DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 9/3/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-21 and 30-37 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(a) rejection previously set forth in the non-final Office Action mailed 7/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-17, 20, 21 and 30-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Application Publication No. 2009/0074620, hereinafter Therup.
Regarding claim 1, Therup teaches a cuvette (item 10) for body fluid analysis, the cuvette comprising: a sampling cavity (item 18) comprising a fluid inlet (the opening of item 18); a sample analysis cavity (item 22); and a venting cavity (item 20) in fluid connection with the sampling cavity and the sample analysis cavity (figure 1a), wherein the venting cavity has an outlet to an exterior of the cuvette (figure 2b), wherein the cuvette is configured to transfer, upon a centrifugal force being applied to the cuvette, a body fluid sample from the sampling cavity to the sample analysis cavity via the venting cavity (paragraph [0049]), wherein the sample analysis cavity is configured to provide a first capillary force (paragraph [0049]), wherein the first capillary force is higher than a second capillary force provided by the venting cavity (paragraph [0049]), wherein the sample analysis cavity is configured for separating, via centrifugation (paragraph [0051] discusses splitting the sample in item 22 into items 24 and 26 during further centrifugation) and analyzing the body fluid sample (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claim 2, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Therup and the apparatus of Therup is capable of transferring air from the sample analysis cavity to the exterior of the cuvette via the venting channel. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Therup (see MPEP §2114).
Regarding claim 3, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Therup and the apparatus of Therup is capable of when the body fluid sample is introduced into the sampling cavity, air is transferred from the sample analysis cavity to the exterior of the cuvette via the venting channel. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Therup (see MPEP §2114).
Regarding claim 4, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Therup and the apparatus of Therup is capable of preventing the body fluid sample from leaving the sample analysis cavity after the centrifugal force is removed. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Therup (see MPEP §2114). Further this limitation is taught in paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, Therup teaches the sampling cavity is configured to provide a third capillary force, wherein the third capillary force is higher than the second capillary force provided by the venting cavity (paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 7, Therup teaches the sample analysis cavity has a substantially uniform elongated shape extending in a first direction from a first end to an opposing second end of the cuvette (figure 1a).
Regarding claim 8, Therup teaches the outlet of the venting cavity to the exterior of the cuvette is arranged at the first end of the cuvette (figure 1a).
Regarding claim 9, Therup teaches the cuvette has a first interface fluidly connecting the venting cavity with the sampling cavity, wherein the first interface is configured to allow the body fluid sample to flow through the first interface when a centrifugal force overcoming the third capillary force is applied to the cuvette (paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 10, Therup teaches the cuvette has a second interface fluidly connecting the venting cavity with the sample analysis cavity, wherein the second interface is configured to allow the body fluid sample to flow through the second interface (paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 11, Therup teaches the venting cavity has a larger cross section area than the sampling cavity and/or the sample analysis cavity in a plane perpendicular to a main plane of the cuvette (figure 1b).
Regarding claim 12, Therup teaches the cross section area of the venting cavity has a larger width and/or larger height than a cross section of the sampling cavity and/or the sample analysis cavity in the plane perpendicular to the main plane of the cuvette (figure 1b).
Regarding claim 13, Therup teaches the first interface and the second interface are arranged at an angle to each other (figure 1a).
Regarding claim 14, Therup teaches the cuvette consists of a single body member having inner walls defining the sampling cavity, the sample analysis cavity, and the venting cavity within the single body member (item 12 and paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 15, Therup teaches the single body member comprises a tip (figure 1a) and wherein the sampling cavity is arranged at the tip of the single body member (figure 1a).
Regarding claim 16, Therup teaches the sampling cavity is configured to slope towards the sample analysis cavity (figure 1a).
Regarding claim 17, Therup teaches wherein the sample analysis cavity is free of reagents (Therup only discusses reagents in item 26 and item 22 is not listed as having any reagents).
Regarding claim 20, Therup teaches the venting cavity has an opening through an outer side wall of the cuvette, said opening extending over an entire width of the venting cavity (figures 1a and 1b).
Regarding claim 21, Therup teaches the sampling cavity has an opening through an outer side wall of the cuvette, said opening extending over an entire width of the sampling cavity (figures 1a and 1b).
Regarding claim 30, Therup teaches a cuvette (item 10) for body fluid analysis, the cuvette comprising: a sampling cavity (item 18) comprising a fluid inlet (the opening of item 18); a sample analysis cavity (item 22); and a venting cavity (item 20) in fluid connection with the sampling cavity and the sample analysis cavity (figure 1a), wherein the venting cavity has an outlet to an exterior of the cuvette (figure 2b), wherein the cuvette is configured to transfer, upon a centrifugal force being applied to the cuvette, a body fluid sample from the sampling cavity to the sample analysis cavity via the venting cavity (paragraph [0049]), wherein the sample analysis cavity is configured to provide a first capillary force (paragraph [0049]), wherein the first capillary force is higher than a second capillary force provided by the venting cavity (paragraph [0049]), wherein the sample analysis chamber and the venting channel are stacked along an axis of the centrifugal force (labeled in the figure below, the direction of the centrifugal force is considered to be the intended use (MPEP § 2114 (II)) of the device and therefore the centrifugal force could be applied in the axis shown below).
Regarding claim 31, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Therup and the apparatus of Therup is capable of transferring air from the sample analysis cavity to the exterior of the cuvette via the venting channel. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Therup (see MPEP §2114).
Regarding claim 32, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Therup and the apparatus of Therup is capable of when the body fluid sample is introduced into the sampling cavity, air is transferred from the sample analysis cavity to the exterior of the cuvette via the venting channel. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Therup (see MPEP §2114).
Regarding claim 33, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Therup and the apparatus of Therup is capable of preventing the body fluid sample from leaving the sample analysis cavity after the centrifugal force is removed. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Therup (see MPEP §2114). Further this limitation is taught in paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 34, Therup teaches a cuvette (item 10) for body fluid analysis, the cuvette comprising: a sampling cavity (item 18) comprising a fluid inlet (the opening of item 18); a sample analysis cavity (item 22); and a venting cavity (item 20) in fluid connection with the sampling cavity and the sample analysis cavity (figure 1a), wherein the venting cavity has an outlet to an exterior of the cuvette (figure 2b), an interface (item 24) positioned between the sample analysis cavity and the venting cavity (figure 1b) to thereby cover the one opening (item 24 covers the opening between items 20 and 22), the interface being configured to prevent a body fluid sample from leaving the sample analysis cavity (paragraphs [0049] and [0051]), wherein the cuvette is configured to transfer, upon a centrifugal force being applied to the cuvette, a body fluid sample from the sampling cavity to the sample analysis cavity via the venting cavity (paragraph [0049]), wherein the sample analysis cavity is configured to provide a first capillary force (paragraph [0049]), wherein the first capillary force is higher than a second capillary force provided by the venting cavity (paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 35, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Therup and the apparatus of Therup is capable of transferring air from the sample analysis cavity to the exterior of the cuvette via the venting channel. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Therup (see MPEP §2114).
Regarding claim 36, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Therup and the apparatus of Therup is capable of when the body fluid sample is introduced into the sampling cavity, air is transferred from the sample analysis cavity to the exterior of the cuvette via the venting channel. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Therup (see MPEP §2114).
Regarding claim 37, Therup teaches the sample analysis cavity is configured for separating the body fluid sample solely by centrifugation (paragraph [0051] discusses splitting the sample in item 22 into items 24 and 26 during further centrifugation and does not occur when centrifugation is not happening).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Therup.
Regarding claim 5, Therup teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Therup fails to specifically disclose that the sampling cavity and the sample analysis cavity have equal volumes.
Therup further teaches that the inlet cavity has a well-defined sample volume so that the correct volume may always be acquired (paragraph [0048]) and that a well-defined sample volume will be drawn into item 22 (paragraph [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine, through routine experimentation, the optimum volumes of the sampling cavity and sample analysis cavity such that they have equal volumes which would allow for the correct volume of sample to be obtained (MPEP § 2144.05 (II)).
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Therup in view of United States Patent No. 5,385,846, hereinafter Kuhn.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Therup teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Therup fails to teach the cuvette comprises an indicator for indicating a hematocrit level of the body fluid sample and the indicator is arranged along an outer periphery of the sample analysis cavity.
Kuhn teaches a device for hematocrit determination which utilizes a reagent (indicator) (Kuhn, column 4, lines 53-56) which is impregnated inside of a chamber (Kuhn, column 4, lines 1-12) which would allow for the determination of a low hematocrit which indicates anemia and a high hematocrit indicates polycythemia (Kuhn, column 1, lines 12-15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a reagent inside of the entirety of the cavity (thereby along an outer periphery) which indicates the amount hematocrit in a body fluid sample because it would allow for the determination of a low hematocrit which indicates anemia and a high hematocrit indicates polycythemia (Kuhn, column 1, lines 12-15).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the Therup does not disclose the claimed invention is not found persuasive, specifically that the sample analysis cavity is configured for separating via centrifuging. Paragraph [0051] of Therup discloses further centrifuging the cuvette in which “the sharp edge of the analysis sample reception cavity 22 will split the fluid in fluid being passed from the analysis sample reception cavity 22 into the measurement cavity 26 and fluid being pushed in the channel 24 back into the centrifugation reception cavity 20.” This recitation in Therup discloses the splitting (separating) a fluid in the sample analysis chamber (item 22), thereby reading on the ability for the sample analysis cavity to separate a body fluid sample via centrifuging.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796