DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 7, 2023 and July 16, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-13, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawai (US Pub. No. 2017/0084921).
Regarding claims 12-13, Kawai teaches a lithium ion secondary battery (paragraph [0024]) comprising a positive electrode, and a negative electrode (paragraph [0173]), wherein the negative electrode includes a current collector and a negative electrode active material layer disposed on at least one side of the current collector (paragraph [0072]), the negative electrode active material layer includes a negative electrode active material with a specific embodiment including graphite particles A5 (taken to be the claimed graphite particles (A)), wherein the graphite particles are coated with pitch and carbon black (taken to be the claimed amorphous carbon coating), the graphite particles having an average particle diameter of 5 μm, and graphite particles A1 (claimed graphite particles (B)) coated with pitch and carbon black (claimed amorphous carbon fine particles) and resulting in numerous fine protrusions (taken to be the claimed supported amorphous carbon fine particles) (paragraphs [0032]-[0034], [0043] and [0101]-[0113]), 100 parts by weight of the graphite particles A1 having an average particle diameter of 11 μm and 20 parts by weight of the furnace black carbon black having an arithmetic average particle diameter of 46 nm (paragraph [0101]). Calculating the number per area using the formula of w * ρ_gr * D / (π * ρ_CB * d3) where w is mass CB per unit mass graphite = 0.2, D is graphite diameter = 11 μm = 1.1*10-3 cm, d is CB diameter = 46 nm = 4.6 * 10-6 cm, ρ_gr is graphite density = 2.2 g/cm3, and ρ_CB is carbon black density = 1.8 g/cm3, results in an amount per unit area of 8.8 *1011 per cm2 = 8,800 particles/μm2, falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 17, Kawai teaches that the graphite particles are particles of a natural graphite (paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 19, Kawai teaches another specific embodiment, including graphite particles A6 (taken to be the claimed graphite particles (A)), wherein the graphite particles are coated with pitch and carbon black (taken to be the claimed amorphous carbon coating), the graphite particles having an average particle diameter of 5 μm, and graphite particles A3 (claimed graphite particles (B)) coated with pitch and carbon black (claimed amorphous carbon fine particles) and resulting in numerous fine protrusions (taken to be the claimed supported amorphous carbon fine particles) (paragraphs [0032]-[0034], [0043] and [0101]-[0114]), the graphite particles A3 having an average particle diameter of 23 μm and the acetylene black carbon black having an arithmetic average particle diameter of 35 nm (paragraph [0103]) (such diameters of acetylene black and graphite resulting in the number of the amorphous carbon fine particles per unit area able to be far greater than 0.4 pieces/μm2 in the graphite particles (B) on which the amorphous carbon fine particles are supported, because the furnace black has an average diameter of 35 nm, many, many of which can fit in 1 μm2., the blending ratio being 1:1 (paragraph [0114]), resulting in a mass ratio A/B of 1, falling within the claimed range of 0.25 to 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai (US Pub. No. 2017/0084921).
Regarding claim 14, as was set forth above, Kawai teaches a specific embodiment including graphite particles A5 (taken to be the claimed graphite particles (A)) having an average particle diameter of 5 μm, and graphite particles A1 (claimed graphite particles (B)) having an average particle diameter of 11 μm and the furnace black carbon black having an arithmetic average particle diameter of 46 nm (paragraphs [0101], [0105] and [0113]). For such an embodiment, the graphite particles have an average size between 4 and 12 μm as claimed, and the amorphous carbon fine particles have an average size of 0.46 μm, such an amount being expected to have the same properties as the claimed 0.05 to 0.5 μm range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use amorphous carbon fine particles having average size within the claimed range, because the disclosed embodiment is close enough that one would have expected them to have the same properties. “A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.” MPEP at 2144.05 citing Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claims 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Yamada (US Pat. No. 5,576,121).
Regarding claims 15-16 and 18, Kawai does not specifically disclose a copper oxide. Yamada teaches using cupric oxide (CuO) in a negative electrode active material in an amount of 8% with respect to the total weight of the negative electrode active material and the copper oxide (column 9, lines 42-56). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use cupric oxide as taught by Yamada in the negative electrode active material of Kawai in order to significantly improve the capacity of the battery (see Yamada at column 3, lines 41-44).
Conclusion
/P.N.S/ Examiner, Art Unit 1749 July 29, 2026
/KATELYN W SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749