DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-26, 29, 31-36, and 39 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (US 20140086085) in view of Lee et al. (US 20210006989).
Regarding claims 21 and 31, Zheng teaches receiving, from a base station, a first transmission according to one or more first reference signal configurations (Fig. 3, step 203, Receiving Reference signal information from eNB);
performing a channel estimation measurement for the first transmission based on the one or more first reference signal configurations (Fig. 3, step 304: [0055] After receiving the reference signal information, the UE performs channel measurement according to the reference signal information); and
However, Zheng does not teach transmitting, to the base station, one or more commands indicating to increase or decrease a density of reference signals based on the channel estimation measurement, wherein at least one command of the one or more commands indicates to increase or decrease the density of reference signals in one of time or frequency. Lee teaches Fig. 4, step 401, [0090] a terminal may determine whether a channel forecast value is valid. Lee further teaches, if no, step 403, [0091] the terminal may request, via the RS request message, the base station to increase the RS density and/or decrease the RS transmission period. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with Lee since channel estimation for a future time period, in which RSs have not yet been transmitted, needs to be performed ([0007], Lee).
Regarding claims 22 and 32, Zheng does not teach, however, Lee teaches wherein the at least one command indicates to increase or decrease the density of reference signals by one step in one of time or frequency to a next higher or lower density in a set of densities of reference signals ([0101] If the number of times the RSR is transmitted from the terminal is n (n=1, 2, . . . , N.sub.Max), a preconfigured RS density and a preconfigured RS transmission period corresponding to each n may exist. Here, N.sub.Max refers to a maximum value of the number of RSR transmissions in which the preconfigured RS density and the preconfigured RS transmission period may be defined). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with Lee since channel estimation for a future time period, in which RSs have not yet been transmitted, needs to be performed ([0007], Lee).
Regarding claims 23 and 33, Zheng does not teach, however, Lee teaches wherein densities of reference signals are uniformly distributed in the set of densities of reference signals ([0101] If the number of times the RSR is transmitted from the terminal is n (n=1, 2, . . . , N.sub.Max), a preconfigured RS density and a preconfigured RS transmission period corresponding to each n may exist. Here, N.sub.Max refers to a maximum value of the number of RSR transmissions in which the preconfigured RS density and the preconfigured RS transmission period may be defined). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with Lee since channel estimation for a future time period, in which RSs have not yet been transmitted, needs to be performed ([0007], Lee).
Regarding claims 24 and 34, Zheng does not teach, however, Lee teaches
wherein the one or more commands comprise a first command and a second command, the first command indicating to increase the density of reference signals in time and the second command indicating to decrease the density of reference signals in frequency ([0057] “RS density” refers to the number of RSs in a predetermined frequency bandwidth, the number of RSs in a predetermined time interval, or the number of RSs in a predetermined frequency bandwidth and a predetermined time interval). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with Lee since channel estimation for a future time period, in which RSs have not yet been transmitted, needs to be performed ([0007], Lee).
Regarding claims 25 and 35, Zheng does not teach, however, Lee teaches wherein the circuitry is configured for receiving information indicating if the one or more commands have been accepted or not (Fig. 4, step 405, and [0092] the terminal may receive, from the base station, second RSs of the RS density determined based on the RS request message. The RS density at which the second RSs are transmitted may be determined to be the same as the RS density indicated by the RS request message, or may be determined as an RS density preconfigured according to the number of times the RS request message is transmitted). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with Lee since channel estimation for a future time period, in which RSs have not yet been transmitted, needs to be performed ([0007], Lee).
Regarding claims 26 and 36, Zheng does not teach, however, Lee teaches
determining that no second reference signal configuration corresponding to the one or more commands has been activated in a time window ([0101] If the number of times the RSR is transmitted from the terminal is n (n=1, 2, . . . , N.sub.Max), a preconfigured RS density and a preconfigured RS transmission period corresponding to each n may exist. Here, N.sub.Max refers to a maximum value of the number of RSR transmissions in which the preconfigured RS density and the preconfigured RS transmission period may be defined). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with Lee since channel estimation for a future time period, in which RSs have not yet been transmitted, needs to be performed ([0007], Lee).
Regarding claims 29 and 39, Zheng teaches wherein the circuitry is configured for receiving configuration information indicating a first duration of the time window ([0056] the network device determines a time domain unit, on which a target reference signal pattern needs to be changed, on the second target frequency domain unit according to data currently transmitted and/or a time-frequency resource occupied by data, in order to send the reference signals on the time domain unit according to the changed target reference signal pattern).
Claims 27 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (US 20140086085) modified by Lee et al. (US 20210006989), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 10638457, hereinafter Lee-457).
Regarding claims 27 and 37, Zheng does not teach, however, Lee teaches analyzing time or frequency resources associated with one or more second reference signal configurations corresponding to the one or more commands.
Neither Zheng nor Lee explicitly teaches blind decoding second transmissions received during the time window. Lee-457 teaches (260) col. 51 line 61, A WTRU or UE may monitor ePDCCHs via blind decoding such that multiple blind decoding attempts may be used per subframe. The candidates for blind decoding attempts from a WTRU or UE point of view may be hereafter called a search space. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with Lee-457 so that the WTRU may then determine the type of reference signal received and the WTRU may perform a demodulation of the PDSCH or ePDCCH using a demodulation timing based on the determined type.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28, 30, 38 and 40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EUNSOOK CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467