DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (i.e., claims 1-24) in the reply filed on 06/09/25 is acknowledged.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I-A-1, I-B-3 and I-C-2 (i.e., 2-4, 5, 6-9, 12, 13, 17-18, 19 and 24) in the reply filed on 10/31/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “the search and examination of all currently pending claims would not pose an undue burden on the Examiner”. This is not found persuasive because as set forth in the 07/02/25 election of species, Species I-A-1, I-B-3 and I-C-2 encompass a material/composition and/or structural/mechanical feature different from that of Species I-A-1, Species I-B-1/2/4 and Species I-C-1/3/4/5/6. In this respect, applicant has not yet provided any specific technical reason(s) or objective explanation to clearly support Species I-A-1, I-B-3 and I-C-2 are not mutually exclusive in terms of either their material/composition, structures, functional aspects, cooperative relationship, chemical properties and/or mechanical features and the likes within the context of the claimed invention. Further, applicant has not yet admitted on the written record that, or submitted or identified evidence to show, all Species I-A, I-B and I-C are obvious variants. Therefore, the embodiments of Species I-A, I-B and I-C represent distinct and mutually exclusive species which do not overlap in scope. Moreover, applicant's attention is particularly directed to MPEP 809.02(a) which indicates how to identify species by illustrative figures, examples, mechanical means, particular materials, or other distinguishing characteristics. Accordingly, serious burden would be raised if the search of such different species was made as required for the separate, distinct and mutually exclusive species or embodiments.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
This application is a C-I-P of application S/N 17/341487, filed on 06/08/21.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/07/23 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/07/23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 12-13, 17-19 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-4 and 17, the term "type(s)" renders the claims indefinite because the claims include elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "type"), thereby rendering the scope of the claims unascertainable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 12-13, 17-19 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Pintauro et al 2017/0250431.
As to claims 1-6, 19:
Pintauro et al disclose that it is known in the art to make a multi-fiber/composite dispersion inks (0136) for a fuel cell electrode/membrane electrode assembly (i.e., electrochemically active material) (Abstract; 0027-0028; 0030-0035) comprising a dual/multi-fiber-based material comprising one or more polymers and/or particles, thereby forming a fiber mat which may include multiple types of fibers and may further include particles of a catalyst including Pt particles/alloy particles, Pt on carbon particles, precious metal particles, precious metal on carbon particles, precious metal based alloys, precious metal based alloys on carbon particles , or Ag/Ni/Fe/Pd particles/alloy particles, non-platinum group metal (PGM) or combinations thereof (0013-0015; 0022; 0018-0021, 0091; 0105-0106; Abstract; 0006; 0016-0025; 0030-0035). Pintauro et al disclose polymer binders (0016; 0023). Figures 13 and 18 provide structural illustration of the fiber-mat including catalyst particles with a binder.
As to claim 7, 12-13, 17-18:
Pintauro et al teach polymer binders including one of nafion and PVDF (i.e., applicant’s materially undefined ionomer binder polymer with repeating units) (0016; 0023; 0025). Pintauro et al disclose the use of more than one polymer (examiner’s note: these additional polymers are taken to represent applicant’s materially undefined polymer dispersant and carrier polymer) (Abstract; 0013-0014; 0016; 0018; 0023; 0027; 0030-0038; 0041; 0089-0092; see Claims 1-2, 5, 9, 14, 22, 25, 27-29). Pintauro et al teach carrier polymers (0131) such as poly(acrylic acid)(PAA) (0062-0064; 0122; 0124; see Table 1) and polyethylene oxide (PEO) (0119-0121; see Example ONE)
As to claims 8-9:
Pintauro et al teach inks/dispersions containing alcohol/water solvents (0136).
As to claim 24:
Pintauro et al disclose spinning and/or electrospinning techniques (0057-0058; 0088; 0112-0113; FIGURE 7) and/or that the fibers are electrospun fibers, thereby implicitly formed by electrospinning (0006).
Thus, the present claims are anticipated.
(at least) Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by the publication CN 109860630 (herein called CN’630).
As to claims 1-6:
CN’630 discloses that it is known in the art to make a multi-fiber/composite dispersion inks for fuel cells and fuel cell polymer membranes (i.e., electrochemically active material) comprising polymer nanofiber catalyst slurry wherein the Pt/C catalyst is dispersed on the surface of the polymer nanofibers (Abstract; 0002-0006; 0020-0025).
Thus, the present claims are anticipated.
Conclusion
/RAYMOND ALEJANDRO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1752