DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in responsive to the Application 18/568,109 filed on 12/07/2023.
As per a preliminary amendment filed on 12/07/2023, Claims 18 and 20-34 were canceled; Claims 5, 15, 17, and 35-36 have been amended; Claims 1 and 35-36 are independent claims. Claims 1-17, 19, and 35-36 have been examined and are pending in this application. This Action is made Non-FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-14 and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ghafourifar et al. (“Ghafourifar,” US 2015/0244657), published on Aug. 27, 2015.
Regarding claim 1, Ghafourifar discloses a presenting method, comprising:
acquiring target message information based on a search instruction for a message record, wherein the search instruction instructs to search for a target message matching a target search term from the message record (pars. 0041-0042, 0050-0051 and 0059; Figs. 3B and 3D; search box 326/361); and
presenting the target message information in a sub-region of a first interface (pars. 0050-0052 and 0056-0059; Figs. 3B-3F; search results 360 are displayed on the user device);
wherein the first interface is provided with a switching control configured to switch an unfolded state and a folded state of at least one sub-region, target message information presented in each sub-region belongs to a same message source, target message information presented in different sub-regions belongs to different message sources, and a region area of the sub-region in the folded state is less than a region area of the sub-region in the unfolded state (pars. 0050-0051; Figs. 3D-3E; three messages (1-3) of 212 messages (i.e., search results) are displayed on message result region 363; user is able to switch control to see all messages by clicking on “View All >>” icon; message result region 363 could be expanded or collapsed using “View All >>” icon; pars. 0052-0053; Fig. 3F; switching view mode with an expanded message for a multi-format; related messages previews can be selected by the user to open the full details of a message without leaving the result screen).
Regarding claim 2, Ghafourifar discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein presenting the target message information comprises: presenting target message information corresponding to the sub-region (pars. 0044-0052; Figs. 3B-3F).
Regarding claim 3, Ghafourifar discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the switching control comprises a first-type switching control, the first-type switching control is configured to switch presenting states of the sub-region, and the presenting states of the sub-region comprise the unfolded state and the folded state; and
the method further comprises: switching, in response to detecting a trigger operation for the first-type switching control, presenting states of a sub-region corresponding to the triggered first-type switching control (pars. 0050-0051; Figs. 3D-3E; three messages (1-3) of 212 messages (i.e., search results) are displayed on message result region 363; user is able to switch control to see all messages by clicking on “View All >>” icon; message result region 363 could be expanded or collapsed using “View All >>” icon; see also pars. 0052-0053; Fig. 3F; switching view mode with an expanded message; related messages previews can be selected by the user to open the full details of a message without leaving the result screen).
Regarding claim 4, Ghafourifar discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein presenting the target message information in the sub-region of the first interface comprises at least one of:
presenting, in the sub-region in the unfolded state, at least one of: a message source identifier or at least part of message content of a first number of target message (pars. 0050-0053; Figs. 3B-3F; message results, message results (1-3) of 212, sender name; “short review of content …”; other results (1-2) of 17); and
presenting, in the sub-region in the folded state, at least one of: a message source identifier or at least part of message content of a second number of target message, wherein the second number is less than the first number (pars. 0050-0053; Figs. 3B-3F; message results, message results (1-3) of 212, sender name; “short review of content …”; other results (1-2) of 17).
Regarding claim 5, Ghafourifar discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the at least part of message content comprises at least one of: a search term hitting the target message, an identifier of a user sending the target message, or context information of the target search term (pars. 0050-0053; Figs. 3B-3F; message results, message results (1-3) of 212, sender name; “short review of content …”; other results (1-2) of 17).
Regarding claim 7, Ghafourifar discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the sub-regions in the first interface are sequenced according to time of the latest target messages of a message source corresponding to the sub-regions (pars. 0041-0042; Figs. 3B-3F; message items of search results may also be sorted in the feed by various characteristics such as time of receipt, format, or other content and/or semantic-based ranking schemes).
Regarding claim 9, Ghafourifar discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the presented target message information indicates a target message with a sending time and/or a receiving time in a first preset time period, the first interface comprises a third acquisition control, and the third acquisition control instructs to acquire target message information of a target message in a second preset time period; and
the method further comprises: presenting, in response to detecting a trigger operation for the third acquisition control, the target message information of the target message in the second time period (pars. 0036-0037 and 0050-0053; Figs. 3A-3F; timestamp 364; the timestamp (e.g., 1:47 pm in row 304) may be used to indicate the time at which the most recently-received message has been received from a particular sender).
Regarding claim 10, Ghafourifar discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the switching control further comprises a second-type switching control; and
the method further comprises: switching, in response to detecting a trigger operation for the second-type switching control, each sub-region to the folded state (pars. 0050-0053; Figs. 3D-3F; preview search results vs. “View All >>” options).
Regarding claim 11, Ghafourifar discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the switching control comprises a third-type switching control; and
the method further comprises: switching, in response to detecting a trigger operation for the third-type switching control, each sub-region to the unfolded state (pars. 0050-0053; Figs. 3D-3F; preview search results vs. “View All >>” options).
Regarding claim 12, Ghafourifar discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
displaying, in response to detecting a trigger operation for the target message information in the sub-region, a message context of the triggered target message in a preview region of the first interface (pars. 0023, 0042 and 0052; Figs. 3C-3F; related message preview 381 may be displayed on the screen; related messages previews can be selected by the user to open the full details of a message without leaving the threaded results screen).
Regarding claim 13, Ghafourifar discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
displaying, in response to detecting a trigger operation for the target message information in the sub-region, a message context of the triggered target message and presenting a skip control (pars. 0051-0052; Figs. 3E-3F; button 371 enables user to skip current message and to view previous/next message); and
presenting, in response to an operation for the skip control, a message interaction interface corresponding to a triggered message source (pars. 0051-0052; Figs. 3E-3F; button 371 enables user to skip current message and to view previous/next message).
Regarding claim 14, Ghafourifar discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
presenting a filtering interface in response to detecting a trigger operation for a filtering control, wherein the filtering interface is configured to search for a message satisfying a filtering condition from a target message (pars. 0037-0039; user is able to filter search result using filtering options).
Regarding claim 35, claim 35 is directed to an electronic device corresponding to the method recited in claim 1. Claim 35 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 36, claim 36 is directed to non-transitory computer-readable medium corresponding to the method recited in claim 1. Claim 36 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghafourifar et al. (“Ghafourifar,” US 2015/0244657), in view of Yang et al. (“Yang,” US 2015/0350143), published on Dec. 3, 2015.
Regarding claim 6, Ghafourifar discloses the method according to claim 1.
Ghafourifar does not explicitly disclose presenting, in response to detecting a trigger operation for the first acquisition control and in a sub-region corresponding to the triggered first acquisition control, unpresented target message information in a message source corresponding to the triggered first acquisition control.
However, Yang discloses a device/method for displaying search results, including the steps of presenting, in response to detecting a trigger operation for the first acquisition control and in a sub-region corresponding to the triggered first acquisition control, unpresented target message information in a message source corresponding to the triggered first acquisition control (pars. 0332; Figs. 39C and 33D-33E; “show more results” option 3387 and “hide results” option 3388; user is able to show or hide search result by activate show/hide option 3387/3388).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Yang with the system/method of Ghafourifar. One would have been motivated to provide user with an option to show or hide search results on a mobile device (Yang: par. 0332).
Regarding claim 8, Ghafourifar discloses the method according to claim 1.
Ghafourifar does not explicitly disclose wherein the first interface comprises a second acquisition control, and the second acquisition control instructs to present unpresented target message information of the message source; and the method further comprises: presenting, in response to detecting a trigger operation for the second acquisition control, the unpresented target message information of the message source in the first interface.
However, Yang discloses a device/method for displaying search results, wherein the first interface comprises a second acquisition control, and the second acquisition control instructs to present unpresented target message information of the message source; and the method further comprises: presenting, in response to detecting a trigger operation for the second acquisition control, the unpresented target message information of the message source in the first interface (pars. 0332; Figs. 39C and 33D-33E; “show more results” option 3387 and “hide results” option 3388; user is able to show or hide search result by activate show/hide option 3387/3388).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Yang with the system/method of Ghafourifar. One would have been motivated to provide user with an option to show or hide search results on a mobile device (Yang: par. 0332).
Claims 15-16 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghafourifar et al. (“Ghafourifar,” US 2015/0244657), in view of Tanaka (US 2002/0078025), published on Jun. 20, 2002.
Regarding claim 15, Ghafourifar discloses the method according to claim 1.
Ghafourifar does not explicitly discloses wherein the target message information presented in the first interface is obtained through a first step, and the first step comprises: executing, in response to the search instruction for the message record, a search step based on the message record, and stopping the search step on the basis that a preset stop condition is satisfied; wherein the search step comprises searching for the target message matching the target search term, the preset stop condition comprises a condition that a preset third number of target message source is found, and the target message source comprises the target message matching the target search term.
However, Tanaka discloses a system/method for searching information, wherein the target message information presented in the first interface is obtained through a first step, and the first step comprises:
executing, in response to the search instruction for the message record, a search step based on the message record, and stopping the search step on the basis that a preset stop condition is satisfied (Tanaka: pars. 0011, 0018, 0020 and 0026; if the number of matches retrieved by the search satisfies the predetermined condition, for example, the search is stopped); wherein
the search step comprises searching for the target message matching the target search term, the preset stop condition comprises a condition that a preset third number of target message source is found, and the target message source comprises the target message matching the target search term (pars. 0011, 0018, 0020 and 0026; if the number of matches retrieved by the search satisfies the predetermined condition, for example, the search is stopped).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Tanaka with the system/method of Ghafourifar. One would have been motivated to provide an effective search by saving time and resource during search for information by stopping searching when a predefined condition is met (Tanaka: pars. 0011-0012).
Regarding claim 16 , Ghafourifar discloses the method according to claim 15.
Ghafourifar does not explicitly disclose executing a first search sub-step for the message record; and stopping the first search sub-step on the basis that a first stop sub-condition is satisfied; wherein a search range of the first search sub-step is a message record corresponding to a user, the message record is stored in a server, and the first stop sub-condition comprises a condition that the third number of target message source is found.
However, Tanaka discloses a system/method for searching information including the steps of:
executing a first search sub-step for the message record; and stopping the first search sub-step on the basis that a first stop sub-condition is satisfied; wherein a search range of the first search sub-step is a message record corresponding to a user, the message record is stored in a server, and the first stop sub-condition comprises a condition that the third number of target message source is found (Tanaka: pars. 0011, 0018, 0020 and 0026; if the number of matches retrieved by the search satisfies the predetermined condition, for example, the search is stopped).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Tanaka with the system/method of Ghafourifar. One would have been motivated to provide an effective search by saving time and resource during search for information by stopping searching when a predefined condition is met (Tanaka: pars. 0011-0012).
Regarding claim 17, Ghafourifar and Tanaka disclose the method according to claim 16.
The combination of Ghafourifar and Tanaka further discloses determining, in response to finding a fourth number of target message, a number of a message source to which the fourth number of target message belongs; and determining whether the first stop sub-condition is satisfied according to the determined number of a message source (Tanaka: pars. 0011, 0018, 0020 and 0026; if the number of matches retrieved by the search satisfies the predetermined condition, for example, the search is stopped);
or,
wherein the first search sub-step comprises: searching for the target message from the message record and recording a target message source to which the target message belongs during the searching; and determining whether the first stop sub-condition is satisfied according to a number of a target message source obtained after de-duplication.
The motivation is the same that of claim 16 above.
Regarding claim 19, Ghafourifar and Tanaka disclose the method according to claim 16.
The combination of Ghafourifar and Tanaka discloses wherein executing, in response to the search instruction for the message record, the search step based on the message record, and stopping the search step on the basis that the preset stop condition is satisfied further comprise:
executing a second search sub-step for each target message source in response to stopping the first search sub-step, and stopping the second search sub-step on the basis that a second stop sub-condition is satisfied (Tanaka: pars. 0011, 0018, 0020 and 0026; if the number of matches retrieved by the search satisfies the predetermined condition, for example, the search is stopped); wherein
the search range of the first search sub-step is a message record corresponding to the target message source; and the second stop sub-condition comprises any one of: a condition that a fifth number of target message is found from the target message source, or a condition that the message record of the target message source is traversed (Tanaka: pars. 0011, 0018, 0020 and 0026; if the number of matches retrieved by the search satisfies the predetermined condition, for example, the search is stopped).
The motivation is the same that of claim 16 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968))
Inquiries
/LINH K PHAM/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2174