DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5, 7, 11-18, 20 and 24-30, filed 04/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 6-8 of the applicant’s response, the applicant argues that Sony does not teach “a dedicated sidelink WUS resource poo” and “differing from a sidelink data transmission resource pool”.
Regarding the arguments above, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. The examiner has made his assertion and interpretation of the prior art clear in his citation of Fig 16 and Pg 19 L13-16, but more so the examiners interpretation of the claim language. The limitation states two entities: a dedicated sidelink WUS resource pool (pool of resources that are used for SWUS) and a sidelink data transmission resource pool (pool of resources that are used for sidelink data transmission). The claim makes not claim as argued that the two pools are mutually separate nor that they do not share any resources. The claim language only states that they differ. Sony explicitly teaches in the cited portions and Pg 18 L25-30, that 4 resources are dedicated for being used for SWUS 1601-1604 in different sub-channels. No other resources are dedicated for SWUS. This differs from the entire resource pool which is made up of all the sidelink data resources. So, the two resource pools do in fact differ. Therefore, as the claim language reads, Sony does teach the argued limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 11-18, 20, 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sony (WO 2021/0165208), as disclosed in the IDS.
As to claim 1, Sony teaches a method of wireless communication by a sidelink user equipment (UE) (Sony, Pg 19 L13-16, wireless communication at a UE), comprising:
selecting a sidelink wakeup signal (WUS) resource from a dedicated sidelink WUS resource pool (Sony, Pg 19 L13-16, selecting SWUS resources that will be used via RRC configuration. From pool of sub-channel 1-3 pool for SWUS), the sidelink WUS resource pool differing from a sidelink data transmission resource pool (Sony, Fig 16, PUSCH/PUCCH, the sidelink data transmission resources do not overlap with the SWUS resources and differ from the 1601-1604); and
transmitting, to a receiver, a WUS on the selected sidelink WUS resource (Sony, Fig 16, Pg 12 L18-31, transmitting the SWUS on UE_TX1 and UE_TX2).
As to claim 2, Sony teaches in which the selected sidelink WUS resource is assigned to the receiver (Sony, Pg. 7 L35-40, the SWUS sub-channel 1 is assigned to UE_RX1).
As to claim 3, Sony teaches further comprising receiving, from a base station, a configuration indicating the selected sidelink WUS resource (Sony, Pg. 10 L 38-45, a base station signals the configuration via RRC).
As to claim 5, Sony teaches in which the selecting the sidelink WUS resource comprises: sensing across the sidelink WUS resource pool (Sony, Pg 20 L10-20, sensing that some slots within the SWUS are inactive or active); and randomly selecting the sidelink WUS resource based on the sensing (Sony, Pg 18 L25- Pg 19 L10, sending a WUS based on the sensing the selection of WUS is partially random within those) .
As to claim 7, Sony teaches further comprising receiving, from a base station, a control resource set (CORESET) and search space for the WUS (Sony, Pg. 10 L 38-45, a base station signals the configuration via RRC. The RRC signaled a set of resources for the WUS to be monitored /searched in).
As to claim 11, Sony teaches in which the sidelink WUS resource pool is in a first slot and the data transmission resource pool is in a second slot, different from the first slot (Sony, Fig 16, the SWUS is in the first slot and the data sidelink PSCCH/PSSCH is in the slot 2).
As to claim 12, Sony teaches in which the sidelink WUS resource pool is in a first subchannel and the data transmission resource pool is in a second subchannel, different from the first subchannel (Sony, Fig 16, the SWUS is in the first slot and the data sidelink PSCCH/PSSCH is in the slot 2).
As to claim 13, Sony teaches in which the sidelink WUS resource pool is time division multiplexed with the sidelink data transmission resource pool, within a slot (Sony, Fig 14, the SWUS is time multiplexed within slot 3 with PSCCH/PSSCH).
As to claim 14, Sony teaches a method of wireless communication by a receiving sidelink user equipment (UE) (Sony, Pg 19 L13-16, wireless communication at a UE), comprising:
determining a sidelink wakeup signal (WUS) resource from a dedicated sidelink WUS resource pool (Sony, Pg 19 L13-16, selecting SWUS resources that will be used via RRC configuration. From pool of sub-channel 1-3 pool for SWUS), the sidelink WUS resource pool differing from a sidelink data transmission resource pool (Sony, Fig 16, PUSCH/PUCCH, the sidelink data transmission resources do not overlap with the SWUS resources and differ from the 1601-1604); and
processing a WUS on the determined sidelink WUS resource (Sony, Fig 16, Pg 12 L18-31, transmitting the SWUS on UE_TX1 and UE_TX2).
As to claim 15, Sony teaches in which the determined sidelink WUS resource is assigned to the receiving sidelink UE (Sony, Pg. 7 L35-40, the SWUS sub-channel 1 is assigned to UE_RX1).
As to claim 16, Sony teaches further comprising receiving, from a base station, a configuration indicating the determined sidelink WUS resource (Sony, Pg. 10 L 38-45, a base station signals the configuration via RRC).
As to claim 17, Sony teaches further comprising transmitting, to a transmitting sidelink UE, a configuration of the determined sidelink WUS resource (Sony, Fig 16, Pg 12 L18-31, transmitting the SWUS on UE_TX1 and UE_TX2).
As to claim 18, Sony teaches further comprising monitoring all of the sidelink WUS resource pool to determine the sidelink WUS resource (Sony, Fig 16, Pg 12 L18-31, monitoring the SWUS Fig 14).
As to claim 20, Sony teaches further comprising receiving, from a base station, a control resource set (CORESET) and search space for the WUS (Sony, Pg. 10 L 38-45, a base station signals the configuration via RRC. The RRC signaled a set of resources for the WUS to be monitored /searched in).
As to claim 24, Sony teaches in which the sidelink WUS resource pool is in a first slot and the data transmission resource pool is in a second slot, different from the first slot (Sony, Fig 16, the SWUS is in the first slot and the data sidelink PSCCH/PSSCH is in the slot 2).
As to claim 25, Sony teaches in which the sidelink WUS resource pool is in a first subchannel and the data transmission resource pool is in a second subchannel, different from the first subchannel (Sony, Fig 16, the SWUS is in the first slot and the data sidelink PSCCH/PSSCH is in the slot 2).
As to claim 26, Sony teaches in which the sidelink WUS resource pool is time division multiplexed with the sidelink data transmission resource pool, within a slot (Sony, Fig 14, the SWUS is time multiplexed within slot 3 with PSCCH/PSSCH).
As to claim 27, Sony teaches an apparatus for wireless communication by a sidelink user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured (Sony, Pg 19 L13-16, wireless communication at a UE):
to select a sidelink wakeup signal (WUS) resource from a dedicated sidelink WUS resource pool (Sony, Pg 19 L13-16, selecting SWUS resources that will be used via RRC configuration. From pool of sub-channel 1-3 pool for SWUS), the sidelink WUS resource pool differing from a sidelink data transmission resource pool (Sony, Fig 16, PUSCH/PUCCH, the sidelink data transmission resources do not overlap with the SWUS resources and differ from the 1601-1604); and
to transmit, to a receiver, a WUS on the selected sidelink WUS resource (Sony, Fig 16, PUSCH/PUCCH, the sidelink data transmission resources do not overlap with the SWUS resources and differ from the 1601-1604).
As to claim 28, Sony teaches, in which the selected sidelink WUS resource is assigned to the receiver (Sony, Pg. 7 L35-40, the SWUS sub-channel 1 is assigned to UE_RX1).
As to claim 29, Sony teaches in which the at least one processer is further configured to select the sidelink WUS resource by sensing across the sidelink WUS resource pool (Sony, Pg 20 L10-20, sensing that some slots within the SWUS are inactive or active), and randomly selecting the sidelink WUS resource based on the sensing (Sony, Pg 18 L25- Pg 19 L10, sending a WUS based on the sensing the selection of WUS is partially random within those).
As to claim 30, Sony teaches in which the at least one processer is further configured to receive, from a base station, a control resource set (CORESET) and search space for the WUS (Sony, Pg. 10 L 38-45, a base station signals the configuration via RRC. The RRC signaled a set of resources for the WUS to be monitored /searched in)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sony as applied to above, and further in view of Do et al (Pub No: 2024/0015656).
As to claim 4, Sony teaches a configuration of the selected sidelink WUS resource (Sony, Pg. 10 L 38-45, a SWUS configuration).
Sony does not explicitly teach further comprising receiving, from the receiver, a configuration of the selected sidelink WUS resource.
However, Do teaches receiving, from the receiver, a configuration of the selected sidelink WUS resource (Do, [0052], the sidelink WUS configuration is received from the further wireless device (receiver)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “methods of providing a sidelink WUS configuration” as taught by Do in the system of Sony, so that it would be an energy and power saving mechanism (Do, [0003]).
As to claim 6, Sony teaches a configuration of the selected sidelink WUS resource (Sony, Pg. 10 L 38-45, a SWUS configuration).
Sony does not explicitly teach the selecting the sidelink WUS resource comprises negotiating the sidelink WUS resource pool with the receiver.
However, Do teaches the selecting the sidelink WUS resource comprises negotiating the sidelink WUS resource pool with the receiver (Do, [0052], the sidelink WUS configuration is exchanged from the further wireless device (receiver)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “methods of providing a sidelink WUS configuration” as taught by Do in the system of Sony, so that it would be an energy and power saving mechanism (Do, [0003]).
As to claim 19, Sony teaches a configuration of the selected sidelink WUS resource (Sony, Pg. 10 L 38-45, a SWUS configuration).
Sony does not explicitly teach negotiating the sidelink WUS resource pool with a transmitting sidelink UE.
However, Do teaches negotiating the sidelink WUS resource pool with a transmitting sidelink UE (Do, [0052], the sidelink WUS configuration is exchanged from the further wireless device (receiver)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “methods of providing a sidelink WUS configuration” as taught by Do in the system of Sony, so that it would be an energy and power saving mechanism (Do, [0003]).
Claims 8, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sony as applied to claims above, and further in view of Gordaychik (Pub No: 2019/0363843).
As to claim 8, Sony teaches in which the WUS sidelink resource pool comprises time division multiplexed, frequency domain multiplexed, and/or space division multiplexed resources and WUS resources for a plurality of users (Sony, Fig 16, Pg 10 L38-45, the pool for SWUS is time multiplexed and sub-channels for WUS for plurality of UE_RX).
Sony does not explicitly teach automatic gain control (AGC) resources.
However, Gordaychik teaches teach automatic gain control (AGC) resources (Gordaychik, [0161], a base station indicates resources for AGC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “AGC resources” as taught by Gordaychik in the system of Sony, because it is a well-known indication of resource type from a gNB to a UE on sidelink (Gordaychik, [0161]).
As to claim 21, Sony teaches in which the WUS sidelink resource pool comprises time division multiplexed, frequency domain multiplexed, and/or space division multiplexed resources and WUS resources for a plurality of users (Sony, Fig 16, Pg 10 L38-45, the pool for SWUS is time multiplexed and sub-channels for WUS for plurality of UE_RX).
Sony does not explicitly teach automatic gain control (AGC) resources.
However, Gordaychik teaches teach automatic gain control (AGC) resources (Gordaychik, [0161], a base station indicates resources for AGC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “AGC resources” as taught by Gordaychik in the system of Sony, because it is a well-known indication of resource type from a gNB to a UE on sidelink (Gordaychik, [0161]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 22, 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al (Pub No: 2019/0090190) Fig 6 [0007]-[0044].
Hosseini et al (Pub No: 2021/0058866) [0058]
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469