DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Applicant’s Preliminary Amendment filed on 08/20/2025 in which claims 8-9 and 12-13 have been amended, claims 1-7 and 10-11 have been canceled, claims 14-17 have been added and entered of record.
Claim 9 have been amended herein to overcome the informality. Based on the amended claim, the objection to claim 9 is withdrawn.
Claims 8-9 and 12-17 are pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The claims recite “the electrical connection state” are improper antecedence basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments on pages 6-8 of the Amendment with respect to the amended independent claims 8 and 14 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-9, 12, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeVisser et al., US Patent 3778633; hereinafter “DeVisser”.
Regarding claim 8, DeVisser discloses a changeover switch (Fig. 1 to Fig. 4) for changing over a power source (Fig. 4, Emergency Power Source) for supplying power to a load system (Fig. 4, Power Consuming Apparatus) including a load (Fig. 4, Power Consuming Apparatus) between a 1st power supply system (Fig. 4, Normal Power Source) and a 2nd power supply system (Fig. 4, Emergency Power Source), the changeover switch comprising:
a 1st side terminal (Fig. 1, 12) to which power from the 1st power supply system is input (Fig. 4, Normal Power Source);
a 2nd side terminal (Fig. 1, 14) to which power from the 2nd power supply system is input (Fig. 4, Emergency Power Source); and
a load side terminal (Fig. 1, 32A-C) for outputting to a load system (Column 5, lines 4-14) power from the 1st power supply system that is input to the 1st side terminal, or power from the 2nd power supply system that is input to the 2nd side terminal (Column 4, lines 50-67), wherein
areas in which the 1st side terminal, the 2nd side terminal, and the load side terminal are respectively disposed are set at different locations from each other in a front view,
the 1st side terminal (Fig. 1, 12) and the 2nd side terminal (Fig. 1, 14) are disposed to be aligned with each other in a right-left direction (Fig. 1, 12 and 14 are aligned in right-left direction) orthogonal to a front-back direction in a front view (Fig. 1, 12 and 14 are orthogonal to a front-back direction in a front view), and
the load side terminal (Fig. 1, 32) is disposed at a position displaced from a position, at which the 1st side terminal or the 2nd side terminal is disposed (Fig. 1, 32 is displaced from 12 and 14), in a vertical direction orthogonal to the front- back direction and the right-left direction in the front view (Fig. 1, 32 is in a vertical direction orthogonal to the front- back direction and the right-left direction in the front view).
Regarding claim 9, DeVisser discloses the changeover switch according to claim 8 above, DeVisser also discloses the changeover switch further comprising a changeover body (Fig. 1) that can change over an electrical connection state of the 1st side terminal (Fig. 1, 12) and the 2nd side terminal (Fig. 1, 14) with the load side terminal Fig. 1 is an automatic electric power source transfer apparatus), and have the load side terminal disposed at a tip of a terminal conductor that extends from the changeover body (Fig. 1, 32 is extended from the body).
Regarding claim 12, DeVisser discloses the changeover switch according to claim 8 above, DeVisser also discloses the changeover switch further comprising a changeover body (Fig. 1) that can change over the electrical connection state of the 1st side terminal (Fig. 1, 12) and the 2nd side terminal (Fig. 1, 14) with the load side terminal (Fig. 1, 32), and the 1st side terminal and the 2nd side terminal are disposed to be oriented in the mutually opposite sides in the right-left direction (Fig. 1, 12 and 14 are disposed to be oriented in the mutually opposite sides in the right-left direction).
Regarding claim 14, DeVisser discloses a changeover switch (Fig. 1 to Fig. 4) for changing over a power source (Fig. 4, Emergency Power Source) for supplying power to a load system (Fig. 4, Power Consuming Apparatus) including a load (Fig. 4, Power Consuming Apparatus) between a 1st power supply system (Fig. 4, Normal Power Source) and a 2nd power supply system (Fig. 4, Emergency Power Source), the changeover switch comprising:
a 1st side terminal (Fig. 1, 12) to which power from the 1st power supply system is input (Fig. 4, Normal Power Source);
a 2nd side terminal (Fig. 1, 14) to which power from the 2nd power supply system is input (Fig. 4, Emergency Power Source); and
a load side terminal (Fig. 1, 32A-C) for outputting to a load system (Column 5, lines 4-14) power from the 1st power supply system that is input to the 1st side terminal, or power from the 2nd power supply system that is input to the 2nd side terminal (Column 4, lines 50-67), wherein
areas in which the 1st side terminal, the 2nd side terminal, and the load side terminal are respectively disposed are set at different locations from each other in a front view (Fig. 1, 12, 14 and 32 are respectively disposed are set at different locations from each other in a front view),
the 1st side terminal (Fig. 1, 12) and the 2nd side terminal (Fig. 1, 14) are disposed to be aligned with each other in a vertical direction orthogonal to a front-back direction in the front view (Fig. 1, 12 and 14 are disposed to be aligned with each other in a vertical direction), and
the load side terminal (Fig. 1, 32) is disposed at a position displaced from a position, at which the 1st side terminal and the 2nd side terminal are disposed (Fig. 1, 32 is displaced from 12 and 14), in a right-left direction orthogonal to the front-back direction and the vertical direction in the front view (Fig. 1, 32 is in a vertical direction when rotate 90 degree which orthogonal to the front- back direction and the right-left direction in the front view).
Regarding claim 15, DeVisser discloses the changeover switch according to claim 14 above, DeVisser also discloses the changeover switch further comprising a changeover body (Fig. 1) that can change over an electrical connection state of the 1st side terminal (Fig. 1, 12) and the 2nd side terminal (Fig. 1, 14) with the load side terminal (Fig. 1 is an automatic electric power source transfer apparatus), and have the load side terminal disposed at a tip of a terminal conductor that extends from the changeover body (Fig. 1, 32 is extended from the body).
Regarding claim 16, DeVisser discloses the changeover switch according to claim 14 above, DeVisser also discloses the changeover switch further comprising a changeover body (Fig. 1) that can change over an electrical connection state of the 1st side terminal (Fig. 1, 12) and the 2nd side terminal (Fig. 1, 14) with the load side terminal (Fig. 1 is an automatic electric power source transfer apparatus), and the 1st side terminal and the 2nd side terminal are disposed to be oriented in the mutually opposite sides in the vertical direction (Fig. 1, 12 and 14 are disposed to be oriented in the mutually opposite sides in the vertical direction when rotates).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAI H TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836