DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: because reference character “106” has been used to designate both plugs ([0023]) and ribs ([0029]).
Appropriate correction is required.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 4, 6– 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Helnerus (US 20210107368).
Regarding claim 1, Helnerus teaches an electric vehicle charging structure (figure 1 shows an electric vehicle charging station items 4 and 6) comprising:
a base portion including a front surface and a rear surface (figure 2 shows a base defined in paragraph [0108] as a docking station with a front and rear surface);
a base compartment that is rigidly coupled to the base portion the base compartment defined by a base compartment upper surface and a base compartment lower surface that each protrude away from the front surface of the base portion (figure 2 shows a base compartment item 20 defined as a tray assembly rigidly coupled to the base item 4. Figure 2 shows the base compartment, tray assembly item 20 with protruding away from the front surface of the base portion);
an electrical connector passing through the base compartment upper surface at a specified location (figures 5 and 7 show an electrical connector item 56 defined in paragraph [0129] as a plug which corresponds to the socket of power connection item 42);
a conduit entry opening in the base compartment configured to allow insertion of electrical service conductors to inside the base compartment (figure 5 shows conduits defined as openings items 74 and 80 which allow conductors into the base compartment);
a power terminal inside the base compartment, the power terminal configured to removably secure the electrical service conductors (figure 5 shows a power terminal, interpreted as a power module 50 with removable service conductors, interpreted as charging connections); and
an internal electrical conductor inside the base compartment electrically coupling the power terminal to the electrical connector (figure 5 shows an internal electrical connector, interpreted as a connector item 60 to connect the power terminal item 50 to the electrical connector (plug) item 56).
Helnerus Figure 2 shows a vehicle charging system with a base portion, item 4, a vehicle charging portion or base compartment item 20 with a cover item 26
Regarding claim 2, Helnerus teaches the electric vehicle charging structure of Claim 1 wherein the base portion includes a plurality of attachment openings configured to receive respective attachment protrusions of a main unit that is configured to mate with the base portion via the electrical connector (figure 2 shows a plurality of attachment openings item 16 to receive protrusions defined as webs item 18).
Regarding claim 3, Helnerus teaches the electric vehicle charging structure of Claim 1 wherein the internal electrical conductor is included on a printed circuit board (figure 3 shows printed circuit boards items 34 and 36. Figure 5 shows a circuit board item 50 with conductors).
Regarding claim 4, Helnerus teaches the electric vehicle charging structure of Claim 3 wherein the power terminal is mounted on the printed circuit board (figure 3 shows printed circuit boards items 34 and 36. Figure 5 shows a circuit board item 50 with conductors).
Regarding claim 6, Helnerus teaches the electric vehicle charging structure of Claim 1 wherein the base portion includes a channel recessed into the front surface of the base portion and extending from an upper edge of the base portion to beneath the base compartment upper surface (figure 2 shows a recessed channel item 14a and 14b).
Regarding claim 7, Helnerus teaches the electric vehicle charging structure of Claim 6 further comprising: a first removeable cover enclosing the channel (figure 2 shows a removable cover item 12 defined in paragraph [0128] as a housing).
Regarding claim 8, Helnerus teaches the electric vehicle charging structure of Claim 1 further comprising: a second removeable cover coupled to the base compartment upper and lower surfaces to enclose the base compartment (figure 2 shows a second removable cover item 26 defined in paragraph [0109] as a lid assembly).
Regarding claim 9, Helnerus teaches the electric vehicle charging structure of Claim 6 wherein the conduit entry opening comprises a first conduit entry opening, the structure further comprising: a second conduit entry opening proximate to an upper end of the base portion; a first rib protruding from front surface of the base portion on a first side of the second conduit entry opening aligned to a first side surface the channel; a second rib protruding from front surface of the base portion on a second side of the second conduit entry opening aligned to a second side surface the channel (figures 2 – 5 show a plurality of conduits and plurality of ribs protruding from the from surface of the base portion )
Regarding claim 10, Helnerus teaches the electric vehicle charging structure of Claim 9 further comprising: a removeable cover extending conformally over the channel from the base compartment upper surface conforming to the first and second ribs to end at the second conduit entry opening (figure 2 shows a removable cover items 12 and lid item 26 conforming over the channel from the base compartment upper surface to the second conduit entry opening)
Regarding claim 11, Helnerus teaches the electric vehicle charging structure of Claim 1 wherein the electrical connector comprises a first electrical connector at a first specified location and the conduit entry opening comprises a first conduit entry opening, the structure further comprising: a main unit comprising: a back surface configured to removably mate in close contact with the front surface of the base portion, the back surface of the main unit including a slot located opposite, and shaped to allow insertion of, a first rib and a second rib and a second conduit entry opening in the slot; a stepped surface extending horizontally from the back surface; and a second electrical connector extending through the stepped surface to an interior of the main unit at a second specified location that is configured to removably mate in close contact with the first electrical connector (figures 2 – 5 show a plurality of ribs and conduits to allow the connection of the cover and lids).
Regarding claim 12, Helnerus teaches the electric vehicle charging structure of Claim 1 further comprising a gasket located between the front surface of the base portion and the base compartment (paragraph [0063] discloses wherein a gasket, interpreted as a sealing of the docking station is provided between the base and the base compartment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helnerus (US 20210107368) in view of Brown (US 20110169447).
Regarding claim 5, Helnerus teaches the electric vehicle charging structure of Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the base portion includes a plurality of strap slots extending through the base portion.
Brown teaches wherein the base portion includes a plurality of strap slots extending through the base portion (figure 12 shows a plurality strap slots items 81 and 85. Paragraph [0070] – [0071] discloses wherein there are two item 81 slots, interpreted as pivot attachment points for straps to the housing. Figure 23 shows slots in base portion which may receive strap).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Helnerus reference with the charging system of the Brown reference so that the EVSE device may be secured on a post or in a storage space.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Brown reference in paragraph [0057] wherein the slots are provided for securing the EVSE.
Brown figure 12 shows slots on the back item 81
Regarding claim 13, Helnerus teaches an electric vehicle charging structure (figure 1 shows an electric vehicle charging station item 6) comprising:
a main unit including: a back surface configured to removably mate in close contact with a front surface of a base portion of an electric vehicle charging structure (figure 2 shows a base defined in paragraph [0108] as a docking station with a front and rear surface);
a slot in the back surface shaped to allow insertion of first and second ribs and a conduit entry opening of the base portion, in the slot (figures 5 and 7 shows a slot in the back surface items 80 defined in paragraph [0141] as a recess to receive ribs and a conduit opening. Figure 3 shows ribs which are inserted into the slow)
a plurality of attachment openings protruding from the back surface at locations corresponding to locations of respective attachment openings in a front surface of the base portion (figure 7 shows a plurality of attachments protruding item 18 defined in paragraph [0110] as webs which correspond to locations to attach to the base or docking station item 4);
a main unit electrical connector extending through the stepped surface to an interior of the main unit at a specified location corresponding to a location of a base portion electrical connector, wherein the main unit electrical connector is configured to electrically couple to electrical service conductors secured to a power terminal of the base portion (figure 5 shows an internal electrical connector, interpreted as a connector item 60 to connect the power terminal item 50 to the electrical connector (plug) item 56).
Helnerus does not explicitly teach wherein a stepped surface extending horizontally from the back surface.
Brown teaches a stepped surface extending horizontally from the back surface (shown in figures 23 – 25 show a stepped surfaces item 164, 166, 168 and 182 defined in paragraph [0086] as L-shaped panels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Helnerus reference with the charging system of the Brown reference so that the EVSE device may be secured on a post or in a storage space.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Brown reference in paragraph [0057] wherein the slots are provided for securing the EVSE.
Regarding claim 14, Helnerus teaches the electric vehicle charging structure of Claim 13 further comprising: an electrical receptacle extending through a front surface of the main unit, the electrical receptacle electrically coupled to conductors included in the main unit electrical connector to provide power at the electrical receptacle when the main unit is coupled to the base portion of the electric vehicle charging structure via the main unit electrical connector coupled to the base portion electrical connector (figure 2 shows an electrical receptacle interpreted, item 24 defined in paragraph [0111] as a charging socket which is electrically coupled to conductors within the charging station).
Claims 15 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helnerus (US 20210107368) in view of Bukow (US 20120007555 ).
Regarding claim 15, Helnerus teaches the electric vehicle charging structure (figure 1 item 6 defined in paragraph [0105] as a charging station) comprising:
a base portion of the electric vehicle charging structure having a front surface (figures 1 and 2 show a base portion item 4 interpreted as a docking station as defined in paragraph [0104]); and
a main unit of the electric vehicle charging structure having a back surface that includes a main unit electrical connector surface so that the main unit electrical connector and the base portion electrical connector mate together into close contact when the main unit of the electric vehicle charging structure is lowered onto the base portion (figure 5 shows a main unit item 20 having a back surface with an electrical connector item 56 to couple to connector item 42)
Helnerus discloses a base portion with a connector (shown in figure 4 item 42 facing forward configured to provide electrical power at the base portion, but does not explicitly teach wherein the base portion includes a base portion electrical connector facing in an upward direction at a first location configured, nor a main unit with an electrical connector facing in downward direction that is opposite to the upward direction at a second location.
Bukow teaches wherein the base portion includes a base portion electrical connector facing in an upward direction at a first location configured (figure 2 shows a base portion item 200 defined in paragraph [0024] as a smart wall plate with a connector item 225 facing in an upward direction at first location),
Bukow teaches a main unit with an electrical connector facing in downward direction that is opposite to the upward direction at a second location (shown in figure 2B as a portable electronic device item 250. Paragraph [0046] discloses wherein the electrical connector within the mobile device may be female-oriented or facing downward to connect with the male-oriented or upward direction of the base portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Helnerus reference with the charging system of the Bukow reference so that the EVSE device may easily be charged in a convenient location.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Brown reference in paragraph [0001] wherein the wall plate allows the device to be charged in a convenient location.
Bukow figure 2A shows base portion with a connector facing upward
Regarding claim 16, Helnerus teaches the electric vehicle charging structure of Claim 15 further comprising:
a plurality of attachment openings in the front surface of the base portion (figure 2 shows a plurality of attachment openings item 16 to receive protrusions defined as webs item 18); and
a plurality of attachment protrusions protruding from the back surface of the main unit, wherein the plurality of attachment openings and the plurality of attachment protrusions are located to mate together in close contact when the main unit of the electric vehicle charging structure is coupled to the base portion (figure 2 shows a plurality of attachment openings item 16 to receive protrusions defined as webs item 18).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 11735873 B1 Powered Wall Plate Baldwin; Jeffrey P.
Us 7804274 B2 Vehicle Charging Station Baxter; David Et Al.
Us 20090284216 A1 Hybrid-Charging Apparatus Bessa; Jerry S. Et Al.
Us 20160207408 A1 Electric Vehicle Charging Bianco; James S. Et Al.
Us 9216654 B2 Electric Vehicle Charging Station Biedrzycki; Timothy
Us 20130175083 A1 Double Walled EV Charging Station Bonwit; Holden Alexander
Us 20220063438 A1 Electric Vehicle Charging Device Choi; Gun Young Et Al.
Us 20160254613 A1 Connector Module Choi; Sang Wook Et Al.
Us D711315 S Dual Electric Vehicle Charging Station Chin-Ho Kim; Darren Et Al.
Us 8864517 B2 Power Transmission Module Cohen; Avraham
Us 9139102 B2 Electric Vehicle Charging Station Deboer; John Et Al.
Us 20140239887 A1 Battery Charger Hamada; Mitsuharu Et Al.
Us 20200227903 A1 Charging Box Unit Helnerus; Stefan Et Al.
Us 20120229085 A1 Street Lights Charging Lau; David M. K.
Us 20220032794 A1 Modularized EVSE Lee; David Day Et Al.
Us 20220105817 A1 Charging Assembly Næsje; Kjetil Et Al.
Us 20170025886 A1 Wireless Charger Rohmer; Richard M. Et Al.
Us 20110246014 A1 Conductive Power Refueling Sauper; Eckhard
Us 20220266707 A1 Ev Charging Station Treadway; Peter
Us 20100013434 A1 Charging Station Taylor-Haw; Calvey Kenneth Et Al.
Us 11225159 B2 Charging Station Waffner; Jürgen Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859