as can be seen in subsection D. Reaching the exploding point teaches the second condition),
a particle area included in any area in the first image sequence being larger than a particle area included in a previous image (Section II, Subsection C and D teach the particle area grows each frame as the particles move and their speed changes according to the desired shape. Thus, the particle area from an area in the first image sequence will be larger in the next frame than the previous frame or previous image),
the second condition comprising at least one of: a speed of the particles reaching a first speed, and the particles moving to a first location (Section III, Subsection C-E teach when the particle reaches the exploding point, a simulated firework which can be considered a first image sequence will be played. Reaching the exploding point teaches the second condition).
19. Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is the electronic device claim (Dong Section III teaches running the simulation on a computer with a graphics card which inherently also have memories) of method claim 1 and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
20. Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is the computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer storage medium claim (Dong Section III teaches running the simulation system, or computer program, on a computer with a graphics card which inherently also have memories) of method claim 1 and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
21. Regarding claim 21, the claim is similar in scope to claim 3. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 3 applies herein.
22. Regarding claim 22, the claim is similar in scope to claim 4. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 4 applies herein.
23. Claim(s) 2 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. ("Firework Simulation Based on Particle System in Virtual Scene"), hereinafter referred to as Dong, in view of Zhang (“Fireworks Simulation Based on Particle System”), Zhou et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. 104574471 A), hereinafter referred to as Zhou, and Unity (“Unity User Manual (2020.1)” - https://docs.unity3d.com/2020.1/Documentation/Manual/UnityManual.html), as applied to claim 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Zohdi ("On Firework Blasts and Qualitive Parameter Dependency").
24. Regarding claim 2, Dong in view of Zhang, Zhou, and Unity teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Dong, Zhang, Zhou, and Unity are not relied upon for the below claim language: wherein the motion control parameter comprises at least one of: a gravity parameter, an air resistance parameter, or an air disturbance parameter.
Zohdi teaches the method wherein the motion control parameter comprises at least one of: a gravity parameter, an air resistance parameter, or an air disturbance parameter (Page 3, Equation 1.5 teaches an equation for the particle’s motion parameter which comprises of gravity, drag, and buoyancy parameters. The drag parameter can be considered the air resistance parameter. The buoyancy can be considered the air disturbance parameter which is the parameter’s disturbance on the air).
Dong, Zhang, Zhou, and Unity and Zohdi are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of particle simulation. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of simulating an animation effect through particles taught by Dong in view of Zhang, Zhou, and Unity with the gravity, air resistance, and air disturbance parameters taught by Zohdi in order to create an accurate model that captures the essential physics of particles (Zohdi Introduction Paragraph 2).
25. Regarding claim 20, the claim is similar in scope to claim 2. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 2 applies herein.
26. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. ("Firework Simulation Based on Particle System in Virtual Scene"), hereinafter referred to as Dong, in view of Zhang (“Fireworks Simulation Based on Particle System”), Zhou et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. 104574471 A), hereinafter referred to as Zhou, and Unity (“Unity User Manual (2020.1)” - https://docs.unity3d.com/2020.1/Documentation/Manual/UnityManual.html), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baraff et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,269,778 B1), hereinafter referred to as Baraff.
Regarding claim 6, Dong in view of Zhang, Zhou, and Unity teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Dong, Zhang, and Zhou are not relied upon for the below claim language: the method wherein the amplifying factor increases based on an order of a first increasing speed, a second increasing speed, a third increasing speed and a fourth increasing speed, the first increasing speed and the third increasing speed being less than or equal to a first threshold, the second increasing speed and the fourth increasing speed being greater than or equal to the first threshold.
Unity teaches the method wherein the amplifying factor increases based on an order of a first increasing speed, a second increasing speed, a third increasing speed and a fourth increasing speed (‘Limit Velocity over Lifetime module’ section teaches that the multiple by velocity parameter in the ‘Limit Velocity over Lifetime’ module or first function also enables the drag coefficient to affect the particle more if their speed is considered fast. The output from the ‘Limit Velocity over Lifetime’ module can be considered an amplifying factor which makes the speed of particles slower. The description teaches that the faster the particle is, the more it is affected by the drag coefficient. Thus, the amplifying factor increases based on different increasing speeds like a first, second, third, and fourth increasing speed for a first, second, third, and fourth particle),
Dong, Zhang, Zhou, and Unity are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of particle simulation. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of simulating an animation effect through particles taught by Dong in view of Zhang and Zhou with the amplifying factor taught by Unity in order to simulate slowing the particle as it passes through air (Unity ‘Limit Velocity Over Lifetime module’ Section, Details Subsection).
However, Dong, Zhang, Zhou, and Unity are not relied upon for the below claim language: the first increasing speed and the third increasing speed being less than or equal to a first threshold, the second increasing speed and the fourth increasing speed being greater than or equal to the first threshold.
Baraff teaches the first increasing speed and the third increasing speed being less than or equal to a first threshold, the second increasing speed and the fourth increasing speed being greater than or equal to the first threshold (Figure 15A and Column 22, lines 36-49 teach a velocity that is less than or equal to a threshold and a velocity that exceeds a threshold. This teaches a first threshold. Furthermore, this can apply to the velocities of a first, second, third, and fourth particle. Thus, this enables and teaches a scenario where the first and third could be less than or equal to the threshold and the second and fourth can exceed the threshold).
Dong, Zhang, Zhou, Unity, and Baraff are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of particle simulation. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of simulating an animation effect through particles taught by Dong in view of Zhang, Zhou, and Unity with the thresholds taught by Baraff in order to scale the forces depending on the velocity of the particles (Baraff Column 5, lines 40-53).
27. Claim(s) 9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. ("Firework Simulation Based on Particle System in Virtual Scene"), hereinafter referred to as Dong, in view of Zhang (“Fireworks Simulation Based on Particle System”), Zhou et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. 104574471 A), hereinafter referred to as Zhou, and Unity (“Unity User Manual (2020.1)” - https://docs.unity3d.com/2020.1/Documentation/Manual/UnityManual.html), as applied to claim 7 and 1 above, and further in view of Boyd et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0214935 A1), hereinafter referred to as Boyd.
28. Regarding claim 9, Dong in view of Zhang, Zhou, and Unity teaches the limitations of claim 7. However, Dong, Zhang, Zhou and Unity are not relied upon for the below claim language: the method wherein after reducing the transparency of the particles based on the amplifying speed, the method further comprises: randomly reducing the transparency of the particles to a first transparency.
Boyd teaches the method wherein after reducing the transparency of the particles based on the amplifying speed, the method further comprises: randomly reducing the transparency of the particles to a first transparency (Paragraph 482 teaches applying parameter behaviors like randomization to any object parameter which includes the opacity of an object; Paragraphs 523-524 teach randomizing parameter values involving flickering opacity. This can enable randomly changing the opacity or transparency of a particle to a first transparency value; Paragraphs 526-535 teach the parameter controls for randomization that can set a first transparency value through the amount/multiplier or apply mode parameters).
Dong, Zhang, Zhou, Unity, and Boyd are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of particle simulation. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of simulating an animation effect through particles taught by Dong in view of Zhang, Zhou, and Unity with the randomizing of reducing the transparency as taught by Boyd in order to create jittery effects like flickering opacity or other effects with rapid and varied change without requiring time-consuming effort by a user (Boyd Paragraph 524).
29. Regarding claim 14, Dong in view of Zhang, Zhou, and Unity teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Dong, Zhang, Zhou, and Unity are not relied upon for the below claim language: the method wherein generating the first number of particles comprises: randomly generating a second number of particles; and determining particles located in a first image area in the second number of particles as the first number of particles, the first image area including particles needed to form a first display object.
Boyd teaches the method wherein generating the first number of particles comprises: randomly generating a second number of particles (Paragraph 1374 teaches the birth rate range parameter which defines a range in which particles can be randomly generated);
and determining particles located in a first image area in the second number of particles as the first number of particles, the first image area including particles needed to form a first display object (Paragraph 1337 teaches the emitters are able to control the shape and direction of the generated particles. Controlling the shape of the mass of generated particles teaches forming a first display object. Thus, the particles in the mass of particles or image area that forms the first display object consists of the first number of particles and second number of particles. Paragraphs 1346-1353 teach the shapes the emitters can create with the particles generated).
Dong, Zhang, Zhou, Unity, and Boyd are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of particle simulation. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of simulating an animation with particles taught by Dong in view of Zhang, Zhou, and Unity with the random generation of pixels and forming a target display object as taught by Boyd in order to simulate an explosion animation with particles (Boyd Paragraph 1321).
Conclusion
30. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
- Macklin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0161810 A1) teaches constraints for particle simulations.
- Janardhan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0295304 A1) teaches modeling vapor particles and their velocity.
/CHRISTINE YERA AHN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615