DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/7/2023, 3/7/2025, 8/1/2025 and 6/15/2026 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and a copy with initials is attached herewith.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8 and 15) in the reply filed on 6/18/2026 is acknowledged. Therefore, claims 1-8 and 15 are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1-8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose et al (US 20180175377 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2, Hirose discloses a negative electrode (10) comprising a negative electrode current collector (11) and a negative electrode active material layer (12) provided on the negative electrode current collector (11). The negative electrode active material layer (12) comprises a silicon-based active material consisting of particles comprising SiOx (x being between 0.5 and 1.6) and Li, as well as one or more of compounds of aluminum oxide, aluminum hydroxide, zirconium oxide and zirconium hydroxide (i.e. structures of aluminum / zirconium bound to oxygen) [Abstract; Fig. 2; paragraph 0066, 0072-0077]. Hirose does not explicitly disclose the mass% content of the above mentioned structures of aluminum and/or zirconium. However, within the frame of the technical problem of improving the charge/discharge efficiency of a negative electrode; a skilled person in the art would have experimented with several mass contents of the above mentioned structures/compounds of aluminum and/or zirconium and would be obvious.
Regarding claim 3, Hirose teaches that the structures/compounds of aluminum and/or zirconium elements which are bound to oxygen are hydroxide of aluminum and/or zirconium [paragraph 0068-0070].
Regarding claim 4, Hirose does not explicitly teach to form a lithium aluminum compound, a lithium boron compound, a lithium zinc compound or a lithium zirconium compound. However, Hirose teaches that the silicon-based active material preferably contains Li2SiO3 as the Li compound contained in the silicon compound. Such Li silicate as Li2SiO3 is relatively stable compared to other Li compounds, and accordingly, a silicon-based active material containing the Li compound(s) can give more stable battery performances. These Li compounds can be obtained by selectively changing a part of SiO2 component formed in the silicon compound to a Li compound to modify the silicon compound [paragraph 0080].
Regarding claim 5, Hirose does not explicitly teach amount of Li present in the silicon-containing active material. However, it is within the technical grasp of skilled artisan to find out the effective amount of lithium for charge/discharge efficiency of a negative electrode and would have been obvious.
Regarding claims 6-7, Hirose teaches that the silicon-containing active material further comprises a carbon layer on at least a portion of silicon-containing particles [Abstract; paragraph 0027-0029, 0068-0069].
Regarding claim 8, Hirose is silent about a weight ratio of the silicon-containing active material to the carton-based carbon-containing active material. However, it is within the technical grasp of skilled artisan to find out the effective ratio for charge/discharge efficiency of a negative electrode and would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 15, Hirose negative electrode slurry comprises a silicon-based active material having particles comprising SiOx (x being between 0.5 and 1.6) and Li, as well as one or more of compounds of aluminum oxide, aluminum hydroxide, zirconium oxide and zirconium hydroxide (i.e. structures of aluminum / zirconium bound to oxygen) [Abstract; paragraph 0066, 0072-0077]. Hirose does not explicitly disclose the mass% content of the above mentioned structures of aluminum and/or zirconium. However, within the frame of the technical problem of improving the charge/discharge efficiency of a negative electrode; a skilled person in the art would have experimented with several mass contents of the above mentioned structures/compounds of aluminum and/or zirconium and would be obvious.
/MUHAMMAD S SIDDIQUEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723