DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-20, 24, 28-31, 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘237 (WO2008104237) in view of Grayson et al. (US2020/0124193).
For claim 1, ‘237 discloses a plurality of elements (fig. 4, 4, 8) of which each element is for use as part of a fire-resistant sealing system for sealing off a conduit (1) by making with the elements a support structure in the conduit, wherein each element is of an elastic material that comprises predominantly fire-resistant rubber (page 3 of submitted translation, “summary of the invention”, silicon rubber), and wherein at least one of the elements exhibits at room temperature a color (Page 8 line 4) and transitions to a white color as the at least one element is heated (silicon rubber turns to silicon dioxide which is a soft white substance when burnt).
‘237 does not disclose that the color is a pastel green color that has a calming physiological effect on humans and/or a calming psychological effect on humans.
Grayson et al. discloses the obviousness of painting a sealing element pastel green to provide light absorption properties to the element [0050].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to paint the sealing element of ‘237 pastel green as made obvious by Grayson et al. to increase the light absorption of the element, reduce glare and enhance the aesthetic appeal of the conduit.
For claim 5, the combination discloses that at least one of the elements is a longitudinal element (‘237 fig. 3, 4).
For claim 6, the combination discloses that each element is free of a flange (‘237 fig. 3, 4).
For claim 7, the combination discloses that each element is a tubular element having a hollow core (‘237 fig. 3, 4).
For claim 8, the combination discloses that each element is cylindrical (‘237 fig. 3, 4).
For claims 9-11, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to form the element from an extrudate, by injection molding or by compression molding since these are well known manufacturing process for tubular elements. Moreover, these processes are considered product by process limitations (see MPEP 2113).
For claims 12-14, it would be obvious to make each tubular element have an inner diameter in a range of 8-40mm, an outer diameter in a range of 16-50mm and a mantle wall having a thickness in a range of 3-7mm (‘237 submitted translation page 6 paragraph 5).
For claim 15, the combination discloses that the rubber has a hardness in a range of 70-79 Shore A (‘237 submitted translation page 6 paragraph 5).
For claim 16, the combination discloses the obviousness of making each element of comprise a foam (‘237 fig. 7, 9, submitted translation page 8 paragraph 2).
For claim 17, it would be obvious to make the foam comprise cells of which more than 60% are closed cells since closed cell foam is well known in the art to increase the strength and waterproofing abilities of the element.
For claims 18-19, the combination discloses that the rubber is a silicon rubber and it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill to make the rubber ceramifiable rubber since the rubber material has already been disclosed and picking a specific type of rubber is obvious to one having ordinary skill to increase the insulation abilities of the rubber.
For claim 20, the combination discloses a plurality of elements according to claim 1 further comprising a fire-resistant sealant (‘237 fig. 4, 5) for use as part of a fire-resistant sealing system for sealing off the conduit, wherein the sealant is configurable to be provided against the support structure, wherein the sealant vulcanizes into rubber that exhibits at room temperature (page 3, “Summary of the invention”), and before and after vulcanization, a pastel green color as made obvious by Grayson et al. [0050] which has a calming physiological effect on humans and/or a calming psychological effect on humans.
For claim 24, the combination discloses that the sealant comprises after vulcanization silicone rubber (‘237 page 7 lines 6-8).
For claim 28, the combination discloses that a number of the elements can together form one tubular element having a hollow core (‘237 fig. 6, 5).
For claims 29-31, it would be obvious to make each tubular element have an inner diameter in a range of 10-32mm, an outer diameter in a range of 20-40mm and a mantle wall having a thickness in a range of 4-6mm (‘237 submitted translation page 6 paragraph 5).
For claim 33, the combination discloses that the rubber has a hardness in a range of 72-77 Shore A (‘237 submitted translation page 6 paragraph 5).
Response to Arguments
The arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA K IHEZIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633