DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the remarks and amendments filed on 11/19/25. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-10, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugino JP_2002236214_A (see machine English translation).
1. Regarding Claim 1, Sugino discloses a polarizing film (corresponds to claimed resin layer) made from a polyvinyl alcohol resin (Abstract, paragraph 0019) and a protective film (corresponds to claimed second resin layer) attached to it (paragraph 0009) that is made of a thermoplastic resin (paragraph 0030) and can function as a light diffusion layer (corresponds to claimed light diffusion resin layer) (paragraphs 0032, 0035) and can also contain particles (corresponds to claimed light diffusions particles) (paragraphs 0033, 0034, 0035). Furthermore, in Example 1, Sugino discloses a polyvinyl alcohol resin polarizing film (corresponds to claimed first resin layer) having a final thickness of 30 microns (paragraph 0063) with two 80 micron thick triacetyl cellulose (corresponds to claimed thermoplastic resin) protective films (corresponds to claimed second resin layer) on each side thereof (paragraph 0063). In this example, the total thickness of the entire resin film is 190 microns, therefore the central position of the film would be at the midpoint of the entire resin film at 95 microns, which would be situated in the polyvinyl alcohol resin polarizing film (corresponds to claimed first resin layer). As such, the thick triacetyl cellulose protective film (corresponds to claimed second resin layer) would be in a non-central position. Furthermore, if the halfpoint of the entire resin film is at 95 microns (“C1”), and a center of the triacetyl cellulose protective film (corresponds to claimed second resin layer) is at 40 microns, then the “X” would be 55 microns (40 + 15), thereby meeting the claimed range. Although all of these limitations have not been disclosed in a single, exemplified embodiment, it would nevertheless have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have tried other uses for said protective film (corresponds to claimed second resin layer) such as using it as a light diffusing layer containing particles, as shown above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so in order to further the scope of the utility of its invention to other suggested embodiments.
2. Regarding Claim 2, Sugino discloses “C2” being at the 40-micron point as said above. (40/190)*100= 21%.
3. Regarding Claim 3, although Sugino does not explicitly disclose the claimed concentration of its particles, the Examiner respectfully submits that it will largely depend upon the desired light diffusion of the end-product.
4. Regarding Claim 5, Sugino discloses its thickness can range from as low as 5 microns to 80 microns (paragraph 0031); which would then meet the claimed range.
5. Regarding Claims 8 and 9, these properties would be inherently expected given that Sugino discloses all of the claimed limitations.
6. Regarding Claim 10, Sugino discloses an acrylic (corresponds to thermoplastic resin) adhesive layer on said protective film (paragraph 0056) which would result in having a three or more resin layer while said light-diffusion protective film layer would be in between.
7. Regarding Claims 13-15, Sugino discloses using its polarizing film between substrates for an LCD display device (screen) (paragraph 0004) wherein said substrate is known to be made from glass (paragraph 0004). This setup would inherently result in the afore-described polarizing film being an “interlayer”.
Claim 4 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugino JP_2002236214_A (see machine English translation), as applied to Claim 1, and in view of Yamaki EP_3251831_A1.
8. Regarding Claim 4, Sugino discloses using alumina particles (paragraph 0034).
9. Yamaki discloses a transparent screen comprising a transparent laminate (Abstract) having a resin film having a light diffusing function (paragraph 0025) through the use of particles, such as silver, titanium, aluminum, and diamond (paragraph 0035) that can be 0.1 nanometer (paragraph 0034).
10. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the light diffusing particles, of Sugino, such as its use of aluminum (paragraph 0105), by trying the particles, of Yamaki, such as silver, titanium, and diamond nanoparticles. Given that Yamaki discloses equivalence between aluminum and the aforementioned materials, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in trying other substitutes suggested in prior art.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugino JP_2002236214_A (see machine English translation), as applied to Claims 1 and 10, and in view of Fukatani USPA_20180282598_A1.
11. Regarding Claims 6, 7, and 12, Sugino does not disclose its aforementioned layers being made form polyvinyl acetal resin or containing plastifizers.
12. Fukatani discloses that layers between a glass sheet and polarizing film can comprise polyvinyl acetal resin and a plasticizer useable in a touch panel (Abstract) that leads to advantageous physical properties (paragraphs 0006, 0008).
13. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the thermoplastic material used in the layers, of Sugino, by trying the specific use of polyvinyl acetal resins and plasticizer, of Fukatani. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so to obtain those properties (paragraph 0007).
14. Regarding Claim 11, Sugino in view of Fukatani suggests the amount of plasticizer will vary based on the degree of residual stress needed (Fukatani paragraph 0019).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 March 21, 2026