DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The range of claim 6 is broader than the range of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamada et al. (2018/0057661).
Regarding claims 1-5, 7-11 and 15-17: Yamada et al. teach a composition comprising a polycarbonate-polyorganosiloxane copolymer of formula (2-11) [0105]:
and the claimed amount of the claimed UV absorber [Examples].
Regarding claim 12: Yamada et al. teach a Mv of 14,000 to 22,000 [0033; Examples].
Regarding claims 13-14: Since the composition is the same as claimed, it will possess the claimed properties. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claim 18: The claim contains a product by process limitation. Process limitations in product claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. "In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Since the chemical structure is met, the claim limitations are met.
Regarding claim 20: Yamada et al. teach a molded body [0001, 0044; Examples].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mittal et al. (2016/0083528) in view of Yamada et al. (2018/0057661).
Regarding claims 1-6, 8-11, 15-17 and 19: Mittal teaches [Table 1, Example 1 and Table 2, first entry PC-Siloxane-Copolymer -1; 0042, 0043, 0050] polycarbonate siloxane copolymer, which includes siloxane repeating units as represented by formula (1), where R1=R2=R3=R4=Me; a =36; R6= CH2CH(CH3)CH2, R8= (CH(CH₃)CH₂), with z=1 and b =10, and a polycarbonate block derived from bisphenol A (which corresponds to formula (2) and 2,2-bis(4-hydroxyphenol)propane of instant claim 3, and structure a-v of instant claim 4). The polycarbonate repeat units y are calculated to be ~ 54. The polysiloxane is present at 7.1 wt% [Table 2] in the total polycarbonate siloxane copolymer, meeting the claimed requirement.
Mittal fails to teach a UV absorber.
However, Yamada teaches adding 0.01 to 1.0 parts by mass of a benzotriazole or a benzoxazinone UV absorber to an analogous polycarbonate-polyorganosiloxane block copolymer composition to improve the weatherability of the composition [0172-0173, 0178; Examples].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add 0.01 to 1.0 parts by mass of a benzotriazole or a benzoxazinone UV absorber as taught by Yamada to the composition of Mittal to improve the weatherability of the composition.
Regarding claim 9: the structure of Mittal is the very similar to the claimed structure, only differing by one methyl group. A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (discussed below and in MPEP § 2144) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. See also MPEP § 2144.08, paragraph II.A.4.(c).
Regarding claim 12: Mittal teaches the claimed molecular weight [Examples; Tables].
Regarding claims 13-14: Since the composition is the same as claimed, it will possess the claimed properties. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claim 18: The claim contains a product by process limitation. Process limitations in product claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. "In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Since the chemical structure is met, the claim limitations are met.
Regarding claim 20: Mittal teach a molded body [0002, 0035; Examples].
Claim(s) 1-14 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konig et al. (5,783,651).
Regarding claims 1-12 and 18-19: Konig et al. teach a polycarbonate-based resin composition comprising a polycarbonate-polyorganosiloxane copolymer has the claimed polyorganosiloxane block (formulae (IV) of column 2) and the claimed polycarbonate block (column 6, lines 3-5; Examples), employing melt polymerization conditions (paragraph bridging columns 7 and 8). The average length of the polydiorganosiloxane segments is between 5 and 100 (column 3, lines 39-42), and the segments will constitute between 7 and 30 wt.% of the total weight of the polycarbonate-polysiloxane copolymer. The variable R₃ in formula (IV) is preferably a linear propylene moiety consistent with claim 9. Konig et al. teach the claimed molecular weight (column 8, lines 31-37; Examples). Konig et al. teach adding a UV absorber (column 8, line 46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a UV absorber to the composition to stabilize the composition.
Regarding claims 13-14: Since the composition is the same as claimed, it will possess the claimed properties. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claim 20: Konig et al. teach molded articles (column 9, lines 1-5; Examples).
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konig et al. (5,783,651) as applied to claim 1 further in view of Yamada et al. (2018/0057661).
Konig et al. fail to specify a particular UV absorber.
However, Yamada et al. teach adding 0.01 to 1.0 parts by mass of a benzotriazole or a benzoxazinone UV absorber to an analogous polycarbonate-polyorganosiloxane block copolymer composition to improve the weatherability of the composition [0172-0173, 0178; Examples].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use 0.01 to 1.0 parts by mass of a benzotriazole or a benzoxazinone UV absorber as taught by Yamada et al. as the UV absorber in the composition of Konig et al. to improve the weatherability of the composition.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez Vidal et al. (2017/0240710) in view of Yamada et al. (2018/0057661).
Regarding claims 1-11 and 15-17: Regarding claim 1, Gonzalez Vidal et al. teach a composition comprising a polysiloxane polycarbonate block copolymer with the following structure [0093]:
Z is taught to be an integer from 1 to 500 [0093]. Additionally, R1 and R2 are methyl; R3 and R4 are methyl groups. R5 is an an alkylarylene group, R6 is an alkylarylene group with 3 alkyl groups attached to the aromatic group. and R10 is a divalent aromatic hydrocarbon group having 15 carbon atoms [0093]. Gonzalez Vidal et al. also teaches X is 1-1000 [0093]. Gonzalez Vidal et al. teach adding a stabilizer [0162].
Gonzalez Vidal et al. fail to teach a UV absorber.
However, Yamada teaches adding 0.01 to 1.0 parts by mass of a benzotriazole or a benzoxazinone UV absorber to an analogous polycarbonate-polyorganosiloxane block copolymer composition to improve the weatherability of the composition [0172-0173, 0178; Examples].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add 0.01 to 1.0 parts by mass of a benzotriazole or a benzoxazinone UV absorber as taught by Yamada to the composition of Gonzalez Vidal et al. to improve the weatherability of the composition.
Regarding claim 12: Gonzalez Vidal et al. teach a Mw of 20,000 to 100,000 g/mol [0139]. The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 13-14: Since the composition is the same as claimed, it will possess the claimed properties. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claim 18: The claim contains a product by process limitation. Process limitations in product claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. "In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Since the chemical structure is met, the claim limitations are met.
Regarding claim 20: Gonzalez Vidal et al. teach a molded body [0158-0161; Examples].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,384,881 in view of Yamada et al. (2018/0057661).
The Patent claims a polycarbonate-based resin composition comprising the claimed polycarbonate-polyorganosiloxane copolymer.
The Patent fails to claim a UV absorber.
However, Yamada teaches adding 0.01 to 1.0 parts by mass of a benzotriazole or a benzoxazinone UV absorber to an analogous polycarbonate-polyorganosiloxane block copolymer composition to improve the weatherability of the composition [0172-0173, 0178; Examples].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add 0.01 to 1.0 parts by mass of a benzotriazole or a benzoxazinone UV absorber as taught by Yamada to the composition of the Patent to improve the weatherability of the composition.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,398,237 in view of Yamada et al. (2018/0057661).
The Patent claims a polycarbonate-based resin composition comprising the claimed polycarbonate-polyorganosiloxane copolymer.
The Patent fails to claim a UV absorber.
However, Yamada teaches adding 0.01 to 1.0 parts by mass of a benzotriazole or a benzoxazinone UV absorber to an analogous polycarbonate-polyorganosiloxane block copolymer composition to improve the weatherability of the composition [0172-0173, 0178; Examples].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add 0.01 to 1.0 parts by mass of a benzotriazole or a benzoxazinone UV absorber as taught by Yamada to the composition of the Patent to improve the weatherability of the composition.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,540,218 in view of Yamada et al. (2018/0057661).
The Patent claims a polycarbonate-based resin composition comprising the claimed polycarbonate-polyorganosiloxane copolymer.
The Patent fails to claim a UV absorber.
However, Yamada teaches adding 0.01 to 1.0 parts by mass of a benzotriazole or a benzoxazinone UV absorber to an analogous polycarbonate-polyorganosiloxane block copolymer composition to improve the weatherability of the composition [0172-0173, 0178; Examples].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add 0.01 to 1.0 parts by mass of a benzotriazole or a benzoxazinone UV absorber as taught by Yamada to the composition of the Patent to improve the weatherability of the composition.
Relevant Prior Art
Odian (Principles of Polymerization, 4th edition, 2004) teaches that Mv and Mw are close to each other, and within 10-20% (page 22).
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763