DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/7/2023 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitation “a plurality of instances of the resistor” is not described or even recited within the instant application. There is no support for this statement.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The phrase “plurality of instances of a resistor” is not adequately described within the specification for the examiner to understand the meters and bounds of this claim language. Based on the context and figures, examiner will interpret this to mean that multiple resistors are present within a load cell.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato US 20220390301 in view of Sato US 20150292965 (hereafter known as ‘965).
As to claim 1, Sato teaches “A strain gauge (Abstract), comprising: a substrate having flexibility (Element 10; Abstract); and a resistor formed of a film that contains Cr, CrN, and Cr2N over the substrate (Element 30; [0002]), wherein a film thickness of the resistor is made to be greater than or equal to 6 nm and less than or equal to 100 nm ([0027]), so as to have a creep amount and a creep recovery amount of less than or equal to ±0.0735% ([0027]; this claim limitation pertain to the characteristics of the resistor, and the resistor and its description in the prior art meet the claimed thickness limitations. Since these limitations are met, the resistor in Sato would also have the same creep amount since it is known that creep is affected by strain gauge dimensions, such as thickness. Therefore adjusting the thickness or material of a strain gauge to meet a creep amount would involve routine skill in the art and be obvious).” Sato does not teach that the strain gauge is installed on a Roberval-type strain generator.
Sato ‘965 teaches “installed on a Roberval-type strain generator (Abstract).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to combine the teachings of Sato ‘965 with Sato. Strain gauges of particular characteristics are known in the art and can be installed in various locations for various purposes. It is known that Roberval-type strain generators utilize strain gauges, therefore having a strain gauge installed on that device would be obvious since the strain gauge can aid in optimizing the performance of the Roberval-type strain generator.
As to claim 2, Sato teaches “wherein the film thickness of the resistor is made to be greater than or equal to 6 nm and less than or equal to 100 nm excluding a case of the film thickness of the resistor being greater than or equal to 50 nm, so as to have the creep amount and the creep recovery amount of less than or equal to ±0.0735% ([0027]; this claim limitation pertain to the characteristics of the resistor, and the resistor and its description in the prior art meet the claimed thickness limitations. Since these limitations are met, the resistor in Sato would also have the same creep amount since it is known that creep is affected by strain gauge dimensions, such as thickness. Therefore adjusting the thickness or material of a strain gauge to meet a creep amount would involve routine skill in the art and be obvious).”
As to claim 3, Sato teaches “wherein the film thickness of the resistor is made to be greater than or equal to 6 nm and less than or equal to 50 nm, so as to have a strain limit of greater than or equal to 10,000 ue ([0027]; this claim limitations pertain to the characteristics of the resistor, which meet the claimed thickness limitations. Since these limitations are met, the resistor in Sato would also have the same creep amount since it is known that creep is affected by strain gauge dimensions, such as thickness. Therefore adjusting the thickness or material of a strain gauge to meet a creep amount would involve routine skill in the art and be obvious).”
As to claim 4, Sato teaches “wherein the film thickness of the resistor is made to be greater than or equal to 11 nm and less than or equal to 50 nm, so as to have the creep amount and the creep recovery amount of less than or equal to ±0.0368% ([0027]; this claim limitations pertain to the characteristics of the resistor, which meet the claimed thickness limitations. Since these limitations are met, the resistor in Sato would also have the same creep amount since it is known that creep is affected by strain gauge dimensions, such as thickness. Therefore adjusting the thickness or material of a strain gauge to meet a creep amount would involve routine skill in the art and be obvious).”
As to claim 5, Sato teaches “wherein a gauge factor is greater than or equal to 10 ([0028]).”
As to claim 6, Sato teaches “wherein a percentage of CrN and Cr2N contained in the resistor is less than or equal to 20% by weight ([0028]. Altering the amount or type of a material in a known element involves routine skill in the art and would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art).”
As to claim 7, Sato teaches “wherein a percentage of Cr2N in CrN and Cr2N is greater than or equal to 80% by weight and less than 90% by weight ([0028]. Altering the amount or type of a material in a known element involves routine skill in the art and would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art).”
As to claim 8, Sato teaches “the strain gauge according to claim 1 (Abstract teaches a strain gauge).”
Sato ‘965 teaches “A load cell comprising: a strain generator of a Roberval type, installed on the strain generator (Abstract).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to combine the teachings of Sato ‘965 with Sato. Strain gauges of particular characteristics are known in the art and can be installed in various locations for various purposes. It is known that Roberval-type strain generators utilize strain gauges, therefore having a strain gauge installed on that device would be obvious since the strain gauge can aid in optimizing the performance of the Roberval-type strain generator.
As to claim 9, Sato teaches “the resistor (Element 30 is a resistor within the strain gauge).” Sato does not teach multiple resistors within a single strain gauge.
Sato ‘965 teaches “a plurality of instances of (Figure 1, 20 depicts multiple strain gauges).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to combine the teachings of Sato ‘965 with Sato. Since Sato ‘965 teaches multiple strain gauges in the Roberval-type load cell, each strain gauge, according to Sato, would have a resistor. Therefore the combination would result in multiple resistors within the load cell. This aids in the performance of the load cell.
Conclusion
/TARUN SINHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863