DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 06/19/2026. Claims 1-31 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14-16, 20-27, 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Apple International Application Publication No. :( WO 2020/060890 A1) hereinafter referred as Apple, in view of FG Innovation International Application Publication No. :( WO 2021/147959 A1) hereinafter referred as FG Innovation.
For claim 1, Apple discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
monitoring, during an offset before a discontinuous reception on (DRX ON) period, for a sequence in resource elements transmitted by a second UE (see fig. 13d above) (paragraph [0130], lines 4-6 disclosing the be monitored at an offset from configured start location of next DRX ON duration or DRX-ON Duration Timer. Moreover, offset to start location of ON duration for control channel monitoring imply that offset is from when wake-up signal is detected), (paragraph [0156], lines 1-2 turns ON for monitoring WUS for a limited duration according to a configured DRX cycle, and if detected, it wakes up and monitor for a configured -ON duration after a period of time) and paragraph [0184], lines 1-4 disclosing the communication terminal devices UEs formed to monitor DCi;
receiving, based on the monitoring for the sequence in resource elements, a wake-up signal (WUS) from the second UE (paragraph [0153], lines 1-5 discloses the mobile radio communication terminal device/UE can be configured with a WUS monitoring duration) and (paragraph [0161], lines 1-5);
entering a DRX ON mode in response to receiving the wake-up signal (paragraph [0158], lines 2-4 disclosing the UE prepares for the next DRX ON duration indicated as a part of the WUs). However, Apple discloses
all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the receiving, from the second UE, a transport block via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) as recited in claim 1.
FG Innovation from the same or analogous art teaches the receiving, from the second UE, a transport block via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (paragraph [0096]-[0097], lines 1-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the receiving, from the second UE, a transport block via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)as taught by FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple.
The receiving, from the second UE, a transport block via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) can be modify/implemented by combining the receiving, from the second UE, a transport block via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple. As disclosed in FG Innovation, the motivation for the combination would be to use the transport block via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) that will manage the Low Latency and Direct Communication and support for high mobility and interference management becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 2, Apple discloses the method, further comprising: receiving, from a base station (BS), a WUS configuration, wherein the WUS configuration comprises at least one of: a location of the resource elements; an amount of the offset before the DRX ON period; or a type of the sequence (paragraph [0293], lines 1-3).
For claim 3, Apple discloses the method, wherein the receiving the WUS configuration includes: receiving, by the first UE from the BS, the WUS configuration via at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, PDCCH signaling, or media access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling (paragraph [0153], lines 1-11).
For claim 4, Apple discloses the method, further comprising: transmitting, to the second UE, a WUS configuration, wherein the WUS configuration comprises at least one of: a location of the resource elements; an amount of the offset before the DRX ON period; or a type of the sequence (paragraphs [0146] discloses the sequence and [0191], lines 1-10).
For claim 5, Apple discloses the method, wherein a type of the sequence comprises at least one of: a Zadoff-Chu sequence; an m-sequence; a Gold sequence; a Kasami sequence; a Barker sequence; or a pseudo-random sequence (paragraph [0058], lines 5-11) and (paragraph [0262], lines 10-12).
For claim 6, Apple discloses the method, wherein the resource elements are reserved for the first UE (paragraph [0018], lines 1-15).
For claim 7, Apple discloses the method, wherein the resource elements are reserved for a group of UEs, wherein the group of UEs includes the first UE (paragraph [0020], lines 4-6).
For claim 8, Apple discloses the method, wherein the sequence is associated with the first UE (paragraph [0058], lines 4-8).
For claim 9, Apple discloses the method, wherein the sequence comprises a scrambled code sequence associated with the first UE (paragraph [0262], lines 1-6).
For claim 10, Apple discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
monitoring, during an offset before a discontinuous reception on (DRX ON) period ( see fig 13d above) (paragraph [0130], lines 4-6 disclosing the be monitored at an offset from configured start location of next DRX ON duration or Drx-on Duration Timer. Moreover, offset to start location of ON duration for control channel monitoring imply that offset is from when wake-up signal is detected.), (paragraph [0156], lines 1-2 turns ON for monitoring WUS for a limited duration according to a configured DRX cycle, and if detected, it wakes up and monitor for a configured -ON duration after a period of time) and paragraph [0184], lines 1-4 disclosing the communication terminal devices UEs formed to monitor DCi);
receiving, based on the monitoring for the PSCCH signal, a wake-up signal (WUS) from a second UE (paragraph [0153], lines 1-5 discloses the mobile radio communication terminal device/UE can be configured with a WUS monitoring duration) and (paragraph [0161], lines 1-5) and (paragraph [0313], lines 1-5); and
entering a DRX ON mode in response to receiving the wake-up signal (paragraph [0158], lines 2-4 disclosing the UE prepares for the next DRX ON duration indicated as a part of the WUs). However, Apple discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of monitoring on the (DRX ON) period for a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) signal as recited in claim 10.
FG Innovation from the same or analogous art teaches the monitoring on the (DRX ON) period for a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) signal (paragraph [0096]-[0097], lines 1-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the monitoring on the (DRX ON) period for a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) signal as taught by FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple.
The monitoring on the (DRX ON) period for a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) signal can be modify/implemented by combining the monitoring on the (DRX ON) period for a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) signal with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple. As disclosed in FG Innovation, the motivation for the combination would be to use the transport block via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) that will manage the Low Latency and Direct Communication and support for high mobility and interference management becoming more efficient and reliable for better communication.
For claim 11, Apple discloses a method, wherein: the receiving the WUS comprises receiving the WUS in a first subset of resources (paragraph [0308], lines 36-46); wherein the first subset of resources is different from the second subset of resources (paragraph [0020], lines 1-5). However, Apple all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the further comprising: receiving, from the second UE, first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) in a second subset of resources as recited in claim 11.
FG Innovation from the same or analogous art teaches the further comprising: receiving, from the second UE, first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) in a second subset of resources (paragraphs [0006]-[0007], lines 1-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the further comprising: receiving, from the second UE, first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) in a second subset of resources as taught by FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple.
The further comprising: receiving, from the second UE, first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) in a second subset of resources can be modify/implemented by combining the further comprising: receiving, from the second UE, first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) in a second subset of resources with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple. As disclosed in FG Innovation, the motivation for the combination would be to use the receiving, from the second UE, first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) in a second subset of resources that will help to manage the control information and resource identifier becoming more efficient and reliable for better communication.
For claim 12, Apple discloses a method, wherein: the receiving the WUS comprises receiving the WUS based on a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) associated with the first UE (paragraphs [0133], [0302], lines 5-14).
For claim 14, Apple discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the receiving first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1); and wherein the receiving the WUS comprises: receiving the WUS based on an amount of resources associated with the SCI-1 as recited in claim 14.
FG Innovation from the same or analogous art teaches the receiving first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) (paragraphs [0006]-[0007], lines 1-9); and wherein the receiving the WUS comprises: receiving the WUS based on an amount of resources associated with the SCI-1 (paragraphs [0092], lines 1-2) and (paragraphs [0111], lines 1-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the receiving first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1); and wherein the receiving the WUS comprises: receiving the WUS based on an amount of resources associated with the SCI-1 as taught by FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple.
The receiving first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1); and wherein the receiving the WUS comprises: receiving the WUS based on an amount of resources associated with the SCI-1 can be modify/implemented by combining the receiving first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1); and wherein the receiving the WUS comprises: receiving the WUS based on an amount of resources associated with the SCI-1 with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple. As disclosed in FG Innovation, the motivation for the combination would be to use the where the Wake-Up Signal (WUS) based on the amount of resources that will help the communication to be more efficient and improve the throughput with a better latency performance becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 15, Apple discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the receiving the WUS comprises receiving the WUS based on a location of resource elements associated with first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1)as recited in claim 15.
FG Innovation from the same or analogous art teaches the receiving the WUS comprises receiving the WUS based on a location of resource elements associated with first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) (paragraphs [0063] on page 20, lines 12-15) and (paragraphs [0097], lines 3-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the receiving the WUS comprises receiving the WUS based on a location of resource elements associated with first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) as taught by FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple.
The receiving the WUS comprises receiving the WUS based on a location of resource elements associated with first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1)can be modify/implemented by combining the receiving the WUS comprises receiving the WUS based on a location of resource elements associated with first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple. As disclosed in FG Innovation, the motivation for the combination would be to use the where the Wake-Up Signal (WUS) resources are used to allow UEs to detect and respond to sidelink transmissions without continuous listening. It will help to improve the communication efficiency and enhance the quality of service becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 16,Apple discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the receiving first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1); and decoding a UE identifier from the SCI-1, wherein the receiving the WUS comprises: receiving the WUS based on the UE identifier from the SCI-1 matching an identifier associated with the first UE as recited in claim 16.
FG Innovation from the same or analogous art teaches the receiving first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) (paragraphs [0063] on page 20, lines 12-15); and decoding a UE identifier from the SCI-1 (paragraphs [0048], lines 9-12) , wherein the receiving the WUS comprises: receiving the WUS based on the UE identifier from the SCI-1 matching an identifier associated with the first UE (paragraphs [0006]-[0007], lines 1-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the receiving first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1); and decoding a UE identifier from the SCI-1, wherein the receiving the WUS comprises: receiving the WUS based on the UE identifier from the SCI-1 matching an identifier associated with the first UE as taught by FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple.
The receiving first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1); and decoding a UE identifier from the SCI-1, wherein the receiving the WUS comprises: receiving the WUS based on the UE identifier from the SCI-1 matching an identifier associated with the first UE can be modify/implemented by combining the receiving first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1); and decoding a UE identifier from the SCI-1, wherein the receiving the WUS comprises: receiving the WUS based on the UE identifier from the SCI-1 matching an identifier associated with the first UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple. As disclosed in FG Innovation, the motivation for the combination would be to use the sidelink control information and decoding a UE identifier matching an identifier associated with the first UE ensuring the communication to have confidentiality, accuracy and correct resource usage becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 20, Apple discloses the method, wherein the WUS includes at least one of:an indicator indicating a resource pool (RP) of a plurality of RPs assigned to the first UE; or a number of DRX cycles associated with the WUS (paragraphs [0153], lines 5-11).
For claim 21, Apple discloses a first user equipment (UE) comprising a transceiver, a memory, and a processor coupled to the transceiver and the memory, the first UE configured to:
monitor, during an offset before a discontinuous reception on (DRX ON) period, for a sequence in resource elements transmitted by a second UE ( see fig 13d above) (paragraph [0130], lines 4-6 disclosing the be monitored at an offset from configured start location of next DRX ON duration or DRX ON Duration Timer. Moreover, offset to start location of ON duration for control channel monitoring imply that offset is from when wake-up signal is detected), (paragraph [0156], lines 1-2 turns ON for monitoring WUS for a limited duration according to a configured DRX cycle, and if detected, it wakes up and monitor for a configured -ON duration after a period of time) and paragraph [0184], lines 1-4 disclosing the communication terminal devices UEs formed to monitor DCi);
receive, based on the monitoring for the sequence in resource elements, a wake-up signal (WUS) from the second UE (paragraph [0153], lines 1-5 discloses the mobile radio communication terminal device/UE can be configured with a WUS monitoring duration) and (paragraph [0161], lines 1-5);
enter a DRX ON mode in response to receiving the wake-up signal (paragraph [0158], lines 2-4 disclosing the UE prepares for the next DRX ON duration indicated as a part of the WUs). However, Apple discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the receive, from the second UE, a transport block via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) as recited in claim 21.
FG Innovation from the same or analogous art teaches the receive, from the second UE, a transport block via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (paragraph [0096]-[0097], lines 1-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the receive, from the second UE, a transport block via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)as taught by FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple.
The receive, from the second UE, a transport block via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) can be modify/implemented by combining the receive, from the second UE, a transport block via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple. As disclosed in FG Innovation, the motivation for the combination would be to use the transport block via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) that will manage the Low Latency and Direct Communication and support for high mobility and interference management becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 22, Apple discloses the first UE, wherein the first UE is further configured to: receive, from a base station (BS), a WUS configuration; and transmit, to the second UE, the WUS configuration, wherein the WUS configuration comprises at least one of: a location of the resource elements; an amount of the offset before the DRX ON period; or a type of the sequence (paragraph [0293], lines 1-3).
For claim 23, Apple discloses the first UE, wherein a type of the sequence comprises at least one of:a Zadoff-Chu sequence; an m-sequence; a Gold sequence; a Kasami sequence; a Barker sequence; or a pseudo-random sequence (paragraph [0058], lines 5-11) and (paragraph [0262], lines 10-12).
For claim 24, Apple discloses the first UE, wherein the resource elements are reserved for at least one of: the first UE; or a group of UEs, wherein the group of UEs includes the first UE (paragraph [0020], lines 4-6).
For claim 25, Apple discloses the first UE, wherein the sequence comprises a scrambled code sequence associated with the first UE (paragraph [0262], lines 1-6).
.
For claim 26, Apple discloses a first user equipment (UE) comprising a transceiver, a memory, and a processor coupled to the transceiver and the memory, the first UE configured to:
monitor, during an offset before a discontinuous reception on (DRX ON) period (see fig 13d above) (paragraph [0130], lines 4-6 disclosing the be monitored at an offset from configured start location of next DRX ON duration or Drx-on Duration Timer. Moreover, offset to start location of ON duration for control channel monitoring imply that offset is from when wake-up signal is detected.), (paragraph [0156], lines 1-2 turns ON for monitoring WUS for a limited duration according to a configured DRX cycle, and if detected, it wakes up and monitor for a configured -ON duration after a period of time) and paragraph [0184], lines 1-4 disclosing the communication terminal devices UEs formed to monitor DCi),
receive, based on the monitoring for the PSCCH signal, a wake-up signal (WUS) from a second UE (paragraph [0153], lines 1-5 discloses the mobile radio communication terminal device/UE can be configured with a WUS monitoring duration) and (paragraph [0161], lines 1-5) and (paragraph [0313], lines 1-5); and
enter a DRX ON mode in response to receiving the wake-up signal (paragraph [0158], lines 2-4 disclosing the UE prepares for the next DRX ON duration indicated as a part of the WUs). However, Apple discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the monitoring on the (DRX ON) period for a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) signal as recited in claim 26.
FG Innovation from the same or analogous art teaches the monitoring on the (DRX ON) period for a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) signal (paragraph [0096]-[0097], lines 1-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the monitoring on the (DRX ON) period for a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) signal as taught by FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple.
The monitoring on the (DRX ON) period for a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) signal can be modify/implemented by combining the monitoring on the (DRX ON) period for a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) signal with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple. As disclosed in FG Innovation, the motivation for the combination would be to use the transport block via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) that will manage the Low Latency and Direct Communication and support for high mobility and interference management becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 27, Apple discloses a method, wherein: the receiving the WUS comprises receiving the WUS in a first subset of resources (paragraph [0308], lines 36-46); wherein the first subset of resources is different from the second subset of resources (paragraph [0020], lines 1-5). However, Apple all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the further comprising: receiving, from the second UE, first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) in a second subset of resources as recited in claim 27.
FG Innovation from the same or analogous art teaches the further comprising: receiving, from the second UE, first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) in a second subset of resources (paragraphs [0006]-[0007], lines 1-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the further comprising: receiving, from the second UE, first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) in a second subset of resources as taught by FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple.
The further comprising: receiving, from the second UE, first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) in a second subset of resources can be modify/implemented by combining the further comprising: receiving, from the second UE, first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) in a second subset of resources with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple. As disclosed in FG Innovation, the motivation for the combination would be to use the receiving, from the second UE, first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) in a second subset of resources that will help to manage the control information and re resource identifier becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 29, Apple discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the first UE is further configured to: receive first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1), wherein: the WUS is based on at least one of: an amount of resources associated with the SCI-1; or a location of resource elements associated with the SCI-1as recited in claim 29.
FG Innovation from the same or analogous art teaches the first UE is further configured to: receive first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) (paragraphs [0006]-[0007], lines 1-9), wherein: the WUS is based on at least one of: an amount of resources associated with the SCI-1; or a location of resource elements associated with the SCI-1 (paragraphs [0063] on page 20, lines 12-15) and ( paragraphs [0097], lines 3-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the first UE is further configured to: receive first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1), wherein: the WUS is based on at least one of: an amount of resources associated with the SCI-1; or a location of resource elements associated with the SCI-1as as taught by FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple.
The first UE is further configured to: receive first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1), wherein: the WUS is based on at least one of: an amount of resources associated with the SCI-1; or a location of resource elements associated with the SCI-1as can be modify/implemented by combining the first UE is further configured to: receive first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1), wherein: the WUS is based on at least one of: an amount of resources associated with the SCI-1; or a location of resource elements associated with the SCI-1 with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple. As disclosed in FG Innovation, the motivation for the combination would be to use the where the Wake-Up Signal (WUS) resources are used to allow UEs to detect and respond to sidelink transmissions without continuous listening. It will help to improve the communication efficiency and enhance the quality of service becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 30,Apple discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the first UE is further configured to: receive first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1); and decode a UE identifier from the SCI-1, wherein: the WUS is based on the UE identifier from the SCI-1 matching an identifier associated with the first UE as recited in claim 30.
FG Innovation from the same or analogous art teaches the first UE is further configured to: receive first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) (paragraphs [0063] on page 20, lines 12-15); and decoding a UE identifier from the SCI-1 (paragraphs [0048], lines 9-12), wherein: the WUS is based on the UE identifier from the SCI-1 matching an identifier associated with the first UE (paragraphs [0006]-[0007], lines 1-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the first UE is further configured to: receive first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1); and decode a UE identifier from the SCI-1, wherein: the WUS is based on the UE identifier from the SCI-1 matching an identifier associated with the first UE as taught by FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple.
The first UE is further configured to: receive first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1); and decode a UE identifier from the SCI-1, wherein: the WUS is based on the UE identifier from the SCI-1 matching an identifier associated with the first UE can be modify/implemented by combining the first UE is further configured to: receive first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1); and decode a UE identifier from the SCI-1, wherein: the WUS is based on the UE identifier from the SCI-1 matching an identifier associated with the first UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of FG Innovation into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple. As disclosed in FG Innovation, the motivation for the combination would be to use the sidelink control information and decoding a UE identifier matching an identifier associated with the first UE ensuring the communication to have confidentiality, accuracy and correct resource usage becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 31, Apple discloses the first UE, wherein the WUS includes at least one of: an indicator indicating a resource pool (RP) of a plurality of RPs assigned to the first UE; or a number of DRX cycles associated with the WUS (paragraphs [0153], lines 5-11).
Claims 13 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Apple International Application Publication No. :( WO 2020/060890 A1) hereinafter referred as Apple, in view of Baldemair U.S. patent Application Publication No. :( US 2022/0240182 A1) hereinafter referred as Baldemair.
For claim 13, Apple discloses the method, wherein: the receiving the WUS comprises receiving the WUS in a first subset of resources (paragraph [0308], lines 36-46); wherein the first subset of resources is different from the second subset of resources (paragraph [0020], lines 1-5). However, Apple all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the receiving the WUS comprises receiving the WUS based on a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) associated with a group of UEs including the first UE as recited in claim 13.
Baldemair from the same or analogous art teaches the receiving the WUS comprises receiving the WUS based on a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) associated with a group of UEs including the first UE (paragraph [0178], lines 15-18 under number 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the receiving the WUS comprises receiving the WUS based on a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) associated with a group of UEs including the first UE as taught by Baldemair into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple.
The receiving the WUS comprises receiving the WUS based on a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) associated with a group of UEs including the first UE can be modify/implemented by combining the receiving the WUS comprises receiving the WUS based on a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) associated with a group of UEs including the first UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Baldemair into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple. As disclosed in Baldemair, the motivation for the combination would be to use the receiving the WUS based on a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) associated with a group of UEs including the first UE allowing the support for the multicast and coordinate procedures sharing the same resource becoming more efficient and reliable for better communication.
For claim 28, Apple discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the receive the WUS based on at least one of: a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) associated with the first UE; or a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) associated with a group of UEs including the first UE as recited in claim 28.
Baldemair from the same or analogous art teaches the receive the WUS based on at least one of: a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) associated with the first UE; or a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) associated with a group of UEs including the first UE (paragraph [0178], lines 15-18 under number 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the receive the WUS based on at least one of: a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) associated with the first UE; or a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) associated with a group of UEs including the first UE as taught by Baldemair into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple.
The receive the WUS based on at least one of: a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) associated with the first UE; or a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) associated with a group of UEs including the first UE can be modify/implemented by combining the receive the WUS based on at least one of: a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) associated with the first UE; or a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) associated with a group of UEs including the first UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Baldemair into the sidelink packet exchange operation of Apple. As disclosed in Baldemair, the motivation for the combination would be to use the receiving the WUS based on a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) associated with a group of UEs including the first UE allowing the support for the multicast and coordinate procedures sharing the same resource becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-19 are objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/14/2026, with respect to claims 1, 10, 21 and 26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Apple International Application Publication No. :( WO 2020/060890 A1) hereinafter referred as Apple, in view of FG Innovation International Application Publication No. :( WO 2021/147959 A1) hereinafter referred as FG Innovation. Apple discloses the UE receives a signaling from network after it was in a sleep/OFF state, the signal if detected properly, triggers the UE to turn ON or be active for a given subsequent duration to monitor for DCls e.g., Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) and/or other transmissions/signaling from the network. Following detection of WUS, UE may turn ON after a period or immediately. The UE may be triggered to wake up or monitor DCls/ Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) subsequent to detection of WUS for a duration that is part of a DRX cycle or for a duration that is not part of a DRX cycle and/or can be larger or smaller than a DRX cycle. FG Innovation discloses the UE may just monitor the received signal strengths (or the received power density) of the PSCCH(s) (e.g., by detecting each Physical Resource Blocks associated with the PSCCH) or PSSCH(s) in the configured SL Sensing window. In some other implementations, the UE may monitor a power saving signalling (PSS) (or Wake-Up Signalling (WUS)) in the (LTE/NR) Uu interface for SL during the SL Sensing window.
Applicant asserts on page 9 of the Remarks that Apple does not teach in claims 1, 10, 21 and 26, "the sidelink WUS transmitted from one UE to another UE". However,In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the sidelink WUS transmitted from one UE to another UE) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
IT IS IMPROPER TO IMPORT CLAIM LIMITATIONS FROM THE SPECIFICATION
"Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitation that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment." Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See also Liebel-Flarsheim Co. v. Medrad Inc., 358 F.3d 898, 906, 69 USPQ2d 1801, 1807 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (discussing recent cases wherein the court expressly rejected the contention that if a patent describes only a single embodiment, the claims of the patent must be construed as being limited to that embodiment); E-Pass Techs., Inc. v. 3Com Corp., 343 F.3d 1364, 1369, 67 USPQ2d 1947, 1950 (Fed. Cir. 2003) ("Interpretation of descriptive statements in a patent’s written description is a difficult task, as an inherent tension exists as to whether a statement is a clear lexicographic definition or a description of a preferred embodiment. The problem is to interpret claims ‘in view of the specification’ without unnecessarily importing limitations from the specification into the claims."); Altiris Inc. v. Symantec Corp., 318 F.3d 1363, 1371, 65 USPQ2d 1865, 1869-70 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (Although the specification discussed only a single embodiment, the court held that it was improper to read a specific order of steps into method claims where, as a matter of logic or grammar, the language of the method claims did not impose a specific order on the performance of the method steps, and the specification did not directly or implicitly require a particular order). See also subsection IV., below. When an element is claimed using language falling under the scope of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 6th paragraph (often broadly referred to as means- (or step-) plus- function language), the specification must be consulted to determine the structure, material, or acts corresponding to the function recited in the claim, and the claimed element is construed as limited to the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. In re Donaldson, 16 F.3d 1189, 29 USPQ2d 1845 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (see MPEP § 2181- MPEP § 2186).
Besides, in the case that If the Examiner could consider the arguments that the applicant regard to the current application, “ the sidelink WUS transmitted from one UE to another UE”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with such assertion. (See below for further clarification)
In response to the preceding argument examiner respectfully submits that Apple teaches "the sidelink WUS transmitted from one UE to another UE”. Apple teaches the transmission, by a wireless device, a first signaling to configure a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode including at least one DRX configuration in at least one user equipment (UE); transmitting, by the wireless device, a configuration of a second signaling; transmitting, by the wireless device, the second signaling in a time-frequency resource of a common search space during a scheduled an OFF/non-active state expected in the DRX mode of the at least one UE, wherein the second signaling includes a Wake-Up indication, wherein the Wake-Up indication indicates for the at least one UE to wake-up; and transmitting, by the wireless device, at least one message in a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) or a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) message during an ON/active state expected in the at least one UE for monitoring PDCCH or PSSCH messages of the at least UE in response to the Wake-Up indication of the second signaling as disclosed on Paragraph [0303]. Therefore, the direct communication known as sidelink transmits the wake-up signal from one device to another as taught by apple.
The prior art should be considered as a whole. See also MPEP § 2141.02 [R-5] Paragraph VI. Claims must be given the broadest reasonable interpretation during examination and limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim (See M.P.E.P. 2111 [R-l]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH AREVALO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642