DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-17, 22 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1, 3-17, 22 are being examined herewith.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11 August 2026 is acknowledged and considered.
Response to arguments of 11 August 2026
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks of 11 August 2026, pages 4-13) against the rejection of claims 1, 4-17, 22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Liu, in view of Markham, have been considered.
Applicant argues (page 5, last paragraph-page 6) that the experimental data in Liu relates to MetAP2 inhibitory activity and the effects of nitroxoline on endothelial cell lines and tumor volume in breast cancer xenografts taken from mice; that the data available in Liu relates to the MetAP2 inhibitory activity and effects of nitroxoline on endothelial cell lines and on tumour volume in breast cancer; that the disclosure in Liu regarding nitroxoline for the treatment of neurofibromatosis and neurofibroma, is purely speculative.
These arguments are not persuasive. Liu clearly recites neurofibroma, neurofibromatosis as diseases associated with angiogenesis to be treated with nitroxoline. The fact that the experimental data in Liu is related to cancer does not diminish in any way the teaching by Liu that nitroxoline is an inhibitor of angiogenesis that can be used to treat a disease associated with angiogenesis, such as neurofibroma.
Applicant argues (page 6, last paragraph, page 9) that 'neurofibroma' encompasses three main types: cutaneous (most common and may be localized or diffuse); subcutaneous; and plexiform. Applicant argues that cutaneous neurofibroma, which is the disease in the instant claims, is distinct from other forms of neurofibroma. Applicant focusses the argument on the different lesion types, different etiology, symptoms, histopathology of neurofibroma subtypes and neurofibromatosis. Applicant argues (page 9, second paragraph) that the skilled person would not consider the disclosures of Liu when formulating a therapeutic treatment of cutaneous neurofibroma, as Liu does not teach nor suggest treating cutaneous neurofibroma (cNF), which as discussed above, is pathophysiologically distinguishable from neurofibromatosis in general. Applicant argues no reasonable expectation of success that nitroxoline would indeed be effective for treating cNF, again given neurofibromatosis in general is pathophysiologically distinguishable from cutaneous neurofibroma.
In response, the examiner notes that cutaneous neurofibroma is a species in the genus of neurofibroma. Liu teaches neurofibroma as a disease to be treated with angiogenesis inhibitor nitroxoline. As such, a compound that treats neurofibroma is expected to be effective to treat a subtype of neurofibroma, such as cutaneous neurofibroma. Applicant has not established unpredictability in the field. For example, arguments related to the complexity of mechanisms in neurofibroma, other than angiogenesis (taught by Liu), and specific examples of inhibitors of angiogenesis or selective inhibitors of MetAP2 that are ineffective to treat neurofibroma/cutaneous neurofibroma, may establish unpredictability in the field.
Applicant (page 9, third paragraph) points to the data in the Specification, showing that in vivo testing of nitroxoline in NF1-KO demonstrated that nitroxoline at 120 mg/kg once daily reduced the overall abundance of cNF tumour cells in the skin. In response, Applicant’s data is acknowledged.
Applicant argues (page 10) that Markham does not disclose nitroxoline, alone or in combination with selumetinib. In response, Markham is used in the rejection for teaching that selumetinib is effective to treat neurofibromatosis type 1 and cutaneous neurofibroma. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add selumetinib to nitroxoline, and administer the resulting combination in a method of treating cutaneous neurofibroma. Since active ingredients are known or expected to be effective against neurofibroma/neurofibromatosis, it is considered prima facie obvious to combine them into a single composition useful for the same purpose. At least additive effects would have been reasonably expected. See In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069 (CCPA 1980).
For these reasons, the rejection of claims 1, 4-17, 22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Liu, in view of Markham, is herein maintained.
Applicant’s arguments (pages 11-13) against the rejection of claims 1, 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Liu, in view of Dasgupta, have been considered. Applicant argues that the skilled person would not consider the disclosures of Dasgupta given that there is no teaching of cutaneous neurofibroma in the document. Applicant argues that Dasgupta does not even disclose the use of nitroxoline and the data is solely directed to the treatment of gliomas, which are fundamentally different diseases to a cutaneous neurofibroma. These arguments are not persuasive. Dasgupta is used in the rejection for teaching that MetAP2 is regulated by neurofibromin, and that MetAP2 inhibitors could be employed to treat NF1 associated tumor.
Applicant argues (page 11, last two lines) that it cannot be guaranteed that any MetAP2 inhibitor would be effective for the treatment. Applicant provides a literature reference (2021) that teaches that no drug targeting MetAP2 has yet reached [FDA] approval, and that the scientific understanding of MetAP2i mode of action is surprisingly limited. Applicant further argues (page 12, last two paragraphs) that the MetAP2 inhibitor disclosed by Dasgupta, fumagillin, is structurally distinct from nitroxoline, and compounds with different chemical structures possess unpredictable pharmacological activities.
These arguments are not persuasive. The point is not whether MetAP2 inhibitors have been approved by FDA for treating disease. Patentability is different from FDA approval. Patentability does not require statistically significant proof of efficacy in treating disease in large patient population.
Applicant’s argument regarding chemical structure differences is not persuasive. Nitroxoline is a MetAP2 inhibitor (Liu). Applicant has not established unpredictability in the field, for example by providing data showing that not all MetAP2 are effective to treat cutaneous neurofibroma, or neurofibromatosis type 1.
The rejection to claims 1, 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Liu, in view of Dasgupta, is herein maintained.
Applicant argues against the ODP rejection, on the basis of cutaneous neurofibroma being distinct from plexiform neurofibroma. In response, both are subtypes of neurofibroma. Applicant is invited to establish unpredictability, by providing examples of compounds that treat plexiform neurofibroma but do not treat cutaneous neurofibroma.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC 103
Claims 1, 4-17, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Liu et al. (WO 2010/042163, cited in IDS), in view of Markham et al. (Drugs 2020, 80, 931-937, cited in PTO-892).
Liu (WO 2010/042163) teaches that nitroxoline is an inhibitor of angiogenesis (Figures 8, 9) and is a selective inhibitor of MetAP2 (Figure 2) and SIRT1 (Figure 5) , effective to treat diseases associated thereof, such as, for example, neurofibroma (page 35, line 13; page 37, line 6) or neurofibromatosis (page 27, line 6, line 11; page 35, line 5, line 13; page 36, line 29; page 38, line 12).
Liu teaches that nitroxoline is administered to a subject orally, or parenterally, or intravenously (page 34, lines 3-5), as in instant claims 12, 13.
The subject is a human (page 34, lines 10-11), as in instant claim 4.
The compound is administered in a dosage of 0.1 to 120 mg/kg/day, which, for a person of 60 kg, corresponds to 6 mg to 7.2 g/day, which encompasses the amounts in instant claims 5, 7, 9, 11.
Liu teaches administering the compound in a dosage of less than 500 mg/day (page 34, line 9), which overlaps with the amounts/dose in instant claims 5, 7, 9, 11.
Liu teaches that the compound is administered once, or twice daily (page 58, lines 8-9, as in instant claim 6; the dosing interval can be adjusted according to the needs of individual patients (page 58, lines 13-14).
Liu teaches a composition comprising nitroxoline as the only active agent in the composition, as in instant claim 14.
Liu does not teach treating cutaneous neurofibroma as the subtype of neurofibroma to be treated, as in instant claims.
Liu does not teach that nitroxoline is administered three times a day, or four times a day, as in instant claims 8-11.
Liu does not teach co-administration of 1-75 mg of selumetinib in the method of treating neurofibroma, as in instant claims 15-17, 22.
Markham et al. (Drugs 2020, 80, 931-937, cited in PTO-892) teach selumetinib is effective to treat neurofibromatosis (page 931, left column, first paragraph). Markham teaches (page 933, left column, second paragraph) orally administering of 50 mg of selumetinib, or orally administering 75 mg selumetinib, amounts which are within the range in instant claims 17, 22.
Markham teaches (Table page 936) a method of treating patients with neurofibromatosis type 1 and cutaneous neurofibroma by administering selumetinib (NCT02839720, 5th line in the Table).
Marham does not teach a method of treating cutaneous neurofibroma with a combination of nitroxoline and selumetinib, as in instant claims 15-17, 22.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of Liu to arrive at the instant invention. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer nitroxoline to treat cutaneous neurofibroma, because Liu teaches that nitroxoline effective to treat, for example, neurofibroma. Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have administered nitroxoline to a subject suffering from neurofibroma, or a subtype of neurofibroma which is cutaneous neurofibroma, with a reasonable expectation of achieving therapeutic effect.
Further, regarding claims 8-11, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have used the amount/dose taught by Liu, and would have explored different dosing intervals, such as 3 times a day, or 4 times a day, because Liu teaches that the dosing interval can be adjusted according to the needs of individual patients. Determining the dosing interval/frequency of administration, with the aim of optimizing therapeutic effect, is routine, well within the skill of the artisan.
Regarding claims 15-17, 22, he person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add selumetinib to nitroxoline, and administer the resulting combination in a method of treating cutaneous neurofibroma. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected that adding selumetinib to a composition comprising nitroxoline, known or expected to be useful for the same purpose, will result in a composition/combination effective to treat neurofibroma or a subtype of neurofibroma which is cutaneous neurofibroma. Since active ingredients are known or expected to be effective against neurofibroma/neurofibromatosis, it is considered prima facie obvious to combine them into a single composition useful for the same purpose. At least additive effects would have been reasonably expected. See In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069 (CCPA 1980).
As such, claims 1, 4-17, 22 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claims 1, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Liu et al. (WO 2010/042163, cited in IDS), in view of Dasgupta et al. (Cancer Res. 2005, 65 (21), 9843-9850, cited in PTO-892).
Liu (WO 2010/042163) teaches that nitroxoline is a selective inhibitor of MetAP2 (Figure 2), effective to treat diseases associated thereof, such as, for example, neurofibroma (page 35, line 13; page 37, line 6) or neurofibromatosis (page 27, line 6, line 11; page 35, line 5, line 13; page 36, line 29; page 38, line 12).
Liu does not teach treating cutaneous neurofibroma in a patient who has neurofibromatosis type 1, by administering to the patient nitroxoline, as in instant claim 3.
Dasgupta et al. (Cancer Res. 2005, 65 (21), 9843-9850) teach (Abstract) that individuals affected with the neurofibromatosis 1 (NF1) tumor predisposition syndrome are prone to the development of multiple nervous system tumors. Dasgupta teaches that MetAP2 is regulated by neurofibromin, and that MetAP2 inhibitors could be employed to treat NF1 associated tumor.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of Liu and Dasgupta to arrive at the instant invention. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer nitroxoline to treat cutaneous neurofibroma in patients suffering from neurofibromatosis type 1, because Liu teaches that nitroxoline is a MetAP2 inhibitor effective to treat, for example, neurofibroma or neurofibromatosis, and Dasgupta teaches that MetAP2 inhibitors could be employed to treat NF1 associated tumor.
Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have administered MetAP2 inhibitor nitroxoline to a subject suffering from neurofibromatosis type 1 and neurofibroma, or a subtype of neurofibroma which is cutaneous neurofibroma, with a reasonable expectation that the MetAP2 inhibitor is effective to treat NF1 associated tumor in such patients.
As such, claims 1, 3 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Double patenting
Claims 1, 3-17, 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 22-39 of copending Application No. 18/710,477 (reference application) in view of Liu et al. (WO 2010/042163, cited in IDS). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 22-39 of copending Application No. 18/710,477 render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 22-39 of copending Application No. 18/710,477 are drawn to a method of treating or preventing a plexiform neurofibroma comprising administering to a subject in need thereof nitroxoline; claim 24 recites that the subject has neurofibromatosis type 1, as in instant claim 3; claim 25 recites that the subject is a human, as in instant claim 4; claims 26-32 recite amounts of nitroxoline administered and frequency of administration, as in instant claims 5-11; claims 33-34 refer to routes of administration of nitroxoline, as in instant claims 12, 13; claims 36-39 recite co-administering selumetinib, as in instant claims 15-17, 22.
Liu (WO 2010/042163) teaches that nitroxoline is effective to treat, for example, neurofibroma (page 35, line 13; page 37, line 6) or neurofibromatosis (page 27, line 6, line 11; page 35, line 5, line 13; page 36, line 29; page 38, line 12).
Treating neurofibromatosis is considered to at least prevent plexiform neurofibroma.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of claims 22-39 of copending Application No. 18/710,477 and Liu to arrive at the instant invention. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer nitroxoline to treat cutaneous neurofibroma, because claims 22-39 of copending Application No. 18/710,477 teach that nitroxoline is effective to treat plexiform neurofibroma, and Liu teaches that nitroxoline effective to treat, for example, neurofibroma or neurofibromatosis. Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have administered nitroxoline to a subject suffering from cutaneous neurofibroma, with a reasonable expectation that nitroxoline is effective against neurofibroma and the different subtypes of neurofibroma, such as cutaneous neurofibroma.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3-17, 22 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IRINA NEAGU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629