DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the internal surface.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the recycle line bend.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baita (WO 2019/154756 A1) in view of Kufeld (US 2015/0367319).
With respect to claims 1, 2, and 4, Baita discloses an apparatus (see Baita, Fig. 1) for gas-phase polymerization of olefins comprising: (a) a reactor (1); (b) a recycle line (5); (c) a compressor (6); and (d) a heat exchanger (8).
Baita does not explicitly disclose wherein an internal surface of the recycle line has a surface roughness of less than 5 microns.
However, Kufeld discloses an olefins polymerization reactor similar to that of Baita (see Kufeld, Abstract), and explains that “as the roughness of the interior wall increases so does the risk of fouling” (see Kufeld, paragraph [0063]).
Therefore, the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the apparatus of Baita to minimize the surface roughness of the recycle line, such modification minimizing the risk of fouling in the recycle line, as evidenced by Kufeld. In this regard, Kufeld notes a preferred roughness between 10 RMS microinches and 30 RMS microinches (0.228 micron to 0.684 micron) (see Kufeld, paragraph [0064]).
With respect to claim 5, the Federal Circuit has held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
With respect to claims 6-9 and 11-13, Baita discloses wherein the compressor may comprise a centrifugal compressor with an impeller; variable guide vanes; butterfly valve with rotational disc; and fluidization grid (see Baita, paragraphs [0008]-[0015]; and [0040]). The reactor may be a multizone circulating reactor having an upward flow area and a downward flow area and the recycle line may be free of a cyclone (see Baita, paragraph [0015]).
With respect to claims 14-18, see discussion supra at paragraph 10. Baita discloses wherein polymerization may take place at a temperature from 20°C to 200°C and pressure of 0.5 MPa to 10 MPa (see Baita, paragraph [0018]); and fluidization velocity may be 0.9 m/s (see Baita, paragraph [0077]). Kufeld discloses wherein typical reaction velocity may be about 20 m/s (see Kufeld, paragraph [0062]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baita (WO 2019/154756 A1) in view of Kufeld (US 2015/0367319) and Delmotte (US 2013/0149740).
With respect to claim 3, see discussion supra at paragraph 10. It is well known to use low temperature steel for the component parts of an olefin polymerization reactor (see, e.g., Delmotte, paragraph [0179]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baita (WO 2019/154756 A1) in view of Kufeld (US 2015/0367319) and Cai (US 2015/0284481).
With respect to claim 10, see discussion supra at paragraph 10. It is well known to use a tubular heat exchanger in the recycle line of an olefin polymerization reactor (see, e.g., Cai, Abstract).
Conclusion
/Randy Boyer/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771