DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on June 29, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-22 are pending. Claims 12-22 are withdrawn.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8, 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 8-9, 10-12 of copending Application No. 18/575,110 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons given below.
US Application No. 18/575,110 claims a corrosion inhibitor composition comprising about 0.1-15wt% of a biochelant, about 0.001-5wt% of a corrosion inhibitor selected from tolytriazole, benzotriazole and mercaptobenzothiazole and a solvent; biochelant comprising sodium gluconate or oxidations products or derivatives thereof, aldonic acid, aldaric acid or salts and derivatives thereof, glucaric acid, gluconic acid or glucuronic acid, glucose oxidation products or gluconic acid oxidation products; solvents including ethylene glycol, diethylene glycol, triethylene glycol, tetraethylene glycol, tripropylene glycol1,2-propanediol, 1,3-propanediol, 1,2-butanediol, 1,3-butanediol, 1,4-butanediol, 1,5-pentanediol, neopentyl glycol, 1,2-hexanediol, 1,6-hexanediol, 1,2-octanediol, 1,8- octanediol, 1,2-decanediol, 1,10-decanediol, glycerol, 2,2-dimethylolpropane, trimethylolethane, trimethylolpropane, pentaerythritol, dipentaerythritol, sorbitol, 1,2,4- butanetriol, 2,2,4-trimethyl-1,3-pentanediol; rare earth metals (Claims 1-4, 8-9, 10-12). It is clear that all of the elements of the instant claims are to be found in Application No. 18/575,110. The difference between the instant claims and US Application No. 18/575,110 lies in the fact that the US Application No. 18/575,110 is more specific. The instant claims are anticipated by the claims of US Application No. 18/575,110.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recite a “typical corrosion inhibitor”; this renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what constitutes “typical”. Claims 2-11 are subsumed under the rejection. Claim 8 recites “(2-pyrrole carbonyl) benzotriazole, (2-thienyl carbonyl)-benzotriazole,” this renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the terms in the parentheses are required in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bennett et al (US Patent Application 2018/0148632).
Regarding claims 1-4, 11, Bennett et al teaches compositions for inhibiting corrosion (Abstract). Bennett et al further teaches 5-40wt% of sodium gluconate, water (solvent) and benzyl dimethyl alkyl quaternary ammonium, bis-quaternized compound and 2-mercaptoethanol (Table 1). Bennett et al further teaches the composition is for inhibiting or preventing corrosion on the metal surface such as steel (Paragraphs 104, 116).
Bennett et al teaches the instant claims. Hence, Bennett et al anticipates the claims.
Claims 1-4, 9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al (CN 1880505).
Regarding claims 1-4, 9, 11, Liu et al teaches 15-35wt% benzimidazole, 1-2wt% zinc sulfate, 35-60wt% sodium molybdate, 7-15wt% sodium silicate, 7-14wt% sodium gluconate, 2-4wt% sodium hexametaphosphate and 2-4wt% sodium metasilicate, the components are mixed and dissolved in water (solvent) (Paragraph 8).
Liu et al teaches the instant claims. Hence, Liu et al anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al (US Patent Application 2018/0148632) as applied to claims 1-4, 11 above.
Regarding claims 7 and 10, Bennett et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Bennett et al teaches the features above. However, Bennett et al fails to specifically disclose a preferred embodiment comprising isocitric acid, hydroxyethyl diphosphonic acid, diethylenetriamine penta methylene phosphonate or AMPS/AA. Bennett further teaches iron sulfide dissolvers including isocitric acid and combinations of the acid iron sulfide dissolver compounds (Paragraph 48). Bennett et at further teaches hydroxyethyl diphosphonic acid, diethylenetriamine penta methylene phosphonate as dispersants (Paragraph 92). Bennett further teaches AMPS/AA as a scale inhibitor (Paragraph 89). Bennett et al further teaches polyaspartates as hydrate inhibitors (Paragraph 96).
With regard to isocitric acid, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided isocitric acid in Bennett et al as Bennett et al teaches iron sulfide dissolvers in the corrosion inhibiting composition including isocitric acid and combinations of the acid iron sulfide dissolver compounds (Paragraph 48) which remove iron sulfide deposits from equipment and metal surfaces. Note that structurally similar compounds are generally expected to have similar properties. In re Gvurik, 596 F. 2d 1012,201 USPQ 552. Closely related homologues, analogs and isomers in chemistry may create a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Dillon USPQ 2d 1 897,1904 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Payne 203 USPQ 245 (CCPA 1979); In re Mills 126 USPQ 5 13 (CCPA 1960); In re Henze 85 USPQ 261 (CCPA 1950); In re Hass 60 USPQ 544 (CCPA 1944).
With regard to hydroxyethyl diphosphonic acid, diethylenetriamine penta methylene phosphonate or AMPS/AA, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided hydroxyethyl diphosphonic acid, diethylenetriamine penta methylene phosphonate or AMPS/AA in Bennett et al as Bennett et al teaches the components as dispersants, scale inhibitors and hydrate inhibitors in the corrosion inhibiting composition. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07.
Claims 5-6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al (US Patent Application 2018/0148632) as applied to claims 1-4, 7, 10- 11 above, and in further view of Obot et al (US Patent Application 2018/0334750).
Regarding claims 5-6, 8, Bennett et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Bennett et al teaches the features above. However, Bennett et al fails to specifically disclose a lanthanide salt and a corrosion inhibiting azole.
In the same field of endeavor, Obot et al teaches a corrosion inhibiting composition comprising at least azole and a metal halide for metal surfaces (Abstract). Obot et al further teaches lanthanide halides (which includes La, Ce, Pr, Nd, Pm, Sm, Eu, Gd, Tb, Dy, Ho, Er, Tm, Yb and Lu) (Paragraph 38). Obot et al further teaches 1,2,3-triazole, 1,2,4-tirazole, tetrazole, indazole and pyrazole (Paragraph 23). Obot et al further teaches the azole and metal halides provide anticorrosive properties for metals surfaces (Paragraphs 115-116, 120).
With regard to a lanthanide salt, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided lanthanide salt in Bennett et al in view of Obot et al in order to provide anticorrosive properties for metal surfaces. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Linder 457 F,2d 506,509, 173 USPQ 356, 359 (CCPA 1972).
With regard to a corrosion inhibiting azole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided corrosion inhibiting azole in Bennett et al in view of Obot et al in order to provide anticorrosive properties for metal surfaces. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Linder 457 F,2d 506,509, 173 USPQ 356, 359 (CCPA 1972).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al (US Patent Application 2018/0148632) as applied to claims 1-4, 7, 10-11 above, and in further view of Veldman et al (US Patent 6,299,836).
Regarding claim 9, Bennett et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Bennett et al teaches the features above. However, Bennett et al fails to specifically disclose sodium molybdate.
In the same field of endeavor, Veldman et al inhibiting corrosion in gas solutions (Col. 5, Lines 55-60). Veldman et al further teaches the addition of sodium molybdate to passivate the metal surfaces due to previous corrosion action such as pitting, cracking or erosion and also help to fill and smooth out any minor imperfections or rough areas on the metal surface (Col. 6, Lines 6-10, Col. 7, Lines 5-11).
With regard to sodium molybdate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided sodium molybdate in Bennett et al in view of Veldman et al in order to passivate the metal surfaces due to previous corrosion action such as pitting, cracking or erosion and also help to fill and smooth out any minor imperfections or rough areas on the metal surface.
In the alternative, claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al (US Patent Application 2018/0148632) in view of Obot et al (US Patent Application 2018/0334750) as applied to claims 1-8, 10-11 above, in in further view of Bhat et al (WO Patent 2008/084503).
Regarding claims 5-7, Bennett et al in view of Obot et al disclose the invention substantially as claimed. Bennett et al and Obot et al teach the features above. However, Bennett et al and Obot et al fail to specifically disclose chlorides of cerium, neodymium, praseodymium, samarium, lanthanum and tartaric or citric acid.
In the same field of endeavor, Bhat et al teaches corrosion inhibitors for oil and gas fluids (Abstract, Pg. 3k, Lines 25-32). Bhat et al further teaches corrosion inhibitors include chlorides of Cerium, Neodymium, Praseodymium, Samarium, Lanthanum (Pg. 6, Lines 18-19). Bhat et al further teaches corrosion inhibitors include tartaric and citric acid (Pg. 7, Lines 2-3).
With regard to chlorides of cerium, neodymium, praseodymium, samarium, lanthanum and tartaric or citric acid, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided chlorides of cerium, neodymium, praseodymium, samarium, lanthanum or tartaric or citric acid in Bennett et al and Obot et al in view of Bhat et al to provide additional corrosion inhibiting properties to the composition. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Linder 457 F,2d 506,509, 173 USPQ 356, 359 (CCPA 1972).
Conclusion
/TANISHA DIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761 July 17, 2026