DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 2/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Kimura converts each acceleration signal into magnitude-based energy values (fHL, fLL, fHR, fLR) by filtering, rectifying, and integrating the signals, and then compares ratios of those energy values to make a deformation determination. The energy and ratios of energy remain dependent on signal amplitude and therefore are not signal-strength-independent properties of the signals themselves.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph 17 of the present publication states “for each sensor, signal strength-independent properties, such as the frequency, that describe the properties of the contact are determined”, therefore, the signal strength-independent property is the frequency of the acceleration signal.
Kimura also teaches use frequency of the acceleration signal to detect the contact (Column 20, lines 1-45, “The side deformation determination process which uses a pair of acceleration sensors mounted on either side of a vehicle body (multiple point type 1) can be carried out by comparing the frequency components of the left system and the right system (fLL, fHL, fLR and fHR) obtained by the frequency analysis according to the prescribed determination logic”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimura et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6018980).
Regarding claim 11, Kimura teaches a method for detecting a contact on a vehicle, the method comprising the following steps: evaluating and comparing acceleration signals from at least two sensors to one another (Column 20, lines 1-45, “The side deformation determination process which uses a pair of acceleration sensors mounted on either side of a vehicle body (multiple point type 1) can be carried out by comparing the frequency components of the left system and the right system (fLL, fHL, fLR and fHR) obtained by the frequency analysis according to the prescribed determination logic”), wherein at least one signal strength-independent property of the signals is taken into account (Column 20, lines 1-45, “comparing the frequency components”); and detecting the contact on the vehicle based on the evaluation and comparison (Column 20, lines 1-45, “The side deformation determination process”).
Regarding claim 12, Kimura teaches wherein a frequency of each of the signals is acquired as the signal strength-independent property of the signals (Column 20, lines 1-45, “comparing the frequency components”).
Regarding claim 13, Kimura teaches wherein the method is used to detect a contact which results in minor damage (Column 5, line 63 to column 5, line 4, “this determination logic allows a time interval involving an intrusion (side deformation) and a time interval not involving an intrusion to be accurately distinguished according to the differences between the distributions of frequency components”, no intrusion is a minor damage).
Regarding claim 14, Kimura teaches wherein a frequency is taken into account as at least one property of the at least one signal strength-independent property (Column 20, lines 1-45, “comparing the frequency components”)
Regarding claim 15, Kimura teaches in which a first sensor and a second sensor are used (Column 20, lines 1-45).
Regarding claim 16, Kimura teaches wherein the first sensor and the second sensor are mounted on opposite sides of the vehicle (Column 20, lines 1-45).
Regarding claim 17, Kimura teaches wherein further sensors are used (As shown in Fig.11, RU, LU and CU).
Regarding claim 18, Kimura teaches wherein a relative signal strength ascertainment is carried out (Column 10, lines 52-67).
Regarding claims 19-20, the claims are commensurate in scope with the above claim 11, and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIN Y ZHONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855