DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendment of 14 June 2024, in which claims 3-11 have been amended, and claims 12-22 and 32-40 have been cancelled, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-11, 23-31 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1-11, 23-31 are being examined herein.
Priority
The instant application is a National Stage entry of International Application No. PCT/US2022/072789, filed on 7 June 2022, which claims priority from U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/208,268, filed on 8 June 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7 December 2023 and 1 April 2025 are acknowledged and considered.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC 103
Claims 1-11, 23-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2019/0054178, published 21 February 2019, cited in PTO-892), in view of Compere et al. (US 2005/0014817, cited in PTO-892), in further view of Solun et al. (Medicine in Drug Discovery 2020, 7, 100052, cited in PTO-892).
Li (US 2019/0054178) teaches [0004] 5-[3-(4-benzyloxyphenylthio)-fur-2-yl]-imidazolidin-2,4-dione compounds of the invention
as selective inhibitors of MMP-12 useful in the treatment of diseases or conditions mediated by MMP-12, such as asthma, or chronic obstructive pulmonary diseases (COPD).
Li teaches [0020] a method of administering a pharmaceutical composition containing a compound of the formula (I)
and a cyclodextrin to an animal or human subject.
Li specifically teaches [0030] IVO: 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione as a compound of formula (I), which the very compound of the instant claims.
Li studies (Example 4) the effect of different cyclodextrins on the aqueous solubility of 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]-fur-2-yl}-imidazolidin-2,4-dione (IVO)
[0035].
Li prepares ([0037], Example 6, Table 6) a complex of compound IVO, which is the very compound of the instant claims (as in instant claims 8, 30), with hydroxypropyl beta-cyclodextrin HPBCD, as in instant claim 9, where the weight ratio of the compound to the cyclodextrin is 1:3 (IVO:HPBCD = 25 : 75 (w/w)), which is within the range in instant claim 10. The IVO/HPBCD complex is named IVO/HPBCD ASD-01 [0037].
Li prepares [0038] a unit dose comprising 150 mg IVO + 450 mg HPBCD, which is a composition comprising a cyclodextrin and 150 mg of the compound of the instant claims, where the amount of compound IVO in the unit dose is as in instant claims 2, 24, and is within the range in instant claims 4, 5, 26, 27.
Li teaches (Example 11) a method of orally administering to a subject (beagle dog) a pharmaceutical composition (suspension) comprising hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin (HPBCD) and IVO (which is the compound of the instant claims), thus oral administration, as in instant claims 7, 29.
Li does not teach that 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione, alone, or in a composition comprising cyclodextrin, is effective to treat acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), as in the instant claims.
Li does not teach the therapeutic dose of compound effective to treat ARDS, as in instant claims 2, 4-6, 24, 26-28, nor does he teach the frequency of administration of the compound in the method of treating ARDS, once or twice a day, as in instant claims 3, 25.
Li does not teach that ARDS is caused by coronavirus, as in instant claims 11, 31.
Compere (US 2005/0014817) teaches [0086] that selective MMP-12 inhibitors are useful in the treatment of respiratory pathologies such as acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS).
Solun et al. (Medicine in Drug Discovery 2020, 7, 100052, cited in PTO-892) teach (Abstract) that COVID-19 causes acute respiratory failure due to widespread lung inflammation which progresses to acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS). Solun teaches (page 2, right column, second paragraph) that proinflammatory cytokines induce MMP over-expression and increase their activity thereby participating in airway remodeling. MMP-12 (macrophage elastase) can regulate the extracellular matrix component elastin and is involved in the tissue remodeling process.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of Li and Compere to arrive at the instantly claimed method. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer to a subject suffering from ARDS a pharmaceutical composition taught by Li containing 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione (IVO) and hydroxypropyl beta-cyclodextrin, to treat ARDS, because Li teaches that the active compound 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione is a selective MMP-12 inhibitor, effective to treat diseases that are responsive to inhibition of MMP-12, and Compere teaches that
selective MMP-12 inhibitors are useful in the treatment of respiratory pathologies such as acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS). Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have administered selective MMP-12 inhibitor 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione, alone or in a composition with cyclodextrin taught by Li, to a subject suffering from ARDS, with the expectation that said MMP-12 inhibitor will be effective to treat ARDS.
Regarding claims 2, 4-6, 24, 26-28, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have determined the therapeutic dose in the method of treating ARDS, and the frequency of administration, as in instant claims 3, 25, because such an exploration of different doses of therapeutic agent and different frequency of administration (once or twice a day) in the method of treatment with the aim of optimizing therapeutic effect, is well within the skill of the artisan.
Regarding claims 11, 31, it would have been obvious to administer selective MMP-12 inhibitor compound 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione to treat a subtype of ARDS, namely ARDS caused by coronavirus, because Solun teaches that COVID-19 causes acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), and Solun teaches the link between MMP-12 (macrophage elastase) and lung inflammation. Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have administered selective MMP-12 inhibitor 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione, alone or in a composition with cyclodextrin taught by Li, to a subject suffering from ARDS caused by COVID-19, with the expectation that said MMP-12 inhibitor will be effective to treat ARDS.
As such, claims 1-11, 23-31 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Double patenting
Claims 1-11, 23-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable at least over claims 1-14, 17, 22, 28-31 of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,043 (published as US 20240277670, cited in PTO-892) in view of Compere et al. (US 2005/0014817, cited in PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-14, 17, 22, 28-31 of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,043 render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-14, 17, 22, 28-31 of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,043
are drawn to a method of administering a compound of formula (I)
to a human subject in need thereof, comprising orally administering to the subject a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of formula (I) and a cyclodextrin, wherein a total dosage of the compound of formula (I) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof administered is about 25 mg to about 600 mg per administration. Claim 22 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,043 recite that the subject is in need of a treatment of a disease such as asthma, or COPD.
The Specification of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,043 teaches [0005] that the compound of the invention is a MMP-12 inhibitor.
Claims 1-14, 17, 22, 28-31 of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,043 do not teach that the compound is effective to treat ARDS, as in the instant claims.
Compere (US 2005/0014817) teaches [0086] that selective MMP-12 inhibitors are useful in the treatment of respiratory pathologies such as acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of claims 1-14, 17, 22, 28-31 of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,043 and Compere to arrive at the instantly claimed method. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer to a subject a pharmaceutical composition taught by claims 1-14, 17, 22, 28-31 of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,043 containing 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione and cyclodextrin, to treat ARDS, because the Specification of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,043 teaches that the compound of the invention is a MMP-12 inhibitor teaches that the active compound 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione is a selective MMP-12 inhibitor, effective to treat diseases that are responsive to inhibition of MMP-12, and Compere teaches that
selective MMP-12 inhibitors are useful in the treatment of respiratory pathologies such as acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS). Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have administered selective MMP-12 inhibitor 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione, alone or in a composition with cyclodextrin taught by the claims of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,043, to a subject suffering from ARDS, with the expectation that said MMP-12 inhibitor will be effective to treat ARDS.
Regarding claims 2, 4-6, 24, 26-28, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have determined the therapeutic dose in the method of treating ARDS, and the frequency of administration, as in instant claims 3, 25, because such an exploration of different doses of therapeutic agent and different frequency of administration (once or twice a day) in the method of treatment with the aim of optimizing therapeutic effect, is well within the skill of the artisan.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-11, 23-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent 10,532,102 (cited in PTO-892), in view of Compere et al. (US 2005/0014817, cited in PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent 10,532,102 render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent 10,532,102 are drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy) phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione (IVO); and a cyclodextrin, wherein the cyclodextrin is hydroxypropyl beta-cyclodextrin (as in instant claim 9), which is the very composition in the instant claims. Claim 2 of U.S. Patent 10,532,102 recites that the weight ratio of the compound of formula (I) to the cyclodextrin is 1:3, which is within the range in instant claim 10.
The Specification of U.S. Patent 10,532,102 teaches (column 1, lines 35-50) that 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy) phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione is a selective MMP-12 inhibitor, effective to treat diseases that are responsive to inhibition of MMP-12.
Compere is as above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent 10,532,102, and Compere to arrive at the instantly claimed method. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer to a subject a pharmaceutical composition taught by claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent 10,532,102 containing 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione and cyclodextrin, to treat ARDS, because the Specification of U.S. Patent 10,532,102 teaches that the compound of the invention is a selective MMP-12 inhibitor, effective to treat diseases that are responsive to inhibition of MMP-12, and Compere teaches that selective MMP-12 inhibitors are useful in the treatment of respiratory pathologies such as acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS). Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have administered selective MMP-12 inhibitor 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione, alone or in a composition with cyclodextrin taught by the claims of U.S. Patent 10,532,102, to a subject suffering from ARDS, with the expectation that said MMP-12 inhibitor will be effective to treat ARDS.
Regarding claims 2, 4-6, 24, 26-28, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have determined the therapeutic dose in the method of treating ARDS, and the frequency of administration, as in instant claims 3, 25, because such an exploration of different doses of therapeutic agent and different frequency of administration (once or twice a day) in the method of treatment with the aim of optimizing therapeutic effect, is well within the skill of the artisan.
As such, claims 1-11, 23-31 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
For similar reasons, claims 1-11, 23-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent 11,013,810 (cited in PTO-892), in view of Compere et al. (US 2005/0014817, cited in PTO-892); and over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent 11,628,220 (cited in PTO-892), in view of Compere et al. (US 2005/0014817, cited in PTO-892).
Conclusion
Claims 1-11, 23-31 are rejected.
/IRINA NEAGU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629