CTNF 18/567,914 CTNF 89143 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-09 Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has complied with all of the conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e). 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 12/07/2023, 12/13/2024, 04/11/2025, 05/21/2025, and 09/10/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Drawings The drawings received on 12/07/2023 were reviewed and are acceptable. Specification The specification filed on 12/07/2023 was reviewed and is acceptable. Claim Objections Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “Transportation apparatus” in line 1 should be replaced with --A transportation apparatus--. 07-29-01 AIA Claim (s) 10-15 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: “The method” in line 1 should be replaced with --The manufacturing method --. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim(s) 2-3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 2 and 3 recite “ the outer body turning from a main surface of a positive electrode current collecting foil , the positive electrode current collecting foil being provided on a side of the positive electrode layer opposite the solid electrolyte layer, toward the side surface of the positive electrode layer , and… the outer body turning from a main surface of a negative electrode current collecting foil , the negative electrode current collecting foil being provided on a side of the negative electrode layer opposite the solid electrolyte layer, toward the side surface of the negative electrode layer ” (emphasis added), which is unclear as to what is precisely being required. For purposes of this Office Action, it will be assumed that any structure similar to that of the Instant Fig 3 will reasonably read on the recited limitations. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 9 recites the limitation “ the positive electrode layer ” in lines 2-3 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sasaki et al. (US 2022/0059889 A1; hereinafter “Sasaki”) . Regarding claim 1 , Sasaki discloses a solid electrolyte battery (Title) comprising: a charge-discharge body including a positive electrode layer (31), a negative electrode layer (21), and a solid electrolyte layer (40) disposed between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer ([0033]), and outer body (10) housing the charge-discharge body (as shown in Fig 1), and a collector (terminal 60) exposed to the outside of the outer body at one end and electrically connected to the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer at the other end ([0033])m wherein the outer body is formed of a heat welding layer (heat sealable resin layer 4) covering the charge-discharge body from the outside (as shown in Figs 1 and 8) and including an insulative first resin (e.g. polyethylene, [0141]), a heat resistant layer (adhesive layer 5) stacked on the outside of the heat welding layer (as shown in Fig 8) and including an insulative second resin (e.g. polyamide, [0096]) having a higher melting point than the first resin (as evidenced by the Instant Specification, see e.g. claim 5), and a metal layer (barrier layer 3) stacked on the outside of the heat resistant layer (as shown in Fig 8) and including metal (e.g. metal foils, [0108]), and the heat welding layer is welded to the periphery of the charge-discharge body and thus the charge-discharge body is sealed by the outer body ([0191]). Regarding claim 2 , Sasaki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Sasaki further discloses, in as best as the Examiner understands the claim in light of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, that a space is formed between the outer body and a side surface of the positive electrode layer without any contact between the side surface of the positive electrode layer and the outer body in the space (as shown in annotated Fig 1 below), the outer body turning from a main surface of a positive electrode current collecting foil, the positive electrode current collecting foil being provided on a side of the positive electrode layer opposite the solid electrolyte layer, toward the side surface of the positive electrode layer (as shown in Fig 1), and a space is formed between the outer body and a side surface of the negative electrode layer without any contact between the side surface of the negative electrode layer and the outer body in the space (as shown in annotated Fig 1 below), the outer body turning from a main surface of a negative electrode current collecting foil, the negative electrode current collecting foil being provided on a side of the negative electrode layer opposite the solid electrolyte layer, toward the side surface of the negative electrode layer (as shown in Fig 1). PNG media_image1.png 256 684 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 3 , Sasaki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Sasaki further discloses, in as best as the Examiner understands the claim in light of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, the outer body is welded along a side surface of the positive electrode layer ([0191]; side welded surfaces are behind or in front of Fig 1), the outer body turning from a main surface of a positive electrode current collecting foil, the positive electrode current collecting foil being provided on a side of the positive electrode layer opposite the solid electrolyte layer, toward the side surface of the positive electrode layer (as shown in Fig 1), and the outer body is welded along a side surface of the negative electrode layer ([0191]; side welded surfaces are behind or in front of Fig 1), the outer body turning from a main surface of a negative electrode current collecting foil, the negative electrode current collecting foil being provided on a side of the negative electrode layer opposite the solid electrolyte layer, toward the side surface of the negative electrode layer (as shown in Fig 1). Regarding claims 4 and 5 , Sasaki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Sasaki further discloses that second resin of the heat resistant layer is a heat resistant resin including engineering plastic, specifically polyamide (e.g. polyamide, [0096]). Regarding claim 6 , Sasaki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. With respect to the limitations of claim 6 , it is noted that the limitations are directed to non-selected options of parent claim 4 . For example, claim 4 explicitly recites that “a heat resistant resin including engineering plastic or super engineering plastic” (emphasis added). Accordingly, the limitations of claim 6 are reasonably considered to be optional limitations which depend upon the selection of a super engineering plastic recited in claim 4 , and which in this case have not been selected because Sasaki discloses the use of an engineering plastic, as noted above. Regarding claim 7 , Sasaki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Sasaki further discloses that the charge-discharge body includes a plurality of combinations, each combination including the positive electrode layer, the negative electrode layer, and that solid electrolyte layer (as shown in Figs 1-4). Regarding claim 8 , Sasaki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Sasaki further discloses [a] transportation apparatus (e.g. electric cars, [0007]) that travels by an electric motor driven by power of a solid electrolyte battery (as indicated by the term “electric cars”), the solid electrolyte battery being the recited solid electrolyte battery (as noted above) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (US 2022/0059889 A1; hereinafter “Sasaki”) in view of Yoshioka et al. (US 2013/0273437 A1; hereinafter “Yoshioka”) and Jang et al. (US 2022/0234260 A1; hereinafter “Jang”) . Regarding claim 9 , Sasaki discloses a manufacturing method for a solid electrolyte battery (Title), the solid electrolyte battery including a charge-discharge body including [a] positive electrode layer (31), a negative electrode layer (21), a solid electrolyte layer (40) disposed between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer ([0033]), a positive electrode current collecting foil (32) electrically connected to the positive electrode layer ([0033]), and a negative electrode current collecting foil (22) electrically connected to the negative electrode layer ([0033]). Sasaki discloses a manufacturing method of the solid electrolyte battery (Title), but does not disclose that the process of adhering the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer to the solid electrolyte layer is a pressurization process, by warm isostatic press. Yoshioka teaches an all solid state battery (Title). Yoshioka teaches that, while the method for stacking green sheets (of the positive electrode, the negative electrode, and the solid electrolyte) is not particularly limited, warm isostatic pressing may be used ([0037]). Sasaki and Yoshioka are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely solid state batteries. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the solid electrolyte battery of Sasaki must actually be made, and would thus find it obvious to utilize warm isostatic pressing to adhere the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer to the solid electrolyte layer, as suggested by Yoshioka, and because doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known method for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result, namely producing a solid state battery. However, modified Sasaki does not disclose the particular conditions for performing said warm isostatic pressing. Jang teaches an isostatic press apparatus (Title). Jang teaches that warm isostatic pressing (WIP) uses a liquid heated to 250° C ([0003]). Jang further teaches that the isostatic press apparatus includes a pressure vessel configured to press the workpiece using the pressure of a pressurized liquid ([0012]). Jang analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely warm isostatic pressing. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the warm isostatic pressing of modified Sasaki must actually be performed using some apparatus, and would thus find it obvious to utilize an isostatic press apparatus comprising a pressure vessel and a liquid at 250° C or lower, as suggested by Jang, and because doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known apparatus for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result, namely warm isostatic pressing. The skilled artisan would find it further obvious to routinely select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges (250° C or lower completely overlaps 140° C to 250° C) because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (US 2022/0059889 A1; hereinafter “Sasaki”) in view of Yoshioka et al. (US 2013/0273437 A1; hereinafter “Yoshioka”) and Jang et al. (US 2022/0234260 A1; hereinafter “Jang”), as applied to claim 9 above, in further view of Li et al. (CN 111969252 A; hereinafter “Li”; see attached machine translation for reference) . Regarding claims 10-12 , modified Sasaki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sasaki discloses warm isostatic pressing (as noted above), but does not disclose the specific pressures or running time of the pressing, and therefore does not explicitly disclose a pressurization pressure of 100 to 1000 MPa, 500 to 1000 MPa, nor a running time of 10 sec to 10 min. Li teaches a solid state battery (Title). Li teaches that the solid state battery may be formed via a warm isostatic press, in a heating temperature range of 100 to 300° C, at a pressure of 50 to 650 MPa, for a time of 5 to 180 min (pg. 19, ¶4 to pg. 20 ¶1). Li is analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely solid state batteries and warm isostatic pressing. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the warm isostatic pressing of modified Sasaki must actually be performed at some pressure for some period of time, and thus would find it obvious to utilize a pressure of 50 to 650 MPa for a time of 5 to 180 min, as suggested by Li. The skilled artisan would find it further obvious to routinely select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges (50 to 650 MPa significantly overlaps 100 to 1000 MPa or 500 to 1000 MPa, and 5 to 180 min significantly overlaps 10 sec to 10 min) because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim 16 is allowed. 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance and/or indication of allowable subject matter. The present invention is related to, inter alia , a manufacturing method for a solid electrolyte battery comprising: ( claim 13 ) the charge-discharge body including the outer body is pressurized by the warm isostatic press; and ( claim 16 ) a pressurization process, by warm isostatic press, of housing the charge-discharge body in a pressure resistant container, and supplying a pressurized gas. Yoshioka et al. (US 2013/0273437 A1; hereinafter “Yoshioka”) is considered to be the closest relevant prior art to dependent claim 13 . Sasaki in view of Yoshioka and Jang discloses most of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Yoshioka does not disclose, teach, fairly suggest, nor render obvious the recited warm isostatic pressing of the solid electrolyte battery including the outer body. To the contrary, Yoshioka explicitly teaches that the green sheets of the electrode assembly are stacked via warm isostatic pressing ([0037]), and thus there does not appear to be any reasonable basis for the skilled artisan to abandon the stacking process of Yoshioka and be directed towards warm isostatic pressing after the electrode assembly is placed into the housing, i.e. outer body, because the electrode assembly would necessarily be formed already before placement into the housing, thus obviating the need for warm isostatic pressing. Jang et al. (US 2022/0234260 A1; hereinafter “Jang”) is considered to be the closest relevant prior art to independent claim 16 . Sasaki in view of Yoshioka and Jang discloses most of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Jang does not disclose, teach, fairly suggest, nor render obvious the recited pressurized gas. To the contrary, Jang explicitly discloses that hot isostatic pressing uses a pressurized gas at significantly higher temperatures than warm isostatic pressing ([0003]). Accordingly, there does not appear to be any reasonable basis for the skilled artisan to abandon the warm isostatic pressing of modified Sasaki and be directed towards utilizing a pressurized gas, and thus hot isostatic pressing, because doing so would require significantly higher temperatures in a substantially different process. 13-03 Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAMES M ERWIN whose telephone number is (571)272-3101. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday: 6am-3pm PDT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nicole Buie-Hatcher can be reached at 571-270-3879. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 06/10/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/567,914 Page 2 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/567,914 Page 3 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/567,914 Page 4 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/567,914 Page 5 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/567,914 Page 6 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/567,914 Page 8 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/567,914 Page 9 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/567,914 Page 10 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/567,914 Page 11 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/567,914 Page 12 Art Unit: 1725