DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to Applicant’s Amendment and Remarks, filed August 17, 2026. The amendment, filed August 17, 2026, is acknowledged, wherein claims 1, 15, and 30 – 31 are amended, claims 2 – 12, 18 – 29, and 32 – 33 are canceled, and claims 34 – 40 are new.
Claims 1, 13 – 17, 30 – 31, and 34 – 40 are pending in this application and are currently examined.
Priority
This application is a national stage application of PCT/US2022/033670, filed June 15, 2022, which claims benefit of domestic application 63/211,418, filed June 16, 2021.
Withdrawn Objections
The objection of the abstract of the disclosure in the previous Office Action, dated April 30, 2026, has been considered and is withdrawn in view of the amended abstract.
The objection of claims 2 and 21 in the previous Office Action, dated April 30, 2026, has been considered and is withdrawn in view of the canceled claims 2 and 21.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claims 1, 18, and 30 – 31 in the previous Office Action, dated April 30, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention has been considered and is withdrawn in view of the amended claim 1 and the canceled claim 18.
The rejection of claims 1 – 2, 13 – 14, 16 – 18, 21, and 30 in the previous Office Action, dated April 30, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adams with evidence provided by Luba has been considered and is withdrawn in view of the amended claim 1.
The rejection of claims 1 – 2, 15, 18, and 31 in the previous Office Action, dated April 30, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams with evidence provided by Luba has been considered and is withdrawn in view of the amended claim 1.
The following are new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s Amendment, filed August 17, 2026, wherein claims 1, 15, and 30 – 31 are amended and claims 34 – 40 are new.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 13 – 17, line 1, recite “The method of claim 2”. However, claim 2 has been canceled. It is unclear what limitations are incorporated into claims 13 – 17 because the claims depend from a canceled claim. Therefore, the scope of claims 13 – 17 is unclear, rendering the claims indefinite.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 14 – 15, 17, 30 – 31, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (US8993558B2) in view of Marinkovich et al (US2017/0182040A1).
Adams teaches a composition, use of and a method of removing a hyperplastic skin lesion on a mammal comprising administering to the lesion or locus thereof, a therapeutically effective amount of a composition comprising a blocker selected from the group consisting of a calcium channel blocker, a metabolite thereof, a calmodulin blocker and a metabolite thereof, and a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent or carrier (Abstract). For patients suffering from psoriasis, over 80% will experience hyperplastic thickening of the skin called a psoriatic plaques (Col. 2, lines 16 – 18). A calmodulin blocker is preferably trifluoperazine and the hyperplastic skin lesion is selected from the group consisting of psoriatic lesions, and psoriatic plaques (Col. 4, lines 6; lines 10 – 12). The calcium channel blocker is verapamil, diltiazem or felodipine (Col. 4, lines 4 – 5). In example 11, Adams discloses that the psoriatic plaques have significantly reduced in size and been cleared after the application of verapamil ointment for a month (Col. 8, lines 65 – 67). The application of trifluoperazine topical ointment for a month has been observed to have similar clearing (Col. 9, lines 6 – 7). Thus, Adams teaches a method of treating psoriasis in a subject, wherein the method comprises administering an effective dose of trifluoperazine for a month, which corresponds to the method of claim 1. The disclosure also reads on the psoriasis is “plaque psoriasis” of claim 17 and “the trifluoperazine is the sole active agent” of claim 30. The invention involves local administration of a therapeutically effective amount of the pharmaceutical composition as a locally applied injection, or topically as a cream, gel, ointment, patch or the like (Col. 4, lines 36 – 39). Thus, the disclosure of the route of administration read on the limitation “topical” of claim 14.
However, Adams does not teach that the effective dose of trifluoperazine is able to achieve or maintain a Psoriasis Area and Severity Index (PASI) 50, PASI 75, PASI 90, or PASI 100 response score for a period of time during or following treatment. Adams does not teach that the effective dose is administered to the subject upon a flare of psoriasis. Adams also does not teach that the method further comprising administration of a second therapeutic agent for treatment of psoriasis or further comprising administering benzamil.
Marinkovich et al. teach methods for treating psoriasis by administering an effective dose of an epithelial ion channel (ENaC) blocker, including benzamil, to a subject suffering from psoriasis (para. [0013]). Marinkovich et al. teach administering the therapeutic agent for a duration and periodicity sufficient to achieve a therapeutic objective, including achieving or maintaining a PASI 50, PASI 75, PASI 90, or PASI 100 response for a period during or following treatment (para. [0057]; [0059]). Thus, Marinkovich et al. teach the duration, periodicity, and PASI response limitations recited in claim 1. Marinkovich et al. further teach that ENaC blockers, such as benzamil, may be used in combination with an additional therapeutic agent recognized in the art as useful for treating psoriasis (para. [0095]). Thus, Marinkovich et al. teach the administration of a second therapeutic agent for treatment of psoriasis and the administration of benzamil for treatment of psoriasis, as recited in claims 31 and 34, respectively. In one embodiment, the dose is administered to the subject upon a flare of psoriasis (para. [0102]). Thus, Marinkovich et al. establish that administering a therapeutic agent upon a flare of psoriasis is a known treatment regimen for psoriasis, corresponding to the limitation of claim 15.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the PASI-based treatment framework taught by Marinkovich et al. to the trifluoperazine treatment of psoriasis taught by Adams because Adams teaches that topical treatment with trifluoperazine produces clearing of psoriatic plaques after a period of treatment, thereby establishing that trifluoperazine is therapeutically effective for treating psoriasis and Marinkovich et al., in the same filed of psoriasis treatment, teach administering an effective dose for a duration and periodicity sufficient to achieve or maintain a defined therapeutic response, including a PASI 50, PASI 75, PASI 90, or PASI 100 response for a period during or following treatment. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to use the established PASI response criteria taught by Marinkovich et al. to assess and optimize the duration and periodicity of Adams’ known trifluoperazine treatment because PASI provides an art-recognized measure of the severity of psoriasis and the therapeutic response to treatment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so because Adams already demonstrates that administration of trifluoperazine produces a therapeutic effect on psoriatic plaques, including clearing following treatment, while Marinkovich et al. teach that the duration and periodicity of psoriasis therapy may be selected to obtain and maintain defined PASI responses. Accordingly, applying the known PASI-based dosing and response framework of Marinkovich et al. to Adams’ known effective psoriasis treatment would have amounted to applying a known psoriasis treatment evaluation and dosing technique to another known psoriasis treatment for the predictable purpose of measuring and optimizing therapeutic response.
Regarding the administration of benzamil, Marinkovich et al. teach that benzamil is an ENaC block effective for treating psoriasis and further teach that ENaC blockers may be administered in combination with additional therapeutic agents useful for treating psoriasis. Adams independently teaches trifluoperazine as an effective therapeutic agent for treating psoriatic lesions and psoriatic plaques. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer benzamil in combination with trifluoperazine because both agents are known to be useful for treating the same disease, and Marinkovich et al. explicitly contemplate combining benzamil with other psoriasis therapeutic agents. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining benzamil with trifluoperazine because each agent is independently taught to provide a therapeutic benefit in psoriasis, and Marinkovich et al. explicitly teach combination treatment using benzamil with additional psoriasis therapeutic agents. The combination therefore would have involved use of two known psoriasis therapies according to the established therapeutic functions, with the predictable objective of providing treatment of psoriasis.
Regarding “the subject upon a flare of psoriasis” of claim 15, Adams teaches administering trifluoperazine generally for treatment of psoriasis, including psoriatic lesions and psoriatic plaques, but does not explicitly teach administrating the effective dose upon a flare of psoriasis. Marinkovich et al. teach that the dose is administered to the subject upon a flare of psoriasis in one embodiment. Thus, Marinkovich et al. establish that administration of a psoriasis therapeutic agent upon a flare is a known treatment regimen for psoriasis. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer Adams’ known trifluoperazine treatment upon a flare of psoriasis in view of Marinkovich et al. because both references are directed to treatment of psoriasis and Marinkovich et al. explicitly identify administration upon a flare as a treatment regimen for the same disease. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Adams teaches trifluoperazine as useful for treating psoriatic lesions and plaques, while Marinkovich et al. teach administering a psoriasis therapeutic agent upon a flare. Accordingly, applying the known administration time taught by Marinkovich et al. to Adams’ disclosed trifluoperazine treatment would have been a predictable use of a known psoriasis treatment regimen for treating active manifestations of the same disease.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (US8993558B2) in view of Marinkovich et al (US2017/0182040A1) as applied to claims 1, 14 – 15, 17, 30 – 31, and 34 above, and further in view of NICE (National Institute for Health and Care Excellence, 2012, PTO-892).
The combined teachings of Adams and Marinkovich et al. teach the limitations discussed above. Luba further teaches that psoriasis may be treated by topical or systemic therapy depending on disease extent and response to treatment (page 639, Left Col., para. 5; page 641, Right Col., para. 3).
However, Adams and Marinkovich et al. do not teach that the administration of trifluoperazine is systemic.
NICE teaches that systemic therapy is an established treatment approach for psoriasis (page 27 – 29). NICE further teaches that conventional systemic treatment is offered to patients with psoriasis that cannot be controlled with topical therapy and that is extensive or associated with significant functional impairment or distress (page 10, lines 1 – 9). NICE further identifies methotrexate as a first-choice conventional systemic treatment for eligible patients with psoriasis (page 29, line 13). Thus, NICE teaches systemic administration of a therapeutic agent for treating psoriasis and establishes that systemic therapy is an appropriate treatment approach when topical therapy provides inadequate disease control.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the trifluoperazine treatment of Adams systemically for treating psoriasis in view of NICE because Adams teaches trifluoperazine as a therapeutic agent for treating psoriasis and psoriatic plaques and NICE teaches that systemic treatment is an established therapeutic approach for psoriasis, particularly in patients whose psoriasis is inadequately controlled by topical treatment and who satisfy additional criteria, including extensive disease or significant functional impairment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the local administration of trifluoperazine taught by Adams to employ systemic administration in patients because NICE teaches that systemic treatment is an appropriate therapeutic approach, especially for patients having extensive psoriasis or inadequate disease control with topical therapy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success that systemic administration, consistent with NICE’s teaching that systemic therapy is appropriate for patients and covering patients who has extensive or inadequately controlled psoriasis. Since Adams teaches trifluoperazine as useful for treating psoriatic lesions, a skilled artisan would have had reason to investigate systemic administration of trifluoperazine as an alternative route for treating patients with psoriasis.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (US8993558B2) in view of Marinkovich et al (US2017/0182040A1) as applied to claims 1, 14 – 15, 17, 30 – 31, and 34 above, and further in view of Luba (American Family Physician, 2006, Vol. 73, Issue 4, page 636 – 644, cited in the PTO-892 on April 30, 2026).
The combined teachings of Adams and Marinkovich et al. teach the limitations discussed above.
However, Adams does not explicitly teach that the psoriasis is chronic psoriasis.
Luba teaches that chronic plaque psoriasis is the most common form of psoriasis and that psoriasis is a chronic disease (Abstract; page 639, Left Col., para. 3). Thus, Luba supports that psoriasis is a chronic disease, which reads on the limitation of claim 16.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to administer trifluoperazine as taught by Adams for the treatment of chronic psoriasis in view of Luba because Adams teaches administering trifluoperazine for treating psoriasis, including psoriatic lesions and psoriatic plaques and Luba teaches that chronic plaque psoriasis is the most common form of psoriasis and that psoriasis is a chronic disease. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply Adams’ known trifluoperazine treatment to subjects suffering from chronic psoriasis because chronic plaque psoriasis is a recognized form of the same psoriasis for which Adams teaches treatment, and Adams explicitly identifies psoriatic plaques as lesions treatable with trifluoperazine. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Adams teaches the therapeutic usefulness of trifluoperazine for treating psoriatic plaques, while Luba establishes that such plaques characterize chronic plaque psoriasis. Thus, applying Adams’ disclosed treatment to chronic plaque psoriasis would have been a predictable application of a known psoriasis therapy to a recognized form of the same disease.
Claims 35, 37, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (US8993558B2) in view of Gillitzer et al. (Journal of Investigative Dermatology, 1991, Vol. 97. Issue 1, page 73 – 79, PTO-892), Monteseirín et al. (Journal of Leukocyte Biology, 2004, Vol. 76, Issue 3, page 692 – 700, PTO-892), and Hegemann et al. (British Journal of Dermatology, 1995, Vol. 133, Issue 1, page 41 – 47, PTO-892).
Adams teaches that, for patients suffering from psoriasis, hyperplastic thickening of the skin forms psoriatic plaques and that the mechanism causing such psoriatic plaques appears to be a cell-mediated autoimmune process (Col. 1, lines 35 – 38; Col. 2, lines 16 – 18). Adams teaches that a preferred calmodulin blocker is trifluoperazine and that the hyperplastic skin lesions treated by the disclosed compositions include psoriatic lesions and psoriatic plaques (Col. 4, lines 6 and 10 – 12). Thus, Adams teaches the psoriasis is plaque psoriasis, which reads on the limitation of claim 40. Adams teaches local administration of a therapeutically effective amount of the pharmaceutical composition directly to the lesion, including topical administration as a cream, gel, ointment, patch, or the like (Col. 4, lines 36 – 39). Adams further teaches administration of trifluoperazine topically to a cutaneous lesion at least once, and preferably several times per day, directly to the lesion (Col. 4, lines 50 – 54). Thus, Adams teaches administering trifluoperazine to a subject suffering from psoriasis and teaches topical administration, corresponding to the underlying trifluoperazine psoriasis treatment of claim 35 and the topical administration limitation of claim 37.
However, Adams does not explicitly teach that administration of trifluoperazine decreases a keratinocyte cytokine response associated with psoriasis, wherein the cytokine is IL-8, IL-6, or CXCL1, as required by claim 35.
Gillitzer et al. teach that, in psoriatic skin lesions, NAP-1/IL-8 mRNA expression is keratinocyte associated and that strong and specific signals are found in the upper layers of the lesional epidermis. Gillitzer et al. further teach that IL-8 is an important disease-promoting cytokine in PS and conclude that local pharmacologic down-regulation of NAP-1/IL-8 activity could be a promising therapeutic strategy in PS (Abstract). Thus, Gillitzer et al. teach that IL-8 is expressed by keratinocytes in psoriatic lesions and that pharmacologic down-regulation of IL-8 represents a therapeutic strategy for psoriasis.
Monteseirín et al. teach that human neutrophils produce IL-8 and that the release of IL-8 is accompanied by expression of IL-8 mRNA. Monteseirín et al. further teach that trifluoperazine inhibits IL-8 production and state that the results indicate a critical dependence of calcium and oxidative stress in IL-8 production (Abstract). Monteseirín et al. teach that treatment with trifluoperazine, an inhibitor of Ca2+-dependent calmodulin activity, decreases the IL-8 production generated by neutrophils exposed to anti-IgE Ab in a dose-dependent manner (page 696, Left Col., para. 2). Monteseirín et al. further report that human neutrophils are preincubated with trifluoperazine for one hour before stimulation with anti-IgE and that IL-8 release is subsequently measured by ELISA (page 696, Table 1). Monteseirín et al. further state that trifluoperazine, a calmodulin inhibitor, inhibits IgE-dependent liberation of IL-8 by neutrophils from allergic patients (page 697, Right Col., para. 3). Thus, Monteseirín et al. teach that trifluoperazine inhibits IL-8 production/release in human neutrophils and provide evidence relating trifluoperazine to inhibition of the IL-8 response.
Hegemann et al. teach that proliferation of cultured human keratinocytes is a calmodulin-dependent cellular response with indicative value for antipsoriatic drug activity . Hegemann et al. further teach that trifluoperazine is a well characterized calmodulin antagonist and that trifluoperazine inhibits cell proliferation in a dose-dependent manner in human keratinocytes (Summary). Hegemann et al. further explain that increased levels of calmodulin have been reported in psoriatic lesions and that clinical improvement of psoriasis is associated with a decrease in calmodulin activity (page 41, Right Col., para. 2). Thus, Hegemann et al. teach that trifluoperazine directly affects human keratinocytes through calmodulin antagonism and that such keratinocyte effects are relevant to antipsoriatic drug activity.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer trifluoperazine according to Adams to decrease an IL-8 response associated with psoriatic keratinocytes in view of Gillitzer et al., Monteseirín et al., and Hegemann et al. because Adams teaches trifluoperazine as a preferred calmodulin blocker for treating psoriasis, including psoriatic lesions and psoriatic plaques, Gillitzer et al. teach that IL-8 mRNA expression in psoriatic lesions is keratinocytes associated, identify IL-8 as an important disease-promoting cytokine in psoriasis, and explicitly teach that local pharmacologic down-regulation of IL-8 activity may represent a promising therapeutic strategy for psoriasis, Monteseirín et al. further teach that trifluoperazine, a calmodulin inhibitor, decreases IL-8 production in a dose-dependent manner in human neutrophils, and Hegemann et al. teach that trifluoperazine directly affects human keratinocytes through calmodulin antagonism and inhibits keratinocyte proliferation in a dose-dependent manner, and further relate calmodulin activity and keratinocyte response to antipsoriatic drug activity. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art seeking to treat psoriatic lesions of Adams would have been motivated to use the known IL-8 inhibitory activity of trifluoperazine to reduce the IL-8 response associated with psoriatic keratinocytes because Gillitzer et al. identify keratinocyte-associated IL-8 as a disease-promoting mediator in psoriasis and explicitly suggest pharmacologic down-regulation of IL-8 as therapeutic strategy and Hegemann et al. further provide reason to expect trifluoperazine to act directly on human keratinocytes through its known calmodulin-antagonist activity. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Adams already teaches trifluoperazine as useful for treating psoriatic lesions, Monteseirín et al. demonstrate that trifluoperazine may inhibit IL-8 production, Gillitzer et al. identify IL-8 produced by psoriatic keratinocytes as an appropriate therapeutic target, and Hegemann et al. demonstrate that human keratinocytes are directly responsive to trifluoperazine, Thus, the combined teachings would have provided both a reason to target the psoriasis-associated keratinocyte IL-8 response with trifluoperazine and a reasonable expectation that trifluoperazine would modulate that response.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (US8993558B2) in view of Gillitzer et al. (Journal of Investigative Dermatology, 1991, Vol. 97. Issue 1, page 73 – 79, PTO-892), Monteseirín et al. (Journal of Leukocyte Biology, 2004, Vol. 76, Issue 3, page 692 – 700, PTO-892), and Hegemann et al. (British Journal of Dermatology, 1995, Vol. 133, Issue 1, page 41 – 47, PTO-892) as applied to claims 35, 37, and 40 above, and further in view of NICE (National Institute for Health and Care Excellence, 2012, PTO-892).
The combined teachings of Adams, Gillitzer et al., Monteseirín et al., and Hegemann et al. teach the limitations discussed above.
However, Adams, Gillitzer et al., Monteseirín et al., and Hegemann et al. do not teach that the administration of trifluoperazine is systemic.
NICE teaches that systemic therapy is an established treatment approach for psoriasis (page 27 – 29). NICE further teaches that conventional systemic treatment is offered to patients with psoriasis that cannot be controlled with topical therapy and that is extensive or associated with significant functional impairment or distress (page 10, lines 1 – 9). NICE further identifies methotrexate as a first-choice conventional systemic treatment for eligible patients with psoriasis (page 29, line 13). Thus, NICE teaches systemic administration of a therapeutic agent for treating psoriasis and establishes that systemic therapy is an appropriate treatment approach when topical therapy provides inadequate disease control.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the trifluoperazine treatment of Adams systemically for treating psoriasis in view of NICE because Adams teaches trifluoperazine as a therapeutic agent for treating psoriasis and psoriatic plaques and NICE teaches that systemic treatment is an established therapeutic approach for psoriasis, particularly in patients whose psoriasis is inadequately controlled by topical treatment and who satisfy additional criteria, including extensive disease or significant functional impairment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the local administration of trifluoperazine taught by Adams to employ systemic administration in patients because NICE teaches that systemic treatment is an appropriate therapeutic approach, especially for patients having extensive psoriasis or inadequate disease control with topical therapy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success that systemic administration, consistent with NICE’s teaching that systemic therapy is appropriate for patients and covering patients who has extensive or inadequately controlled psoriasis. Since Adams teaches trifluoperazine as useful for treating psoriatic lesions, a skilled artisan would have had reason to investigate systemic administration of trifluoperazine as an alternative route for treating patients with psoriasis.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (US8993558B2) in view of Gillitzer et al. (Journal of Investigative Dermatology, 1991, Vol. 97. Issue 1, page 73 – 79, PTO-892), Monteseirín et al. (Journal of Leukocyte Biology, 2004, Vol. 76, Issue 3, page 692 – 700, PTO-892), and Hegemann et al. (British Journal of Dermatology, 1995, Vol. 133, Issue 1, page 41 – 47, PTO-892) as applied to claims 35, 37, and 40 above, and further in view of Marinkovich et al (US2017/0182040A1).
The combined teachings of Adams, Gillitzer et al., Monteseirín et al., and Hegemann et al. teach the limitations discussed above.
However, Adams, Gillitzer et al., Monteseirín et al., and Hegemann et al. do not explicitly teach that the dose is administered to the subject upon a flare of psoriasis.
Marinkovich et al. teach methods for treating psoriasis by administering an effective dose of an epithelial ion channel (ENaC) blocker, including benzamil, to a subject suffering from psoriasis (para. [0013]). Marinkovich et al. further teach that, in one embodiment, the dose is administered to the subject upon a flare of psoriasis (para. [0102]). Thus, Marinkovich et al. establish that administering a therapeutic agent upon a flare of psoriasis is a known treatment regimen for psoriasis, corresponding to the limitation of claim 38.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer trifluoperazine upon a flare of psoriasis in view of Marinkovich et al. in the method suggested by the combined teachings of Adams, Gillitzer et al., Monteseirín et al., and Hegemann et al. because administering a psoriasis therapeutic agent during a flare is a known treatment regimen for the same disease. Adams teaches administering trifluoperazine generally for treatment of psoriasis, including psoriatic lesions and psoriatic plaques, but does not explicitly teach administrating the effective dose upon a flare of psoriasis. Marinkovich et al. teach that the dose is administered to the subject upon a flare of psoriasis in one embodiment. Thus, applying the known flare-based administration regimen to Adams’ trifluoperazine treatment would have been an obvious application of a known treatment approach to another therapy directed to psoriasis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer trifluoperazine upon a flare of psoriasis to provide therapeutic intervention during a period of worsening disease activity. Gillitzer et al. identify keratinocyte-associated IL-8 as a disease-promoting mediator in psoriasis and propose pharmacologic down-regulation of IL-8 as a therapeutic strategy. Marinkovich et al. further teach administration of psoriasis treatment upon a flare. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill would have had reason to apply the trifluoperazine treatment suggested by the combined prior art during a flare to target a psoriasis-associated inflammatory response. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Adams teaches trifluoperazine as useful for treating psoriatic lesions and plaques, Monteseirín et al. demonstrate that trifluoperazine inhibits IL-8 production in human neutrophils, Hegemann et al. demonstrate that trifluoperazine acts directly on human keratinocytes, and Marinkovich et al. teach administering a psoriasis therapeutic agent upon a flare. Therefore, the combined teachings would have provided a reason to employ the known flare-based administration regimen with the trifluoperazine treatment suggested by the prior art, with an expectation of obtaining a therapeutic benefit in psoriasis.
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (US8993558B2) in view of Gillitzer et al. (Journal of Investigative Dermatology, 1991, Vol. 97. Issue 1, page 73 – 79, PTO-892), Monteseirín et al. (Journal of Leukocyte Biology, 2004, Vol. 76, Issue 3, page 692 – 700, PTO-892), and Hegemann et al. (British Journal of Dermatology, 1995, Vol. 133, Issue 1, page 41 – 47, PTO-892) as applied to claims 35, 37, and 40 above, and further in view of Luba (American Family Physician, 2006, Vol. 73, Issue 4, page 636 – 644, cited in the PTO-892 on April 30, 2026).
The combined teachings of Adams, Gillitzer et al., Monteseirín et al., and Hegemann et al. teach the limitations discussed above.
However, Adams, Gillitzer et al., Monteseirín et al., and Hegemann et al. do not explicitly teach that the psoriasis is chronic psoriasis.
Luba teaches that chronic plaque psoriasis is the most common form of psoriasis and that psoriasis is a chronic disease (Abstract; page 639, Left Col., para. 3). Thus, Luba supports that psoriasis is a chronic disease, which reads on the limitation of claim 39.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to administer trifluoperazine as taught by Adams for the treatment of chronic psoriasis in view of Luba because Adams teaches administering trifluoperazine for treating psoriasis, including psoriatic lesions and psoriatic plaques and Luba teaches that chronic plaque psoriasis is the most common form of psoriasis and that psoriasis is a chronic disease. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply Adams’ known trifluoperazine treatment to subjects suffering from chronic psoriasis because chronic plaque psoriasis is a recognized form of the same psoriasis for which Adams teaches treatment, and Adams explicitly identifies psoriatic plaques as lesions treatable with trifluoperazine. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Adams teaches the therapeutic usefulness of trifluoperazine for treating psoriatic plaques, while Luba establishes that such plaques characterize chronic plaque psoriasis. Thus, applying Adams’ disclosed treatment to chronic plaque psoriasis would have been a predictable application of a known psoriasis therapy to a recognized form of the same disease.
Responses to Applicant’s Remarks:
Applicant’s Remarks, filed August 17, 2026, have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments directed to the previously applied rejection are found to be not persuasive. To the extent the arguments are directed to limitations newly added by amendment, including PASI response limitation of claim 1 and the keratinocyte cytokine response limitation of claim 35, the arguments are moot with respect to the prior grounds of rejection because the present action applies new grounds and additional prior art addressing those limitations.
Applicant argues that Adams fails to teach the activity of trifluoperazine in the systemic conditions associated with psoriasis and fails to provide a reasonable expectation that trifluoperazine would be effective in treating psoriasis. However, the argument is not persuasive. Adams explicitly identifies psoriasis as a condition associated with the formation of psoriatic plaques, identifies trifluoperazine as a preferred calmodulin blocker, and explicitly includes psoriatic lesions and psoriatic plaques among the lesions treated by the disclosed compositions. Thus, Adams provides an explicit relationship between trifluoperazine and treatment of psoriasis. Moreover, the present rejection does not rely on Adams alone for limitation not explicitly disclosed herein. The additional references applied in the present rejection provide the further teachings relied upon for the respective claimed limitations Accordingly, Applicant’s characterization of Adams as failing to teach trifluoperazine for psoriasis is not supported by the explicit disclosure of Adams.
Applicant further argues that Adams generally concerns removal of hyperplastic lesions, such as calluses, corns, plantar warts, cutaneous warts, genital warts, and skin tags, and does not teach or suggest treatment of the underlying immune conditions associated with psoriasis. The argument is not persuasive. Although Adams discusses multiple types of hyperplastic skin lesions, Adams separately and explicitly discusses psoriasis, states the formation of psoriatic plaques appears to involve a cell-mediated autoimmune process, identifies psoriatic lesions and psoriatic plaques as lesions to be treated, and identifies trifluoperazine as a preferred calmodulin blocker. The rejection therefore does not rely upon the treatments of warts, calluses, or other unrelated lesions as establishing treatment of psoriasis. Instead, it relies on Adams’ explicit psoriasis-specific disclosure in combination with the additional prior art cited in the present rejection.
Applicant argues that the working examples of Adams involving trifluoperazine concern plantar warts, calluses, and genital warts, each of which as an underlying cause different from psoriasis, and therefore such examples do not demonstrate that trifluoperazine would be effective for psoriasis. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the disclosure of Adams is not limited to its working examples. Adams explicitly identifies trifluoperazine as a preferred calmodulin blocker and explicitly identifies psoriatic lesions and psoriatic plaques as conditions treated by the disclosed compositions. The working examples directed to other hyperplastic lesions do not negate or teach away from Adams’ explicit disclosure of trifluoperazine for psoriatic lesions. Moreover, Adams reports that application of trifluoperazine topical ointment produced clearing similar to that observed with verapamil, further supporting the disclosed therapeutic activity of trifluoperazine. Accordingly, the fact that certain working examples involve non-psoriatic lesions does not overcome the explicit teaching of Adams relied upon in the rejection.
Applicant further argues that none of the conditions treated in the working examples of Adams suggests that trifluoperazine would be effective in treating the underlying immune and cellular dysfunction that characterizes psoriasis. To the extent this argument is directed to newly added claim 35, the argument does not overcome the present rejection. The present rejection does not rely on Adams alone to establish the claimed decrease in a psoriasis-associated keratinocyte cytokine response. Gillitzer et al. teach that IL-8 expression in psoriatic lesions is keratinocyte associated, identify IL-8 as a disease-promoting cytokine in psoriasis, and teach pharmacologic down-regulation of IL-8 as a therapeutic strategy for psoriasis. Monteseirín et al. teach that trifluoperazine inhibits IL-8 production and Hegemann et al. teach that trifluoperazine directly affects human keratinocytes through calmodulin antagonism and that such keratinocyte effects are relevant to antipsoriatic drug activity. Thus, the combined prior art, rather than Adams alone, provides the teachings supporting the claimed keratinocyte cytokine response limitation.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.Y.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1693