DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, line 4, “a rotational body” should read –the rotational body--.
In claim 26, line 3, “a rotational body” should read –the rotational body--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14, 16-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kramer WO 2008074171 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kramer teaches a flat key for a cylinder lock (fig. 11a)comprising a key bow and a key shank (fig. 11a) extending substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the key (axis through the center of 5) and having a key tip (distal end of key with surface 11), wherein at least one surface code (11) formed for interrogation in the cylinder lock-is arranged on the end face of the key tip (fig. 7b), wherein at least one additional code (10.9) with a further scanning surface (F1) is provided on the end face-of the key tip, wherein the additional code at least partially overlaps the surface code such that a portion of the additional code extends beyond the surface code onto the end face (fig. 9B shows the additional code extends toward the end face of the key in the same manner that the applicant’s does and therefore is interpreted as partially overlapping the surface code), and wherein the further scanning surface of the additional code has a three dimensional shape corresponding at least partially to the circumferential surface of a rotational body (40.9; fig. 11a) and differs in shape from the scanning surface of the surface code (fig. 9a,9b), the further scanning surface being exposed at and accessible from the end face of the key tip (fig. 11a shows surface being engaged from the end face of the key tip).
Regarding claim 2, Kramer teaches the flat key according to according to claim 1, wherein the surface code has a substantially non-linear course at least partially along a spatial axis x, y or z (fig. 9a).
Regarding claim 3, Kramer teaches the flat key-according to according claim 1, wherein the surface code has a substantially non-linear course at least partially along two spatial axes x and y, y and z, or x and z (fig. 9a).
Regarding claim 4, Kramer teaches the flat key according to claim 3, wherein the surface code has a substantially non-linear course at least partially along all three spatial axes x, y and z (fig. 9a, b).
Regarding claim 5, Kramer teaches the flat key according to claim 1, wherein at least one first surface code (11 on one side of face) is arranged on the end face-of the key tip for interrogation in the cylinder lock, and
at least one second surface code (11 on opposite side of face) is arranged on the end face of the key tip for interrogation in the cylinder lock, wherein
at least the surface codes are substantially congruent and rotated by an angle of approximately 180 degrees with respect to the longitudinal axis of the key, so that the flat key can also be used as a reversible key (fig. 9a shows both well).
Regarding claim 6, Kramer teaches the flat key according to claim 1, wherein the surface codes run for the most part, in particular exclusively, on the end face-of the key tip (fig. 9a).
Regarding claim 7, Kramer teaches the flat key according to claim 1, wherein the surface codes are shaped in the form of recesses with scanning surfaces on the end face of the key tip (fig. 11a), the scanning surfaces corresponding substantially to the circumferential surfaces of the rotational body (40.9) with a rotational axis (41.3) and preferably being shaped as millings (milling cutter).
Regarding claim 8, Kramer teaches the flat key according to claim 7, wherein the rotational body (40.9) has an analytically describable cross-sectional geometry in one, two or all three spatial axes (fig. 11a, 11b).
Regarding claim 9, Kramer teaches the flat key according to claim 7, wherein the rotational body (40.9)is substantially a sphere, a cylinder, a cone, a truncated cone or an ellipsoid (40.9).
Regarding claim 10, Kramer teaches the flat key according to claim 7, wherein the rotational axis is inclined at an angle a to the longitudinal axis of the key, the angle a being about 45 degrees to 90 degrees, preferably about 75 degrees (fig. 12 shows 90 degrees between the two axis).
Regarding claim 11, Kramer teaches the flat key according to claim 7, wherein the rotational axis is inclined at an angle a to a transverse plane (y plane shown in figure 11b) of the flat key the angle a being about 45 degrees to 90 degrees, preferably about 85 degrees (fig. 12 shows an angle W3 between the y plane and the rotational axis which is about 45 degrees; please note about is a relative term and is not limiting).
Regarding claim 12, Kramer teaches the flat key according to claim 7, wherein the rotational axis is arranged substantially along a transverse plane (X plane) of the flat key offset by a distance from the longitudinal axis of the key (fig. 12), the distance preferably being about 1/10 to about 1/4 of the width of the key shank.
Regarding claim 13, Kramer teaches the flat key according to claim 5, wherein the surface codes overlap in sections, preferably in the region of the longitudinal axis of the key (fig. 9a, 9b).
Regarding claim 14, Kramer teaches the flat key according to claim 5, wherein a preferably spatially curved, for example S-shaped, contour line is formed on the end face of the key tip between the surface codes (fig. 9a, 9b).
Regarding claim 16, Kramer teaches the flat key according to claim 15, wherein the additional code overlaps the surface code (fig. 9a, 9b; overlaps 10.9) over less than 50 percent of a surface area of the additional code, and wherein the further scanning surface (10.9) of the additional code is shaped as a milling corresponding to (fig. 11b shows shapes corresponding) the circumferential surface of the rotational body (40.9) whose rotational axis is oriented at an angle to the longitudinal axis of the key.
Regarding claim 17, Kramer teaches the flat key-according to according to claim 15, wherein at least one first surface code (11 on one side of face) and at least one first additional code (10.9 on same side of the key) is arranged on the end face-of the key tip for interrogation in the cylinder lock, and
at least one second surface code (11 on opposite side of face) and at least one second additional code (10.9 on opposite side of face) are arranged on the end face of the key tip for interrogation in the cylinder lock, wherein
at least the surface codes. And preferably also the additional codes, are in each case substantially congruent and rotated by an angle of approximately 180 degrees with respect to the longitudinal axis of the key, so that the flat key can also be used as a reversible key (fig. 9a shows both well).
Regarding claim 18, Kramer teaches a cylinder lock (fig. 10) comprising a cylinder core (core key is inserted into in fig. 10) rotatable in a cylinder housing (Za) about an axis of rotation and having a key channel for receiving a flat key according to claim 1 (fig. 10), wherein the cylinder lock is designed to scan at least one surface code on the end face of the flat key (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 19, Kramer teaches the cylinder lock according to claim 18, comprising an optionally multi-component coupling assembly (22a, 22b) rotatable about the axis of rotation and a locking nose wherein the cylinder lock preferably the coupling assembly is designed to transmit a rotation of the cylinder core to the locking nose upon insertion of an authorized flat key (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 20, Kramer teaches the cylinder lock according to claim 19, wherein the coupling assembly is designed for positive engagement in the surface codes and optionally also in the additional codes on the end face- of the flat key (fig. 10, .
Regarding claim 21, Kramer teaches the cylinder lock according to claim 18, wherein an adapter (21a) is provided between the cylinder core and the coupling assembly which adapter is displaceable (called displaceable counterpart) substantially along, or parallel to, the axis of rotation the adapter (fig. 10) having a contour (portion which couples with 22a) on the side facing away from the key channel for engagement in the coupling assembly (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 22, Kramer teaches the cylinder lock according to claim 21, wherein the adapter has at least one scanning element (convex formation 20a, 20b) for engagement with the surface code, the surface shape of the scanning element preferably corresponding to the scanning surface of the surface code (20a and 20b mesh with the key to provide contact).
Regarding claim 23, Kramer teaches the cylinder lock according claim 22, wherein the adapter has a plurality of scanning elements (20a, 20b); for engaging in the surface codes and, optionally, additional codes on the end face-t of the flat key, the surface shape of the scanning elements preferably corresponding to the scanning surfaces of the surface codes and, optionally, of the additional codes (20a and 20b mesh with the key to provide contact).
Regarding claim 24, Kramer teaches a locking system, comprising the flat key and one or more cylinder locks according to claim 18 (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 25, Kramer teaches the flat key according to claim 1, wherein the further scanning surface of the additional code (10.9) has a non-planar, three-dimensionally curved geometry that varies continuously across at least two spatial axes, such that the additional code cannot be fully characterized by a single depth measurement at a fixed lateral position (three dimensional curve to follow 40.9 as shown in fig. 11B).
Regarding claim 26, Kramer teaches the flat key according to claim 1, wherein the additional code (10.9) is a recess designed as a milling, the further scanning surface of which corresponds at least partially to the circumferential surface of the rotational body (40.9), such that the further scanning surface is geometrically distinct from a planar horizontal groove of constant depth (figs. 11a, 11b).
Regarding claim 27, Kramer teaches the cylinder lock according to claim 23, wherein the plurality of scanning elements of the adapter includes at least one scanning element whose surface shape corresponds to the further scanning surface of the additional code of the flat key (21a contacting 10), and wherein said scanning element is displaced along the axis of rotation of the cylinder core upon engagement with the additional code on the end face of the flat key (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 28, Kramer teaches a flat key for a cylinder lock, comprising a key bow and a key shank (fig. 11a) extending substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the key and having a key tip (tip shown in 11b), wherein at least one surface code (11) formed for interrogation in the cylinder lock is arranged on the end face of the key tip, and at least one additional code (10.9) with a further scanning surface is arranged on the end face of the key tip and at least partially overlaps the surface code, wherein the further scanning surface of the additional code has a non-planar, three-dimensionally curved geometry corresponding at least partially to the circumferential surface of a rotational body (40.1) and varying continuously across at least two spatial axes (fig. 11b shows curved geometry of 10.9 meshing with 40.9), such that the further scanning surface differs in shape from the scanning surface of the surface code and cannot be fully characterized by a single depth measurement at a fixed lateral position (fig. 11a).
Regarding claim 29, Kramer teaches the flat key according to claim 28, wherein the rotational body (40.1) to whose circumferential surface the further scanning surface corresponds has a rotational axis inclined at an angle to the longitudinal axis of the key, such that the further scanning surface is geometrically distinct from a planar horizontal groove whose depth is checked transversely to the longitudinal axis of the key (fig. 11b, 12).
Regarding claim 30, Kramer teaches a cylinder lock comprising a cylinder core rotatable in a cylinder housing about an axis of rotation and having a key channel for receiving a flat key (fig. 10), the cylinder lock comprising an adapter (21a) displaceable along the axis of rotation and having a plurality of scanning elements (20a, 20b) for engaging at least one surface code (11) and at least one additional code (10.9) arranged on an end face (fig. 11a) of a key tip of the flat key, wherein at least one of the scanning elements has a surface shape corresponding to a further scanning surface of the additional code (fig. 10), the further scanning surface having a three-dimensional shape corresponding at least partially to the circumferential surface of a rotational body (40.9), and wherein said at least one scanning element is displaced along the axis of rotation of the cylinder core upon engagement with the additional code on the end face of the flat key (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 31, Kramer teaches a locking system comprising the flat key according to claim 28 and a cylinder lock (fig. 10) having an adapter (21a) displaceable along an axis of rotation, the adapter comprising at least one scanning element (20a) whose surface shape corresponds to the further scanning surface of the additional code of the flat key, said at least one scanning element being displaced along the axis of rotation upon engagement with the additional code on the end face of the key tip (fig. 10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 28 and 30, the applicant asserts that Kramer does not teach the newly added limitations requiring a circumferential surface to correspond to the rotational body. The examiner disagrees and points to the updated rejection above citing 10.9 as the additional code which corresponds to the rotational body 40.9 with a three dimensional shape as required by the amended independent claims. Please note that the added claims and the amended independent claim 1 allowed for the medication of the interpretation of Kramer’s invention in order to read on the newly amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.E.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675