DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–6 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0266499 A1.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07 December 2023 and 11 March 2025 were filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The view numbers of FIGS. 1 and 2 are not larger than the letters, numbers, and reference characters used in the drawing. The view numbers must be larger than the numbers used for reference characters. See 37 CFR 1.84 (u)(2).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ENERGY STORAGE DEVICE HAVING COMPRESSED ELECTRODE ASSEMBLY WITH NEGATIVE ELECTRODE INCLUDING SOLID GRAPHITE.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of the term Ketjen black (e.g., [0049]), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term Ketjen black is not accompanied by generic terminology, is not capitalized, and does not include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce.
The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishijima et al. (US 2019/0165361 A1, hereinafter Nishijima) in view of Takahata (US 2017/0047616 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nishijima discloses an energy storage device (10, [0025]) comprising
an electrode assembly (21) including a negative electrode (11, 13) and a positive electrode (12, 15; [0025]),
wherein the negative electrode (11, 13) includes a negative active material layer (13) including a negative active material (see negative electrode active material, [0062]),
the negative active material contains solid graphite (TABLE 1, [0143]), and
the negative active material layer has a BET specific surface area of 2.1 m2/g or less (TABLE 1, [0143])
Nishijima does not explicitly disclose:
a pressure applied to the electrode assembly is 0.1 MPa or more.
Takahata discloses an energy storage device (100) comprising an electrode assembly (20) having a pressure of 0.1 MPa or more applied to improve the cycle characteristics of the energy storage device by reducing the internal resistance (FIG. 6, [0126]). Nishijima and Takahata are analogous because they are directed to energy storage devices including negative electrodes containing graphite. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply a pressure as taught Takahata to the electrode assembly of Nishijima in order to improve the cycle characteristics of the energy storage device by reducing the internal resistance.
Regarding claim 3, modified Nishijima discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage device:
wherein a content of the solid graphite in the negative active material is 50% by mass or more (see solid component, [0143]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Nishijima discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage device:
wherein the solid graphite is artificial graphite (see negative electrode active material, [0062]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishijima (US 2019/0165361 A1) in view of Takahata (US 2017/0047616 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamami et al. (US 2014/0134492 A1, hereinafter Yamami).
Regarding claim 2, modified Nishijima discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose an energy storage device:
wherein the negative active material further includes scaly graphite.
Yamami discloses a negative electrode active material including solid graphite and scaly graphite to suppress an increase in the internal resistance of the negative electrode (see negative electrode active material, [0023]). Nishijima and Yamami are analogous because they are directed to energy storage devices including negative electrodes containing graphite. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the negative active material of modified Nishijima with scaly graphite as taught by Yamami in order to suppress an increase in the internal resistance of the negative electrode.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishijima (US 2019/0165361 A1) in view of Takahata (US 2017/0047616 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (WO 2021/101219 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2022/0407048 A1; hereinafter Choi).
Regarding claim 4, modified Nishijima discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose an energy storage device:
wherein a difference between D90 and D10 in a particle size distribution of the negative active material layer is 40 μm or less.
Choi discloses a negative active material layer having a difference between D90 and D10 in a particle size distribution to improve the discharge capacity, room-temperature cycle performance and resistance increment (TABLE 1, [0124]). Nishijima and Choi are analogous because they are directed to energy storage devices including negative electrodes containing graphite. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the negative active material layer of modified Nishijima with the difference between D90 and D10 in a particle size distribution as taught by Choi in order to improve the discharge capacity, room-temperature cycle performance and resistance increment.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishijima (US 2019/0165361 A1) in view of Takahata (US 2017/0047616 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tashita et al. (WO 2019/239947 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2021/0218025 A1; hereinafter Tashita).
Regarding claim 6, modified Nishijima discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage device:
wherein the solid graphite is particulate (see solid component, [0143]).
Nishijima does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the solid graphite has an aspect ratio (b/a) of less than 5, with the aspect ratio (b/a) being a major axis b of a particle to a minor axis a of the particle, and
wherein the solid graphite has a porosity of 2% or less
Tashita discloses a solid graphite having an aspect ratio (b/a) of less than 5, with the aspect ratio (b/a) being a major axis b of a particle to a minor axis a of the particle (FIG. 2, [0029]), and wherein the solid graphite has a porosity of 2% or less (TABLE 1, [0068]) to suppress deterioration in charging/discharging cycle characteristics (TABLE 1, [0083]). Nishijima and Tashita are analogous because they are directed to energy storage devices including negative electrodes containing graphite. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the solid graphite of modified Nishijima with the aspect ratio and porosity of Tashita in order to suppress deterioration in charging/discharging cycle characteristics.
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725