DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendment of 17 June 2024, in which claims 3-6, 8-14, 17, 28-31 have been amended, and claims 15-16, 18-21, 23-27 have been cancelled, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-14, 17, 22, 28-31 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1-14, 17, 22, 28-31 are being examined herein.
Priority
The instant application is a National Stage entry of International Application No. PCT/US2022/072790, filed on 7 June 2022, which claims priority from U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/208,273, filed on 8 June 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7 December 2023 and 1 April 2025 are acknowledged and considered.
Claim objection
Claim 1 is objected to because the text “composition comprising the compound of formula (I) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof” should read --composition comprising a compound of formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof--.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC 103
Claim interpretation: the term “safely administering” in claim 1, based on the teaching in the Specification, page 27, is consistent with safety of administration being assessed at pre-specified timepoints throughout the studies by AEs reporting, vital signs measurements, physical examination, laboratory tests, and ECG examinations. All recorded AEs were self-limited and considered to be of mild intensity. No severe or serious AEs were reported (page 24, 32). There were only few AEs that were mild, short-lasting, and self-limited; there was no increase in frequency or intensity of AEs at higher dose levels (page 32). None of the subjects discontinued from the study due to an AE. No clinically relevant changes from baseline assessments were observed in weight, vital signs, physical examination, laboratory or ECG data after the administration of the compound of formula (I) at any time point.
Claims 1-14, 17, 22, 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2019/0054178, published 21 February 2019, cited in PTO-892), in view of Nair et al. (Journal of Basic and Clinical Pharmacy 2016, 7 (2), 27-31, cited in PTO-892).
Li (US 2019/0054178) teaches [0020] a method of administering a pharmaceutical composition containing a compound of the formula (I)
and a cyclodextrin to an animal or human subject.
Li specifically teaches [0030] IVO: 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione as a compound of formula (I), which the very compound of the instant claims.
Thus, Li teaches a method of administering to a human subject a pharmaceutical composition containing a compound of the instant claims 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione (IVO) and a cyclodextrin.
Li studies (Example 4) the effect of different cyclodextrins on the aqueous solubility of 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]-fur-2-yl}-imidazolidin-2,4-dione (IVO)
[0035]. Li teaches ([0035], Table 4) that the enhancement effect on the aqueous solubility of compound IVO is in the order of MBCD>SBEBCD>HPBCD>HPGCD>ACD. MBCD (methyl beta cyclodextrin) is the most effective solubility improving agent in this experiment.
Li prepares ([0037], Example 6, Table 6) a complex of compound IVO, which is the very compound of the instant claims, with hydroxypropyl beta-cyclodextrin HPBCD, as in instant claim 30, where the weight ratio of the compound to the cyclodextrin is 1:3 (IVO:HPBCD = 25 : 75 (w/w)), which is within the range in instant claim 31. The IVO/HPBCD complex is named IVO/HPBCD ASD-01 [0037].
The composition comprises the compound of the instant claims, as in instant claim 28, and is amorphous [0037].
Li teaches [0004] that the compounds of the invention are selective inhibitors of MMP-12 useful in the treatment of diseases or conditions mediated by MMP-12, such as asthma, or chronic obstructive pulmonary diseases (COPD), as in instant claim 22.
Li prepares [0038] a unit dose comprising 150 mg IVO + 450 mg HPBCD, which is a composition comprising a cyclodextrin and 150 mg of the compound of the instant claims, where the unit dose is as in instant claims 2, 4, and is within the range in instant claim 1.
Li teaches (Example 11) a method of orally administering to a subject which is a beagle dog a pharmaceutical composition (suspension) comprising hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin (HPBCD) and IVO (which is the compound of the instant claims), wherein the dose of the compound IVO administered is 20 mg/kg [0049], [0051].
Li analyzes (Example 11) plasma samples [0063] collected from animals upon administration once a day, as in instant claims 3, 9-14, and determines PK parameters [0066], Table 12, namely the observed maximum plasma concentration (Cmax), as in instant claim 10, and the time of Cmax (Tmax), as in instant claim 12; the area under the plasma concentration-time curve from time-0 to 24 hour post-dose (AUC0-24 h) and the area under the plasma concentration-time curve from time-0 extrapolated to infinity (AUC 0-∞), as in instant claim 9; the apparent terminal elimination half-life (T1/2) [0068], as in instant claim 11; the total clearance [0069], as in instant claim 13; and the volume of distribution [0069], as in instant claim 14.
Li teaches (Example 12) a method of orally administering to a subject which is a beagle dog a pharmaceutical composition (capsule) comprising hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin (HPBCD) and IVO (which is the compound of the instant claims) (composition called IVO ADSD-01), wherein the dose of the compound IVO administered is 150 mg/dog (Table, [0099]), corresponding to 16 mg/kg dog (Table 15).
Li analyzes (Table 15) plasma samples collected from animals upon administration once a day, as in instant claims 3, 9-14, and determines PK parameters, Table 15, namely the observed maximum plasma concentration (Cmax), as in instant claim 10, and the time of Cmax (Tmax), as in instant claim 12; the area under the plasma concentration-time curve from time-0 to 24 hour post-dose (AUC0-24 h) and the area under the plasma concentration-time curve from time-0 extrapolated to infinity (AUC 0-∞), as in instant claim 9.
Li [0130]-[0131] evaluates the safety of the administration by clinical observation of the animals for mortality and signs of pain and distress; cage-side observations for general health and appearance were made once daily; on the dosing day, the animals were observed before and after each blood collection time point, with any unusual observations noted throughout the duration of the study being recorded in the study folder.
Li is silent regarding serious adverse effects and clinically significant changes in the subjects upon administration, which satisfies the limitation of claims 6-8.
Li does not teach administering the composition twice day, as in instant claims 3-5, 9-14, 17. Li does not multiple day administration, to achieve steady state, as in instant claim 17.
While Li teaches orally administering to dogs a dose of 20 mg/kg or 16 mg/kg of a IVO/HPBCD composition, Li does not specifically teach that the oral dose administered to a human subject is 25 mg to 600 mg, as in instant claims.
Nair et al. (Journal of Basic and Clinical Pharmacy 2016, 7 (2), 27-31, cited in PTO-892) teach dose calculations to convert doses between animals and humans (Table 1, Table 2, page 29).
Since Li teaches (Table 15) that a composition IVO/HPBCD is administered orally to dogs at a dose of 20 mg/kg, or at 16 mg/kg, using the teachings in Nair,
the corresponding dose in mg/kg for humans is calculated as follows:
20 mg/kg dog / 1.8 = 11.1 mg/kg HED,
which, for a human patient weighing 60 kg, corresponds to 666 mg;
or, for 16 mg/kg dog, the corresponding dose in mg/kg for humans is calculated as follows:
16 mg/kg dog / 1.8 = 8.8 mg/kg HED,
which, for a human patient weighing 60 kg, corresponds to 533 mg, which is within the range in instant claims 1, 2, 4, 5.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of Li and Nair to arrive at the instantly claimed method. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to orally administer to a human subject a pharmaceutical composition taught by Li containing 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione (IVO) and hydroxypropyl beta-cyclodextrin, and determine the human equivalent dose corresponding to the dose administered to dogs (Li), because calculating the human equivalent dose (HED) based on the animal dose, in a method of administering a therapeutic agent, is routine, well within the skill of the artisan.
Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have converted the dose taught by Li into a human equivalent daily dose in mg, and would have administered said dose or a lower dose to a human subject using daily administration, or twice a day administration, for several days, with monitoring for PK parameters and side effects, because such a protocol for determining the dose for safety administration of a therapeutic agent to humans is routine, well within the skill of the artisan, and a required part of any clinical trial.
With respect to the PK limitations in claim 9-14, 17, the properties of the composition are inherent to the composition. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the composition or renders the composition obvious, then the properties are also taught or rendered obvious by the prior art. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990.) See MPEP 2112.01. The burden is shifted to Applicant to show that the prior art product does not possess or render obvious the same properties as the instantly claimed product.
With respect to the limitation in instant claims 9-14, 17, even though Li does not specifically teach the AUC or Cmax levels (or other PK parameters listed in claims 9-14, 17) achieved in the human patient upon administration of the composition comprising 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione (IVO) and cyclodextrin, the ability to achieve said AUC or Cmax of IVO levels in a human patient upon administration is an inherent property of the IVO/cyclodextrin composition. In the instant case, achieving the claimed AUC and Cmax levels is inherently associated with administering a composition comprising IVO and cyclodextrin.
As such, claims 1-14, 17, 22, 28-31 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Double patenting
Claims 1-14, 17, 22, 28-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable at least over claims 1-11 of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,031 (published as US 20240269116, cited in PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-11 of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,031 render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-11 of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,031 are drawn to a method of treating acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient a pharmaceutical composition in a therapeutically effective amount, wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises a cyclodextrin and a compound of formula (F-I)
.
Thus, claims 1-11 of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,031 recite administering (safely, since said step is part of a method of treatment) to a subject the very composition as in the instant claims, namely a composition comprising the compound of the instant claims, and a cyclodextrin. The genus of subjects in claims 1-11 of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,031 include human subjects, which is the patient population in the instant claims. Claims 2, 4, 5, 6 of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,031 recite a total dosage of the compound of formula (F-I) administered per administration is about 50 mg, 100 mg, 150 mg, 200 mg, 300 mg, 400 mg, or 500 mg, or any dosage in between, which overlaps with the dose in instant claims 1, 2, 4, 5; claim 3 of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,031 recites that the pharmaceutical composition is administered once or twice per day, as in instant claims 3-5, 9-14, 17. Claim 7 of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,031 recites oral administration, as in the instant claims; claim 8 recites that the pharmaceutical composition comprises the compound of formula (F-I), as in instant claim 28; claim 9 recites that
the cyclodextrin is a hydroxypropyl beta-cyclodextrin (HPBCD), as in instant claim 30; claim 10 recites that the molar ratio of the compound of formula (F-I) to the cyclodextrin is from 1:0.1 to 1:10, as in instant claim 31.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to orally administer to a human subject the composition comprising compound F1 and a cyclodextrin of claims 1-11 of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,031, at the same or overlapping dose, to arrive at the instant invention. With respect to the limitation in instant claims 9-14, 17, even though claims 1-11 of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/568,031 do not specifically teach the AUC or Cmax levels (or other PK parameters listed in claims 9-14, 17) achieved in the human patient upon administration of the composition comprising 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione and cyclodextrin, the ability to achieve said AUC or Cmax of IVO levels in a human patient upon administration is an inherent property of the IVO/cyclodextrin composition. In the instant case, achieving the claimed AUC and Cmax levels is inherently associated with administering a composition comprising IVO and cyclodextrin.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-14, 17, 22, 28-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent 10,532,102 (cited in PTO-892), in view of Li et al. (US 2019/0054178, published 21 February 2019, cited in PTO-892), in further view of Nair et al. (Journal of Basic and Clinical Pharmacy 2016, 7 (2), 27-31, cited in PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent 10,532,102 render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent 10,532,102 are drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy) phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione (IVO); and a cyclodextrin, wherein the cyclodextrin is hydroxypropyl beta-cyclodextrin (as in instant claim 30), which is the very composition in the instant claims. Claim 2 of U.S. Patent 10,532,102 recites that the weight ratio of the compound of formula (I) to the cyclodextrin is 1:3, which is within the range in instant claim 31.
The Specification of U.S. Patent 10,532,102 teaches (column 2, lines 22-25) a method of administering a composition of the invention to a human subject.
Li teaches a method of administering orally a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy) phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione (IVO); and a cyclodextrin, to dogs at a dose of 20 mg/kg, or 16 mg/kg, with monitoring of PK parameters and adverse effects.
Nair are as above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent 10,532,102, Li and Nair to arrive at the instantly claimed method. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to orally administer to a human subject a pharmaceutical composition taught by claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent 10,532,102, and determine the human equivalent dose corresponding to the dose administered to dogs (Li), because calculating the human equivalent dose (HED) based on the animal dose, in a method of administering a therapeutic agent, is routine, well within the skill of the artisan.
Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have converted the dose taught by Li into a human equivalent daily dose in mg, and would have administered said dose or a lower dose to a human subject using daily administration, or twice a day administration, for several days, with monitoring for PK parameters and side effects, because such a protocol for determining the dose for safety administration of a therapeutic agent to humans is routine, well within the skill of the artisan, and a required part of any clinical trial.
With respect to the PK limitations in claim 9-14, 17, the properties of the composition are inherent to the composition. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the composition or renders the composition obvious, then the properties are also taught or rendered obvious by the prior art. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990.) See MPEP 2112.01. The burden is shifted to Applicant to show that the prior art product does not possess or render obvious the same properties as the instantly claimed product.
With respect to the limitation in instant claims 9-14, 17, even though prior art does not specifically teach the AUC or Cmax levels (or other PK parameters listed in claims 9-14, 17) achieved in the human patient upon administration of the composition comprising 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione (IVO) and cyclodextrin, the ability to achieve said AUC or Cmax of IVO levels in a human patient upon administration is an inherent property of the IVO/cyclodextrin composition. In the instant case, achieving the claimed AUC and Cmax levels is inherently associated with administering a composition comprising IVO and cyclodextrin.
As such, claims 1-14, 17, 22, 28-31 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claims 1-14, 17, 22, 28-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent 11,013,810 (cited in PTO-892), in view of Li et al. (US 2019/0054178, published 21 February 2019, cited in PTO-892), in further view of Nair et al. (Journal of Basic and Clinical Pharmacy 2016, 7 (2), 27-31, cited in PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent 11,013,810 render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent 11,013,810 are drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of formula I
and a cyclodextrin, wherein R is, for example, 3-methylphenyl, and wherein (claims 4, 5) the cyclodextrin is hydroxypropyl beta-cyclodextrin (as in instant claim 30), which is the very composition in the instant claims. Claims 2, 8 of U.S. Patent 11,013,810 recites that the weight ratio of the compound of formula (I) to the cyclodextrin is 1:1 to 1:50, which overlaps with the range in instant claim 31. Claims 14, 18 of U.S. Patent 11,013,810 recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising a cyclodextrin and a compound of formula (I) which is 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy) phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione, which is the very compound of the instant claims.
Claims 16, 20, 21 of U.S. Patent 11,013,810 recite Cmax and oral bioavailability which are achieved upon administration of the composition.
The Specification of U.S. Patent 11,013,810 teaches (column 2, lines 22-25) a method of administering a composition of the invention to a human subject.
Li teaches a method of administering orally a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy) phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione and a cyclodextrin, to dogs at a dose of 20 mg/kg, or 16 mg/kg, with monitoring of PK parameters and adverse effects.
Nair are as above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent 11,013,810, Li and Nair to arrive at the instantly claimed method. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to orally administer to a human subject a pharmaceutical composition taught by claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent 11,013,810, and determine the human equivalent dose corresponding to the dose administered to dogs (Li), because calculating the human equivalent dose (HED) based on the animal dose, in a method of administering a therapeutic agent, is routine, well within the skill of the artisan.
Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have converted the dose taught by Li into a human equivalent daily dose in mg, and would have administered said dose or a lower dose to a human subject using daily administration, or twice a day administration, for several days, with monitoring for PK parameters and side effects, because such a protocol for determining the dose for safety administration of a therapeutic agent to humans is routine, well within the skill of the artisan, and a required part of any clinical trial.
With respect to the PK limitations in claim 9-14, 17, the properties of the composition are inherent to the composition. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the composition or renders the composition obvious, then the properties are also taught or rendered obvious by the prior art. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990.) See MPEP 2112.01. The burden is shifted to Applicant to show that the prior art product does not possess or render obvious the same properties as the instantly claimed product.
With respect to the limitation in instant claims 9-14, 17, even though prior art does not specifically teach the AUC or Cmax levels (or other PK parameters listed in claims 9-14, 17) achieved in the human patient upon administration of the composition comprising 5-{3-[4-(3-Methyl-benzyloxy)phenylthio]fur-2-yl}imidazolidine-2,4-dione (IVO) and cyclodextrin, the ability to achieve said AUC or Cmax of IVO levels in a human patient upon administration is an inherent property of the IVO/cyclodextrin composition. In the instant case, achieving the claimed AUC and Cmax levels is inherently associated with administering a composition comprising IVO and cyclodextrin.
As such, claims 1-14, 17, 22, 28-31 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
For similar reasons as above, claims 1-14, 17, 22, 28-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent 11,628,220 (cited in PTO-892), in view of Li et al. (US 2019/0054178, published 21 February 2019, cited in PTO-892), in further view of Nair et al. (Journal of Basic and Clinical Pharmacy 2016, 7 (2), 27-31, cited in PTO-892).
Conclusion
Claims 1-14, 17, 22, 28-31 are rejected.
/IRINA NEAGU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629