DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11-14, 17-18, 21, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orisich (U.S. 10,343,590) in view of Nishimura (U.S. 10,823,359).
Regarding claim 11, Orisich teaches a headlight for a motor vehicle (see summary, low beam module, see fig. 5-10), the headlight comprising:
a first illumination device (low beam module 710); and
a second illumination device (additional low beam modules 715, 720), wherein:
the first illumination device and the second illumination device are configured to generate a low beam light (see fig. 8), the first illumination device, in a switched-on state, generates a first light distribution of the low beam light on a ground in front of the motor vehicle (see col. 5, lies 53-67 710 is active when a headlight should be on) and
the second illumination device, in the switched-on state, generates a second light distribution of the low beam light on the ground in front of the motor vehicle (additional low beam modules 715, 720),
the first illumination device is in the switched-on state when the low beam light is activated (active when headlight is on),
the second illumination device is in a switched-off state when the low beam light is activated and a predetermined condition is met (see col. 6 lines 4-12, under threshold speed),
the second illumination device is always switched into the switched-on state from the switched-off state when a velocity of the motor vehicle is greater than or greater than or equal to a predetermined velocity threshold (see col. 6 lines 4-12),
the first illumination device is configured such that, in the switched-on state, the first illumination device generates the first light distribution in a first ground area in front of the motor vehicle (600, closest to vehicle as it has a lower angle of emission),
the second illumination device is configured such that, in the switched-on state, the second illumination device generates the second light distribution (610) in a second ground area in front of the motor vehicle (610, higher angle of distribution),
a first distance from a front of the motor vehicle to a first edge of the first ground area closest to the front of the motor vehicle is smaller than a second distance from the front of the motor vehicle to a second edge of the second ground area closest to the front of the motor vehicle (distance to bottom of 600 is smaller than distance to bottom of 610), and
a maximum distance of the second light distribution from the front of the motor vehicle is greater than a maximum distance of the first light distribution from the front of the vehicles(see annotated figure 6, 610 has a higher angle of emission and therefore has a farther maximum range than 600), and
wherein the second illumination device comprises one or more projection modules (see fig. 10, at least one), which each generate at least part of the second light distribution by projection of light generated in the respective projection module (at least one generates light).
Orisich does not specifically teach that the first illumination device comprises an illumination unit, which comprises a plurality of light sources,
a plurality of imaging optical units, and a light-transmissive intermediate lens, wherein each imaging optical unit consists of a single lens,
each light source is assigned a separate imaging optical unit, by which light of the respective light source is imaged on the ground in front of the motor vehicle,
the light of the respective light source passes through the intermediate lens after passing through the assigned imaging optical unit,
the second illumination device comprises one or more reflection modules, which each generate at least a part of the second light distribution by reflection of light generated in the respective reflection module.
Nishimura teaches that the first illumination device (see fig. 2) comprises an illumination unit, which comprises a plurality of light sources (low beam light sources 42a-42d),
a plurality of imaging optical units (lens unit 31) , and a light-transmissive intermediate lens (lens body 20), wherein each imaging optical unit consists of a single lens (see fig. 4, 31 is a single lens),
each light source is assigned a separate imaging optical unit (see fig. 2), by which light of the respective light source is imaged on the ground in front of the motor vehicle, and
the light of the respective light source passes through the intermediate lens after passing through the assigned imaging optical unit (see fig. 2),
and that the second illumination device comprises one or more reflection modules (see fig 2), which each generate at least a part of the second light distribution by reflection of light generated in the respective reflection module (low beam light sources 42 each have reflection surface 31d).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used an illumination device as taught by Nishimura to perform the lighting function of both the first and second illumination device of Orisich as Nishimura enables a good line shape appearance (see abstract of Nishimura), and enables control of multiple segments of a low beam lighting apparatus, such as in Orisich.
Regarding claim 12, Orisich teaches that the predetermined condition is met when the motor vehicle is in an urban area, and the velocity of the motor vehicle is less than or less than or equal to the predetermined velocity threshold (velocity).
The Examiner notes that the limitation “met when the motor vehicle is in an urban area” is an intended use limitation. “(T)he recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable.” In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
The Examiner finds it obvious to not use the additional low beam lighting modules in an urban area as it urban areas have more traffic that may be dazzled by the lights and additionally have lower speed limits.
Regarding claim 13, Orisich does not teach that the predetermined velocity threshold is between 50 km/h and 70 km/h.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the predetermined velocity threshold, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). The Examiner finds that such a threshold is based on design choice and is immaterial to the operation of the device.
Regarding claim 14, Orisich does not teach that the predetermined velocity threshold is 60 km/h.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the predetermined velocity threshold, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). The Examiner finds that such a threshold is based on design choice and is immaterial to the operation of the device.
Regarding claim 17, Nishimura teaches that the intermediate lens (20) is inclined in relation to a plane which extends perpendicularly to a vehicle longitudinal axis (inclined with respect to forward AX1, see figure 2).
Regarding claim 18, Nishimura teaches that the intermediate lens, in a top view of the headlight, forms a contour made up of one or more straight (straight section of 20) and/or curved sections.
Regarding claim 21, Orisich teaches a motor vehicle comprising the headlight according claim 11.
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orisich in view of Nishimura, further in view of Bauer (U.S. 9,951,919).
Regarding claim 20, Orisich and Nishimura does not teach comprising: a third illumination device, which generates a daytime running light of the motor vehicle in the switched-on state.
Bauer teaches further comprising: a third illumination device (see fig. 2, three illumination devices), which generates a daytime running light in the switched- on state (see fig. 3, 3b, partial light distributions can operate as a DRL).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used an additional DRL module as taught by Bauer for additional lighting functions in the structure of Orisich and Nishimura, specifically enabling conspicuity during the daytime, as is known in the art of DRL lights.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that asserts Orisich does not teach that the second light module comprises a reflector, and that light module 715 appears to be the same as light module 720, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claim 11 is rejected under Orisich in view of Nishimura. Although Orisich is silent as to the optical or illumination details of either light module 715 or 720, the Examiner finds that it would be obvious to use light module specifics as taught by Nishimura for both the first and second light modules of Orisich.
Nishimura teaches multiple light modules to form different parts of a low beam light distribution, each using a reflector and lens to direct the light towards the specific region of the light distribution. It would be obvious to use the structure of Nishimura to form the beam pattern of Orisich as both Nishimura and Orisich are directed towards light modules that perform the same function, forming a modular light distribution. Nishimura specifically teaches the advantages of using the module as disclosed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Matthew J. Peerce/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875