DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
Claim Status
1. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination in this Office Action.
Response to Remarks
2. Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant’s Remarks : “ The distinguishing technical features between the amended claims 1, 12, and 13 of the present application and D1 at least include:
distinguishing feature 1: turning off each laser in a network element to be processed;
distinguishing feature 2: turning on a target laser;
distinguishing feature 3: determining a connection position of an optical fiber of the target laser in an optical signal propagation direction according to a configuration state of each wavelength selective switch called WSS of the network element to be processed and an optical detection result of each port of the network element to be processed, and acquiring the optical detection result of each WSS to judge whether any WSS detects a light at a group port. D1 does not disclose the above-mentioned distinguishing features 1-2. Specifically, D1 does not disclose distinguishing feature 1, the technical problem solved by claim 1 of the present application is different from that of D1, the technical problem solved by claims 1, 12, and 13 of the present application is that how to quickly and accurately discover optical fiber connection positions of physical connection fibers of a network element automatically, in order to solve this technical problem, the technical means adopted by claims 1, 12, and 13 of the present application is implemented based on physical signals and physical optical fiber connections. “
Examiner’s Remarks : Applicant's arguments filed 01/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive due to the following reason :
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “..how to quickly and accurately discover optical fiber connection positions of physical connection fibers of a network element automatically, in order to solve this technical problem, the technical means adopted by claims 1, 12, and 13 of the present application is implemented based on physical signals and physical optical fiber connections. …”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The Prior art reference Tse et al. ( D1) teaches the features ( 1& 2) of turning off of laser ( interpreted as the light source ) and turning on of the laser ( FIG.2 flow chart shows the process of activation and deactivation of light source ( well known by one in the ordinary skills in the art as a laser source) and also Paragraph [0032]- “… be turned off from the transponder 192, and then no light may be detected at the transceiver 199. In one example, the activation and deactivation may be repeated at least two times to verify the pairing between the transponder 192 and the network switch 193 (e.g., the pairing of the transponder 192 with the particular transceiver 199, or the slot in which the transceiver 199 is installed). In one example, the SDN controller 155 may also activate a light source of the network switch 193 (e.g., transceiver 199, which may comprise a laser or LED transmitter) and detect a light at the transponder 192 (e.g., at client-side transceiver 174). When the light is detected, the light source may be turned off from the network switch 193, …”) .
Therefore it would have been obvious to one in the ordinary art to understand the limitations within the claim taught by Prior art Tse et al.
Applicant’s Remarks : “It can be seen that D1 only discloses a specific transponder 192, and it does not disclose turning off each laser in a network element to be processed. D1 does not disclose or implicitly disclose distinguishing feature 1. D1 does not disclose turning on a target laser, that is, distinguishing feature 2 is not disclosed. In addition, D2 does not disclose distinguishing feature 3. D2 discloses determining a connection position of an optical fiber. Whereas in claims 1, 12, and 13, the key technical means include: determining a connection position of an optical fiber of the target laser in an optical signal propagation direction according to a configuration state of each WSS of the network element to be processed and an optical detection result of each port of the network element to be processed, and acquiring the optical detection result of each WSS to judge whether any WSS detects a light at a group port. It can be seen that the difference between the amended claims 1, 12, and 13 of the present application and D2 at least lies in the basis for determining a connection position of an optical fiber. D2 does not disclose distinguishing feature 3.”
Examiner’s Remarks : Applicant's arguments filed 01/22/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive due to the following reason :
Based on the argument/remarks presented by the Applicant representative regarding limitations noted as D3., The Examiner agrees with the Applicant representative and withdraws the prior art on record David T. Neilson et al. ( NPL Doc: "Wavelength Selective Switching for Optical Bandwidth Management," Summer 2006,Bell Labs Technical Journal 11(2),Pages 106-117.).. Limitations “ determining a connection position of an optical fiber of the target laser in an optical signal propagation direction according to a configuration state of each wavelength selective switch (WSS) of the network element to be processed and an optical detection result of each port of the network element to be processed; and acquiring the optical detection result of each WSS to judge whether any WSS detects a light at a group port. “
The Examiner Introduces new Prior art Han et al. ( 20150155964) to reject the limitation based on the amendment to the claim ( Detailed Below within the rejection) : “determining a connection position of an optical fiber of the target laser in an optical signal propagation direction according to a configuration state of each wavelength selective switch (WSS) of the network element to be processed ( Paragraph [0033]- “…acquiring an internal fiber connection relationship in a reconfigurable optical add/drop multiplexer provided in the embodiment of the present invention, logic optical propagation paths from an ingress port of a wavelength selective switch at a receive end to an egress port of a wavelength selective switch at a transmit end are first acquired, then a different wavelength cross connection is set for each acquired optical propagation path, an optical signal on the egress port of the wavelength selective switch at the transmit end is collected to determine a wavelength of the optical signal from the ingress port of the wavelength selective switch at the receive end to the egress port of the wavelength selective switch at the transmit end, and a fiber connection relationship between an egress port of the wavelength selective switch at the receive end and an ingress port of the wavelength selective switch at the transmit end is determined by using the collected wavelength of the optical signal, thereby avoiding a complex manual operation and reducing a manual workload, which may accurately and efficiently acquire an internal fiber connection relationship in a reconfigurable optical add/drop multiplexer…” ) and an optical detection result of each port of the network element to be processed ( Paragraphs [0040-0041]- “…acquiring configuration information of a current service wavelength cross connection, where the configuration information of the current service wavelength cross connection is used to identify an egress port that is in a wavelength selective switch at the receive end and where an optical signal of a service is allowed to pass through and an ingress port that is in a wavelength selective switch at the transmit end and where an optical signal of a service is allowed to pass through; and determining, according to the configuration information of the current service wavelength cross connection, egress ports, which an optical signal of a service is not allowed to pass through, in the wavelength selective switch at the receive end, and ingress ports, which an optical signal of a service is not allowed to pass through, in the wavelength selective switch at the transmit end…”) ;and acquiring the optical detection result of each WSS to judge whether any WSS detects a light at a group port ( Paragraph [0061]- “…A communication signal generated by a pumping source is connected to the ingress port of the WSS1, and the fiber connection relationship between the egress port of the WSS and the ingress port of the transmit end WSS' is determined according to a wavelength of an optical signal detected on the egress port of the WSS1'.…” AND Paragraph [0089]) . “
Therefore the Examiner respectfully states the rejection for claims 1, 12 and 13 under 35 U.S.C 103 as being patentable over Tse et al. (USPUB 20200036467) in view of Han et al. (USPUB 20150155964).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1,12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tse et al. (USPUB 20200036467) in view of Han et al. (USPUB 20150155964).
As per claim 1, Tse et al. teaches An optical fiber connection discovery ( Paragraphs [0025-0027]- “…with respect to ROADMs, “configured” and “reconfigured” may refer to instructions to adjust a wavelength selective switch (WSS) to route different wavelengths to different fibers/links and/or to different add/drop ports. With respect to network switches and transponders, “configured” and “reconfigured” may refer to instructions to send or receive at a particular bitrate, to utilize a particular transmit power, to transmit or receive on a particular wavelength, and the like….”) method, comprising:
turning off each laser in a network element to be processed ( Paragraph [0030]- “…when the light is detected, the light source may be turned off from the transponder 192, and then no light may be detected at the same one of the ROADM add/drop ports 194. In one example, the activation and deactivation may be repeated at least two times to verify the pairing between the transponder 192 and the particular one of the ROADM add/drop ports 194….”) ; turning on a target laser ( Paragraph [0016]- “…turning on (and off) of a light source at either or both of the network switch optical transceiver and the external optical transponder, and then detecting a received light (and/or no light) at the receiver side to identify the connection between the external optical transponder and the integrated optical transceiver of the network switch (e.g., the particular integrated optical transponder and/or a particular slot of the network switch containing the integrated optical transponder)…”) ;
Tse et al. does not explicitly teach determining a connection position of an optical fiber of the target laser in an optical signal propagation direction according to a configuration state of each wavelength selective switch (WSS) of the network element to be processed and an optical detection result of each port of the network element to be processed; and acquiring the optical detection result of each WSS to judge whether any WSS detects a light at a group port.
However, within analogous art, Han et al. teaches determining a connection position of an optical fiber of the target laser in an optical signal propagation direction according to a configuration state of each wavelength selective switch (WSS) of the network element to be processed ( Connection position of an optical fiber interpreted as the Fiber connection relationship and signal propagation and state of WSS taught within Paragraph [0033]- “…acquiring an internal fiber connection relationship in a reconfigurable optical add/drop multiplexer provided in the embodiment of the present invention, logic optical propagation paths from an ingress port of a wavelength selective switch at a receive end to an egress port of a wavelength selective switch at a transmit end are first acquired, then a different wavelength cross connection is set for each acquired optical propagation path, an optical signal on the egress port of the wavelength selective switch at the transmit end is collected to determine a wavelength of the optical signal from the ingress port of the wavelength selective switch at the receive end to the egress port of the wavelength selective switch at the transmit end, and a fiber connection relationship between an egress port of the wavelength selective switch at the receive end and an ingress port of the wavelength selective switch at the transmit end is determined by using the collected wavelength of the optical signal, thereby avoiding a complex manual operation and reducing a manual workload, which may accurately and efficiently acquire an internal fiber connection relationship in a reconfigurable optical add/drop multiplexer…” ) and an optical detection result of each port of the network element to be processed (Optical signal detection on egress and ingress ports taught within Paragraphs [0040-0041]- “…acquiring configuration information of a current service wavelength cross connection, where the configuration information of the current service wavelength cross connection is used to identify an egress port that is in a wavelength selective switch at the receive end and where an optical signal of a service is allowed to pass through and an ingress port that is in a wavelength selective switch at the transmit end and where an optical signal of a service is allowed to pass through; and determining, according to the configuration information of the current service wavelength cross connection, egress ports, which an optical signal of a service is not allowed to pass through, in the wavelength selective switch at the receive end, and ingress ports, which an optical signal of a service is not allowed to pass through, in the wavelength selective switch at the transmit end…”) ;and acquiring the optical detection result of each WSS to judge whether any WSS detects a light at a group port (Detection of optical signal from pumping source ( light source) taught within Detection of optical signal from pumping source ( light source) taught within Paragraph [0061]- “…A communication signal generated by a pumping source is connected to the ingress port of the WSS1, and the fiber connection relationship between the egress port of the WSS and the ingress port of the transmit end WSS' is determined according to a wavelength of an optical signal detected on the egress port of the WSS1'.…” AND Paragraph [0089]) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of B Han et al. within the modified teaching of the Network switch and optical transponder connectivity verification for wavelength division multiplexing network mentioned by Tse et al. because the Method And Apparatus For Acquiring Internal Fiber Connection Relationship In Reconfigurable Optical Add/Drop Multiplexer mentioned by Han et al. provides a method and system for implementation of Fiber connection identification within reconfigurable optical WSS-based ROADM system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Method And Apparatus For Acquiring Internal Fiber Connection Relationship In Reconfigurable Optical Add/Drop Multiplexer mentioned by Han et al. within the modified teaching of the Network switch and optical transponder connectivity verification for wavelength division multiplexing network mentioned by Tse et al. for implementing a system and method for Fiber connection identification within reconfigurable optical WSS-based ROADM system.
As per claim 12, Tse et al. teaches An electronic device, comprising: at least one processor ( Paragraph [0073]- “…configure a hardware processor to perform the steps,…” ) ; and a memory in communication connection with the at least one processor ( Paragraph [0073]- “…memory 404 and executed by hardware processor element 402 to implement the steps…”) , wherein the memory stores instructions executable by the at least one processor, and the instructions are executed by the at least one processor ( Paragraph [0073]- “…instructions and data for the present module or process 405 for verifying that an optical transmit/receive device is correctly installed (e.g., a software program comprising computer-executable instructions) can be loaded into memory 404 and executed by hardware processor element 402 to implement the steps, functions,…”) , such that the at least one processor is able to execute a optical fiber connection discovery( Paragraphs [0025-0027]- “…with respect to ROADMs, “configured” and “reconfigured” may refer to instructions to adjust a wavelength selective switch (WSS) to route different wavelengths to different fibers/links and/or to different add/drop ports. With respect to network switches and transponders, “configured” and “reconfigured” may refer to instructions to send or receive at a particular bitrate, to utilize a particular transmit power, to transmit or receive on a particular wavelength, and the like….”) method( Paragraph [0030]- “…when the light is detected, the light source may be turned off from the transponder 192, and then no light may be detected at the same one of the ROADM add/drop ports 194. In one example, the activation and deactivation may be repeated at least two times to verify the pairing between the transponder 192 and the particular one of the ROADM add/drop ports 194….”); turning on a target laser( Paragraph [0016]- “…turning on (and off) of a light source at either or both of the network switch optical transceiver and the external optical transponder, and then detecting a received light (and/or no light) at the receiver side to identify the connection between the external optical transponder and the integrated optical transceiver of the network switch (e.g., the particular integrated optical transponder and/or a particular slot of the network switch containing the integrated optical transponder)…”) ;
Tse et al. does not explicitly teach determining a connection position of an optical fiber of the target laser in an optical signal propagation direction according to a configuration state of each wavelength selective switch (WSS) of the network element to be processed and an optical detection result of each port of the network element to be processed; and acquiring the optical detection result of each WSS to judge whether any WSS detects a light at a group port.
However, within analogous art, Han et al. teaches determining a connection position of an optical fiber of the target laser in an optical signal propagation direction according to a configuration state of each wavelength selective switch (WSS) of the network element to be processed ( Connection position of an optical fiber interpreted as the Fiber connection relationship and signal propagation and state of WSS taught within Paragraph [0033]- “…acquiring an internal fiber connection relationship in a reconfigurable optical add/drop multiplexer provided in the embodiment of the present invention, logic optical propagation paths from an ingress port of a wavelength selective switch at a receive end to an egress port of a wavelength selective switch at a transmit end are first acquired, then a different wavelength cross connection is set for each acquired optical propagation path, an optical signal on the egress port of the wavelength selective switch at the transmit end is collected to determine a wavelength of the optical signal from the ingress port of the wavelength selective switch at the receive end to the egress port of the wavelength selective switch at the transmit end, and a fiber connection relationship between an egress port of the wavelength selective switch at the receive end and an ingress port of the wavelength selective switch at the transmit end is determined by using the collected wavelength of the optical signal, thereby avoiding a complex manual operation and reducing a manual workload, which may accurately and efficiently acquire an internal fiber connection relationship in a reconfigurable optical add/drop multiplexer…” ) and an optical detection result of each port of the network element to be processed ( Optical signal detection on egress and ingress ports taught within Paragraphs [0040-0041]- “…acquiring configuration information of a current service wavelength cross connection, where the configuration information of the current service wavelength cross connection is used to identify an egress port that is in a wavelength selective switch at the receive end and where an optical signal of a service is allowed to pass through and an ingress port that is in a wavelength selective switch at the transmit end and where an optical signal of a service is allowed to pass through; and determining, according to the configuration information of the current service wavelength cross connection, egress ports, which an optical signal of a service is not allowed to pass through, in the wavelength selective switch at the receive end, and ingress ports, which an optical signal of a service is not allowed to pass through, in the wavelength selective switch at the transmit end…”) ; and acquiring the optical detection result of each WSS to judge whether any WSS detects a light at a group port ( Detection of optical signal from pumping source ( light source) taught within Paragraph [0061]- “…A communication signal generated by a pumping source is connected to the ingress port of the WSS1, and the fiber connection relationship between the egress port of the WSS and the ingress port of the transmit end WSS' is determined according to a wavelength of an optical signal detected on the egress port of the WSS1'.…” AND Paragraph [0089]) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of B Han et al. within the modified teaching of the Network switch and optical transponder connectivity verification for wavelength division multiplexing network mentioned by Tse et al. because the Method And Apparatus For Acquiring Internal Fiber Connection Relationship In Reconfigurable Optical Add/Drop Multiplexer mentioned by Han et al. provides a method and system for implementation of Fiber connection identification within reconfigurable optical WSS-based ROADM system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Method And Apparatus For Acquiring Internal Fiber Connection Relationship In Reconfigurable Optical Add/Drop Multiplexer mentioned by Han et al. within the modified teaching of the Network switch and optical transponder connectivity verification for wavelength division multiplexing network mentioned by Tse et al. for implementing a system and method for Fiber connection identification within reconfigurable optical WSS-based ROADM system.
As per claim 13, Tse et al. teaches A computer readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program ( Paragraph [0074]- “…The processor executing the computer readable or software instructions relating to the above described method(s) can be perceived as a programmed processor or a specialized processor….”) , when executed by a processor, implements an optical fiber connection discovery ( Paragraphs [0025-0027]- “…with respect to ROADMs, “configured” and “reconfigured” may refer to instructions to adjust a wavelength selective switch (WSS) to route different wavelengths to different fibers/links and/or to different add/drop ports. With respect to network switches and transponders, “configured” and “reconfigured” may refer to instructions to send or receive at a particular bitrate, to utilize a particular transmit power, to transmit or receive on a particular wavelength, and the like….”)method comprising: turning off each laser in a network element to be processed( Paragraph [0030]- “…when the light is detected, the light source may be turned off from the transponder 192, and then no light may be detected at the same one of the ROADM add/drop ports 194. In one example, the activation and deactivation may be repeated at least two times to verify the pairing between the transponder 192 and the particular one of the ROADM add/drop ports 194….”); turning on a target laser( Paragraph [0016]- “…turning on (and off) of a light source at either or both of the network switch optical transceiver and the external optical transponder, and then detecting a received light (and/or no light) at the receiver side to identify the connection between the external optical transponder and the integrated optical transceiver of the network switch (e.g., the particular integrated optical transponder and/or a particular slot of the network switch containing the integrated optical transponder)…”) ;
Tse et al. does not explicitly teach determining a connection position of an optical fiber of the target laser in an optical signal propagation direction according to a configuration state of each wavelength selective switch (WSS) of the network element to be processed and an optical detection result of each port of the network element to be processed; and acquiring the optical detection result of each WSS to judge whether any WSS detects a light at a group port.
However, within analogous art, Han et al. teaches determining a connection position of an optical fiber of the target laser in an optical signal propagation direction according to a configuration state of each wavelength selective switch (WSS) of the network element to be processed (Connection position of an optical fiber interpreted as the Fiber connection relationship and signal propagation and state of WSS taught within Paragraph [0033]- “…acquiring an internal fiber connection relationship in a reconfigurable optical add/drop multiplexer provided in the embodiment of the present invention, logic optical propagation paths from an ingress port of a wavelength selective switch at a receive end to an egress port of a wavelength selective switch at a transmit end are first acquired, then a different wavelength cross connection is set for each acquired optical propagation path, an optical signal on the egress port of the wavelength selective switch at the transmit end is collected to determine a wavelength of the optical signal from the ingress port of the wavelength selective switch at the receive end to the egress port of the wavelength selective switch at the transmit end, and a fiber connection relationship between an egress port of the wavelength selective switch at the receive end and an ingress port of the wavelength selective switch at the transmit end is determined by using the collected wavelength of the optical signal, thereby avoiding a complex manual operation and reducing a manual workload, which may accurately and efficiently acquire an internal fiber connection relationship in a reconfigurable optical add/drop multiplexer…” ) and an optical detection result of each port of the network element to be processed ( Optical signal detection on egress and ingress ports taught within Paragraphs [0040-0041]- “…acquiring configuration information of a current service wavelength cross connection, where the configuration information of the current service wavelength cross connection is used to identify an egress port that is in a wavelength selective switch at the receive end and where an optical signal of a service is allowed to pass through and an ingress port that is in a wavelength selective switch at the transmit end and where an optical signal of a service is allowed to pass through; and determining, according to the configuration information of the current service wavelength cross connection, egress ports, which an optical signal of a service is not allowed to pass through, in the wavelength selective switch at the receive end, and ingress ports, which an optical signal of a service is not allowed to pass through, in the wavelength selective switch at the transmit end…”) ; and acquiring the optical detection result of each WSS to judge whether any WSS detects a light at a group port ( Detection of optical signal from pumping source ( light source) taught within Paragraph [0061]- “…A communication signal generated by a pumping source is connected to the ingress port of the WSS1, and the fiber connection relationship between the egress port of the WSS and the ingress port of the transmit end WSS' is determined according to a wavelength of an optical signal detected on the egress port of the WSS1'.…” AND Paragraph [0089]) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of B Han et al. within the modified teaching of the Network switch and optical transponder connectivity verification for wavelength division multiplexing network mentioned by Tse et al. because the Method And Apparatus For Acquiring Internal Fiber Connection Relationship In Reconfigurable Optical Add/Drop Multiplexer mentioned by Han et al. provides a method and system for implementation of Fiber connection identification within reconfigurable optical WSS-based ROADM system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Method And Apparatus For Acquiring Internal Fiber Connection Relationship In Reconfigurable Optical Add/Drop Multiplexer mentioned by Han et al. within the modified teaching of the Network switch and optical transponder connectivity verification for wavelength division multiplexing network mentioned by Tse et al. for implementing a system and method for Fiber connection identification within reconfigurable optical WSS-based ROADM system.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 2-11 and 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
5. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objecting the claims as allowable subject matter:
As to claim 2 , prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 2 : “…wherein under the condition that the target laser is an optical booster amplifier (OBA), before turning on the target laser, the method further comprises: setting the configuration state of each WSS of the network element to be processed as null; and determining the connection position of the optical fiber of the target laser in the optical signal propagation direction according to the configuration state of each wavelength selective switch (WSS) of the network element to be processed and the optical detection result of each port of the network element to be processed comprises: determining, under the condition that only one WSS detects light at a group port, the OBA as an OBA in an add-drop direction, and recording an optical fiber between the WSS that detects the light at the group port and the OBA in the add-drop direction as a first-position optical fiber.”
As to claims 3,11 and 16, claims 3,11 and 16 depends on objected allowable claim 2, therefore claims 3,11 and 16 are objected as allowable claim .
As to claims 4 and 17 , claims 4 and 17 depends on objected allowable claim 3, therefore claim 4 is objected as allowable claim .
As to claim 18 , claim 18 depends on objected allowable claim 4, therefore claim 4 is objected as allowable claim .
As to claim 5 , prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 5 : “…the target laser is an optical parametric amplifier (OPA), before turning on the target laser, the method further comprises: setting the configuration state of each WSS of the network element to be processed as null; and determining the connection position of the optical fiber of the target laser in the optical signal propagation direction according to the configuration state of each wavelength selective switch (WSS) of the network element to be processed and the optical detection result of each port of the network element to be processed comprises: setting, under the condition that only one WSS detects light at a group port, a configuration state of the WSS that detects the light at the group port as cross configuration; acquiring an optical detection result of each optical transform unit (OTU) of the network element to be processed; determining, under the condition that no OTU detects the light, the OPA as an OPA in a line direction, and recording an optical fiber between the OPA in the line direction and the WSS that detects the light at the group port as a fourth-position optical fiber; and determining, under the condition that only one OTU detects the light, the OPA as an OPA in an add-drop direction, and recording an optical fiber between the OPA in the add- drop direction and the WSS that detects the light at the group port as a fifth-position optical fiber. ”
As to claims 6,8 and 19, claims 6,8 and 19 depends on objected allowable claim 5, therefore claims 6,8 and 19 are objected as allowable claim .
As to claims 7,14 and 20 , claims 7,14 and 20 depends on objected allowable claim 6, therefore 7,14 and 20 are objected as allowable claim .
As to claim 15 , claim 15 depends on objected allowable claim 7, therefore claim 15 is objected as allowable claim .
As to claim 9 , prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 9 : “…condition that the target laser is an OTU, before turning on the target laser, the method further comprises: setting the configuration state of each WSS of the network element to be processed as cross configuration; and determining the connection position of the optical fiber of the target laser in the optical signal propagation direction according to the configuration state of each wavelength selective switch (WSS) of the network element to be processed and the optical detection result of each port of the network element to be processed comprises: recording, under the condition that only one WSS detects the light at the branch port, an optical fiber between the WSS that detects the light at the branch port and the OTU as a ninth-position optical fiber.”
As to claim 10 , claim 10 depends on objected allowable claim 9, therefore claim 10 is objected as allowable claim .
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of
analogous art.
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
8. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OMAR ISMAIL whose telephone number is 571-272-9799. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday: 8am - 5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, David Payne can be reached on 571-272-3024. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-9799. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free)? If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/OMAR S ISMAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635