DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 3 is dependent upon canceled claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama et al. (2014/0127497) in view of Ye (CN 104710616 A).
Nakayama et al. teach a liquid composition comprising a polyamic acid of the claimed structure that is a reaction product of PPD and s-BPDA; N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (aprotic solvent with a boiling point of 204°C); and a phosphorus compound (triphenyl phosphate, phosphoric acid monoethyl ester, or phosphoric monolauryl ester) [Examples]. The reaction of PPD and s-BPDA will produce the following structure:
.
Nakayama et al. teach that the phosphorous compound can be any phosphorus compound [0064], including phosphorous acid compounds [0065].
Nakayama et al. fail to teach the claimed phosphorus acid compound.
However, Ye teaches that tris(2,4-di-tert-butylphenyl) phosphite is a common phosphorus acid derivative in an analogous composition as an antioxidant [0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use tris(2,4-di-tert-butylphenyl) phosphite as taught by Ye as the phosphorous acid compound in Nakayama et al. It is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has made the argument that Nakayama et al. fail to teach the claimed phosphite or phosphonite. This has been remedied by the addition of Ye.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763