CTNF 18/568,317 CTNF 101785 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1,7, and 9-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “arranged in a first direction in units of predetermined time At” in claims 1, 9, and 10 is unclear because it is not defined in applicant’s disclosure and based on the claim construction a definition cannot be derived, therefor unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim. It is unclear how the light-emitting regions are arranged in units of time. For purposes of examination, “arranged in a first direction in units of predetermined time At” will be assumed to mean arranged along an axis. The term “a predetermined angle in a third direction perpendicular to a second direction corresponding to the first direction” in claims 1, 9, and 10 is unclear because it is not defined in applicant’s disclosure and based on the claim construction a definition cannot be derived, therefor unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim. For purposes of examination, “scanned by a predetermined angle in a third direction perpendicular to a second direction corresponding to the first direction” will be assumed to mean scanning in two axes. The term “the irradiation light extends long in the second direction” in claim 7 is unclear because it is not defined in applicant’s disclosure and based on the claim construction a definition cannot be derived, therefor unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim. For purposes of examination, “the irradiation light extends long in the second direction” will be assumed to mean the light is projected outwards in the axis associated with the second direction. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2, 5, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Imai (US 20160274223 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Imai teaches A light source control device comprising: (The laser radar 100 is provided with an LDA (laser diode array) including a plurality of LDs (laser diodes) as a light source, an LD driving device 12, (paragraph 0029)) a light source control unit that drives a light source in which n (n is 4 or more) light- emitting regions, which emit irradiation light individually, are arranged in a first direction in units of predetermined time At, (In the laser radar 100 of this embodiment, four LDs represented by A in the LDA (they are also collectively referred to as LD group A) are electrically connected to one another (connected by wiring, for example) to be simultaneously turned on as illustrated in FIG. 8. Four LDs represented by B in the LDA (they are also collectively referred to as LD group B) are electrically connected to one another to be simultaneously turned on. Four LDs represented by C in the LDA (they are also collectively referred to as LD group C) are electrically connected to one another to be simultaneously turned on. Four LDs represented by D in the LDA (they are also collectively referred to as LD group D) are electrically connected to one another to be simultaneously turned on. (paragraph 0072)) wherein the light source control unit causes the irradiation light to be emitted m times (m is 2 or more) from each of the light-emitting regions every time the irradiation light is scanned by a predetermined angle in a third direction perpendicular to a second direction corresponding to the first direction and sets an emission interval of each of the light-emitting regions to 2At or more and less than nAt. (The rotary mirror 26 including a reflecting surface reflects (deflects) the light from the reflecting mirror 24 while rotating about a rotary axis (Z-axis), thereby scanning a valid scanning area corresponding to the above-described deflection range in a main-scanning direction being a horizontal uniaxial direction (herein, Y-axis direction) by the light.(paragraph 0035) As in a timing chart illustrated in FIG. 9, each LD group of the four LD groups A to D is turned on periodically (herein, with the same lighting period T) at different timings among the LD groups, and switching time of the LD group to be turned on, that is to say, time after the lighting of one LD group finishes until the lighting of the next LD group starts is set to be shorter than the lighting period T. (paragraph 0084 and fig. 9)) Regarding claim 2, Imai teaches The light source control device according to claim 1, wherein the light source control unit sets the emission interval of each of the light-emitting regions to 2At. (As in a timing chart illustrated in FIG. 9, each LD group of the four LD groups A to D is turned on periodically (herein, with the same lighting period T) at different timings among the LD groups, and switching time of the LD group to be turned on, that is to say, time after the lighting of one LD group finishes until the lighting of the next LD group starts is set to be shorter than the lighting period T. (paragraph 0084)) Regarding claim 5, Imai teaches The light source control device according to claim 2, wherein the light source control unit causes the irradiation light to be simultaneously emitted from two or more light-emitting regions that are not adjacent to each other. (It is preferable to electrically connect the LDs not adjacent to each other when electrically connecting a plurality of LDs to each other and simultaneously turning them on as illustrated in FIG. 8. (paragraph 0082)) Regarding claim 7, Imai teaches The light source control device according to claim 1, wherein the irradiation light extends long in the second direction. (The rotary mirror 26 including a reflecting surface reflects (deflects) the light from the reflecting mirror 24 while rotating about a rotary axis (Z-axis), thereby scanning a valid scanning area corresponding to the above-described deflection range in a main-scanning direction being a horizontal uniaxial direction (herein, Y-axis direction) by the light. (paragraph 0035)) Regarding claim 8, Imai teaches The light source control device according to claim 1, wherein the second direction is an up-down direction, and the third direction is a left-right direction. (The rotary mirror 26 including a reflecting surface reflects (deflects) the light from the reflecting mirror 24 while rotating about a rotary axis (Z-axis), thereby scanning a valid scanning area corresponding to the above-described deflection range in a main-scanning direction being a horizontal uniaxial direction (herein, Y-axis direction) by the light. (paragraph 0035)) Regarding claim 9, Imai teaches A light source control method comprising: (The laser radar 100 is provided with an LDA (laser diode array) including a plurality of LDs (laser diodes) as a light source, an LD driving device 12, (paragraph 0029)) driving a light source in which n (n is 4 or more) light-emitting regions, which emit irradiation light individually, are arranged in a first direction in units of predetermined time At; (In the laser radar 100 of this embodiment, four LDs represented by A in the LDA (they are also collectively referred to as LD group A) are electrically connected to one another (connected by wiring, for example) to be simultaneously turned on as illustrated in FIG. 8. Four LDs represented by B in the LDA (they are also collectively referred to as LD group B) are electrically connected to one another to be simultaneously turned on. Four LDs represented by C in the LDA (they are also collectively referred to as LD group C) are electrically connected to one another to be simultaneously turned on. Four LDs represented by D in the LDA (they are also collectively referred to as LD group D) are electrically connected to one another to be simultaneously turned on. (paragraph 0072)) causing the irradiation light to be emitted m times (m is 2 or more) from each of the light-emitting regions every time the irradiation light is scanned by a predetermined angle in a third direction perpendicular to a second direction corresponding to the first direction; (The rotary mirror 26 including a reflecting surface reflects (deflects) the light from the reflecting mirror 24 while rotating about a rotary axis (Z-axis), thereby scanning a valid scanning area corresponding to the above-described deflection range in a main-scanning direction being a horizontal uniaxial direction (herein, Y-axis direction) by the light.(paragraph 0035) As in a timing chart illustrated in FIG. 9, each LD group of the four LD groups A to D is turned on periodically (herein, with the same lighting period T) at different timings among the LD groups, and switching time of the LD group to be turned on, that is to say, time after the lighting of one LD group finishes until the lighting of the next LD group starts is set to be shorter than the lighting period T. (paragraph 0084 and fig. 9)) and setting an emission interval of each of the light-emitting regions to 2At or more and less than nAt. (As in a timing chart illustrated in FIG. 9, each LD group of the four LD groups A to D is turned on periodically (herein, with the same lighting period T) at different timings among the LD groups, and switching time of the LD group to be turned on, that is to say, time after the lighting of one LD group finishes until the lighting of the next LD group starts is set to be shorter than the lighting period T. (paragraph 0084 and fig. 9)) Regarding claim 10, Imai teaches A distance measuring device comprising: (The present invention relates to an object detecting device, a sensing device, and a mobile object device, and more specifically relates to the object detecting device which detects whether there is an object and detects a distance and the like to the object, the sensing device provided with the object detecting device, and the mobile object device provided with the object detecting device or the sensing device. (paragraph 0003)) a light source in which n (n is 4 or more) light-emitting regions, which emit irradiation light individually, are arranged in a first direction; (In the laser radar 100 of this embodiment, four LDs represented by A in the LDA (they are also collectively referred to as LD group A) are electrically connected to one another (connected by wiring, for example) to be simultaneously turned on as illustrated in FIG. 8. Four LDs represented by B in the LDA (they are also collectively referred to as LD group B) are electrically connected to one another to be simultaneously turned on. Four LDs represented by C in the LDA (they are also collectively referred to as LD group C) are electrically connected to one another to be simultaneously turned on. Four LDs represented by D in the LDA (they are also collectively referred to as LD group D) are electrically connected to one another to be simultaneously turned on. (paragraph 0072)) a light source control unit that drives the light source in units of predetermined time At; (The LD driving device 12 performs the pulse lighting (pulse light emission) of the LD when the pulse light emission control signal is input thereto. (paragraph 0059)) a scanning unit that scans the irradiation light in a third direction perpendicular to a second direction corresponding to the first direction; (The rotary mirror 26 including a reflecting surface reflects (deflects) the light from the reflecting mirror 24 while rotating about a rotary axis (Z-axis), thereby scanning a valid scanning area corresponding to the above-described deflection range in a main-scanning direction being a horizontal uniaxial direction (herein, Y-axis direction) by the light.(paragraph 0035)) a light-receiving unit that receives incident light including reflected light of the irradiated light; (and an optical detector which includes a plurality of light receiving units arranged in the sub-scanning direction so as to correspond to the plurality of light emitting units, and receives light deflected by the deflector and reflected by an object. (paragraph 0008)) and a distance measuring unit that measures a distance based on the incident light, wherein the light source control unit causes the irradiation light to be emitted m times (m is 2 or more) from each of the light-emitting regions every time the irradiation light is scanned by a predetermined angle in the third direction and sets an emission interval of each of the light-emitting regions to 2At or more and less than nAt. (The distance calculating unit 46 estimates time difference between the rise timing of the LD driving signal from the ECU and the rise timing of the detection signal from the PD output detecting unit 44 to be a reciprocating distance to the object, calculates the distance to the object by converting the time difference to the distance, and outputs a calculation result to the ECU as a measurement signal. (paragraph 0053)) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai (US 20160274223 A1) in view of Shand (US 20200142033 A1) . Regarding claim 3 Imai teaches all of the elements of claim 2 as previously stated, however Imai fails to teach wherein the light source control unit causes the irradiation light to be emitted at a next timing from the light-emitting region that is not adjacent to the light-emitting region that has emitted the irradiation light at a previous timing. In the same field of endeavor, Shand teaches wherein the light source control unit causes the irradiation light to be emitted at a next timing from the light-emitting region that is not adjacent to the light-emitting region that has emitted the irradiation light at a previous timing. (As illustrated in FIG. 2B, the predetermined group order is as follows: group 110 (indicated with a 1), group 120 (indicated with a 2), group 130 (indicated with a 3), group 140 (indicated with a 4), group 150 (indicated with a 5), and group 160 (indicated with a 6). As can be seen in FIG. 2B, after a shot from group 110, a shot is fired from a different horizontal group, e.g., group 120, and the next two shots are from different vertical groups, e.g., group 130 then group 140. Accordingly, the group shot order may be fixed and deterministic in this way, although other ways are also contemplated and described herein.(paragraph 0055 and fig. 2B)) It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Shand into the invention of Imai. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR systems for distance measurement. The combination of Imai and Shand would reduce interference. Regarding claim 4 Imai teaches all of the elements of claim 2 as previously stated, however Imai fails to teach wherein the light source control unit is configured so that the irradiation light is emitted from a first light-emitting region at a first timing, the irradiation light is emitted from a second light-emitting region in which an irradiation range of the irradiation light is not adjacent to that of the first light- emitting region at a second timing following the first timing, and the irradiation light is emitted from the first light- emitting region at a third timing following the second timing. In the same field of endeavor, Shand teaches wherein the light source control unit is configured so that the irradiation light is emitted from a first light-emitting region at a first timing, (As illustrated in FIG. 2B, the predetermined group order is as follows: group 110 (indicated with a 1), group 120 (indicated with a 2), group 130 (indicated with a 3), group 140 (indicated with a 4), group 150 (indicated with a 5), and group 160 (indicated with a 6). As can be seen in FIG. 2B, after a shot from group 110, a shot is fired from a different horizontal group, e.g., group 120, and the next two shots are from different vertical groups, e.g., group 130 then group 140. Accordingly, the group shot order may be fixed and deterministic in this way, although other ways are also contemplated and described herein.(paragraph 0055 and fig. 2B)) the irradiation light is emitted from a second light-emitting region in which an irradiation range of the irradiation light is not adjacent to that of the first light-emitting region at a second timing following the first timing, (As illustrated in FIG. 2B, the predetermined group order is as follows: group 110 (indicated with a 1), group 120 (indicated with a 2), group 130 (indicated with a 3), group 140 (indicated with a 4), group 150 (indicated with a 5), and group 160 (indicated with a 6). As can be seen in FIG. 2B, after a shot from group 110, a shot is fired from a different horizontal group, e.g., group 120, and the next two shots are from different vertical groups, e.g., group 130 then group 140. Accordingly, the group shot order may be fixed and deterministic in this way, although other ways are also contemplated and described herein.(paragraph 0055 and fig. 2B)) and the irradiation light is emitted from the first light-emitting region at a third timing following the second timing. (While the prior art does not explicitly disclose the first light-emitting region emitting light at the third timing following the second timing it does discuss of alternate ways to arrange the emission order of emitting regions while emitting regions are still non adjacent. As found in re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results) (MPEP 2144.04). Changing the emission order of the emitting regions while keeping them non adjacent would be considered prima facie obvious as there would not be any new or unexpected results.) It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Shand into the invention of Imai. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR systems for distance measurement. The combination of Imai and Shand would reduce interference. Regarding claim 6 Imai taches all the elements of claim 5 as previously stated, however Imai fails to teach wherein the light source control unit is configured so that the irradiation light is emitted from a first light-emitting region and a second light-emitting region in which irradiation ranges of the irradiation light are not adjacent to each other at a first timing, the irradiation light is emitted from a third light-emitting region and a fourth light-emitting region in which irradiation ranges of the irradiation light are not adjacent to each other at a second timing following the first timing, and the irradiation light is emitted from the first light-emitting region and the second light- emitting region at a third timing following the second timing. In the same field of endeavor, Shand teaches wherein the light source control unit is configured so that the irradiation light is emitted from a first light-emitting region and a second light-emitting region in which irradiation ranges of the irradiation light are not adjacent to each other at a first timing, the irradiation light is emitted from a third light-emitting region and a fourth light-emitting region in which irradiation ranges of the irradiation light are not adjacent to each other at a second timing following the first timing, and the irradiation light is emitted from the first light-emitting region and the second light- emitting region at a third timing following the second timing. (While the prior art does not explicitly disclose this specific scenario of emission order for the emitting regions it does discuss of alternate ways to arrange the emission order of emitting regions while emitting regions are still non adjacent. As found in re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results) (MPEP 2144.04). Changing the emission order of the emitting regions while keeping them non adjacent would be considered prima facie obvious as there would not be any new or unexpected results.) It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Shand into the invention of Imai. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR systems for distance measurement. The combination of Imai and Shand would reduce interference. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ETHAN J SLAUGHTER whose telephone number is (571)388-3021. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 7:30-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Vladimir Magloire can be reached at (571) 270-5144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ETHAN JAKOB SLAUGHTER/Examiner, Art Unit 3648 /VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/568,317 Page 2 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/568,317 Page 3 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/568,317 Page 4 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/568,317 Page 5 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/568,317 Page 6 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/568,317 Page 7 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/568,317 Page 8 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/568,317 Page 9 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/568,317 Page 10 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/568,317 Page 11 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/568,317 Page 12 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/568,317 Page 13 Art Unit: 3648