DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1 and 3 recite the limitation "for each path", however, it appears that this limitation was written by accident instead of “for a path” i.e. because a path(s) was not previously defined in the claims. Appropriate correction is required for clarification and consistency. For purpose of examination the latter interpretation is being used.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3 recites the limitation "being transmitted in multiple bands in each optical transmission line formed with one or a plurality of optical fibers", however, it appears that this limitation was written by accident instead of “being transmitted in multiple bands through respective optical transmission lines formed with one or a plurality of optical fibers” i.e. similar to claim 1 and because an optical transmission line(s) was not previously defined in the claim. Appropriate correction is required for clarification and consistency. For purpose of examination the latter interpretation is being used.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3 recites the limitation "outputting the multiple wavelength signal light obtained by the multiplexing to each path on an output side", however, it appears that this limitation was written by accident instead of “outputting the multiple wavelength signal light obtained by the multiplexing to respective paths on an output side” i.e. similar to claim 1 and because a path(s) on an output side was not previously defined in the claim. Appropriate correction is required for clarification and consistency. For purpose of examination the latter interpretation is being used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the output side", however, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no previous disclosure of an output side.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuki (US Pub 20200274633) in view of Darling et al (US Pub 20150180603).
Regarding Claim 1. Yuki discloses a wavelength cross-coupled device configured to perform a relay process (Fig 23, where a node (1) comprises a wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs (56, 57, 58) are coupled to output-side WSSs (59, 60, 61)) configured to perform a relay (retransmission) process) of:
demultiplexing a multiple wavelength signal light into different wavelength bands for each path using a demultiplexing unit, wherein the multiple wavelength signal light is obtained by multiplexing optical signals of the different wavelength bands and transmitted in multiple bands through respective optical transmission lines formed with one or a plurality of optical fibers (Fig 23, where the node (1) demultiplexes a multiple wavelength signal light into different wavelength bands (S, C, L) for a path using a demultiplexing unit (e.g. 50a), where the multiple wavelength signal light is obtained by multiplexing (e.g. at node 2) optical signals of the different wavelength bands (S, C, L) and which are transmitted in multiple bands (i.e. S, C, L) through respective optical transmission lines formed with one or a plurality of optical fibers (e.g. between node 2 and node 1));
rerouting the demultiplexed signal light using a wavelength selective switch (WSS) (Fig 23, where the node (1) reroutes the demultiplexed signal light using a wavelength selective switch (WSS) (e.g. at 40d));
multiplexing the rerouted signal light using a multiplexing unit (Fig 23, where the node (1) multiplexes the rerouted signal light using a multiplexing unit (e.g. 67)); and
outputting a multiple wavelength signal light obtained by the multiplexing to respective paths on the output side (Fig 23, where the node (1) outputs a multiple wavelength signal light obtained by the multiplexing to respective paths on an output side (e.g. via node 5)),
the wavelength cross-coupled device comprising:
a wavelength cross coupled (WXC) unit that includes the WSS, and configured to perform the relay process of an optical signal of a predetermined specific wavelength band among the different wavelength bands (Fig 23, where the wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs (56, 57, 58) are coupled to output-side WSSs (59, 60, 61)) comprises a wavelength cross coupled (WXC) unit (e.g. 40d) that includes the WSS (e.g. at 40d) and is configured to perform the relay (retransmission) process of an optical signal of a predetermined specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) among the different wavelength bands (S, C, L));
a first conversion unit configured to convert a first wavelength band shorter than the specific wavelength band into an optical signal of the specific wavelength band, and convert the specific wavelength band output from the WXC unit into an optical signal of a second wavelength band longer than the specific wavelength band, among respective wavelength bands demultiplexed by the demultiplexing unit (Fig 23, where the wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs (56, 57, 58) are coupled to output-side WSSs (59, 60, 61)) comprises a first conversion unit (e.g. 52a and 65) configured to convert a first wavelength band (e.g. S band) shorter than the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) into an optical signal of the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) and is configured to convert the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) output from the WXC unit (e.g. 40d) into an optical signal of a second wavelength band (e.g. L band) longer than the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band), among respective wavelength bands (i.e. S, C, L) demultiplexed by the demultiplexing unit (e.g. 50a)); and
a second conversion unit configured to convert the second wavelength band into an optical signal of the specific wavelength band, and convert the specific wavelength band output from the WXC unit into an optical signal of the first wavelength band, among the respective wavelength bands demultiplexed by the demultiplexing unit (Fig 23, where the wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs (56, 57, 58) are coupled to output-side WSSs (59, 60, 61)) comprises a second conversion unit (e.g. 51a and 66) configured to convert the second wavelength band (e.g. L band) into an optical signal of the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) and is configured to convert the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) output from the WXC unit (e.g. 40d) into an optical signal of the first wavelength band (e.g. S band), among the respective wavelength bands (i.e. S, C, L) demultiplexed by the demultiplexing unit (e.g. 50a)), wherein
the first conversion unit configured to output the optical signal of the specific wavelength band converted from the first wavelength band to the WXC unit, and output the optical signal of the second wavelength band converted from the specific wavelength band to the multiplexing unit (Fig 23, where the first conversion unit (e.g. 52a and 65) is configured to output the optical signal of the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) converted from the first wavelength band (e.g. S band) to the WXC unit (e.g. 40d) and is configured to output the optical signal of the second wavelength band (e.g. L band) converted from the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) to the multiplexing unit (e.g. 67)), and
the second conversion unit configured to output the optical signal of the specific wavelength band converted from the second wavelength band to the WXC unit, and output the optical signal of the first wavelength band converted from the specific wavelength band to the multiplexing unit (Fig 23, where the second conversion unit (e.g. 51a and 66) is configured to output the optical signal of the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) converted from the second wavelength band (e.g. L band) to the WXC unit (e.g. 40d) and is configured to output the optical signal of the first wavelength band (e.g. S band) converted from the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) to the multiplexing unit (e.g. 67)).
Yuki fails to explicitly disclose the wavelength cross-coupled device being a wavelength cross-connect device.
However, Darling discloses
a wavelength cross-coupled device being a wavelength cross-connect device (Fig 1, where a wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs 120 are coupled to output-side WSSs 140) is a wavelength cross-connect device (WSXC)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs (56, 57, 58) are coupled to output-side WSSs (59, 60, 61)) as described in Yuki, with the teachings of the wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs 120 are coupled to output-side WSSs 140) as described in Darling. The motivation being is that as shown a wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs 120 are coupled to output-side WSSs 140) is a wavelength cross-connect device (WSXC) and one of ordinary skill in the art can implement this concept into the wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs (56, 57, 58) are coupled to output-side WSSs (59, 60, 61)) as described in Yuki and better show and illustrate that the wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs (56, 57, 58) are coupled to output-side WSSs (59, 60, 61)) is a wavelength cross-connect device (WSXC) i.e. because the input-side WSSs (56, 57, 58) are optimally coupling/ connecting to the output-side WSSs (59, 60, 61) in a cross manner and wavelengths from the input-side WSSs (56, 57, 58) are optimally rerouted to the output-side WSSs (59, 60, 61) via direct and reliable couplings/ connections thus forming a wavelength cross-connect device (WSXC) and which combination is being made because the systems are similar and have overlapping components (e.g. wavelength cross-coupled devices) and which combination is a simple implementation of a known concept of a known wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs 120 are coupled to output-side WSSs 140) into another similar wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs (56, 57, 58) are coupled to output-side WSSs (59, 60, 61)), namely, for better clarifying its structure/ configuration and which combination yields predictable results.
Regarding Claim 3. Yuki discloses a wavelength cross-coupled method implemented by a wavelength cross-coupled device (Fig 23, where a node (1) comprises a wavelength cross-coupled method implemented by a wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs (56, 57, 58) are coupled to output-side WSSs (59, 60, 61))) configured to
perform a relay process of rerouting an optical signals of different wavelength bands using a wavelength selective switch (WSS) (Fig 23, where the node (1) performs a relay (retransmission) process of rerouting optical signals of different wavelength bands (S, C, L) using a wavelength selective switch (WSS) (e.g. at 40d)), the optical signals of the different wavelength bands being obtained by demultiplexing a multiple wavelength signal light into different wavelength bands using a demultiplexing unit for each path (Fig 23, where the optical signals of the different wavelength bands (S, C, L) are obtained by demultiplexing a multiple wavelength signal light into different wavelength bands (S, C, L) using a demultiplexing unit (e.g. 50a) for a path), the multiple wavelength signal light being obtained by multiplexing optical signals of different wavelength bands and being transmitted in multiple bands in each optical transmission line formed with one or a plurality of optical fibers (Fig 23, where the multiple wavelength signal light is obtained by multiplexing (e.g. at node 2) optical signals of different wavelength bands (S, C, L) and which are transmitted in multiple bands (i.e. S, C, L) through respective optical transmission lines formed with one or a plurality of optical fibers (e.g. between node 2 and node 1));
multiplexing the rerouted optical signals of wavelength bands into a multiple wavelength signal light using a multiplexing unit (Fig 23, where the node (1) multiplexes the rerouted optical signals of wavelength bands into a multiple wavelength signal light using a multiplexing unit (e.g. 67)); and
outputting the multiple wavelength signal light obtained by the multiplexing to each path on an output side (Fig 23, where the node (1) outputs the multiple wavelength signal light obtained by the multiplexing to respective paths on an output side (e.g. via node 5)),
wherein the wavelength cross-coupled device includes a WXC unit that includes the WSS and performs the relay process of an optical signal of a predetermined specific wavelength band among the different wavelength bands (Fig 23, where the wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs (56, 57, 58) are coupled to output-side WSSs (59, 60, 61)) includes a WXC unit (e.g. 40d) that includes the WSS (e.g. at 40d) and performs the relay (retransmission) process of an optical signal of a predetermined specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) among the different wavelength bands (S, C, L)),
the wavelength cross-coupled method comprising:
sequentially shifting an optical signal of a wavelength band other than the specific wavelength band among the demultiplexed wavelength bands, and the optical signal of the specific wavelength band output from the WXC unit to a long-wavelength side by an amount equivalent to one wavelength band, to convert the optical signal of the wavelength band other than the specific wavelength band and the optical signal of the specific wavelength band into optical signals of different wavelength bands (Fig 23, where the node (1) sequentially shifts (i.e. via a first conversion unit (e.g. 52a and 65)) an optical signal of a wavelength band (e.g. S band) other than the specific wavelength band (e.g. a C band) among the demultiplexed wavelength bands (S, C, L) and sequentially shifts (i.e. via a first conversion unit (e.g. 52a and 65)) the optical signal of the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) output from the WXC unit (e.g. 40d) to a long-wavelength side (e.g. L band) by an amount equivalent to one wavelength band, and converts the optical signal of the wavelength band (e.g. S band) other than the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) and the optical signal of the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) output from the WXC unit (e.g. 40d) into optical signals of different wavelength bands (e.g. into C band and L band respectively));
sequentially shifting an optical signal of a wavelength band other than the specific wavelength band among the demultiplexed wavelength bands, and the optical signal of the specific wavelength band output from the WXC unit to a short-wavelength side by an amount equivalent to one wavelength band, to convert the optical signal of the wavelength band other than the specific wavelength band and the optical signal of the specific wavelength band into optical signals of different wavelength bands (Fig 23, where the node (1) sequentially shifts (i.e. via a second conversion unit (e.g. 51a and 66)) an optical signal of a wavelength band (e.g. L band) other than the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) among the demultiplexed wavelength bands (S, C, L), and sequentially shifts (i.e. via a second conversion unit (e.g. 51a and 66)) the optical signal of the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) output from the WXC unit (e.g. 40d) to a short-wavelength side (e.g. S band) by an amount equivalent to one wavelength band, and converts the optical signal of the wavelength band (e.g. L band) other than the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) and the optical signal of the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) output from the WXC unit (e.g. 40d) into optical signals of different wavelength bands (e.g. into C band and S band respectively));
outputting the optical signals of the wavelength bands other than the specific wavelength band converted into the different wavelength bands to the multiplexing unit, and outputting the converted optical signal of the specific wavelength band to the WXC unit (Fig 23, where the node (1) outputs the optical signals of the wavelength bands other than the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) converted into the different wavelength bands (S, C, L) to the multiplexing unit (e.g. 67) and outputs the converted optical signal of the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) to the WXC unit (e.g. 40d)); and
outputting the optical signal of the specific wavelength band among the demultiplexed wavelength bands to the multiplexing unit via the WXC unit, without conversion (Fig 23, where the node (1) outputs the optical signal of the specific wavelength band (e.g. C band) among the demultiplexed wavelength bands (S, C, L) to the multiplexing unit (e.g. 67) via the WXC unit (e.g. 40d) without conversion).
Yuki fails to explicitly disclose the wavelength cross-coupled device being a wavelength cross-connect device.
However, Darling discloses
a wavelength cross-coupled device being a wavelength cross-connect device (Fig 1, where a wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs 120 are coupled to output-side WSSs 140) is a wavelength cross-connect device (WSXC)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs (56, 57, 58) are coupled to output-side WSSs (59, 60, 61)) as described in Yuki, with the teachings of the wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs 120 are coupled to output-side WSSs 140) as described in Darling. The motivation being is that as shown a wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs 120 are coupled to output-side WSSs 140) is a wavelength cross-connect device (WSXC) and one of ordinary skill in the art can implement this concept into the wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs (56, 57, 58) are coupled to output-side WSSs (59, 60, 61)) as described in Yuki and better show and illustrate that the wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs (56, 57, 58) are coupled to output-side WSSs (59, 60, 61)) is a wavelength cross-connect device (WSXC) i.e. because the input-side WSSs (56, 57, 58) are optimally coupling/ connecting to the output-side WSSs (59, 60, 61) in a cross manner and wavelengths from the input-side WSSs (56, 57, 58) are optimally rerouted to the output-side WSSs (59, 60, 61) via direct and reliable couplings/ connections thus forming a wavelength cross-connect device (WSXC) and which combination is being made because the systems are similar and have overlapping components (e.g. wavelength cross-coupled devices) and which combination is a simple implementation of a known concept of a known wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs 120 are coupled to output-side WSSs 140) into another similar wavelength cross-coupled device (i.e. because input-side WSSs (56, 57, 58) are coupled to output-side WSSs (59, 60, 61)), namely, for better clarifying its structure/ configuration and which combination yields predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the claim objections and if the claim rejections under 35 USC 112(b) as described above are overcome.
Conclusion
The additional prior art relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure and not relied upon is the following.
Oikawa (US Pub 20040165818) and more specifically Fig 1.
Hunziker et al (US Pat 6509987) and more specifically Fig 5.
Tsuyama et al (US Pub 20020015551) and more specifically Fig 13.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Kenneth Vanderpuye can be reached on 5712723078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/DIBSON J SANCHEZ/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2636