DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to amendments and remarks filed August 19, 2025. Claims 1-16 are currently pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed subject matter of claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear where Applicant originally discloses “the optical element is configured to execute an imaging process” and where the first and second imaging element perform photoelectric conversion on “the reflected light” from the second mirror.
Regarding claim 4, it is unclear where Applicant originally discloses an embodiment having three imaging elements and a half mirror configuration as claimed.
The other claims are rejected based on their dependencies.
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what it means for “the optical element is configured to execute an imaging process.” It is unclear how an optical element “executes” and what the imaging process is. In addition, it is unclear what it means that “image data corresponds to learning data of machine learning” or “image data corresponds to the learning data of machine learning.”
Regarding claim 4, it is unclear what it means when light is incident “on at least one of an imaging element of the first imaging element or an imaging element of the second imaging element.” It is unclear how there can be an imaging element of another imaging element.
The other claims are indefinite based on their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9, as understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0221342).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 9, Kim et al. disclose (Fig. 5) a camera system comprising: an imaging optical system including an optical element (210) for imaging; a first mirror (230) configured to split light incident via the imaging optical system; a first imaging element (430); a second imaging element (430’); a second mirror (240) configured to reflect the light that is directed by the first mirror to at least one of the first or second imaging element, wherein the second mirror is different from the first mirror, the first imaging element is configured to: perform photoelectric conversion on light and output, based on the photoelectric conversion, first captured image data used as learning data (“training data”) of machine learning (neural network 60; [0035]); the second imaging element is configured to: perform the photoelectric conversion on the light; and output, based on the photoelectric conversion, second captured image data used as the learning data. Kim et al. also disclose (Fig. 5) a first filter (410) and second filter (410’) as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rephaeli et al.
Regarding claim 7, Rephaeli et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Rephaeli et al. do not disclose a light emitting unit emitting in synchronization with the second imaging element. However, it is known in depth sensors (i.e. LIDAR) to provide a light emitting unit as claimed. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such a light emitting unit in the apparatus of Rephaeli et al. to provide active depth sensing for improved detection with less noise as known and predictable.
Claim(s) 12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Masuda et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2019/0051011).
Regarding claims 12, 14, Kim et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Kim et al. do not disclose the first and second imaging element being different in: one having a phase difference pixel and the other not having a phase difference pixel; or the one element has a higher frequency of crosstalk and higher sensitivity, as claimed. Masuda et al. teach (abstract) providing a device where the first and second imaging elements having the same field of view but have different characteristics. Further, imaging elements having phase pixels, no phase pixels, higher or lower sensitivities or higher or lower crosstalk are well known. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide different imaging elements in such characteristics in the apparatus of Kim et al. in view of Masuda et al. to obtain a variety of different image data for more thorough imaging as known and predictable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 19, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Kim et al., Applicant asserts that Kim et al. does not disclose “a second mirror configured to reflect the light that is incident through the first mirror….” However, no such language is found in the claims. Further, as set forth above, the original application does not appear to support an embodiment in which “the reflected light” from the second mirror is incident on both imaging elements.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6-8, 10, 11, 13, 15, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the 112 rejections, without changing the scope of the claims and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANH LUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878