DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the" flexible arm. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as no arm is previously recited. It is assumed the claim recites a flexible arm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8, and 29 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Inner Mongolia New Energy (CN1116088864) in view of Mtauweg (2019/0161991).
1. Inner Mongolia New Energy (IMNE) teaches a wind turbine supported by a plurality of cables 4, the wind turbine comprising:
a tower fixed at one end (the bottom) to a foundation and comprising:
at least two tower sections, including an upper section 2 and a lower section (the section below section 2), each of the upper and lower sections including an inwardly directed flange 21, fig. 5, having a plurality of through-bores)” flange bolt hole”;
an interface module 3 secured between the upper and lower sections and including a ring from which one or more ears (the pair of ears 32) extend outwardly, each ear being configured to be coupled to one of the plurality of cables, fig. 5, the ring including a plurality of through- bores 31 that align with the through-bores in the inwardly directed flanges of each of the upper and lower tower sections;
a plurality of fasteners 5 for securinq the interface module between the flanges of the upper section and the lower section, wherein each of the plurality of fasteners extends throuqh one of the plurality of throuqh-bores in the rinq and both the throuqh-bore in the lower tower section and the throuqh-bore in the upper tower section that are in alignment with the one of the plurality of throuqh-bores in the ring, fig. 5; and
an energy generating unit (wind turbine) on the tower and configured to produce electrical energy from wind.
IMNE does not teach the flange of the lower section further including second through-bores spaced apart from the through-bores and additional bores that align with the second through-bores in the inwardly directed flange of the lower section. Mtauweg teaches a flange of a lower section including second through-bores tb2 spaced apart from through-bores th and additional bores ab that align with the second through-bores in the inwardly directed flange of the lower section. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the flange of the lower section to include second through-bores spaced apart from the through-bores, and additional bores that align with the second through-bores in the inwardly directed flange of the lower section for a strong joint that uses two rows of bolts in INME instead of just one, as taught by Mtauweg, for a strong connection.
Mtauweg (annotated fig. 2)
2. INME in view of Mtauweg teaches the wind turbine of claim 1, Mtauweg further teaching the plurality of through-bores in the ring are arranged on a first (outer) radius from a central axis of the ring and the plurality of additional bores are arranged on a second (inner) radius, wherein the second radius is smaller than the first radius.
8. INME in view of Mtauweg teaches the wind turbine of claim 1, INME further teaching each ear includes a pair of spaced-apart flanges, fig. 5.
29. INME does not expressly teach the ring further includes a stop capable of limiting cable rotational movement of the cable. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the ring to include a stop capable of limiting cable rotational movement for cable stability.
Claims 3-4 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over INME in view of Mtauweg and in further view of Tuerk (2018/0179776).
3. INME does not teach the ring is segmented, each segment being coupled to other segments at a joint at each end. Tuerk, fig. 6, teaches a ring (flange) is segmented, each segment being coupled to other segments at a joint (butt joint) at each end. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the ring to be segmented, each segment being coupled to other segments at a joint at each end for easier transportation.
4. INME in view of Mtauweg and in further view of Tuerk teaches the wind turbine of claim 3, Tuerk further teaching the ring consists of three segments, fig. 6, but NME in view of Mtauweg and in further view of Tuerk does not expressly teach each segment including at least two of the ears because the INME ring has either 3, 4, or 5 evenly spaced ears (figs. 5-7), a Mtauweg and in further view of Tuerk and in yet further view of Inner Mongolia 3 segment that has 6 ears would have two INME ears per segment. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for each segment to include at least two of the ears (for a total of 6 per ring) for stability.
Claim 5 - is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over INME in view of Mtauweg and in further view of Pederson (10,598,154).
5. INME in view of Mtauweg teaches the wind turbine of claim 1, INME further teaching the upper and lower tower sections include a wall 2 from which each inwardly directed flange extends, and each ear extending outwardly from the ring, fig. 4, but does not teach each ear extending outwardly and downwardly, so that a neutral axis of the ear intersects a neutral axis of the ring at a neutral axis of each of the walls. Pederson teaches ears extending downwardly so that a neutral axis of the ear intersects a neutral axis of the ring at a neutral axis of each of the walls (a neutral axis of the ear intersects a neutral axis of the ring, col. 7, lines 37-40, at a neutral axis of the wall (at convergence point 300), col. 7, lines 9-20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for each ear to extending outwardly and downwardly, so that a neutral axis of the ear intersects a neutral axis of the ring at a neutral axis of each of the walls “for the wind tower to withstand the varying and potentially high wind forces which in the interacting with the rotor creates complex and at times quite extreme dynamic loads”, col. 1, lines 52-54.
Claims 6-7 and 9 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over INME in view of Mtauweg and in further view of Segura (8,171,715).
6. INME in view of Mtauweg does not teach each ear is coupled to a respective cable at a cardan-type joint. Segura teaches an ear 28, coupled to a cable 20 at a cardan-type joint (the is essentially a cardan joint because it transmits rotational power and allows angular movement). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for each ear is coupled to a respective cable at a cardan joint for a strong, easily assembled connection.
7. INME in view of Mtauweg and in further view of Segura teaches the wind turbine of claim 6, Segura further teaching the cardan-type joint includes an eyelet 100 and the eyelet includes a stop (the top loop of eyelet 100) and wherein the cable includes a socket (sleeve 22 is essentially a socket) and the socket includes a stop (the lower section that contacts the top loop of eyelet 100) that is configured to contact the stop on the eyelet to provide a limit to rotational movement of the socket when the socket rotates toward the foundation (rotation is limited somewhat because only a degree of rotational movement is possible where the two loops meet).
9. INME in view of Mtauweg does not teach each cable is coupled to a respective ear at a joint and the joint includes two rotational axes that are each oriented in a respective plane parallel to one another while being perpendicular to a vertical tower axis. Segura teaches an ear 28, coupled to a cable 20 at a joint including two rotational axes, a1 and a2, that are each oriented in a respective plane, p, parallel to one another while being perpendicular to a vertical tower axis (mtva is the INME tower vertical axis in the tower of the combination). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the joint to include two rotational axes that are each oriented in a respective plane parallel to one another while being perpendicular to a vertical tower axis for a strong, easy to operate, connection.
Annotated fig. 4
Claims 12, 14, and 19 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over INME in view of Pederson and Mtauweg.
12. Inner Mongolia New Energy (IMNE) teaches a wind turbine supported by a plurality of cables 4, the wind turbine comprising:
a tower fixed at one end (the bottom) to a foundation and comprising:
at least two tower sections including an upper section 2 and a lower section (the section below 2), each of the upper and lower sections including a wall 2 from which an inwardly directed flange 21 extends, each inwardly directed flange having a plurality of through-bores;
an interface module secured between the upper and lower sections and including a ring from which one or more ears (the pair of ears 32) extend outwardly and configured to be coupled to one of the plurality of cables, the ring including a plurality of through-bores that each aligns with both one of the through-bores in the inwardly directed flanges of each of the upper tower section and one of the throuqh-bores in the inwardly directed flange of the lower tower section; and
a plurality of fasteners, each of the plurality of fasteners extendinq throuqh one of the plurality of throuqh-bores in the rinq and both the throuqh-bore in the lower tower section and the throuqh-bore in the upper tower section that are in alignment with the one of the plurality of throuqh-bores in the rinq; and
an energy generating unit (wind turbine) being disposed on the tower and configured to produce electrical energy from wind.
INME does not teach the ears extend outwardly and downwardly from the ring so that a neutral axis of the ear intersects a neutral axis of the ring at a neutral axis of each of the walls. Pederson teaches ears extend outwardly and downwardly from a ring so that a neutral axis of the ear intersects a neutral axis of the ring at a neutral axis of each of the walls (a neutral axis of the ear intersects a neutral axis of the ring, col. 7, lines 37-40, at a neutral axis of the wall (at convergence point 300), col. 7, lines 9-20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for each ear to extending outwardly and downwardly, so that a neutral axis of the ear intersects a neutral axis of the ring at a neutral axis of each of the walls “for the wind tower to withstand the varying and potentially high wind forces which in the interacting with the rotor creates complex and at times quite extreme dynamic loads”, col. 1, lines 52-54.
Finally, Inner Mongolia New Energy (IMNE) in view of Pederson does not teach the flange of the lower section further includes a plurality of second through-bores spaced apart from the plurality of through-bores and the interface module includes a plurality of additional bores that align with the second through-bores in the inwardly directed flange of the lower section. Mtauweg, fig. 2, teaches it is old in the art to have second through-bores, tb2, spaced apart from through-bores, th, and a plurality of additional bores, ab, that align with the second through-bores in an inwardly directed element 300 of a lower section 101. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the flange of the lower section to include second through-bores spaced apart from the through-bores, and additional bores that align with the second through-bores in the inwardly directed flange of the lower section for a strong joint that uses two rows of bolts in Mehra instead of just one, as taught by Mtauweg, for a strong connection.
14. IMNE in view of Pederson and Mtauweg teaches the wind turbine of claim 12, Mtauweg further teaching the plurality of through-bores in the ring are arranged on a first (outer) radius from a central axis of the ring and the plurality of additional bores are arranged on a second (inner) radius, wherein the second radius is smaller than the first radius.
19. INME in view of Pederson and Mtauweg teaches the wind turbine of claim 12, INME further teaching each ear includes a pair of spaced-apart flanges, fig. 5.
Claims 15-16 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over IMNE in view of Pederson and Mtauweg and in further view of Tuerk (2018/0179776).
15. INME does not teach the ring is segmented, each segment being coupled to other segments at a joint at each end. Tuerk, fig. 6, teaches a ring (flange) is segmented, each segment being coupled to other segments at a joint (butt joint) at each end. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the ring to be segmented, each segment being coupled to other segments at a joint at each end for easier transportation.
16. INME in view of Peterson and Mtauweg and in further view of Tuerk teaches the wind turbine of claim 15, Tuerk further teaching the ring consists of three segments, fig. 6, but NME in view of Mtauweg and in further view of Tuerk does not expressly teach each segment including at least two of the ears because the INME ring has either 3, 4, or 5 evenly spaced ears (figs. 5-7), a Mtauweg and in further view of Tuerk and in yet further view of Inner Mongolia 3 segment that has 6 ears would have two INME ears per segment. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for each segment to include at least two of the ears (for a total of 6 per ring) for stability.
Claims 17-18 and 20 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over INME in view of Pederson and Mtauweg and in further view of Segura.
17. INME in view of Mtauweg and Pederson does not teach each ear is coupled to a respective cable at a cardan-type joint. Segura teaches an ear 28, coupled to a cable 20 at a cardan-type joint (the is essentially a cardan joint because it transmits rotational power and allows angular movement). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for each ear is coupled to a respective cable at a cardan joint for a strong, easily assembled connection.
18. INME in view of Mtauweg and Pederson and in further view of Segura teaches the wind turbine of claim 17, Segura further teaching the cardan-type joint includes an eyelet 100 and the eyelet includes a stop (the top loop of eyelet 100) and wherein the cable includes a socket (sleeve 22 is essentially a socket) and the socket includes a stop (the lower section that contacts the top loop of eyelet 100) that is configured to contact the stop on the eyelet to provide a limit to rotational movement of the socket when the socket rotates toward the foundation (rotation is limited somewhat because only a degree of rotational movement is possible where the two loops meet).
20. INME in view of Mtauweg and Pederson does not teach each cable is coupled to a respective ear at a joint and the joint includes two rotational axes that are each oriented in a respective plane parallel to one another while being perpendicular to a vertical tower axis. Segura teaches an ear 28, coupled to a cable 20 at a joint including two rotational axes, a1 and a2, that are each oriented in a respective plane, p, parallel to one another while being perpendicular to a vertical tower axis (mtva is the INME tower vertical axis in the tower of the combination). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the joint to include two rotational axes that are each oriented in a respective plane parallel to one another while being perpendicular to a vertical tower axis for a strong, easy to operate, connection.
Claims 23-26 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over INME in view Mtauweg and Saez Anthonisen (11,971,012).
23. The claim recites an obvious method of installing the INME in view of Mtauweg wind turbine, but does not expressly teach after tensioning, installing the energy generating unit on the tower. Saez Anthonisen teachs after tensioning, installing the energy generating unit on the tower, col. 5, lines 17-46, and figs. 1 and 10. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to after tensioning, install the energy generating unit on the tower for safety.
24. INME in view of Mtauweg and Saez Anthonisen teaches the method of claim 23, INME further teaching after attaching the interface module to the upper tower section and prior to installing the energy generating unit, the method further comprises installing an additional interface module on the at least one upper tower section, fig. 9, and installing an additional upper tower section on the additional interface module, fig. 9, wherein the at least one upper tower section includes a wall, and a second flange that extends inwardly from the wall, the second flange including a plurality of through-bores and wherein installing the at least one upper tower section includes aligning the through-bores of the second flange with the through-bores of each of the interface module and the first flange and inserting fasteners (bolts) through the aligned through-bores of each of the upper tower section, the interface module, and the at least one upper tower section (fig. 9 shows two interface modules 3 with flanged tower segments above, between and below).
25. INME in view of Mtauweg and Saez Anthonisen teaches the method of claim 23, Saez Anthonisen further teaching prior to installing the interface module, the method further comprises attaching one or more of the plurality of cables to one or more of the plurality of ears, fig. 10. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention prior to installing the interface module, the method further comprises attaching one or more of the plurality of cables to one or more of the plurality of ears because it easier to attach the cables on the ground.
26. INME in view of Mtauweg and Saez Anthonisen teaches the method of claim 25, Saez Anthonisen further teaching installing the interface module includes separating the attached cables to create an opening sized to allow the upper tower section and any previously installed lower tower section to pass through the opening (fig. 10 shows the cables separated and such an opening created. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention prior to installing the interface module, including separating the attached cables to create an opening sized to allow the upper tower section and any previously installed lower tower section to pass through the opening so the tower sections do not interfere with the cables.
Claim 27 -is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over INME in view of Mtauweg and in further view of Stevens (7,938,384).
27. INME in view of Mtauweg does not comprising one or more flexible arms each having a first end and an opposite second end, the first end being coupled to one of the one or more ears, and the second end being coupled to one of the plurality of cables. Stevens teaches flexible arms (a “turnbuckle” is axially flexible) each having a first end and an opposite second end, the first end being coupled to a tower, and the second end being coupled to cables. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for INME to have a turnbuckle for cable tension.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Pages 14-15
“The rejection relies critically on Mtauweg to teach the "plurality of second through-bores spaced apart from the plurality of through-bores" in the lower tower flange and the corresponding "plurality of additional bores" in the interface module. See Office Action, pages 3-4. However, this reliance is based on a fundamental misreading of Mtauweg's structure. The Examiner's annotated figure on page 4 of the Office Action suggests that Mtauweg's connecting elements 200 constitute a separate intermediate interface module positioned between tower sections. This interpretation is incorrect and contradicted by Mtauweg's own specification”
To the contrary, the rejection of claim 1 simply states that “Mtauweg teaches a flange of a lower section including second through-bores tb2 spaced apart from through-bores th and additional bores ab that align with the second through-bores in the inwardly directed flange of the lower section”. As such, the rejection never contends Mtauweg teaches additional bores “in the interface module”, as the interface module claim element is taught by primary reference, Inner Mongolia, not Mtauweg. Examiner's annotated figure does not suggest Mtauweg's connecting elements 200 “constitute a separate intermediate interface module positioned between tower sections”, as Examiner fully understands that “floating” connecting elements 200 are part of the upper tower portion 101.
Page 16
In response to applicant's argument that “Mtauweg Teaches a Two-Component Direct Connection System, Not a Three-Component Sandwich Structure” and that “Mtauweg provides no teaching about adding features to, or modifying, an intermediate interface module, because Mtauweg has no such intermediate module”, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, secondary reference Mtauweg is used solely for the teaching of a flange of a lower section including second through-bores tb2 spaced apart from through-bores and additional bores that align with the second through-bores in the inwardly directed flange of the lower section.
Page 17
“Because Mtauweg's connecting elements 200 are part of the tower structure itself (not a separate component secured between tower sections), Mtauweg cannot possibly teach "additional bores in the interface module".
Again, it is primary reference, IMNE, that teaches the interface module, not Mtauweg. The modification is to add second bore holes to the IMNE intermediate flange, Mtauweg teaching second bore holes in a flange.
Page 18
“the Examiner has not explained how to physically make the combination” because it is unclear where the additional bores would be located.
The additional bores would clearly be positioned on the INME intermediate flange at a location closer radially to the flange center just as the Mtauweg additional bores are located closer on the flange, radially to the flange center than the Mtauweg primary (outer) bores.
In response to applicant's argument that IMNE's interface module 3 is a ring that occupies the space between the tower flanges, and this ring has ears extending outwardly for cable attachment; but where on this ring would the "additional bores" allegedly from Mtauweg be added, again, the additional bores would be positioned on the INME intermediate flange at a location closer radially to the flange center just as the Mtauweg additional bores are located closer radially to the flange center than the Mtauweg primary (outer) bores.
Page 19
“Mtauweg actually teaches away from using intermediate interface modules or flange-based connection systems” because Mtauweg states that “[a] particular advantage of the connecting element is that the formation of an annular, in particular circular ring- shaped, flange can be dispensed with”
This is clearly not teaching away because primary reference to IMNE teaches the ring-shaped flange, and it is therefore not teaching away to add the Mtauweg secondary bores.
“When a reference teaches that avoiding a particular structure is advantageous, it teaches away from that structure. See In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 553 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (a reference teaches away when it suggests that the line of development flowing from the reference's disclosure is unlikely to be productive)”
In this case, this argument only applies if the modification was to change the IMNE flange to one that is discontinuous and not annular, and this is of course, not the modification.
Page 20
“IMNE already provides a complete, functioning connection system with fasteners 5 extending through aligned bores in the interface module 3 and tower flanges 21. There is no teaching that this system is inadequate or that additional fasteners would be beneficial”
Additional fasteners would clearly be beneficial, as depending on the number added, the significant tensile forces on the flange bolts exerted by wind loads transmitted from the turbine blades to the tower sections would be reduced. Just because a device provides a benefit does not mean it cannot be modified to enhance such benefit.
“the Examiner has not explained why one of ordinary skill, seeking to work with or improve IMNE's cable-stabilized tower system, would look to Mtauweg's non-cable, direct-connection system”
Once again, the Mtauweg reference is used solely for the teaching that it is old in the art to use secondary bores.
“the Examiner's reasoning does not satisfy this requirement for "articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning."”
As indicated, the rational underpinning is the direct link between additional fasteners (secondary bores) and increased resistance to the significant tensile forces on the flange bolts exerted by wind loads transmitted from the turbine blades to adjacent, bolt-connected tower sections.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The claims are allowed because while Mayfield teaches the two rotational axes are spaced apart by a flexible chain, and the chain “may be replaced by…other suitable component”, col. 22, lines 50-55, absent impermissible hindsight, it would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the chain to be replaced by a flexible arm.
Claims 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The claims are allowed because while Mayfield teaches the two rotational axes are spaced apart by a flexible chain, and the chain “may be replaced by…other suitable component”, col. 22, lines 50-55, absent impermissible hindsight, it would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the chain to be replaced by a flexible arm.
Claims 28 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The claim is allowed because the ring further including a stop and the flexible arm includes a stop that is configured to contact the stop on the ring to provide a limit to rotational movement of the flexible arm when the flexible arm rotates toward the foundation is not taught by the references.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nies (2011/0131898), figs. 7c-d, teaches threaded hub bores.
/DANIEL J KENNY/Examiner, Art Unit 3633