DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. This is an office action in response to Applicant's arguments and remarks filed on 06/25/2026. Claims 1, 4, and 10-27 are pending in the application. Claims 12-15 and 17-27 have been withdrawn and claims 1, 4, 10-11, and 16 are being examined herein.
Status of Objections and Rejections
3. All rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendment.
New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are necessitated by the amendments.
Response to Arguments
4. In the arguments presented on p.8-9 of the amendment, the Applicant argues that Hecking’s composition is directed to residual surface odor elimination and are not relevant to Applicant’s invention of air decontamination, rendering Hecking non-analogous art to the instant application.
The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. Even if Hecking’s composition does not explicitly state that the purpose of the formulation is to decontaminate air, air decontamination is directed to the intended use of the composition.
All the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Hecking and the apparatus of Hecking is capable of decontaminating air. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the applicant' s invention (see MPEP §2114).
NOTE: this is a recitation of intended use / functional language, and so long as the prior art structure reads on the instant claimed structure, this limitation would be met because the same structure would be capable of the same function; in this case, Hecking’s composition is sprayed/applied onto a target surface for odor elimination, to which the action of spraying it onto a target surface requires the composition to directly encounter the air that is present between the surface and the spray product. Given that the deodorant composition must encounter air before hitting the surface, the composition is perfectly capable of decontaminating the airstream due to it meeting the structural limitations of instant claim 1.
Per MPEP 2114,II, claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
In the arguments presented on p.10 of the amendment, the Applicant argues that Hecking’s composition does not teach the amended claim 1 limitation of the pH ranging from 10.5-11.2.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hecking (US 20120301421 A1, cited in prior office action), further in view of Imai et al. (US 20120301421 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 4, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hecking (US 20120301421 A1), further in view of Imai et al. (US 20120301421 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hecking teaches an air decontamination formulation ([0011-0012]), but fails to specifically disclose approximately 28% to approximately 38% by weight of the formulation of dipropylene glycol. Hecking mentions in [0103] a 0.1-30 wt.% range for triethylene glycol, where “at least one odor neutralizing agent comprises at least one alkylene glycol… selected from the group consisting of mono-, di- or tri-alkylene glycols, such as for example triethylene glycol, propylene glycol, dipropylene glycol, and mixtures thereof” ([0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have selected 30% from the disclosed 0.1-30 wt.% range of the triethylene glycol provided by Hecking and further substitute triethylene glycol with dipropylene glycol as taught by Hecking because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (i.e., odor neutralizing function) supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07), and in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Modified Hecking fails to teach approximately 0.12% to approximately 0.43% by weight of the formulation of an odor neutralizing cationic surfactant.
Hecking teaches an odor neutralizing cationic surfactant (soyethyl morpholinium ethosulfate is a cationic surfactant and an odor neutralizer, [0071] and [0104]) at a disclosed 0.1-5 wt.% range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have selected 0.4% from the disclosed surfactant 0.1-5 wt.% range provided by Hecking, because in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Modified Hecking fails to teach approximately 28% to approximately 50% by weight of the formulation of an alcohol.
Hecking teaches a co-solvent ([0099-0100]) disclosed with a 0-40 wt.% range (“no more than about 40 wt.%”, [0099-0100]), where the co-solvent could be “a low molecular weight monohydric alcohol, such as a C1-C3 alcohol including methanol, ethanol, propanol, and isopropanol” ([0099]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected ethanol as a co-solvent from the disclosed options taught by Hecking and select a wt% value of 30% as disclosed from the 0-40 wt.% range also taught by Hecking because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (i.e., co-solvent) supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07), and in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Modified Hecking fails to teach approximately 14% to approximately 33% by weight of the formulation of water.
Hecking mentions in [0100] how the co-solvent is “preferably at a concentration lower than the water content”, meaning the water is mentioned to be more than the selected 30 wt% of co-solvent (e.g., greater than 30 wt.%).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have selected 31 wt.% from the disclosed greater than 30 wt.% range of water provided by Hecking, because in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Modified Hecking mentions that the instant composition “should fall in the range of from about 6 to about 9, more preferably in the range of from about 6 to about 8”, further mentioning that “[t]he amount of pH adjusting agent included in the air treating composition to obtain the desired pH would be apparent to those of ordinary skill in the art” ([0102]). This emphasizes the notion that the composition pH should fall between 6 to 9, but is apt to change based on the desired value to one of ordinary skill in the art. However, modified Hecking still fails to explicitly teach wherein the air decontamination formulation maintains a pH ranging from approximately 10.5 to approximately 11.2.
Imai teaches a spray composition intended for surface disinfection ([0046]), specifically citing that a higher pH (pH of 8-11, [0019]) enhanced the bactericidal effect and additionally inactivated non-enveloped viruses ([0018]), with the help of known pH adjusters ([0034]).
Modified Hecking and Imai are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of spray compositions (with pH adjusters as an option) for target surfaces.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spray composition of modified Hecking by incorporating a composition pH value of 11 via known pH adjusters as taught by Imai, because doing so would incorporate an enhanced bactericidal effect and additionally inactivate non-enveloped viruses (Imai, [0018]) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation of “wherein the formulation is a single phase liquid” is inherently taught by modified Hecking because the air decontamination formulation of [0034] of the instant specification (synonymous and structurally similar with the claim 1 limitations) is “a single liquid phase and therefore do not require shaking by consumers before use” (instant specification, [0034]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Hecking teaches wherein the formulation does not include an emulsifier (“the air treating composition does not include any emulsifier”, [0100]), a nonionic surfactant, an amphoteric surfactant, or any combination thereof (the cationic surfactant in this embodiment and claim 1 rejection above as mentioned in [0071] does not further require a nonionic or amphoteric surfactant).
Regarding claim 16, modified Hecking teaches wherein the odor neutralizing cationic surfactant is a quaternary morpholinium alkyl sulfate compound being soyethyl morpholinium ethosulfate (soyethyl morpholinium ethosulfate, [0071] and [0104]).
7. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hecking (US 20120301421 A1), further in view of Imai et al. (US 20120301421 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Li et al. (CN 111084185 A).
Regarding claim 11, modified Hecking (abstract) teaches the formulation of claim 1 above, but fails to teach a corrosion inhibitor.
Li teaches an air sterilizing composition within an interior space (abstract), where 0.1-0.2% of the composition comprises a sodium benzoate corrosion inhibitor in order to provide an “anti-rust capability of the metal piece, which effectively prevents the corrosion of the wall metal piece and rubber plastic” (p.3, 3rd to last paragraph of English translation) – alternatively meaning the corrosion prevention of the target surface.
Modified Hecking and Li are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of air decontamination and deodorization compositions for application within an interior space.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the decontamination formulation of modified Hecking by incorporating a corrosion inhibitor such as sodium benzoate in order to provide an “anti-rust capability of the metal piece, which effectively prevents the corrosion of the wall metal piece and rubber plastic” (Li, p.3, 3rd to last paragraph of English translation).
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Aham Lee/Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758