DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office action is in response to the Response to Election/Restriction filed 10/13/2025. Claims 1-7 and 11-17 are currently pending. The cancelation of claims 8-10 is acknowledged. Claims 11-17 have been withdrawn as a result of the restriction requirement.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 10/13/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/13/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informality: line 4 reads “and/or” when is should read “and.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “connecting at least the second region of the inlay to the second layer of the packaging material of the filled packaging container” in the last line is indefinite because the term “the filled packaging container” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. In order to further prosecution, the limitation has been interpreted to recite “connecting at least the second region of the inlay to the second layer of the packaging material subsequent to filling the packaging container.” Claims 2-7 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (JP 2012-184021 A). Note that for convenience, citations to the written description of Sato refer to the attached translation.
Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses a method for manufacturing a packaging container with inlay, comprising the steps of: arranging a first layer (the bottom 12 – Fig. 2) of packaging material and a second layer (the top 12 – Fig. 2) of packaging material to form a packaging container (pg. 2, third full paragraph under the Description of Embodiments section; compare Figs. 1a and 2); positioning an inlay (20 – Fig. 2) between the first and second layers of the packaging material (see Fig. 2 and see Fig. 1a); connecting at least a first region (22 of the side of 20 connected to the bottom 12 – Fig. 6b) of the inlay to the first layer of packaging material (see Fig. 6b where 20 is attached to the bottom 12 and not to the top 12); manufacturing a packaging container by connecting the first and second layers of packaging material such that a filling opening (the opening through which 31 is inserted, see Fig. 6c) of the packaging container is formed between a second region (22 of the side of 20 facing the top 12 – Fig. 6b) of the inlay and the second layer of packaging material (see Figs. 1b and 6b where the two 12s are connected via 11, 13, and 14); and connecting at least the second region of the inlay to the second layer of packaging material subsequent to filling the packaging container (see Figs. 6c – 6f which show filling nozzle 31 being inserted through the filling opening, filling the container with A, then attaching the top side of 20 to the top 12).
Sato further discloses:
Claim 2, closing the filled packaging container by connecting the first and second layers of packaging material (see Figs. 6d – 6f in view of Fig. 5 which shows the two 12s being connected at least via 20).
Claim 3, the first layer of packaging material is arranged substantially opposite the second layer of packaging material (see Figs. 2 and 5 which shows the two 12s substantially opposite each other); wherein the first region of the inlay is arranged substantially opposite the second region of the inlay (see Figs. 2 and 5 where the two 22s are substantially opposite each other); wherein after connecting the second region of the inlay to the second layer of packaging material, a dispensing opening (21 – Fig. 5) for dispensing packaging container contents is formed only by the inlay (see Fig. 5, the only access to the container is through 21).
Claim 4, upon connection of the first region of the inlay to the first layer of packaging material, substantially no connection of the inlay to the second layer of packaging material takes place (see Fig. 6b where 20 has been connected to the bottom 12 but not the top 12).
Claim 5, deforming the packaging container such that the filling opening of the packaging material is opened (the packaging container is deformed when it goes from the collapsed state depicted in Fig. 6a to the opened state depicted in Fig. 6b); and filling the packaging container with filling material (A – Fig. 6c) through the filling opening of the packaging container (see Fig. 6c).
Claim 6, supplying a plurality of interconnected inlays (see Fig. 4 which shows at least 3 20s connected together); gripping and/or holding an inlay (though not expressly disclosed, the interconnected inlays must either be grasped (gripped) by something or be resting (held) by something); separating the gripped and/or held inlay (not clear from the translation but it is clear from comparing Figs. 2 and 4 that the interconnected inlays must be separated, also Fig. 4 depicts what appears to the lines of separation at the vertical broken lines); and positioning the separated inlay between the first and second layers of packaging material (see Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (JP 2012-184021 A) in view of Ausnit (US 2002/0062925 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Sato discloses essentially all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 1.
However, Sato does not expressly disclose how the positioning takes place.
Ausnit teaches a similar method wherein an inlay (40 – Fig. 1) is displaced such that the inlay is positioned and/or aligned substantially congruently and/or parallel to a direction of transport (from right to left in Fig. 1) of first (32 – Fig. 1) and second (34 – Fig. 1) layers of packaging material (as can be seen in Fig. 1, 40 travels with 32 and 34 from right to left).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have positioned the inlay of Sato using the method Ausnit since Sato is silent with regard to how the inlay is positioned and Ausnit provides a known solution.
Conclusion
/THOMAS M WITTENSCHLAEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
11/11/2025