DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwai et al (US 20200101889).
Regarding claim 1, Iwai et al (US 20200101889). Iwai teaches a lamp device (fig 2) comprising: a housing which is an attachment portion to a vehicle (fig 1b and fig 2); a lamp unit (fig 2, items 20a, 21a, and 22a); a radar unit including an antenna that transmits a radar wave and receives a reflected wave from an object (fig 2, item 10 and para 86); a light-transmitting cover that is attached to cover a front side of the housing so as to accommodate the lamp unit and the radar unit in an internal space thereof, the light-transmitting cover transmitting the radar wave (fig 2, item 20a); and an extension disposed in the internal space of the housing, the extension including an electromagnetic-wave absorber (fig 18, item 114d), wherein at least one of a rear part and a side part of the housing is configured as the electromagnetic-wave absorber (fig 18, item 114d),
Regarding claim 2, Iwai teaches the extension is formed of an electromagnetic-wave absorbing material (para 164 and 166).
Regarding claim 7, Iwai teaches the extension is configured as an integral electromagnetic-wave absorber extension surrounding the radar unit (fig 18, item 114d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nagano (US 20210194147).
Regarding claim 3, Nagano teaches the electromagnetic-wave absorbing material is a resin including carbon (para 6). It would have been obvious to modify Iwai to include the electromagnetic-wave absorbing material is a resin including carbon because it is merely a substitution of the radar absorbing material of Iwai for the radar absorbing material of Nagano to yield a predictable radar/ headlight combination device.
Regarding claim 4, Nagano teaches the extension is formed of an extension member made of resin (para 6). It would have been obvious to modify Iwai to include the extension is formed of an extension member made of resin because it is merely a substitution of the radar absorbing material of Iwai for the radar absorbing material of Nagano to yield a predictable radar/ headlight combination device.
Regarding claim 4, Iwai teaches an electromagnetic-wave absorbing material disposed on a rear surface of the extension member (fig 18, item 114d).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maruyama et al (US 20220316678).
Regarding claim 6, Maruyama teaches the extension is disposed to surround the radar unit from four sides of left, right, top and bottom of the radar unit (para 32). It would have been obvious to modify Iwai to include the extension is disposed to surround the radar unit from four sides of left, right, top and bottom of the radar unit because it would absorb all the electromagnetic waves emitted from a receiver.
TIMOTHY A. BRAINARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3648
/TIMOTHY A BRAINARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648