DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7 December 2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8 February 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 28 July 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 22 October 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dietl et al. (US 2013/0284971, hereinafter referred to as “Dietl”).
As to Claim 1: Dietl teaches a composition comprising alkylamine ethoxylates (Abstract). Dietl further teaches an example which comprises octylamine ethoxylate with 2 EO unites [0109].
As to Claim 2: Dietl teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). Dietl further teaches that the ethylene oxide adduct of alkylamine can be n-hexadecylamine [0059].
As to Claim 3: Dietl teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). Dietl further teaches that the composition can include antifoams (i.e., defoaming agents) [0084].
As to Claim 4: Dietl teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). Dietl further teaches that the composition further includes water and propylene glycol [0109].
As to Claim 5: Dietl teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). Dietl does not expressly teach the composition has a conductivity of 100 µS/cm or lower. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Dietl. However, Dietl teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, the composition comprises water and glycols as well as an amine-based alkaline additive to keep the coolant conductivity low [0005]. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a conductivity of 100 µS/cm or lower, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
As to Claim 6: Dietl teaches the composition of claim 2 (supra). Dietl further teaches that the composition can include antifoams (i.e., defoaming agents) [0084].
As to Claim 7: Dietl teaches the composition of claim 2 (supra). Dietl further teaches that the composition further includes water and propylene glycol [0109].
As to Claim 8: Dietl teaches the composition of claim 2 (supra). Dietl does not expressly teach the composition has a conductivity of 100 µS/cm or lower. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Dietl. However, Dietl teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, the composition comprises water and glycols as well as an amine-based alkaline additive to keep the coolant conductivity low [0005]. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a conductivity of 100 µS/cm or lower, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
As to Claim 9: Dietl teaches the composition of claim 3 (supra). Dietl further teaches that the composition further includes water and propylene glycol [0109].
As to Claim 10: Dietl teaches the composition of claim 3 (supra). Dietl does not expressly teach the composition has a conductivity of 100 µS/cm or lower. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Dietl. However, Dietl teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, the composition comprises water and glycols as well as an amine-based alkaline additive to keep the coolant conductivity low [0005]. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a conductivity of 100 µS/cm or lower, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
As to Claim 11: Dietl teaches the composition of claim 4 (supra). Dietl does not expressly teach the composition has a conductivity of 100 µS/cm or lower. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Dietl. However, Dietl teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, the composition comprises water and glycols as well as an amine-based alkaline additive to keep the coolant conductivity low [0005]. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a conductivity of 100 µS/cm or lower, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
As to Claim 12: Dietl teaches the composition of claim 6 (supra). Dietl further teaches that the composition further includes water and propylene glycol [0109].
As to Claim 13: Dietl teaches the composition of claim 6 (supra). Dietl does not expressly teach the composition has a conductivity of 100 µS/cm or lower. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Dietl. However, Dietl teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, the composition comprises water and glycols as well as an amine-based alkaline additive to keep the coolant conductivity low [0005]. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a conductivity of 100 µS/cm or lower, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
As to Claim 14: Dietl teaches the composition of claim 7 (supra). Dietl does not expressly teach the composition has a conductivity of 100 µS/cm or lower. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Dietl. However, Dietl teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, the composition comprises water and glycols as well as an amine-based alkaline additive to keep the coolant conductivity low [0005]. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a conductivity of 100 µS/cm or lower, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
As to Claim 15: Dietl teaches the composition of claim 9 (supra). Dietl does not expressly teach the composition has a conductivity of 100 µS/cm or lower. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Dietl. However, Dietl teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, the composition comprises water and glycols as well as an amine-based alkaline additive to keep the coolant conductivity low [0005]. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a conductivity of 100 µS/cm or lower, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
As to Claim 16: Dietl teaches the composition of claim 12 (supra). Dietl does not expressly teach the composition has a conductivity of 100 µS/cm or lower. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Dietl. However, Dietl teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, the composition comprises water and glycols as well as an amine-based alkaline additive to keep the coolant conductivity low [0005]. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a conductivity of 100 µS/cm or lower, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
Correspondence
/Andrew J. Oyer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767