DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–15 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0274857 A1.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07 December 2023 and 19 September 2025 were filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The view numbers of FIGS. 1–30 are not larger than the letters, numbers, and reference characters used in the drawing. The view numbers must be larger than the numbers used for reference characters. See 37 CFR 1.84 (u)(2).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ALIGNING DEVICE INCLUDING CELL SPACING ADJUSTING JIG ADUSTING SPACING OF BATTERY CELLS AND ASSEMBLING SYSTEM FOR BATTERY MODULE ASSEMBLY INCLUDING THE SAME.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference character 110 is referred to as an upper conveyor in paragraphs [0060], [0061], [0063], and [0067], and as a first conveyor in paragraphs [0119], [0120], and [0154]. The terminology used to designate the element represented by reference character 110 should be consistent throughout the specification or both of the terminologies should be included at the first instance of the differing terminology.
Reference character 130 is referred to as an lower conveyor in paragraphs [0060], [0062]–[0064], and [0067], and as a second conveyor in paragraphs [0119], [0120], and [0154]. The terminology used to designate the element represented by reference character 130 should be consistent throughout the specification or both of the terminologies should be included at the first instance of the differing terminology.
Reference character 226 is referred to as a cooling unit gripper in paragraph [0078]. Reference character 226 is used to designate a spacing adjusting portion; and reference character 230 is used to designate a cooling unit gripper. Reference character 230 should be used to designate a cooling unit gripper in paragraph [0078].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "assembling a battery module assembly, at least two rows of battery cells and a cooling unit to form a cell assembly." It is unclear how a battery module assembly, at least two rows of battery cells and a cooling unit can be assembled to form a cell assembly. The cell assembly is formed by at least two rows of battery cells and a cooling unit; and a battery module assembly is formed by cell assemblies and side structure units (FIG. 30, [0159]).
Claims 2 and 3 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2 and 3 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "a spacing of the battery cells." Claim 1, which claim 4 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "a spacing of the battery cells." It is unclear if "a spacing of the battery cells" recited in claim 4 is further limiting or referencing "a spacing of the battery cells" recited in claim 1. Claim 1 provides antecedent basis for the term "a spacing of the battery cells." However, claim 4 does not use a modifier, such as "the" or "said" indicating "spacing of the battery cells" is further limiting or referencing "a spacing of the battery cells" recited in claim 1.
Claims 5 and 6 are directly or indirectly depending from claim 4, are indirectly dependent from claim 1, and include all the limitations of claims 1 and 4. Therefore, claims 5 and 6 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7–11 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 7–11 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the aligning device according to claim 1" and includes all the limitation of claim 1. Therefore, claim 12 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 13–15 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 12 and includes all the limitations of claim 12. Therefore, claims 13–15 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–3, 7, 9, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ni et al. (CN 113629285 A, hereinafter Ni).
Regarding claim 1, Ni discloses an aligning device for an assembling system for assembling a battery module assembly (FIG. 4, [0063]), at least two rows of battery cells (5) and a cooling unit (4) to form a cell assembly (FIG. 4, [0026]), the aligning device (FIG. 1, [0021]) comprising:
a pair of guide jigs (7) configured to support the at least two rows of the battery cells (5, [0026]);
a cell spacing adjusting jig (1) connected to the pair of guide jigs (1) and configured to adjust a spacing of the battery cells (5) in each row of the at least two rows (FIG. 4, [0026]); and
a cooling unit gripper (2) configured to dispose the cooling unit (4) between the pair of guide jigs (7, [0026]).
Regarding claim 2, Ni discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an aligning device:
wherein the pair of guide jigs (7) are provided to be slidable along a direction toward the cooling unit gripper (2) and a direction opposite to the cooling unit gripper (2, [0039]).
Regarding claim 3, Ni discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an aligning device:
wherein the pair of guide jigs (7) pressurize the battery cells (5) in the each row through a sliding thereof (FIG. 3, [0026]),
so that the battery cells (5) in the each row come into contact with opposite side surfaces of the cooling unit (4, [0026]).
Regarding claim 7, Ni discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an aligning device, further comprising:
a cell support (1) provided on the pair of guide jigs (7) and configured to support the battery cells (5, [0026]).
Regarding claim 9, Ni discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an aligning device, further comprising:
an aligning gripper (2-4) provided on an upper side of the pair of guide jigs (7) and configured to pressurize and fix an upper end of the at least two rows of the battery cells (5) disposed with the cooling unit (4) interposed therebetween (FIG. 3, [0026]).
Regarding claim 10, Ni discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an aligning device:
wherein the pair of guide jigs (7) are provided to be tiltable at a predetermined angle with the cooling unit gripper (2) interposed therebetween (FIG. 3, [0039]).
Regarding claim 12, Ni discloses an assembling system for a battery module assembly (FIG. 4, [0063]), at least two rows of battery cells (5) and a cooling unit (4) to form a cell assembly (FIG. 4, [0026]), the aligning system (FIG. 1, [0021]) comprising an aligning device, wherein the aligning device comprises:
a pair of guide jigs (7) configured to support the at least two rows of the battery cells (5, [0026]);
a cell spacing adjusting jig (1) connected to the pair of guide jigs (1) and configured to adjust a spacing of the battery cells (5) in each row of the at least two rows (FIG. 4, [0026]); and
a cooling unit gripper (2) configured to dispose the cooling unit (4) between the pair of guide jigs (7, [0026]).
Claims 1, 4–6, and 11–15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cao (CN 114335665 A).
Regarding claim 1, Cao discloses an aligning device (40) for an assembling system (100) for assembling a battery module assembly (400), at least two rows of battery cells (200) and a cooling unit (300) to form a cell assembly (400, [0023]), the aligning device (40) comprising:
a pair of guide jigs (423, 424) configured to support the at least two rows of the battery cells (200, [0030]);
a cell spacing adjusting jig (422) connected to the pair of guide jigs (41) and configured to adjust a spacing of the battery cells (200) in each row of the at least two rows (200, [0027]); and
a cooling unit gripper (30) configured to dispose the cooling unit (300) between the pair of guide jigs (423, 424; [0025]).
Regarding claim 4, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an aligning device:
wherein the cell spacing adjusting jig (422) is slidably mounted on one side of the pair of guide jigs (423, 424; [0032]), and
at least a part of the cell spacing adjusting jig (422) penetrates the pair of guide jigs (423, 424) and slides between the battery cells (200) in the each row to adjust a spacing of the battery cells (200) in the each row during a sliding of the pair of guide jigs (423, 424; [0032]).
Regarding claim 5, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an aligning device, wherein the cell spacing adjusting jig (422) includes:
an adjusting jig body (4221) slidably mounted on one side of each guide jig (422) of the pair of guide jigs (422, [0032]); and
a plurality of spacing adjusting portions (4222) that protrudes from the adjusting jig body (4221) by a predetermined length (FIG. 5, [0032]), and
the plurality of spacing adjusting portions (4222) slides between the battery cells (200) in the each row through the each guide jig (422) to widen the spacing of the battery cells (200) in the each row at a predetermined interval during the sliding of the pair of guide jigs (422, [0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an aligning device:
wherein the plurality of spacing adjusting portions (4222) are spaced apart by a predetermined distance at equal intervals from each other along a longitudinal direction of the adjusting jig body (422, [0032]).
Regarding claim 11, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an aligning device:
wherein the cooling unit (300) is mutually bonded between the at least two rows of the battery cells (200) to form the cell assembly (400, [0025]).
Regarding claim 12, Cao discloses an assembling system (100) for a battery module assembly (400, [0023]), at least two rows of battery cells (200) and a cooling unit (300) to form a cell assembly (400, [0023]), the assembling system (100) comprising an aligning device (40), wherein the aligning device (40) comprises:
a pair of guide jigs (423, 424) configured to support the at least two rows of the battery cells (200, [0030]);
a cell spacing adjusting jig (422) connected to the pair of guide jigs (41) and configured to adjust a spacing of the battery cells (200) in each row of the at least two rows (200, [0027]); and
a cooling unit gripper (30) configured to dispose the cooling unit (300) between the pair of guide jigs (423, 424; [0025]).
Regarding claim 13, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an assembling system, wherein the assembling system (100) includes:
a first transfer device (30) configured to transfer the battery cells (200) in the at least two rows and guide the battery cells (200) toward the aligning device (40, [0023]);
a second transfer device (50) configured to transfer the cell assembly (400) assembled by the aligning device (40) toward a structure assembling device (60) for assembly with a side structure unit (300) that covers the battery cells (200, [0026]); and
the structure assembling device (60) configured to form the battery module assembly (400) by arranging a plurality of side structure units (300) including the side structure unit between the battery cells (200) of at least one of the cell assembly (400) transferred by the second transfer device (50, [0026]).
Regarding claim 14, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an assembling system:
wherein the second transfer device (50) cures the cell assembly (400) at room temperature during the transfer (FIG. 3, [0034]).
Regarding claim 15, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an assembling system:
wherein the structure assembling device (60) mutually bonds the plurality of side structure units (300) and the at least one of the cell assembly (400, [0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni (CN 113629285 A) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Jeong (EP 3922569 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Ni discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose an aligning device:
wherein the cell support includes a magnetic member.
Jeong discloses an aligning device (FIG. 1, [0018]) comprising a cell support (100) including a magnetic member (100, [0019]) to prevent damage to battery cells (see aligner, [0014]). Ni and Jeong are analogous because they are directed to assembling systems for battery module assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the cell support of Ni with the magnetic member of Jeong in order to prevent damage to battery cells.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wuxi Lead Intelligent Equipment Co. Ltd. (CN 212763164 U, hereinafter Wuxi) discloses an assembling system for a battery module assembly (FIG. 1, [0070])
Mao et al. (US 2019/0157708 A1, hereinafter Mao) discloses an assembling system for a battery module assembly (FIG. 12, [0095]).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725