DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed 07 December 2023. Claims 1, 3, 5-13, 16, 23-27, 30, 33, 36 are pending in this application. Claims 2, 4, 14-15, 17-22, 28-29, 31-32, 34-35 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 23-24, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hyeju Choi et. al (KR 20210043233 A)
Regarding Claim 1, Choi discloses (as shown in Fig. 1) A display device ([0017] 1 is a schematic cross-sectional view of a display device) comprising:
a light-emitting layer ([0018] an organic light emitting layer 7),
wherein the light-emitting layer (7) includes a light-emitting region ([0100] The organic emission layer 7 may include a first organic emission layer 71) configured to emit light of a predetermined color ([0110] More specifically, the red first organic emission layer 71)
and a non-light-emitting region (See Fig, 1, showing a portion of the organic light emitting layer 7 and the part Q on the first bank 5) different from the light-emitting region (71) and formed in a region including an outer edge of the light-emitting layer (71), ([0159] A part Q of the third organic emission layer 73 may be disposed between the first sub-pixel 21, the second sub-pixel 22) (See Fig. 1)
and the non-light-emitting region includes a first outer edge region containing a first outer edge material different ([0110] More specifically, the red first organic emission layer 71 disposed on the first sub-pixel 21 is disposed at the first position P1, … the blue third organic emission layer 73 disposed at the third sub-pixel 23 is disposed at a second position P2.) from a main luminescent material constituting the light-emitting region at the outer edge of the light-emitting layer. ([0159] A part Q of the third organic emission layer 73 may be disposed between the first sub-pixel 21, the second sub-pixel 22) (See Fig. 1)
Regarding Claim 3, Choi further discloses (as shown in Fig. 1) comprising: n types of the light-emitting layers having different luminescent colors from each other, ([0111] Meanwhile, each of the first organic emission layer 71, the second organic emission layer 72, and the third organic emission layer 73 emits red (R) light, green (G) light, and blue (B) light.)
where n is a natural number of 2 or more, (([0111] Meanwhile, each of the first organic emission layer 71, the second organic emission layer 72, and the third organic emission layer 73)
wherein only one type of the light-emitting layer includes the light-emitting region and the first outer edge region. (See An. Fig. 1 below, showing the part Q being part of the first light emitting layer, and not part of the second light emitting layer)
Regarding Claim 23, Choi discloses (as shown in Figs. 5a-5p) A method for manufacturing a display device ([0129] 5A to 5P are schematic cross-sectional views of a manufacturing process of a display device) comprising:
depositing a first main luminescent material layer ([0132] The first organic emission layer 71) containing a first main luminescent material; ([0132] The first organic emission layer 71 is sequentially deposited over the first to third sub-pixels 21, 22, and 23)
depositing a first resist layer ([0133] a PR layer) on the first main luminescent material layer (71); ([0133] Next, referring to FIG. 5C, a shield layer SL and a PR layer are sequentially coated on the upper surface of the first organic light emitting layer 71)
exposing the first resist layer (PR); ([0134] It is exposed to light such as ultraviolet (UV) light. Accordingly, a region in the PR layer in which the first organic emission layer 71 is to be patterned may be changed in characteristics so that it is not etched by a developer.)
removing a portion of the first resist layer (SL, PR) by developing the first resist layer; ([0135] [0135] Next, referring to FIG. 5D, when the first removal process of removing the PR layer using the developer is performed)
etching a portion of the first main luminescent material layer (71) from a surface on a side of the first resist layer (SL, PR); ([0136] In the second removal process, the first organic light-emitting layer 71 including the shield layer SL may be removed by increasing the exposure time to the etching gas compared to the first removal process.)
forming a first outer edge region adjacent to at least one side surface of the first main luminescent material layer ([0136] Accordingly, as shown in FIG. 5N, the third organic emission layer 73 is formed between the first sub-pixel 21 and the second sub-pixel 22)
and containing a first outer edge material different from the first main luminescent material; ([0110] More specifically, the red first organic emission layer 71 disposed on the first sub-pixel 21 is disposed at the first position P1, … the blue third organic emission layer 73 disposed at the third sub-pixel 23 is disposed at a second position P2.)
and depositing a second main luminescent material layer ([0155] Next, referring to FIG. 5L, a second organic light-emitting layer 72 disposed)
containing a second main luminescent material (72) having a different luminescent color from a luminescent color of the first main luminescent material (71). (0110] More specifically, the red first organic emission layer 71 disposed on the first sub-pixel 21 is disposed at the first position P1, and the second green light-emitting layer 7[2] disposed in the second sub-pixel 22.)
Claim Interpretation Note: The claim does not require the second luminescent material to be formed after the first outer edge material, nor does it require the second luminescent material to be adjacent to the first outer edge material.
Regarding Claim 24, Choi further discloses (as shown in Fig. 5o) after the depositing a second main luminescent material layer (72), peeling off the first resist layer remaining. ([0162] Next, referring to FIG. 5O, a strip process of removing the shield layer SL of the first and second sub-pixels 21 and 22 and the third organic emission layer 73 deposited thereon is performed using a stripper solution)
Regarding Claim 36, Choi further discloses (as shown in Figs. 5a-5p) depositing a second resist layer ([0146] Next, referring to FIG. 5I, a shield layer SL and a PR) on the first main luminescent material layer (71) and the second main luminescent material layer (71); ([0146] Next, referring to FIG. 5I, a shield layer SL and a PR layer are sequentially coated on the upper surface of the second organic emission layer 72.) (See Fig. 5i)
removing a portion of the second resist layer (PR, SL) by exposing and developing the second resist layer (PR, SL); ([0148] Next, referring to FIG. 5J, when the fourth removal process of removing the PR layer using the developer is performed, the PR layer is formed only on the positions where the second sub-pixel 21 and the third contact hole ACH3 are to be formed. It remains unetched.)
etching a portion of the second main luminescent material layer (72) from a surface on a side of the second resist layer (PR, SL); ([0149] A fifth removal process is performed in which the shield layer SL and the second organic emission layer 72 disposed in are etched using an etching gas)
forming a second outer edge region (Q) adjacent to at least one side surface of the second main luminescent material layer (72) and containing a second outer edge material different from the second main luminescent material; ([0110] and the second green light-emitting layer 71 disposed in the second sub-pixel 22 The organic emission layer 72 is disposed at a second position P2 higher than the first position P1, and the blue third organic emission layer 73 disposed at the third sub-pixel 23 is disposed at a second position P2.) ([0159] A part Q of the third organic emission layer 73)
and depositing a third main luminescent material layer ([0158] Next, referring to FIG. 5N, the third organic emission layer 73 is sequentially deposited over the first to third sub-pixels 21, 22, and 23)
containing a third main luminescent material having a different luminescent color from the luminescent colors of both the first main luminescent material and the second main luminescent material. ([0110] More specifically, the red first organic emission layer 71 disposed on the first sub-pixel 21 is disposed at the first position P1, and the second green light-emitting layer 71 disposed in the second sub-pixel 22 The organic emission layer 72 is disposed at a second position P2 higher than the first position P1, and the blue third organic emission layer 73 disposed at the third sub-pixel 23 is disposed at a second position P2)
Claim Interpretation Note: The claim does not require the third luminescent material to be formed after the second outer edge material, therefore, they can be formed in the same step.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Kim et. al (KR 20200068911 A), Jung et al (US 2021/0371737 A1), and Yaguichi et. al (US 2024/0049496 A1)
Regarding Claim 26, Choi fails to disclose wherein the first main luminescent material includes first main quantum dots and first main ligands,
And the forming a first outer edge region, the first outer edge region is formed by substituting at least some of the first main ligands of the first main luminescent material with first outer edge ligands by a first outer edge region material including the first outer edge ligands different from the first main ligands.
Kim discloses (as shown in Fig. 4e) wherein the first main luminescent material includes first main quantum dots ([0058] The light emitting material layer 170 includes a first perovskite quantum dot (not shown) and a first light emitting material layer 172 corresponding to the first pixel P1)
Kim teaches that Quantum dots generate strong fluorescence and have excellent efficiency. ([0005] Quantum dots generate strong fluorescence because their extinction coefficient is very large and their quantum efficiency is excellent) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have the first organic emission layer in Choi instead be made of quantum dots as in Kim in order to generate strong fluorescence and have excellent efficiency.
However, Kim fails to disclose wherein the first main luminescent material (172) includes first main ligands; ([0133] ligands LD1 and LD1-1) (See Fig. 10)
and in the forming a first outer edge region, the first outer edge region is formed by substituting at least some of the first main ligands of the first main luminescent material with first outer edge ligands by a first outer edge region material including the first outer edge ligands different from the first main ligands
Jung discloses (as shown in Fig. 10) wherein the first main luminescent material ([0133] Referring to FIG. 10, an emission layer EML ) includes first main ligands; ([0133] ligands LD1 and LD1-1) (See Fig. 10)
Jung teaches that bonding ligands to the quantum dots the dispersibility of the quantum dots can be improved. ([0193] In related art, when a ligand is bonded to a surface of a quantum dot, the dispersibility and capping properties of the quantum dot may be improved in an organic solvent) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have first main ligands in the first luminescent material in order to improve dispersibility.
However, Jung fails to disclose in the forming a first outer edge region, the first outer edge region is formed by substituting at least some of the first main ligands of the first main luminescent material with first outer edge ligands by a first outer edge region material including the first outer edge ligands different from the first main ligands.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have in the forming a first outer edge region, the first outer edge region is formed by substituting at least some of the first main ligands of the first main luminescent material with first outer edge ligands by a first outer edge region material including the first outer edge ligands different from the first main ligands based on the teachings of Yaguichi. Choi teaches that first outer region involves replacing the first organic emission layer 71 with a portion (Q) of the third organic emission layer 73, which is a different color than e first organic emission layer 71. (See Fig. 5d, showing removal of a portion of the first organic emission layer 71; and Fig. 5n, showing that the removed portion next to first organic emission layer 71 is replaced with a portion (Q) of third organic emission layer 73). Kim teaches that these portions involve quantum dots of different colors. ([0099] As described above, the first pixel P1 is a blue pixel, the first perovskite quantum dot may be a blue light emitting perovskite quantum dot, the second pixel P2 is a red pixel and the second perovskite sky The quantum dot may be a perovskite quantum dot of red emission, the third pixel P3 may be a green pixel, and the third perovskite quantum dot of green emission) Yaguichi teaches that different color quantum dots are attached to different ligands, specifically that the blue quantum dots have shorter ligands in order to increase charge injection efficiency. ([0245] Specifically, the length of the ligand 42B in the blue-light-emitting element ESB is desirably made shorter than the length of the ligand 42R in the red-light-emitting element ESR and the length of the ligand 42G in the green-light-emitting element ESG to increase the electron injection efficiency) Therefore, it would have been obvious for the blue quantum dots (from Kim) in the portion Q (from Choi) to have ligands of a different length than the ligands in the red quantum dots (from Kim) in the portion of the first emission layer 71 (from Choi).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Kim, Jung, and Yaguichi as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Sakuma et. al (US 2023/0157044 A1)
Regarding Claim 27, Choi in view of Kim, Jung, and Yaguichi fails to disclose wherein in the etching a portion of the first main luminescent material layer, etching is performed using a first etching solution, and the first etching solution is a solution containing, in a solvent, a solute containing at least one selected from the group consisting of tetramethylammonium hydroxide, 2-aminoethanethiol hydrochloride, 2-methanaminoethanethiol hydrochloride, 2-ethanaminoethanethiol hydrochloric acid, 2-dimethylaminoethanethiol hydrochloride, 2-methyl ethyl aminoethanethiol hydrochloride, and 2-di ethyl aminoethanethiol hydrochloride.
Sakuma discloses wherein in the etching a portion of the first main luminescent material layer ([0105] green light-emitting layer 35g), etching is performed using a first etching solution ([0105] Thus, the etching solution 56),
and the first etching solution (56) is a solution containing, in a solvent, a solute containing at least one selected from the group consisting of tetramethylammonium hydroxide, 2-aminoethanethiol hydrochloride, 2-methanaminoethanethiol hydrochloride, 2-ethanaminoethanethiol hydrochloric acid, 2-dimethylaminoethanethiol hydrochloride, 2-methyl ethyl aminoethanethiol hydrochloride, and 2-di ethyl aminoethanethiol hydrochloride. ([0105] The photosensitive resin after curing is often insoluble in an alkaline solution such as a potassium hydroxide (KOH) aqueous solution, a tetramethylammonium hydroxide (TMAH) aqueous solution, a sodium carbonate (Na.sub.2CO.sub.3) aqueous solution, and a sodium hydrogen carbonate (NaHCO.sub.3) aqueous solution. Thus, the etching solution 56 is preferably an alkaline solution in which the green photosensitive resin 43g is insoluble.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to substitute the dry etching process in Choi with the wet etching process in Sakuma. Wet etching and dry etching are well techniques, each offering their own benefits, such as wet etching requiring less equipment and being highly selective. It would have been obvious to use a wet etching process in place of the dry etching process to take advantage of the well-known benefits of wet etching.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-13, 16, 25, 30, 33 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 5, Choi fails to disclose wherein the main luminescent material (71) includes main quantum dots and main ligands,
the first outer edge material (Q) includes first quantum dots and first outer edge ligands,
and a density of the first outer edge ligands in the first outer edge region is lower than a density of the main ligands in the light-emitting region.
Kim discloses (as shown in Fig. 9C) wherein the main luminescent material ([0050] light-emitting layer (EML) 13) includes main quantum dots ([0058] The light emitting material layer 170 includes a first perovskite quantum dot (not shown)),
the first outer edge material includes first quantum dots.([0068] a dummy pattern 190 including a third perovskite quantum dot)
Kim teaches that quantum dots generate strong fluorescence and quantum efficiency. ([0005] Quantum dots generate strong fluorescence because their extinction coefficient is very large and their quantum efficiency is excellent.) Kim further teaches that quantum dots can produce light in all regions of the visible spectrum. ([0005] In addition, since the emission wavelength is changed according to the size of the quantum dot, when the size of the quantum dot is adjusted, light in all regions of visible light can be obtained.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the e4ffective filing date of the application to make the light emitting layers include quantum dots.
Since the non-emitting region in Choi is made from the same material as the third light emitting layer ([0159] A part Q of the third organic emission layer 73 may be disposed between the first sub-pixel 21, the second sub-pixel 22), it would also have been obvious for the non-emitting region to be made of quantum dots.
However, Kim fails to disclose wherein the main luminescent material (13) includes main ligands,
the first outer edge material (190) includes first outer edge ligands,
and a density of the first outer edge ligands in the first outer edge region is lower than a density of the main ligands in the light-emitting region.
Ha discloses (as shown in Fig. 7, 8, 10) ligands bonded to the surface of the quantum dots. ([0110] Referring to FIG. 7, the quantum dot composition QCP of one or more embodiments may include a quantum dot QD, and a first ligand LD1 and a second ligand LD2 that are distinct from each other and bind to the surface of the quantum dot)
Ha teaches that the ligands reduce contact between the quantum dots and the materials of other layers, reducing the quenching of the quantum dots. ([0111] addition, it is possible to prevent or reduce direct contact between the material of the adjacent layer (for example, the hole transport region HTR and the electron transport region ETR) and the quantum dot QD, so that the quenching of the quantum dot QD can be reduced.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have ligands attached to the quantum dots in the main luminescent material and in the first outer edge material in order to reduce quenching.
However, Ha fails to disclose a density of the first outer edge ligands in the first outer edge region is lower than a density of the main ligands in the light-emitting region.
Since the Claim contains limitations that are not found in the prior art, it contains allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claims 8-13, Claims 8-13 depend from Claim 5, and contain allowable subject matter for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 6, Choi fails to disclose wherein the main luminescent material (71) includes main quantum dots and main ligands,
the first outer edge material (Q) includes first quantum dots and first outer edge ligands,
and the first quantum dots are oxides of the main quantum dots.
Kim discloses (as shown in Fig. 9C) wherein the main luminescent material ([0050] light-emitting layer (EML) 13) includes main quantum dots ([0058] The light emitting material layer 170 includes a first perovskite quantum dot (not shown)),
the first outer edge material includes first quantum dots.([0068] a dummy pattern 190 including a third perovskite quantum dot)
Regarding Claim 7, Choi fails to disclose wherein the main luminescent material (71) includes main quantum dots and main ligands,
each of the main quantum dots having a main shell
the first outer edge material (Q) includes first quantum dots and first outer edge ligands,
each of the first quantum dots having a first shell that is thinner than the main shell.
Kim discloses (as shown in Fig. 9C) wherein the main luminescent material ([0050] light-emitting layer (EML) 13) includes main quantum dots ([0058] The light emitting material layer 170 includes a first perovskite quantum dot (not shown)),
the first outer edge material includes first quantum dots.([0068] a dummy pattern 190 including a third perovskite quantum dot)
Kim teaches that quantum dots generate strong fluorescence and quantum efficiency. ([0005] Quantum dots generate strong fluorescence because their extinction coefficient is very large and their quantum efficiency is excellent.) Kim further teaches that quantum dots can produce light in all regions of the visible spectrum. ([0005] In addition, since the emission wavelength is changed according to the size of the quantum dot, when the size of the quantum dot is adjusted, light in all regions of visible light can be obtained.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the e4ffective filing date of the application to make the light emitting layers include quantum dots.
Since the non-emitting region in Choi is made from the same material as the third light emitting layer ([0159] A part Q of the third organic emission layer 73 may be disposed between the first sub-pixel 21, the second sub-pixel 22), it would also have been obvious for the non-emitting region to be made of quantum dots.
However, Kim fails to disclose wherein the main luminescent material (13) includes main ligands,
each of the main quantum dots having a main shell
the first outer edge material (190) includes first outer edge ligands,
each of the first quantum dots having a first shell that is thinner than the main shell.
Ha (US 2022/0185289 A1) discloses (as shown in Fig. 7, 8, 10) ligands bonded to the surface of the quantum dots. ([0110] Referring to FIG. 7, the quantum dot composition QCP of one or more embodiments may include a quantum dot QD, and a first ligand LD1 and a second ligand LD2 that are distinct from each other and bind to the surface of the quantum dot)
And each of the quantum dots having a shell. (0114] Referring to FIG. 8, the quantum dot QD may include a core CR and a shell SL surrounding (or around) the core CR.)
Ha teaches that the ligands reduce contact between the quantum dots and the materials of other layers, reducing the quenching of the quantum dots. ([0111] addition, it is possible to prevent or reduce direct contact between the material of the adjacent layer (for example, the hole transport region HTR and the electron transport region ETR) and the quantum dot QD, so that the quenching of the quantum dot QD can be reduced.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have ligands attached to the quantum dots in the main luminescent material and in the first outer edge material in order to reduce quenching.
Ha further teaches that the shell serves as a protective layer to maintain semiconducting properties of the quantum dot. ([0114] The shell SL of the quantum dot QD having a core-shell structure may serve as a protective layer to maintain semiconductor characteristics by preventing or reducing chemical modification of the core CR) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have a shell layer on the quantum dots in order to prevent chemical modification of the quantum dots.
However, Ha fails to disclose each of the first quantum dots having a first shell that is thinner than the main shell.
Since the Claim contains limitations that are not found in the prior art, it contains allowable subject matter.
Kim teaches that quantum dots generate strong fluorescence and quantum efficiency. ([0005] Quantum dots generate strong fluorescence because their extinction coefficient is very large and their quantum efficiency is excellent.) Kim further teaches that quantum dots can produce light in all regions of the visible spectrum. ([0005] In addition, since the emission wavelength is changed according to the size of the quantum dot, when the size of the quantum dot is adjusted, light in all regions of visible light can be obtained.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the e4ffective filing date of the application to make the light emitting layers include quantum dots.
Since the non-emitting region in Choi is made from the same material as the third light emitting layer ([0159] A part Q of the third organic emission layer 73 may be disposed between the first sub-pixel 21, the second sub-pixel 22), it would also have been obvious for the non-emitting region to be made of quantum dots.
However, Kim fails to disclose wherein the main luminescent material (13) includes main ligands,
the first outer edge material (190) includes first outer edge ligands,
and the first quantum dots are oxides of the main quantum dots.
Ha discloses (as shown in Fig. 7, 8, 10) ligands bonded to the surface of the quantum dots. ([0110] Referring to FIG. 7, the quantum dot composition QCP of one or more embodiments may include a quantum dot QD, and a first ligand LD1 and a second ligand LD2 that are distinct from each other and bind to the surface of the quantum dot)
Ha teaches that the ligands reduce contact between the quantum dots and the materials of other layers, reducing the quenching of the quantum dots. ([0111] addition, it is possible to prevent or reduce direct contact between the material of the adjacent layer (for example, the hole transport region HTR and the electron transport region ETR) and the quantum dot QD, so that the quenching of the quantum dot QD can be reduced.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have ligands attached to the quantum dots in the main luminescent material and in the first outer edge material in order to reduce quenching.
However, Ha fails to disclose and the first quantum dots are oxides of the main quantum dots.
Since the Claim contains limitations that are not found in the prior art, it contains allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claim 16, Choi fails to disclose wherein at least one of the light-emitting layers (71, 72, 73) further includes a second outer edge region adjacent to at least one side surface of the first outer edge region (Q) on a side opposite to the light-emitting region (71) and having a second outer edge material different from both the main luminescent material and the first outer edge material.
Since the Claim contains limitations that are not found in the prior art, it contains allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claim 25, Choi fails to disclose wherein the etching a portion of the first main luminescent material layer (71) and the forming a first outer edge region (Q) are performed simultaneously.
Since the Claim contains limitations that are not found in the prior art, it contains allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claim 30, Choi in view of Kim, Jung, and Yaguichi and further in view of Sakuma fails to disclose etching a portion of the first main luminescent material layer, etching is performed using a first etching solution, and the first etching solution is a solution containing molecules in a solvent, the molecules including at least one selected from the group consisting of a thiol group, an amino group, a carboxyl group, a phosphonic group, a phosphine group, and a phosphine oxide group as a functional group and being dispersible in etching solutions.
Since the Claim contains limitations that are not found in the prior art, it contains allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claim 33, Choi in view of Kim, Jung, and Yaguichi and further in view of Sakuma fails to disclose wherein in the etching a portion of the first main luminescent material layer, etching is performed using a first etching solution, and the first etching solution is an acid aqueous solution.
Conclusion
/JASON JAMES GREAVING/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893