DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 06/04/26. The applicant has not overcome the 35 USC 112 rejection nor the 102 rejections. Refer to the aforementioned amendment for specific details on applicant's rebuttal arguments and/or remarks. However, the present claims are now finally rejected over new grounds of rejection (including rejections under Section 102/103) as formulated hereinbelow and for the reasons of record:
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (i.e., claims 1-24) in the reply filed on 06/09/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-11, 14-16 and 20-23 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/31/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 12-13, 17-19 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-4 and 17, the term "type(s)" renders the claims indefinite because the claims include elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "type"), thereby rendering the scope of the claims unascertainable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12-13, 17-19 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Pintauro et al 2017/0250431.
As to claims 1-6, 19:
Pintauro et al disclose that it is known in the art to make a multi-fiber/composite dispersion inks (0136) for a fuel cell electrode/membrane electrode assembly (i.e., electrochemically active material) (Abstract; 0027-0028; 0030-0035) comprising a dual/multi-fiber-based material comprising one or more polymers and/or particles, thereby forming a fiber mat which may include multiple types of fibers and may further include particles of a catalyst including Pt particles/alloy particles, Pt on carbon particles, precious metal particles, precious metal on carbon particles, precious metal based alloys, precious metal based alloys on carbon particles , or Ag/Ni/Fe/Pd particles/alloy particles, non-platinum group metal (PGM) or combinations thereof (0013-0015; 0022; 0018-0021, 0091; 0105-0106; Abstract; 0006; 0016-0025; 0030-0035). Pintauro et al disclose polymer binders (0016; 0023). Figures 13 and 18 provide structural illustration of the fiber-mat including catalyst particles with a binder.
1st Examiner's note: it is noted that the instant claims are being construed as product-by-process claims (i.e. the method limitation "said fibers are pre-formed fibers" has not been given patentable weight) and that the product itself does not depend on the process of making it. Accordingly, in a product-by-process claim, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. In that, it is further noted that the product in the instant claims is the same as or obvious over the product of the prior art. In re Thorpe 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964,966 (Fed Cir. 1985) and MPEP 2113. As a result, the process steps of a product-by-process claim do not impart any significant property or structure to the claimed end product. And, if there is any difference, the difference would have been minor and obvious. Therefore, the present claims are unpatentable over a reference that satisfies the claimed compositional or physical or property or structural limitations, and/or a reference that discloses a product made by a process that reasonably substantially comprises every limitation of the claimed process. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972) and In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974);See also In re Best, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) [prove that prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics] & Ex parte Gray, 10 USPQ2d 1922 (BPAI 1989) [needs to show that the claimed process imparts unexpected property or structure](Refer to MPEP 2113: Product-by-Process Claims).
As to claim 7, 12-13, 17-18:
Pintauro et al teach polymer binders including one of nafion and PVDF (i.e., applicant’s materially undefined ionomer binder polymer with repeating units) (0016; 0023; 0025). Pintauro et al disclose the use of more than one polymer (examiner’s note: these additional polymers are taken to represent applicant’s materially undefined polymer dispersant and carrier polymer) (Abstract; 0013-0014; 0016; 0018; 0023; 0027; 0030-0038; 0041; 0089-0092; see Claims 1-2, 5, 9, 14, 22, 25, 27-29). Pintauro et al teach carrier polymers (0131) such as poly(acrylic acid)(PAA) (0062-0064; 0122; 0124; see Table 1) and polyethylene oxide (PEO) (0119-0121; see Example ONE)
As to claims 8-9:
Pintauro et al teach inks/dispersions containing alcohol/water solvents (0136).
As to claim 24:
Pintauro et al disclose spinning and/or electrospinning techniques (0057-0058; 0088; 0112-0113; FIGURE 7) and/or that the fibers are electrospun fibers, thereby implicitly formed by electrospinning (0006).
Therefore, the claims are anticipated by Pintauro et al. However, if the claims are not anticipated the claims are obvious as it has been held similar products claimed in product-by-process limitations are obvious. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972) and In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974); See also In re Best, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) [prove that prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics] & Ex parte Gray, 10 USPQ2d 1922 (BPAI 1989) [needs to show that the claimed process imparts unexpected property or structure](Refer to MPEP 2113: Product-by-Process Claims).
(at least) Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over the publication CN 109860630 (herein called CN’630).
As to claims 1-6:
CN’630 discloses that it is known in the art to make a multi-fiber/composite dispersion inks for fuel cells and fuel cell polymer membranes (i.e., electrochemically active material) comprising polymer nanofiber catalyst slurry wherein the Pt/C catalyst is dispersed on the surface of the polymer nanofibers (Abstract; 0002-0006; 0020-0025).
1st Examiner's note: it is noted that the instant claims are being construed as product-by-process claims (i.e. the method limitation "said fibers are pre-formed fibers" has not been given patentable weight) and that the product itself does not depend on the process of making it. Accordingly, in a product-by-process claim, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. In that, it is further noted that the product in the instant claims is the same as or obvious over the product of the prior art. In re Thorpe 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964,966 (Fed Cir. 1985) and MPEP 2113. As a result, the process steps of a product-by-process claim do not impart any significant property or structure to the claimed end product. And, if there is any difference, the difference would have been minor and obvious. Therefore, the present claims are unpatentable over a reference that satisfies the claimed compositional or physical or property or structural limitations, and/or a reference that discloses a product made by a process that reasonably substantially comprises every limitation of the claimed process. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972) and In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974);See also In re Best, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) [prove that prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics] & Ex parte Gray, 10 USPQ2d 1922 (BPAI 1989) [needs to show that the claimed process imparts unexpected property or structure](Refer to MPEP 2113: Product-by-Process Claims).
Therefore, the claims are anticipated by CN’630. However, if the claims are not anticipated the claims are obvious as it has been held similar products claimed in product-by-process limitations are obvious. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972) and In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974); See also In re Best, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) [prove that prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics] & Ex parte Gray, 10 USPQ2d 1922 (BPAI 1989) [needs to show that the claimed process imparts unexpected property or structure](Refer to MPEP 2113: Product-by-Process Claims).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 (particularly, the new limitation “said fibers are pre-formed fibers) have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, and because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
For the reasons of record, the limitation "said fibers are pre-formed fibers" is being construed as a product-by-process claim and has not been given patentable weight because the product itself does not depend on the process of making it (i.e., being pre-formed or not). Accordingly, in a product-by-process claim, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. In that, it is further noted that the product in the instant claims is the same as or obvious over the product of the prior art. In re Thorpe 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964,966 (Fed Cir. 1985) and MPEP 2113. As a result, the process steps of a product-by-process claim do not impart any significant property or structure to the claimed end product. And, if there is any difference, the difference would have been minor and obvious. Therefore, the present claims are unpatentable over a reference that satisfies the claimed compositional or physical or property or structural limitations, and/or a reference that discloses a product made by a process that reasonably substantially comprises every limitation of the claimed process. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972) and In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974);See also In re Best, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) [prove that prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics] & Ex parte Gray, 10 USPQ2d 1922 (BPAI 1989) [needs to show that the claimed process imparts unexpected property or structure](Refer to MPEP 2113: Product-by-Process Claims).
With respect to the term “type”, the same is still deemed indefinite and problematic for clearly defining and/or setting forth the specific constituents, components, elements, materials or composition(s) of the particle and fiber at issue; and the as-filed specification does not appear to provide adequate descriptive basis to ascertain such specific constituents, components, elements, materials or composition(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAYMOND ALEJANDRO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1752