DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites b is 10 or more but depends from claim 1 which states that b is 2-200. Since claim 6 recites a range that is open ended, claim 6 is indefinite because it is unclear whether it is meant to be limited by the range of claim 1. It is suggested that the range of claim 6 be amended to recite a range of 10-200.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of copending Application No. 18/568,001 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims recite a composition of the same polycarbonate-polysiloxane block copolymer as recited in the instant claims and the copending claims recite polymers including methyl methacrylate-butadiene-styrene (copending claim 17) which meets the styrene based resin of the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto (US 2018/0230305).
Okamoto teaches a polycarbonate-polyorganosiloxane copolymer (abstract) which can be used to form a composition that includes an additive including a copolymer (B) which includes units derived from acrylonitrile and styrene (abstract) and thus are a styrene resin and includes examples such as ABS (¶ 127). Okamoto teaches the amount of the copolymer is 8-100 pbm based on 100 pbm copolymer (A) (¶25) which is about 4-50 wt% and meets claim 16.
Okamoto teaches the polycarbonate-polyorganosiloxane copolymer can be derived from a polysiloxane such as
(¶77) where R3-R6 can be a C1-C6 alkyl group (¶ 63) and where Sasaki teaches polydimethylsiloxane (¶ 79, 211, 222) which has R3-R6 as methyl groups. These meet the claimed R1-R4 of formula (1). Okamoto teaches n is the average chain length and which Okamoto teaches is 20-500, preferably 30-150 (¶19, 55, 63) which meets the claimed ‘a’ of formula (1) in claim 1 and claim 5. The ethylene group -(CH2)2- adjacent to the silicon atom meets the claimed R6 of Formula (1) of claim 1. The structure in Okamoto meets claimed formula (1) when u is 1, z is 0, R8 is a methyl group (CH2), and b is 2. The structure of Okamoto also meets formula (1-1) of claim 7 when z1 is 0, R7 is a methylene group, b1 is 2, and R5 is an ethylene group.
Okamoto teaches the polycarbonate-polyorganosiloxane copolymer can be derived from a polysiloxane such as
(¶ 77) where R3-R6 can be a C1-C6 alkyl group (¶ 63) and where Sasaki teaches polydimethylsiloxane (¶ 79, 211, 222) which has R3-R6 as methyl groups. These meet the claimed R1-R4 of formula (1). Okamoto teaches n is the average chain length and which Okamoto teaches is 20-500, preferably 30-150 (¶19, 55, 63) which meets the claimed ‘a’ of formula (1) in claim 1 and claim 5. The methylethylene group -(CHMeCH2)- adjacent to the silicon atom meets the claimed R6 of Formula (1) of claim 1 and claim 10. The structure in Okamoto meets claimed formula (1) when u is 1, z is 0, R8 is a -CMe2Ph- group and a Ph-OH group and b is 2. The structure of Okamoto also meets formula (1-1) of claim 7. Okamoto teaches examples of linking groups to the siloxane groups include (CH2)c where c is 1-6 (¶68) which meets the ‘trimethylene’ of claim 9.
Okamoto teaches the polycarbonate-polyorganosiloxane has a viscosity molecular weight of 10,000-25,000 (¶102) and that the amount of polyorganosilane in the copolymer is 2-15 mass% (¶101). This gives an amount of polycarbonate of 85-98 mass% and corresponds to a molecular weight of 8,500-24,500. When the monomeric unit is derived from bisphenol A (¶ 96, 100), the corresponding monomeric unit of the polycarbonate has a molecular weight of about 254, giving about 33-96 repeat units. This range meets ‘y’ of formula (1) in claim 1.
Okamoto teaches the polycarbonate can be derived from bisphenol A (¶ 96, 100) which meets structure (111) of claim 2 when X is a C3 alkylene group, claim 3, and formula (a-v) of claim 4.
Okamoto does not explicitly recite the claimed elongation at break of 25% or more. However, Okamoto teaches polysiloxanes and polysiloxane/polycarbonate copolymers falling in the scope of the instant claims. As Okamoto teaches the same blends of polyester and polysiloxane/polycarbonate as claimed, the blends of Ishikawa are expected to have the same properties, including elongation at break, as the claimed blends. Case law holds that a material and its properties are inseparable. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Okamoto does not explicitly recite the polysiloxane/polycarbonate is formed in a melt polymerization method. However, claims 17-18 is recited in the product-by-process format by use of the language, “obtained by a melt polymerization method…” and “obtained by using” Case law holds that:
Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). To the extent that the process limitations in a product-by-process claim do not carry weight absent a showing of criticality, the reference discloses the claimed product in the sense that the prior art product structure is seen to be no different from that indicated by the claims.
Okamoto teaches forming molded bodies (¶ 32, 130) which meets claim 19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 recite the value of b is 10 or more. The prior art fails to teach the structural features recited in claims 6 and therefore no prior art rejections are presented over this claim.
Conclusion
/ROBERT C BOYLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764