DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/07/2023, 07/29/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 17, "housing, , wherein", should read --housing, wherein-- to remedy a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12564841. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of the patent US 12564841 appears to anticipate claim 1 of the present application, etc.
Claim 1 comparison:
Present application 18/568,088
Reznitchenki et al. (US 12564841)
A hydraulic system for a roller crusher comprising a machine frame,
A hydraulic system for a roller crusher comprising a machine frame,
a fixed roll supported by one or more fixed bearing housings fixed relative to the machine frame,
a fixed roll supported by one or more fixed bearing housings fixed relative to the machine frame,
a movable roll supported by first and second movable bearing housings movable relative to the machine frame, and
a movable roll supported by first and second movable bearing housings movable relative to the machine frame, and
wherein the fixed roll and the movable roll defines a crushing gap for receiving material to be comminuted, the hydraulic system comprising:
wherein the fixed roll and the movable roll defines a crushing gap for receiving material to be comminuted, the hydraulic system comprising:
a first main cylinder connectable to the first movable bearing housing and comprising a first main piston for exerting a force along a first axis resulting in a force on the first movable bearing housing, and
at least one first main actuator connectable to the first movable bearing housing, each of the at least one first main actuator comprising a first main cylinder having a first main hydraulic chamber formed therein, and a first main piston which extends into the first main cylinder,
a first main hydraulic chamber for controlling the force exerted by the first main piston,
wherein the at least one first main actuator is configured to exert a force along a first axis resulting in a force on the first movable bearing housing, at least one second main actuator connectable to the second movable bearing housing,
a second main cylinder connectable to the second movable bearing housing and comprising a second main piston for exerting a force along a second axis parallel to the first axis resulting in a force on the second movable bearing housing, and a second main hydraulic chamber for controlling the force exerted by the second main piston,
each of the at least one second main actuator comprising a second main cylinder having a second main hydraulic chamber formed therein, and a second main piston which extends into the second main cylinder, wherein the at least one second main actuator is configured to exert a force along a second axis parallel to the first axis resulting in a force on the second movable bearing housing,
a first crossing cylinder connectable to the first movable bearing housing and operationally coupled to the first main piston, comprising
a first synchronizing piston which extends into the first synchronizing hydraulic chamber,
a first crossing cylinder connectable to the first movable bearing housing and operationally coupled to the first main piston, comprising a first synchronizing hydraulic chamber and a first synchronizing piston for exerting a force along the first axis resulting in a force on the first movable bearing housing, , wherein the first synchronizing piston extends into the first synchronizing hydraulic chamber and comprises a first synchronizing piston element separating the first synchronizing hydraulic chamber into a first compression chamber and a first rebound chamber,
a first crossing actuator comprising a first crossing cylinder having a first synchronizing hydraulic chamber formed therein, and a first synchronizing piston which extends into the first synchronizing hydraulic chamber, wherein the first synchronizing piston comprises a first synchronizing piston element separating the first synchronizing hydraulic chamber into a first compression chamber and a first rebound chamber,
a second crossing cylinder connectable to the second movable bearing housing and operationally coupled to the second main piston comprising a second synchronizing hydraulic chamber and a second synchronizing piston for exerting a force along the second axis resulting in a force on the second movable bearing housing, wherein the second synchronizing piston extends into the second synchronizing hydraulic chamber and comprises a second synchronizing piston element separating the second synchronizing hydraulic chamber into a second compression chamber and a second rebound chamber, and
a second crossing actuator comprising a second crossing cylinder having a second synchronizing hydraulic chamber formed therein, and a second synchronizing piston which extends into the second synchronizing hydraulic chamber, wherein the second synchronizing piston comprises a second synchronizing piston element separating the second synchronizing hydraulic chamber into a second compression chamber and a second rebound chamber,
wherein the first compression chamber is fluidly connected to the second rebound chamber and the first rebound chamber is fluidly connected to the second compression chamber.
wherein the first crossing actuator is operationally coupled to the at least one first main actuator, and the second crossing actuator is operationally coupled to the at least one second main actuator,
wherein the first compression chamber is fluidly connected to the second rebound chamber and the first rebound chamber is fluidly connected to the second compression chamber, and
wherein a total cross-sectional area of the first main hydraulic chamber(s) of the at least one first main actuator is 1.5 to 9 times larger than a cross-sectional area of the first synchronizing chamber, and wherein a total cross-sectional area of the second main hydraulic chamber(s) of the at least one second main actuator is 1.5 to 9 times larger than a cross-sectional area of the second synchronizing chamber.
Claims 2-11 of the present application appear to correspond to claims 2-11 of Reznitchenki et al. (US 12564841) such that the claims of the US patent anticipate or render obvious the claims of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recite “a machine frame”, a fixed roll”, “a movable roll”, etc. However, claim 11 depends from claim 1, which already recites these structures. It is unclear whether these are the same structures or are different structures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Broekhoven et al. (US 2759330), hereinafter ‘Broekhoven’.
Broekhoven discloses:
1. (Original) A hydraulic system for a roller crusher comprising a machine frame,
a fixed roll supported by one or more fixed bearing housings fixed relative to the machine frame,
a movable roll supported by first and second movable bearing housings movable relative to the machine frame, and
wherein the fixed roll and the movable roll defines a crushing gap for receiving material to be comminuted (these recitations in the preamble are interpreted to be intended use recitations that do not constitute patentable weight; the hydraulic system of Broekhoven is capable of being used with a roller crusher),
the hydraulic system comprising:
a first main cylinder connectable to the first movable bearing housing and comprising a first main piston for exerting a force along a first axis resulting in a force on the first movable bearing housing, and
a first main hydraulic chamber for controlling the force exerted by the first main piston,
a second main cylinder connectable to the second movable bearing housing and comprising a second main piston for exerting a force along a second axis parallel to the first axis resulting in a force on the second movable bearing housing, and
a second main hydraulic chamber for controlling the force exerted by the second main piston,
a first crossing cylinder connectable to the first movable bearing housing and operationally coupled to the first main piston, comprising
a first synchronizing hydraulic chamber and a first synchronizing piston for exerting a force along the first axis resulting in a force on the first movable bearing housing, ,
wherein the first synchronizing piston extends into the first synchronizing hydraulic chamber and comprises
a first synchronizing piston element separating the first synchronizing hydraulic chamber into a first compression chamber and a first rebound chamber,
a second crossing cylinder connectable to the second movable bearing housing and operationally coupled to the second main piston comprising a second synchronizing hydraulic chamber and
a second synchronizing piston for exerting a force along the second axis resulting in a force on the second movable bearing housing,
wherein the second synchronizing piston extends into the second synchronizing hydraulic chamber and comprises
a second synchronizing piston element separating the second synchronizing hydraulic chamber into a second compression chamber and a second rebound chamber, and
wherein the first compression chamber is fluidly connected to the second rebound chamber and the first rebound chamber is fluidly connected to the second compression chamber (see annotated Broekhoven Fig. 2’, all limitations are either annotated or apparent from the Figures).
4. (Currently Amended) The hydraulic system according to claim 1, wherein the fluid connection between the first compression chamber and the second rebound chamber form a first closed fluid circuit and the fluid connection between the first rebound chamber and the second compression chamber form a second closed fluid circuit (fluid lines 30, 29 each form a closed fluid circuit when valve 34 is closed).
5. (Currently Amended) The hydraulic system according to claim 1,further comprising one or more hydraulic accumulators in fluid connection with the first main hydraulic chamber and/or the second main hydraulic chamber (Col. 3 lines 55-61 discloses “pressure reservoir” in fluid connection with the hydraulic chambers of the main cylinders 5 and 6).
6. (Currently Amended) The hydraulic system according to claim 1, wherein the first synchronizing piston and the first synchronizing piston element are integrally connected, and the second synchronizing piston and the second synchronizing piston element are integrally connected (synchronizing piston elements 23, 24 are integrally connected to synchronizing pistons that include 27, 28, 9, 10).
7. (Currently Amended) The hydraulic system according to claim 1, wherein the first crossing cylinder is engaged with the first main cylinder to prevent movement of the first crossing cylinder relative to the first main cylinder in a first plane perpendicular to the first axis (Col. 3 lines 69-72, first crossing cylinder 21 is rigidly coupled to first main cylinder 5 which prevents relative movement), and/or the second crossing cylinder is engaged with the second main cylinder to prevent movement of the second crossing cylinder relative to the second main cylinder in in a second plane perpendicular to the second axis (Col. 3 lines 69-72, second crossing cylinder 22 is rigidly coupled to second main cylinder 6 which prevents relative movement).
8. (Currently Amended) The hydraulic system according to claim 1, wherein the first main piston is connected with the first synchronizing piston (first main piston 7 is connected with the first synchronizing piston 23, 25, 27) and/or the second main piston is connected with the second synchronizing piston (second main piston 8 is connected with the second synchronizing piston 24, 26, 28).
9. (Currently Amended) The hydraulic system according to claim 8, wherein the first main piston is integrally connected with the first synchronizing piston (first main piston 7 is connected with the first synchronizing piston 23, 25, 27) and/or the second main piston is integrally connected with the second synchronizing piston (second main piston 8 is connected with the second synchronizing piston 24, 26, 28).
10. (Currently Amended) The hydraulic system according to claim 1, wherein the first main piston is configured to deliver the force along the first axis onto the first synchronizing piston and/or the second main piston is configured to deliver the force along the second axis onto the second synchronizing piston (see annotated Broekhoven Fig. 2’, axes are labeled).
Claim(s) 1, 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jakobs (DE3705050).
Jakobs discloses:
1. (Original) A hydraulic system (see Figure) for a roller crusher (10, 11) comprising a machine frame (paragraph 0011] discloses a machine frame),
a fixed roll (10) supported by one or more fixed bearing housings (13, 14) fixed relative to the machine frame,
a movable roll (11) supported by first and second movable bearing housings (15, 16) movable relative to the machine frame, and
wherein the fixed roll and the movable roll defines a crushing gap (12) for receiving material to be comminuted, the hydraulic system comprising:
a first main cylinder (portion of cylinder 19 that surrounds chamber 23) connectable to the first movable bearing housing (15) and comprising a first main piston (30) for exerting a force along a first axis resulting in a force on the first movable bearing housing, and
a first main hydraulic chamber (23) for controlling the force exerted by the first main piston,
a second main cylinder (portion of cylinder 20 that surrounds chamber 26) connectable to the second movable bearing housing (16) and comprising a second main piston (32) for exerting a force along a second axis parallel to the first axis resulting in a force on the second movable bearing housing (cylinders 19 and 20 have parallel longitudinal axes), and
a second main hydraulic chamber (26) for controlling the force exerted by the second main piston,
a first crossing cylinder (portion of cylinder 19 that surrounds chambers 21, 22) connectable to the first movable bearing housing and operationally coupled to the first main piston (30), comprising
a first synchronizing hydraulic chamber (21) and a first synchronizing piston (29) for exerting a force along the first axis resulting in a force on the first movable bearing housing,
wherein the first synchronizing piston extends into the first synchronizing hydraulic chamber and comprises a first synchronizing piston element (33) separating the first synchronizing hydraulic chamber into a first compression chamber (21) and a first rebound chamber (22),
a second crossing cylinder (portion of cylinder 20 that surrounds chambers 24, 25) connectable to the second movable bearing housing and operationally coupled to the second main piston comprising a second synchronizing hydraulic chamber (24) and
a second synchronizing piston (31) for exerting a force along the second axis resulting in a force on the second movable bearing housing,
wherein the second synchronizing piston extends into the second synchronizing hydraulic chamber and comprises a second synchronizing piston element (34) separating the second synchronizing hydraulic chamber into a second compression chamber (24) and a second rebound chamber (25), and
wherein the first compression chamber is fluidly connected to the second rebound chamber (first compression chamber 21 is fluidly connected to the second rebound chamber 25) and the first rebound chamber is fluidly connected to the second compression chamber (first rebound chamber 22 is connected to the second compression chamber 24).
5. (Currently Amended) The hydraulic system according to claim 1,further comprising one or more hydraulic accumulators (42, 43) in fluid connection with the first main hydraulic chamber and/or the second main hydraulic chamber.
6. (Currently Amended) The hydraulic system according to claim 1, wherein the first synchronizing piston and the first synchronizing piston element are integrally connected, and the second synchronizing piston and the second synchronizing piston element are integrally connected (absent further limitations on what 'integrally connected" requires, the first synchronizing piston 29 and the first synchronizing piston element 33 are integrally connected in that they remain in constant sliding contact; and the second synchronizing piston 31 and the second synchronizing piston element 34 are integrally connected in that they remain in constant sliding contact).
7. (Currently Amended) The hydraulic system according to claim 1, wherein the first crossing cylinder is engaged with the first main cylinder to prevent movement of the first crossing cylinder relative to the first main cylinder in a first plane perpendicular to the first axis, and/or the second crossing cylinder is engaged with the second main cylinder to prevent movement of the second crossing cylinder relative to the second main cylinder in in a second plane perpendicular to the second axis (the crossing cylinder is interpreted to be a portion of the cylinder 19, 20 which is unitary with the main cylinders which are the portion of cylinder 19 that surrounds chamber 23 and the portion of cylinder 20 that surrounds chamber 26; both cylinder portions are not movable relative to each other as they from a rigid structure).
8. (Currently Amended) The hydraulic system according to claim 1, wherein the first main piston is connected with the first synchronizing piston and/or the second main piston is connected with the second synchronizing piston (first main piston 30 is connected with the first synchronizing piston 29 via rod 27; second main piston 32 is connected with the second synchronizing piston 31 via rod 28).
9. (Currently Amended) The hydraulic system according to claim 8, wherein the first main piston is integrally connected with the first synchronizing piston and/or the second main piston is integrally connected with the second synchronizing piston (first main piston 30 is connected with the first synchronizing piston 29 via rod 27; second main piston 32 is connected with the second synchronizing piston 31 via rod 28).
10. (Currently Amended) The hydraulic system according to claim 1, wherein the first main piston is configured to deliver the force along the first axis onto the first synchronizing piston and/or the second main piston is configured to deliver the force along the second axis onto the second synchronizing piston (first main piston 30 is connected with the first synchronizing piston 29 via rod 27; second main piston 32 is connected with the second synchronizing piston 31 via rod 28; the main pistons transfer the force resulting from the pressurized fluid in chambers 23, 26 to the synchronizing pistons 29,31 through the rigid connection rods 27, 28).
11. (Currently Amended) A roller crusher for comminution of material comprising: a machine frame, a fixed roll supported by fixed bearing housings, wherein the fixed bearing housings are fixed relative to the machine frame, a movable roll supported by movable bearing housings, wherein the movable bearing housings are movable relative to the machine frame, wherein the fixed roll and the movable roll defines a crushing gap for receiving material to be comminuted, and a hydraulic system according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection for equivalent limitation mapping and discussion, for examination purposes, these recited structures are interpreted to be the same as the structures already recited in claim 1), wherein the hydraulic system is configured to deliver a force onto the movable bearing housing to bias the movable roll towards the fixed roll (paragraph [0014]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Broekhoven in view of Jakobs (DE3705050).
Broekhoven discloses the hydraulic system according to claim 1, but does not disclose A roller crusher for comminution of material comprising: a machine frame, a fixed roll supported by fixed bearing housings, a movable roll supported by movable bearing housings, wherein the movable bearing housings are movable relative to the machine frame, wherein the fixed roll and the movable roll defines a crushing gap for receiving material to be comminuted.
However, Jakobs hydraulic system similar to Broekhoven and the present application and therefore constitutes analogous art. Jakobs discloses a hydraulic system (see Figure) for a roller crusher (10, 11) comprising a machine frame (paragraph 0011] discloses a machine frame),
a fixed roll (10) supported by one or more fixed bearing housings (13, 14) fixed relative to the machine frame,
a movable roll (11) supported by first and second movable bearing housings (15, 16) movable relative to the machine frame, and
wherein the fixed roll and the movable roll defines a crushing gap (12) for receiving material to be comminuted, the hydraulic system comprising:
a first main cylinder (19) connectable to the first movable bearing housing (15) and comprising a first main piston (30) for exerting a force along a first axis resulting in a force on the first movable bearing housing, and
a first main hydraulic chamber (23) for controlling the force exerted by the first main piston,
a second main cylinder (20) connectable to the second movable bearing housing (16) and comprising a second main piston (32) for exerting a force along a second axis parallel to the first axis resulting in a force on the second movable bearing housing (cylinders 19 and 20 have parallel longitudinal axes), and
a second main hydraulic chamber (26) for controlling the force exerted by the second main piston,
a first crossing cylinder (portion of cylinder 19 that surrounds chambers 21, 22) connectable to the first movable bearing housing and operationally coupled to the first main piston (30), comprising
a first synchronizing hydraulic chamber (21) and a first synchronizing piston (29) for exerting a force along the first axis resulting in a force on the first movable bearing housing,
wherein the first synchronizing piston extends into the first synchronizing hydraulic chamber and comprises a first synchronizing piston element (33) separating the first synchronizing hydraulic chamber into a first compression chamber (21) and a first rebound chamber (22),
a second crossing cylinder (portion of cylinder 20 that surrounds chambers 24, 25) connectable to the second movable bearing housing and operationally coupled to the second main piston comprising a second synchronizing hydraulic chamber (24) and
a second synchronizing piston (31) for exerting a force along the second axis resulting in a force on the second movable bearing housing,
wherein the second synchronizing piston extends into the second synchronizing hydraulic chamber and comprises a second synchronizing piston element (34) separating the second synchronizing hydraulic chamber into a second compression chamber (24) and a second rebound chamber (25), and
wherein the first compression chamber is fluidly connected to the second rebound chamber (first compression chamber 21 is fluidly connected to the second rebound chamber 25) and the first rebound chamber is fluidly connected to the second compression chamber (first rebound chamber 22 is connected to the second compression chamber 24).
Since both hydraulic systems are similar in light of the limitation mapping discussed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the device of Broekhoven to have used its hydraulic system in a roller crusher application as taught by Jakobs. Both hydraulic systems are operated to provide a linear force using two hydraulic cylinders that are coupled to a structure at two locations wherein the structure is configured to be moved relative to fixed structure to close a gap in between the two structures. Since Broekhoven’s hydraulic system would still provide a linear force similar to as originally disclosed by Broekhoven, the combination would yield only the predictable result a functioning roller crusher system when the system of Broekhoven’s system is modified to replace the movable pressing element 3 which the movable roll and to replace the table 2 with the fixed roll, etc. in an analogous manner in light of Jakobs that includes the bearing structures. Alternatively, the hydraulic system of Broekhoven can replace the hydraulic system of Jakobs to yield a functioning roller crusher as a matter of simple substitution of one known hydraulic system for another to yield only predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 3 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not disclose nor render obvious wherein the first main hydraulic chamber is hollow and defines a first inner compartment, wherein the second main hydraulic chamber is hollow and defines a second inner compartment, and wherein the first crossing cylinder is arranged in the first inner compartment and the second crossing cylinder is arranged in the second inner compartment as claimed in claim 2, in combination its base claim limitations.
Claim 3 is allowable because it depends from allowable claim 2.
While synchronizing/crossing cylinders are known in the art with roller crusher systems, there does not appear to be sufficient rationale to configure them to be arranged inside the main hydraulic cylinders as claimed in claim 2 in combination with the rest of the limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mouton (US 4531451) discloses synchronized multi-chamber actuators having interconnected fluid chambers
Guerrero Palma et al. (US 12109574) discloses a roller mill with a synchronizing device and a hydraulic system including two hydraulic cylinders 38, 40 that actuate a first movable roller 12 relative to a fixed roller 14, wherein the synchronizing cylinders 62, 64 that each have a synchronizing piston that forms two chambers filled with hydraulic fluid
Finken (US 5722605) discloses a roller crusher with hydraulic system that includes a first main cylinder and second main cylinder that are coupled to a first movable bearing housing and discloses a fixed bearing housing fixed to the machine frame, wherein a movable roll is moved by the first and second hydraulic cylinders
Boehringer (US 4409884) discloses a hydraulic system including a first main cylinder (cylinder 12 of actuator 10) and comprising a first main piston (16) for exerting a force along a first axis resulting in a force, and
a first main hydraulic chamber (C1 in cylinder 12 of actuator 10) for controlling the force exerted by the first main piston,
a second main cylinder (cylinder 12 of actuator 11) and comprising a second main piston (16) for exerting a force along a second axis parallel to the first axis resulting in a force, and
a second main hydraulic chamber (C1 in cylinder 12 of actuator 11) for controlling the force exerted by the second main piston,
a first crossing cylinder (18 in actuator 10) and operationally coupled to the first main piston (18 formed with piston 16), comprising
a first synchronizing hydraulic chamber (C2 and S2 in actuator 10) and a first synchronizing piston (piston 21 of actuator 10) for exerting a force along the first axis resulting in a force,
wherein the first synchronizing piston extends into the first synchronizing hydraulic chamber and comprises
a first synchronizing piston element (element 20 in actuator 10) separating the first synchronizing hydraulic chamber into a first compression chamber (C2 or S2 in actuator 10) and a first rebound chamber (C2 or S2 in actuator 10),
a second crossing cylinder (18 in actuator 11) and operationally coupled to the second main piston (18 formed with piston 16) comprising a second synchronizing hydraulic chamber (C2 and S2 in actuator 11) and
a second synchronizing piston (piston 21 of actuator 11) for exerting a force along the second axis resulting in a force,
wherein the second synchronizing piston extends into the second synchronizing hydraulic chamber and comprises a second synchronizing piston element (element 20 in actuator 11) separating the second synchronizing hydraulic chamber into a second compression chamber and a second rebound chamber (C2 and S2 of actuator 11), and
/DUSTIN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745 March 27, 2026