Claim Status
Applicant’s response filed 07 Jan 2026 amends claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, 17, 22, and 33; cancelled claims 2, 9, 16, 18-21, and 23-30; thereby providing claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, 17, 22, and 31-33 pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07 Jan 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues do not teach claimed obtaining parameters of a resampling out-of-loop post-filter on the basis that “Budagavi and Samuelsson are focused on solving different problems within the decoding loop to improve coding efficiency and reference frame quality.” (Remarks, 7).
However, Applicant’s specification describes in paragraph [0003] “Last generations of video compression standards, such as MPEG-4/AVC (ISO/CEI 14496-10), HEVC (ISO/IEC 23008-2-MPEG-H Part 2, High Efficiency Video Coding/ITU-T H.265)) or the international standard entitled Versatile Video Coding (VVC) under development by a joint collaborative team of ITU-T and ISO/IEC experts known as the Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) all favor the use of post-filtering through the definition of adapted metadata. For instance, Supplemental enhanced information (SEI) messages were defined to convey some post-filtering parameters.” Accordingly, Applicant’s admitted prior art of HEVC standards teaches the amended limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17, 22, 23, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budagavi (US 2012/0177104) in view of Samuelsson (US 2022/0272378) and Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art.
For claim 1, Budagavi discloses a method comprising:
decoding a picture of a plurality of pictures representing a video sequence from video data;
obtaining parameters of a filter determined from an information set associated to the video data,
the information set comprising at least one first information specifying a condition to apply the filter ([0051] the adaptive loop resampling post-filter component 342 applies adaptive loop resampling post-filtering to the reconstructed picture on an LCU by LCU basis according to the resampling post-filter type and the set(s) of resampling post-filter coefficients)
applying the filter on the decoded picture responsive to the information set ([0064] The adaptive loop resampling post-filter component 420 performs LCU-based adaptive loop resampling post-filtering on a deblocked decoded picture according to the ALF resampling post-filter type, resampling post-filter coefficients, and ALF enable map signaled by the encoder).
While Budagavi discloses “[0055] the additional rows of pixels needed for resampling post-filter application depends on the maximum vertical resampling post-filter size and the maximum picture width,” Budagavi does not expressly disclose applying a resampling post-resampling post-filter based on a second information representing a dimension of the picture.
Samuelsson teaches applying a resampling post-resampling post-filter ([0572] Specify simple fixed resampling filters that provide good performance for the 1:2 and 2:1 scaling case.)
based on a second information representing a dimension of the picture ([0573] . . . coded resolution and resolution after resampling must be in the range of [¼, 1] relative the width and height signalled in SPS).
It would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to combine the resampling post-filter teachings of Budagavi with the dimension teachings of Samuelsson for the predictable benefit to reduce aliasing artifacts.
While Budagavi does not expressly disclose obtaining parameters of a resampling out-of-loop post-filter, Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art discloses obtaining parameters of a resampling out-of-loop post-filter ([0003] Last generations of video compression standards, such as MPEG-4/AVC (ISO/CEI 14496-10), HEVC (ISO/IEC 23008-2-MPEG-H Part 2, High Efficiency Video Coding/ITU-T H.265)) or the international standard entitled Versatile Video Coding (VVC) under development by a joint collaborative team of ITU-T and ISO/IEC experts known as the Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) all favor the use of post-filtering through the definition of adapted metadata. For instance, Supplemental enhanced information (SEI) messages were defined to convey some post-filtering parameters.). It would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of HEVC, etc standards for the predictable benefit of complying with established coding standards.
For claim 3, while Budagavi does not, Samuelsson teaches wherein the resampling post-filter is a separable resampling post-filter and the parameters obtained from the information set specifies parameters of a horizontal resampling post-filter and parameters of a vertical resampling post-filter ([0483] Where scale_fp is the fixed-point scaling factor for the respective direction (horizontal or vertical)). It would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to combine the resampling post-filter teachings of Budagavi with the dimension teachings of Samuelsson for the same reasons discussed for claim 1.
For claim 4, while Budagavi does not, Samuelsson teaches wherein the resampling post-filter is intended to be applied to luma and chroma components of each picture of the subset of pictures and the parameters obtained from the information set specifies parameters of the resampling post-filter adapted for the resampling post-filtering of the luma component and parameters of the resampling post-filter adapted for the resampling post-filtering of the chroma components different from the parameters of the resampling post-filter adapted for the resampling post-filtering of the luma components( [0100] The prediction luma sample value predSamplesLX[xL][yL] is derived by invoking the luma sample 8-tap interpolation resampling post-filtering process as specified in below with (xIntL, yIntL), (xFracL, yFracL) --- [0111] The prediction sample value predSamplesLX[xC][yC] is derived by invoking the chroma sample interpolation process specified below with (xIntC, yIntC), (xFracC, yFracC), refPicLX, and padVal as inputs.). It would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to combine the resampling post-filter teachings of Budagavi with the dimension teachings of Samuelsson for the same reasons discussed for claim 1.
For claim 5, while Budagavi does not, Samuelsson teaches wherein the at least one first information specifies that the resampling post-filter is applied only to pictures that have a resolution different from a maximum resolution specified for the video sequence by a high-level syntax element ([0402] There have been several different proposals to add support for ARC in VVC. One example proposal is Chen et al., “AHG 19: Adaptive Resolution Change”, JVET-N0279, March 2019, referred to herein as Chen, which describes signaling adaptive resolution change in parameter sets and modifications to the current motion compensated prediction process when there is a resolution change between a current picture and its reference pictures --- [0417] The techniques for enabling ARC provided in Chen may be less than ideal. In particular, according to the techniques in Chen, when a current picture uses a different lower resolution compared to a reference picture, the reference picture is downscaled from a higher resolution stored reference picture, the resulting image quality may be less than ideal. That is, when the techniques provided in Chen are utilized with the motion interpolation resampling post-filters provided in JVET-N1001, described above, severe aliasing artifacts may occur, particularly, in cases of relatively large scaling ratios. This disclosure describes examples of resampling post-filters with low-pass characteristics that may be used for ARC use cases where a reference picture is larger than a current picture. Further, the signaling of ARC parameters in Chen may be less than ideal. This disclosure describes examples of techniques for signaling ARC parameters. It should be noted that the example techniques described herein may be utilized for approaches of ARC including scaling without the resampling of reference pictures and/or approaches of ARC where a new reference picture is created from a reference picture with different resolution.). It would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to combine the resampling post-filter teachings of Budagavi with the dimension teachings of Samuelsson for the same reasons discussed for claim 1.
For claim 6, while Budagavi does not, Samuelsson teaches wherein the information set comprises a third information specifying a resampling post-filtering method in a plurality of resampling post-filtering methods ([0624] In one example, the method, wherein the motion compensation interpolation resampling post-filter is selected as an integer version of a Lanczos resampling post-filter for scaling factor 1.5:1 with cut-off frequency of 0.95a. [0625] In one example, the method, wherein interpolation resampling post-filter coefficients [−1, −5, 17, 42, 17, −5, −1, 0] correspond to a fractional sample position 0. [0626] In one example, the method, wherein selecting the motion compensation interpolation resampling post-filter based on a value of the scaling factor includes selecting the motion compensation interpolation resampling post-filter when the scaling factor is greater than 1.3. [0627] In one example, the method, wherein selecting the motion compensation interpolation resampling post-filter based on a value of the scaling factor includes selecting the motion compensation interpolation resampling post-filter when the scaling factor is less than 1.8.). It would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to combine the resampling post-filter teachings of Budagavi with the dimension teachings of Samuelsson for the same reasons discussed for claim 1.
For claim 7, while Budagavi does not, Samuelsson teaches wherein the plurality of resampling post-filtering methods comprises a luma resampling post-filtering, a chroma resampling post-filtering, a bilinear resampling post-filtering, a Directional Cubic Convolution Interpolation, an Iterative Curvature-based Interpolation, a Edge-Guided Image Interpolation, and a deep learning based resampling post-filtering method ([0484] Resampling post-filter unit 216 may be configured to perform deblocking, Sample Adaptive Offset (SAO) resampling post-filtering, Adaptively Loop Resampling post-filtering (ALF), etc. SAO resampling post-filtering is a non-linear amplitude mapping that may be used to improve reconstruction by adding an offset to reconstructed video data.). It would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to combine the resampling post-filter teachings of Budagavi with the dimension teachings of Samuelsson for the same reasons discussed for claim 1.
Claims 8, 9-15, 17, 22, 23, and 31-33, are disclosed by Budagavi and Samuelsson as discussed for corresponding limitations in claim 1, and 3-7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CHOI; Byeongdoo et al. US 20210306626 A1 METHOD FOR SIGNALING VIRTUAL BOUNDARY SIGNALING WITH SUBPICTURES IN CODED VIDEO STREAM
Cote; Guy et al. US 20200351460 A1 Raw Scaler With Chromatic Aberration Correction
Ye; Yan et al. US 20180020225 A1 METHODS, APPARATUS AND SYSTEMS FOR SCALABLE VIDEO CODING WITH MIXED INTERLACE AND PROGRESSIVE CONTENT
Van Belle; Ronny US 20160295158 A1 METHOD AND PROCESSOR FOR STREAMING VIDEO PROCESSING
Lim; Suk Hwan et al. US 20170061576 A1 APPLYING CHROMA SUPPRESSION TO IMAGE DATA IN A SCALER OF AN IMAGE PROCESSING PIPELINE
Budagavi; Madhukar et al. US 20120177104 A1 Reduced Complexity Adaptive Loop Resampling post-filter (ALF) for Video Coding
/NEIL R MIKESKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485